(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

hi all..
I think if we chose epidural c-sect whereby hubby can go in, then dun need to put catherer is it??

Think if i got #2, and want to c-sect, i will chose epi... cos.. the catherer really make me feel the pain till now... whenever i urine... and this make me reluctant to go toilet.. hahah

Celeste/ Disstan, TQ...admit at 11pm tonite. strange timing hor?

disstan, i quite like mummy pokko... i find it quite absorbent. only thing is that it is a bit thick.

Celeste,
i had natural delivery last time... also need to put that for one day leh. but i didnt feel anything. maybe the person who inserted that wasnt skilful enuf.

tinklebell
yes..mamypoko abit thick loh..but i think hor when they start to turn or crawl...mamypoko qite gd loh...pampers hor..will become very soggy...and looks very heavy like going to drop..whereas mamy still looks 'fresh' hehehe....

11pm??? then u will see ur bb tomorrow loh..hehhee...excited or not??

tinklebell..
Natural must put catherer too meh... yah i agree... the person that put must be skillful.. if not disasterous like me!!

Then you bb will have a birthdate of 15 june.. since you admit so late tonite.. ..take care huh.

moap,
yes...did the VE... v pain leh

Celeste,
i also donno why they put the catherer leh... maybe cos my gynae said i wasnt supposed to get out of bed for 1 day since i had problem with the epidural adminstration... they were afraid that i will get severe headache or dizzy spells.

feel a bit lost when seeing most of u have popped, and breastfeeding like experts already. me tdy 38 wk, still got so much to prepare, seems like can never finish preparing. gotta meet up my relief tr to pass her work for next term also, havan even finished marking some worksheets. i am so stressed i wonder if i will have milk at all. so yesterday went to buy milk bottles, now going to wash, and should i sterilise the bottles first? or wait until i need to use them in case i got no milk?
was told i got infection last check up so now on antibiotics, hopefully tdy's check up my urine is cleared of glucose. last check up got high glucose tho blood glucose test is normal. maybe due to stress.
kite, can't believe u popped so soon, thought we have almost the same EDD, 1 July/30 June :p ur bb gal v sweet, and envy u got so much MS...

oh forgot to ask u gals,
those who had natural delivery, did u sit yourself in salt water for episiotomy wounds to heal? heard there is this special basin to be fitted onto the toilet bowl for sitting... wonder where i can buy it from?

medusa,
My C-section was early in the morning 6+am.

I was on morphine via drip for 12 hours, plus another type of painkiller. My anaesthetist recommended 24 hours drip, but I opted for 12 hours.

I went through several surgeries before, so this time need morphine
The more surgeries we go through, the higher the dosage of painkiller we will need next time. I was given the maximum dosage already. Cannot give anymore, else I will go into coma.

kk,
Not the pills... via drip.. pills no use... but I never take a single painkiller pills after they removed my drip. I took my own supplements that has helped to relieve my pain...

tinklebell,
All the best and a smooth delivery
Finally can see baby already... 15 Jun is a very auspicious day to give birth!

celeste,
You still got pain from catheter? I got no more pain leh... My wound pain also no more already since yesterday

tinkle,
finally u can see ur ger soon
there is another July MTB also going to induce tonite
So ur hubby can keep u company for the next 2 days.. All the best !!

Btw, my swelling is sudden one... since yesterday.

Just got back from gynae.. Aiya, did VE but realized only 1cm dilated. Gynae say can wait until 25th b4 giving birth.. But I think I will still induce on the 20th.

Maybe I should turn to BD to make my cervix dilate faster... lol

okipoki, lyn, thanks!
feel so kang cheong all of a sudden.
suddenly i felt as if i got a lot of energy again! haha! was feeling a bit demoralised for the past few day.

okipoki,
is it? another mummy also inducing in TMC? i hope my lab will be short. gynae predicts 6 hrs. hope so lor. but the timing is so weird...it's usually my sleeping time. aiyo... donno if i will have the energy to push or not.... donno if i will fall asleep halfway too.

kk, yesterday, i managed to pump 350ml but still short supply for my baby, he has to mix with formula.

red_ridden,
Mine is boy, so his name is Rui4 Jun4. So yr family got jia pu to follow yah. Isn't it much easier if the middle name is already given...you can let Jin Zi Long knows, and he can find the last name for you...?

tinkle,
Heard you going for induction tonite yah? All the best for smooth delivery! You will get to see your gal very soon and her birthday will be same as my hubby...
Look forward to hearing your birth story soon. Cheers!

gina,

you can buy those shallow round basin for washing face to sit on, juz as good. i did immerse my wound in warm salt water twice a day from day 6 onwards and the wound does not feel so sore and heals faster

dsiitan,

its 52pcs n up to 6kg...call b4 u go..coz i koe many places dun have..

celeste,

wah,u still got quite alot of stocks!actuali,its roughly the same price rite? SGD$17.80..but i got the $2 off coupon so still ok for me..hmm,tink i order the nepia then..i haven use the bouncer yet..oso got the same woory as u..not sure if it will affect her back as no support..haiz..

ladies who had c-sect,

anyone started ur massage already?
coz now tinking whether to do it in week 4(last week of confinement) or week 5...coz if week 5,my hb got to take extra 1 week leave to help me look aft the bb..partly i oso scare to do it in week 4 coz not sure if pain anot..maybe i will call the mdm rokiah again..

