(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

Dor & Paula,

U will know it when ur lochia stops heee.. when it stop, it must totally STOP! Cannot come back after 2-3 days.. that one not considered stop :p

Must have a period of no discharge, follow by some transparent discharge, then comes ur menses
But of course some of ur menses may be delayed due to BF.

MOAP,

it is normal to have clots. Mine also come with clots when i thought my lochia over. But it will clear by itself eventually

celeste:
i m on c-sect too, very tempting to go for the massage by maya but then i m abit afraid that e massaging will hurt the wound area. how was e massage feeling like? painful ard e wound?

so Mdm Rokiah is not tat gd? more reviews on her? maya better?

ya my main motive is to get rid of the loose skin on my tummy though the binder i hv been wearing since delivery helps alot ( i bind it very tight ard my waist line). hubby said my tummy smaller, just that tummy flabby. but then i lose 6kg n stil hv 7kg to go. dunno where they went, maybe to my hips, arms n thighs. so sad.
so malay massage oni slim down tummy not overall body like arms n hips rite?

anyone give Gripe Water to your baby? wat is e purpose of this water? ok to give cos mil suggests to give to my baby.

Formula milk:
which brand of FM do u give your baby? do u latch your baby in the public? my fren suggests but i dun dare cos i also never buy nursing bra n top. so i tinking when gg out, wil prepare FM for my baby. Similac seems good rite? at time at TMC, they gave similar FM samples to me.

tinkle,
The 6-in-1 vaccine for baby consists of 3 jabs rite? How come the 6-in-1 pckg in TMC says the vaccine covers baby till 18 mths? But i chk fr Kidlink clinic, the 6-in-1 jab will be taken when baby is 2mth, 4mth and 6mth? I'm confused!

Kite...my mum say dun give gripe water to bb too early...can give from 2nd mth onwards...its supposed to reduce tummy wind..

I am currently giving my gal Similac...so far she is doing fine...poo daily...no constipation..

I am also thinking of massage to reduce my flabby tummy but scared that my wound will be affected..

Celeste..did Maya put a lot of pressure while massaging your tummy?...cos many people say c-sect wound take at least 6 mths to recover cos many layers inside...so i scared the massaging will make the wound open up...

Serene...i am also very confused with the 5-in-1 and 6-in-1 jabs...will be checking out with the GP clinic on sat...i think the 6-in-1 jabs is what you have mentioned...taken on 2mth, 4mth & 6mth...

kite,

ur mil sama to my mil, everything also blur blur heee... what did ur mum say? Skully ur mum will say the same thing as my mum :p

My mil gave CONCENTRATED gripe water to bb when bb not even 2 weeks old. GOSH!! Didn't even dilute as what mummies here do. My mum came to my place, knew about it, and told her to stop giving bb any gripe water because no good. So ever since, we had never feed bb with gripe water liao. So my bb also not dependent on it already. Got wind, we just apply ruyi oil. My logic is, anything that goes into the stomach, we dun feed the bb unnecessarily. I really pissed off with my mil sometimes. She really can feed anything to my bb at the wrong time.

For FM, what did Dr Ong recommend u? Ur bb on any FM during the hospital stay? He recommended enfalac A+ to me. BB ok with it, but due to price concern, we switch to Wyeth and also ok. Just that the spit out milk will make u puke! Heee.. i find enfalac not that smelly.

tinklebell,
Wah.. very good leh... one session lose 0.5kg... 10 sessions 5 kg lor...

kite,
I give my boy Friso-Soy

I am also wondering how to breastfeed when I bring my baby out...

peng,
u also decided to use her? when starting?
after yesterday's session, lose another 0.5kg. Now i got ard 5.5kg to go... still cannot wear my normal clothes. have to resort wearing my hub's shorts
i didnt take the jamu yesterday and no LS. no need to buy fr her... she gives 3 after each session.

Mspiggy,
Yap, i also just sterilised them once and wash and air dry them after that.

