(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

amy,

thinking of starting with rice cereal first. 1 teaspoon add to EBM. very thin liquid let him taste first. but hor
I cannot feed him le, so abit disappointed.
cos he won't want me to bottle feed him now. when he was younger, he still accept me bottle-feeding him. must ask my hb to do it and I must disappear into thin air a good 10-15 mins before feeding.

mtdt was mentioning that Bellamy may contain traces of glutten which may cause allergy in some bb. Told hb, he says we eat lor! **faintz**
any other organic or good brands to introduce for rice cereals? have you tried Frisocream?

````extract`````
Bellamy's -
organic rice (99.92%), vitamin C, mineral (iron), niacin, thiamin, vitamin B6, folate (may contain traces of gluten).

Some children have problem in digesting gluten..
under the below link, there's a topic on wheat.. one reason why people (child or adult) are allergic to wheat may be the gluten in wheat
http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/cereals.htm
Both barley and oatmeal contain gluten; gluten is the allergen in wheat

a link on gluten allergy-
http://www.uihealthcare.com/reports/internalmedicine/020812celiac.html
gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye and barley.

sunflower, HT Oatmeal is wheat free. think that is a good cereal to start. hmmm... maybe you can consider spoon feeding xander?

amy,

spoon feeding ... hmmmm
does the texture needs to be very thin or can be quite thick?
what's the ratio of cereal with EMB?

keke cos I thought add 1 tspn to EBM normal amount and see his reaction to the cereal.

Dor,

I have not made passport for my ger either haha.. if got passport, my mil sure suggest bringing her to malaysia to see ger's great grandparents, which me and hubby dun want cos troublesome :p And malaysia quite scary recently :p So i delay making passport for her.

I just came back from NZ.. now planning to go china next year!! Want to see more beautiful scenery
But think can only go next dec liao

sunflower
i fed mandy with the heniz rice cereal.. like wat amy said.. u should try spoon feeing. though it will b messy initially... it's fun.

Re: baby biscuit
Do you gers give these to ur babies?

mum2b: i talk talk only...not going anywhere till next june! Cos to come back to sg, I need to pay a lot. You know abt fiscal rite? For our family of three, we need to pay abt sgd800 (including exit permit).

dor darling, I know u didnt say I used vulagrity. I was just trying to be funny...hehe....hey .. I can access the page leh!

Dor,

thought it will be fun too! you know how much EBM to cereal? do you start off with 1 teaspoon or more?

re: baby teething biscuit
saw at NTUC yesterday, keke tempted to buy for bb but hor, he no sign of teeth sprouting yet.

kk, which part of China u thinking of going? I also want to go. Me thinking of Beijing during winter or Jiu Zhai Gou or HArbin or Mongolia or Tibet...haiz..too many! Need many many years and tons of money!

sunflower, even with spoon feeding, first few feeds will still need to be watery. spoon feeding is preferred over bottle, esp since you can train bb for other solids down the track.

ratio - not sure. i just mix till consistent texture.

baby biscuit - jake's 3rd and 4th tooth sprouting out... din give bb biscuit... maybe will only intro after 8 months.

kk

the reason i delay is bcos now the passport is bio type. if babies'look changes, the passport has to be replaced with the recent photos and i m not intending to go anywhere now.

sunflower
since u hv yet to give any cereal before, try to give the cereal in thin liquid but as u spoon feed along, the cereal will become even more runny as we keep stiring. hehe... mayb u try with 1 scoop of cereal 1st..then u mix ur warm BM. cant really tell u how's the ratio... u got to try an error, okie

As for me, I mix the cereal with warm water instead of milk powder.

missk,

I love scenery! Actually went china around 12 yrs back with my mum in a tour group. Dun really like it because it was jiangnan route - beijing, shanghai, wuxi, nanjing, suzhou, hangzhou. And was teenager then, didn't appreciate it. Only hangzhou i would say is more scenic. Beijing to me is boring haha! Especially when i dunno much about chinese history.

I am looking forward to jiu zai gou, zhang jia jie, the three gorges, gui lin (my dream!) and huang shan and all other mountains!

Price for china group much cheaper than going aussie or NZ.. so perhaps i should cut down expenses on tour so china is a good choice :p

dor dear.. pls read this...
at 1st i wanted to buy the teething biscuits too till i read this...