Serene,
Maya didnt say you r fat or hv big tummy leh.
The 6-in-1 vaccine for baby consists of 3 jabs - 1.5mth , 3mth and 5mth. If your package covers til 18 mths, it means that the PD included the 5-in-1 last jab. The last jab is the booster. It is no more 6-in-1 bec you dont need hep b in the last jab any more. The timing is what is recommended. Some docs adjust the timing a bit.

lyn,
hee hee i am not so optimistic to lose 5kg. but i must say that the massage relaxes my muscles. certain parts that used to be painful r not so anymore. Should hv called for massage service while i was still staying in hospital as i was aching badly for the first 3 days.

spicegal,
yah she did put pressure in tummy if not water how to come out... during the first session i was worried and stress abt my wound too.. but she is very experience.. she even told me she knw c-sect cit afew layers... so think she know where to push where not to touch... and she also commented that my gynae superb as my line is veri neat and nice. and lenght wise not too long.. some of her customer one slant or too long... and got keloids (dun knw whether spelling rite not)

my boy always make a fuss when he poos. any babies here also like that?

and since yesterday, i realised his feed interval is getting shorter. he wants more now, am giving him abt 70ml-80 ml for 2.2-3 hrly. am i overfeeding??

Kite,
I had a normal delivery and was very tense during the massage sessions especially when the masseur lady massages my stomach the feeling is uncomfortable but I told myself to tahan for 5 sessions. She will use more strength to massage my stomach as each day passes by. So far, the results are good. I just had my last session this morning and she measured my waist, my thigh, my stomach and my weight. My stomach has disappeared and I have 1.5kg more to shed and my waist is back to pre-pregnancy size. Thighs have toned down by two inches but there is some cellulite in it. Im going to miss the massage.

Re. Gripe Water,

Yep, I fed her with gripe water after bath. Its meant to prevent gas in babys stomach.

Re. Milk Formula

Im feeding my baby with Similac cos KKH uses it.

MsPiggy,

My three weeks old baby has been wanting milk every two to two and a half hours during daytime nighttime, she will only cries for milk every three hours. I have been feeding her 70ml and will up her intake to 80ml after she turns one month old.

kite
i fed 1ml gripewater via syringe into mouth, since Irvin few days old. After bath, supposed to help bowels/ wind. But bottle instructions say 1mth old up, says nothing abt giving to bb under 1mth.
my #1 gal also took gripewater. If u think 2 sweet, can try infalco instead- but read bottle instructions first... I can't recall for how old liao.

tinkle,
I still dun understand why the Paediatrician clinic at TMC mentioned that the 6-in-1 packg covers the vaccine till 18 mth old...???

kk, MOAP, celesteblur, Hazel
Did you take up the 6-in-1 packg from TMC's paediatrician clinic?

tinkle,
Does this 3 jabs covers all the necessary vaccine till 18mth old? Besides the necessary vaccine needed included in this 6-in-1, the rest like chicken pox etc is optional and not included yah?

serene - r u referring to the PD clinic at 3rd floor? their package is $650?

this package not only includes 6-1 jabs. but also hap a, chickenpox and the booster jabs etc. thus it's until 18mths.

serene,

I learnt from another mummy that my PD one is 5-in-1. TMC never mention any 6-in-1 to me leh! So it is never in my mind.

KK,
U went to your PD at TMC's paediatrician clinic? The nurse there showed me the 6-in-1 packg...they didn't let you know?

paula

re:heat rash or rashes cause by milk

u can use the jasmine flowers (can be bought at florists) and rub the flowers on the heat rashes gently..u can place the flowers int he fridge b4 use..then just take a few rub on the areas...very fast the heat rashes will go off...i did that to my #1...smell nice after that..hehehe...but quite effective...hope the tip is useful to u....

Wah! Maya got back to me on her charges (mine c-sect, can start after 2wks)... $700 for 10 sessions?

I thought it was: "$350 for 5 sessions/ $600 for 10"? Raised prices ah??? Am I supposed to *bargain*???

MTDT,
Yes refer to the padiatrician clinic at 3rd flr. Hmm, so includs the 15th mth and 18th mth jabs huh? Total will be 5 jabs altogether?

Serene,
i am not sure if they includes other vaccines like chicken pox ... u check with them again. i know chicken pox vaccine itself is quite expensive... close to $100 but it's not compulsory.

serene,

Oh i know why liao.. because first checkup i went back to TMC.. but for 1st vaccination, i went to AMK clinic liao. And they didn't show me anything leh. They only gave pamphlets on rotavirus and p-disease.

just want to share info from my PD.
EBM or formula milk can stay fresh for 4 hrs in room temperature if bb hasn't drunk it.
If bb has drunk from the bottle, it can stay fresh for 1 hour.

paula,
what's the heat rash look like? my bb also has like small pimples on her cheecks n some on the inside of her elbow n forehead. is that heat rash? she's 15 days old, so if has heat rash should i still swaddle her w/ thin cotton nappies or not?

serene - from my understanding, the $650 package includes the following:

6-1 - 3 jabs
Hep A - 2 Jabs
Chickenpox - 1 Jab
MMR - 1 Jab
18mths booster - 1 jab

hazel - how much is polyclinic Hep B jab?

their 5-1 is $294+ huh?
another cost? consultation fee?

which polyclinic u went? long q?

my bb also hv "outbreak" on his forehead...

dunno is it heat rash??
he is 15days old too.

mum2b - when's ur bb dob? same as my bb?
on 15jun? :p

mum2be,

My PD told us not to wrap up the bb too often because singapore weather very hot, easy to develop heat rash. So i have never swaddle my bb after discharge from hospital and she is ok with it. She loves to sleep with her hands open wide wide heheee..

And for heat rash, i have been using hazeline on her. And it works perfectly well for her

tinklebell - nope.. my bb is a evening bb.

but same birthday.

ya, when i discharge, the nurse also told me sg weather v hot, dun swaddle. just cover his bottom if need to. so i also never swaddle him since i came home. but still hv 'outbreak' on his forehead. :p

hey... no table of june yakkers?

or shd we start a new one again... start with the current regulars first.

maybe we can include the following:

Mom's nick
Bb's nick
Bb's sex
Bb's DOB
Lovenest
Bb's PD
Jab @ ?
Milk - TBF or FM(Brand)
Pump use

<table border=1><tr><td>Mom's nick </TD><TD>Bb's nick </TD><TD>Bb's sex </TD><TD>Bb's DOB </TD><TD>Lovenest </TD><TD>Bb's PD </TD><TD>Jab @ ? </TD><TD>Milk - TBF or FM(Brand) </TD><TD>Pump use </TD></TR><TR><TD>MTDT</TD><TD>Zavier Teo</TD><TD>Male</TD><TD>15-Jun-06</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>Dr Keoy @ TMC</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>TBF</TD><TD>Avent Maunal </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

MTDT, Serene,

i went to jurong east polyclinic, waiting not long .. only 1 infrnt of mi but i think we went in first .. i think newborn got privilege though
the hep B only $15.

kk,
same here. my bb also always struggle when i bundle her. but she's been sneezing this couple of days so i do half swaddling.
can use vaseline on face? scared allergy..

MTMT,
mine was born on 16 june

mum2be,

I never tried vaseline before. But sometimes u dun try u won't know rite? Like some babies actually cannot use hazeline, will develop red patches. So also depends on individuals lor.

M size pampers suit my bb leh. So i may be selling away my S size pampers premium. If u interested, do let me know

Hi kite!! Glad u still thinking of me

Just went to see YC yesterday at 37 weeks, she said I'm having mild pre-eclampsia now. Have to monitor closely, so see her every half-weekly. If my blood pressures shoots up, she will induce. Now it's waiting game, either labour or induction if HPB.

Medusa,

I also asked Maya abt her package yesterday and qn her abt the increase from $600 to $700. Her reply is that she kept the $600 for 5 years but her cost is going up. Hence, the revision.

Hi MTDT, pls incl my particulars

Mom's nick : Josephine
Bb's nick : James
Bb's sex : M
Bb's DOB : 20th June 2006
Lovenest : Old Airport Road
Bb's PD : Dr Terence Tan (Mt Alvernia)
Jab @ PD
Milk - TBF
Pump use: Avent ISIS Duo

<table border=1><tr><td>Mom's nick </TD><TD>Bb's nick </TD><TD>Bb's sex </TD><TD>Bb's DOB </TD><TD>Lovenest </TD><TD>Bb's PD </TD><TD>Jab @ ? </TD><TD>Milk - TBF or FM(Brand) </TD><TD>Pump use </TD></TR><TR><TD>MTDT</TD><TD>Zavier Teo</TD><TD>Male</TD><TD>15-Jun-06</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>Dr Keoy @ TMC</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>TBF (standby-Enfalac A+)</TD><TD>Avent Maunal </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joesphine</TD><TD>James</TD><TD>Male</TD><TD>20-Jun-06</TD><TD>Old Airport Road</TD><TD>Dr Terence Tan @ Mt A</TD><TD>Jab @ PD</TD><TD>TBF</TD><TD>Avent ISIS Duo </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

like no one interested in the compliation. :p

Jo - ur PD v hot one rite. all my frens who delivered at Mt A is using him as PD.

oh, u using DUO. good?
i doing research on electric. intend to get one.
v lazy with manual pump. :p