Choking hazard, September 5, 2006
Reviewer: Ann Driscoll "AnnD" - See all my reviews

I don't normally write reviews but am going to contact the company today but thought I would see if anyone else had issues with these buiscuits. My 8 month old son keeps bitting off the end of the buiscuit - about the size of a quarter - within less than 5 minutes of starting to nibble. I have had to retrieve the not-so-little piece twice now - won't ever give him another one.

http://www.amazon.com/Teething-Biscuits-Maple-Wheat-Organic/dp/B0000CCZU2/sr=8-1/qid=1165981052/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1/002-8733807-6419266?ie=UTF8&s=gourmet-food

passports: i took my son's pict 3 times... 1st 2 didnt look like him. my fren said they dun look. not true at all!!
they look hard!! asked me, ur son lost wt.? i said yah...

michele,

That's about choking on biscuit ya? Now i still insist on feeding my ger biscuit on my own, instead of letting her hold and nibble off. I scared she bite a whole chunk out of it and i can't retrieve from her mouth.

michele,

Oh my SIL bought wanwan baby bites.. so i tried that so far.. ok she love it haha.. but i dun feed her biscuits often..scared heaty. Maybe only once a week :p Got chicken flavour and carrot flavour.. she loves both

I have free samples of the nestle biscuits.. haven't tried.. have u tried? That one melt in the mouth or not? The baby bites melt in the mouth.. i love them myself heehee..

sunflower: brown rice paradise- Tel: 738-1121

ask them if they carry hipp.

Hipp Baby Rice:
gluten free
without added refined sugar
without milk
low allergic
with vital vit B
easily digestible
a filling mind to aid peaceful sleep

typing from the box.

the only thing i've bought are: hipp baby rice, hipp jars, gerber & heinz jars (but i gave away). havent bought cookies yet...

busy getting ready for next week... making own puree, so now busy buying organic fruits/veg. abit siao rite... haha!! the BIG day!! bought containers, pots, seive, hand procesor... hub jus look at me... speechless

Wow, this thread is moving fast!

I was down with very bad sore throat last night. And it didn't help coz I just had one wisdom tooth removed in the afternoon. Pray hard that bb won't get the bug. Good bb only woke up once for milk last night. Now taking antibiotic...still have to bf bb... Don't dare to carry her much today. She kept looking at me from far...aiyo.

Michele,
You studied in Melb, no wonder you find it boring, maybe your feeling is more accurate than ours since we are only there as tourists. Staying there and going there for tour is totally diff. My brother on the other hand don't like sydney, find it very crowded and dirty haa!
Wow your spent 3k to bkk ah??? For 5 stay resort hotel like banyan tree, definitely must pay a premium.

missk,
Oh ya forgotten you're in Indonesia huh? They selling HT products there also? Oh singapore selling SGD2.50, not cheap also compared to other brands like gerber and heinz.

tinklebell,
$270-280k is not bad a price. Hmm, yr neighbour is malaysian ah? Cannot compare mah...then we all go malaysia and buy semi-d, landed lor...Singapore is like that, places like HK esp Japan is worse. Many ppl in japan dun get to buy hse, mostly on rental.
Do let me know yr valuation price if it's out cos i would like to gauge how much my hse worth now. mine is exec flat. thanks.

kk, yah lor...go on china tours cheap leh. I use ctc for china tours. Cheap and good! consider going to Kunming. Nice!!! Rather cultural too.

missk,
Sorry i missed out, i'm driving up to genting. i've never try the transtar coach but had booked for my boss. he's the picky kind, says not bad lor. $100+ for to n fro, should b quite gd what...i think only 16 persons in a coach.

serene: thanks for replying. Yah ..it's quite good leh. I didnt want to leave the coach when i arrived at my destination. Driving up is great!! HAve fun man! Post pictures when u come back yah? Btw, whens the trip?

Michele,
OIC....yes, that's alot of $. For the price, you can go somewhere else already. Maybe to Hongkong or Korea.

missk,
I'm going on 30th Dec to 1st Jan. Count down for new year in Genting haa!

serene,
no lah, they r not msians. My colleague was the one who commented on it. okie... will let u know the valuation. They are coming on Tues to do it. Funny thing is that senja grand and segar's valuation seems to be higher the one at our place though their location is out of the way

Michele,
Can consider bringing yr boy to HK Disneyland, stay at disney hotel, the hotel not cheap though but shouldn't be more than 3k. Also for taipei to hk is very near, flight shouldn't be ex huh?

serene: i dun wanna go to hk disneyland!! EEeee... BTW, i also study in US... been disneyland 8 times, wont wanna go hk one, let alone bring bren there... too many mic s!!!

tinklebell,
Really? You mean senja grand's 30th storey estate huh? I thought those are not 5 yrs yet? Maybe becos of the high storey, is new and also got shops? Then again location was as good as ours, must walk longer distance to LRT hor..... Hmm, but in terms of look, our flat looks so much better than theirs. Many commented our flat/area looks like condo.
I buy a high price there also becos of the outlook and environment. Actually i've no complain of the location, exterior look and interior look of our flat, my only complaint is Master bedroom too small! How much is yr floor area?

tinklebell, you been to hk disneyland already?
Michele, when you intend to travel, if it's xmas or year end period, sure is very packed everywhere esp disneyland i think! There are alot of complaints about the hk disneyland....

michele,
how's taipei? my hubby suggested going there but i never like taiwan, never thought of going to taiwan except alot ppl says taiwan alot of good food but those food centres also very dirty huh? Some says good shopping there? what do you think? One of my girlfriends says it's boring there, in fact china has more to see. i think i will agree with her.

michele, no, nvr been there ...only paris..

serene, donno lah... heard from pp one... but i saw on HDB website that Segar is selling for abt 20k more than our blocks
if i were a buyer, i wont even consider segar... it's simply too far fr the LRT station and main road! my neighbour says not many pp in our area r selling... cos i think most of us bought it at a high pr in 2000

Serene/Tinklebell/Michelle,

I went to HK disneyland in July this year during my maternity leave hehe.. small small small is what i would describe it. Same here, didn't see any disney characters. Wow, but i went crazy shopping in disneyland itself. Can iamgine how much i spent when things are so expensive there?

Taiwan... good food depends on whether u dare to try the street stalls or not haha.. we followed tour group last year june and i would say the cooking not that good. Good shopping, i dun think so! The things there dun suit me leh.. maybe youngsters prefer the things there more than i auntie do haha..

Michele, closed down already? hmmm... no wonder... somehow i didnt really feel like i was in disneyland then... went there before aaron was made :p

kk, aiyo... hk also no disney character? hmmm... wat's happening to disneyland?
ya, shopping in TW dont suit me too... didnt buy anything much... fashion is too loud for me.

missk,
fiscal only for indonesians, u r singaporean rite so no need to pay fiscal? n if ur indons hubby is SPR, then he's entitled 4 times free fiscal a year. but must stay sgp 6 months or something like that (not sure on this). how long have u been living in jkt n how do u like living there? in which area do u stay? i never like jkt, v crowded, everywhere jammed, hot and so many crimes. the good thing is it's cheaper there, cars, houses, foods. but then things are getting more n more ex there too rite?

poohy,
Europe is not very kids friendly, especially so for kids below 5. Not many hotels and tour packages accept kids below 5 years old. And sometimes, not easy to get hot water if you wanna make milk. That's what my cousin experienced. They went on tour package. One and only one tour company in Europe that accept kids below 5.
I think cannot stay in budget hotels in Europe with kids. Me and my hubby used to stay in those budget hotel which can be booked from the internet. But with baby now, dunno where to book cheap hotels already... Maybe next year, after I go, then I can tell you...

I think we gonna TTC togather... Looking at the schedule, I can start TTC in March... Aiyo.. then I gotta first try strike ah... else gotta wait till 2009 liao...

tinklebell,
Hope your MS will come back again...

missk,
Cheaper than in Singapore.

michele,
I also like Eva Air... They have good service... I will never consider European airlines anymore... Even the one which won any European awards... their service cannot be compared to Asian airlines...

tinklebell,
If your colleague laughs at you... think he/she sure laughs at me.. cos in M'sia, my parents stay in condo and the price can buy semi d already...

michele,
Your hubby can afford SGD3k for 3 days 2 nites, then go for it la... It's luxurious travel ma... A different class of travel... If I were you, I sure go... kekeke..

k, no time to read all the posts liao... later...

michele,
Do you eat lots of stinky toufu there?? I have never been to TW before. Only stayed overnite in a hotel near the airport on my way back from Hawaii... Is TW baby friendly??

kk: ur mil likes it? eeee...

lyn & kk: yucks!! i wont even go near it!! my hub loves it, i dun allow him to take it home. it's like putting S*** in ur mouth, it sure smells like it!!

lyn: can afford also... i find it a waste of $$ can go chiva som woh!! hmm... maybe i will consider that...
define bb friendly... ok lah... many babies here...