May i know roughly when should we let our gynae know if i want to elect for Epi C-Sect? My gynae has been mentioning that my BB is big for a 33weeks BB and has a BIG, BIG head but he has yet to give me any advice nor to hear any from me.

Hi don't know if you gal rememeber me. Am still counting down. EDD is 20/6/06. So, it's countdown time for me.
Can't wait to have #2 in arms.
btw, am with Dr Paul Tseng and he's on leave theis week and next for a couple of days, so fingers crossed. Anyone with Dr Eunice Chua? How's she like? I understand if I go into labour now, she'll have to deliver for me.

Just some suggestion on breastfeeding for new moms since I'm 2nd time mom.
re: breastfeeding
Don't express so soon. Why? Coz it'll make you freak out. There's no such thing as not enough milk. Your baby is a more efficient expresser of milk then the pump. So, you are definitely feeding him/her more than what you get when you express. Instead, if you feel that you don't have enough milk, try latching baby on more often... even at nights? Sleep with baby and just directly latch on (easier than waking up). Only express after 6 weeks. By then milk ss would have been established. Gals, why are u in a hurry to express?? Maternity leave is 12 weeks now, right? So, you'll definitely have enough time to store and stock up. Instead use this time to latch on direct and bond with your baby.

Hope above suggestion is useful.

Re: FEEDING TABLE

Age of Infant / Amt per feed / No of feeds per day
0-1 wk / 1-2 oz or 30-60 ml / 7-8
1-2 wk / 2-3 oz or 60-90 ml / 6-7
2-4 wk / 3-4 oz or 90-120 ml / 5-6
1-2 mths / 4-5 oz or 120-150 ml / 5
2-3 mths / 6oz or 180ml / 5
3-4 mths / 7oz or 210ml / 5
4-5 mths / 7oz or 210ml / 4
5-6 mths / 8oz or 240ml / 4
Above 6 mths / 8oz or 240ml / 3

Emily,
We are in the same boat. Eunice/Phyllis will deliver me should I go into labour in Paul's absence. Also not too sure what to expect. But I think Eunice should be good coz when I go to TLC clinic, her patients a lot.

hihi ladies

juz went gynae appt today.....bb is 3.35kg at 39wks 1 day. Gynae dont really wanna induce yet. He said will wait for next appt on 19th June and if i still havent pop, he will induce me on 19th June nite....so my bb might be a 20th june 2006 baby....haha

Celeste(celk),
I have 1 pack of Drypers S size and 1 pack of Pampers S size liowz...i tink shld be enuff for time being. Cos my mom planning to use cloth nappy for bb most of the time

tinkle,
haha definitely will get kian cheong mah & knowing ur ger will be out tonite is definitely a relief.

yeah that mummy is going to deliver in TMC... probably can give each other support. have a good rest now lor & preserve ur energy for tonite. I am sure u can make it
give urself some confident... ehehe

okipoki,
cos next tuesday (20th june) i am exactly 40 weeks. He dont prefer me to keep bb past 40 weeks lor
so he prob will induce me on monday nite if i havent popped by then.

mummies who delivered at TMC,

need to check with u gals something...our babies are given hep B dose 1 injection after birth..then we are given this appt card for hep B dose 2 injection. Do we need to go back TMC for the injection or we can go polyclinic or PD for the hep B dose 2 injection?

celeste,
at least is on EDD, so more or less expected....not like me...suddenly popped so early...lucky had baby stuff prep liao....

kite,
like u, when my baby was addmitted back to tmc for phototherapy, I also worried my bm caused the jaundice...but the PD is very assuring..in fact, I wanted the hospital to give my baby formula milk duing the phototherapy stay...but the PD asked the nurse to breastfeed my baby when I visit him....

I even expressed out and gave to the nurse to feed my baby....

after the discharge, the follow-up visit with the PD, I asked her again if I should feed bm coz worry abt jaundice increasing....PD again tell me I should go ahead and feed him bm....

tinkle, congras.. finally c urlittle princess.. have a smooth delivery..

Gina, i had natural delivery..but din use salt water to clean the wound.. the dr gave me some solutions to wash... i tink i know what u mean for that that special portable toilet bowl. used that in TMC.. but when i reach home, i juz do it the normal way w/o the use of the toilet bowl..

btw, do you have regualr visit to PD after delivery? so far, I only brought baby to see PD twice, first is for follow-up checkup after discharge from tMC after delivery and the 2nd one is follow-up checkup after discharge from tmc for jaundice...

my mum wonders why I dun need to bring baby for any more checkup...is there a need?

quite sad now...my baby seems to like my mil better.

Whenever he cries, she seems to be the only one that can smoothe him...he stop crying the moment she carry him...whereas when i try to carry him, he just keep crying....
When he continues to cry...my mil will say" come come, mah mah carry" and she will carry him away from me...
I know she is trying to help...but it makes me feel worse..like i cannot handle my son and that someone is trying to take him away from me....

440695.gif

okasan,

My first appt with PD was the first one after discharge from TMC. The second one is appt for vaccination. I thought just follow the vaccination schedule enough liao. Need so many visits meh? All cost money leh, so cannot go often if bb is fine heeee...

i think u must be really careful in what u eat if u BF leh.. really got to cut down on ginger liao.. and any other things "yellow"... i heard from colleague that babies are really more prone to jaundice if subjected to TBF because we will never know what food we eat can lead to jaundice. My colleague's bb last time need to exchange blood due to serious jaundice.

soh,

i experienced that in my confinement too because my mil took care of bb and i dun handle the bb that often. But after confinement, everything was ok.. is it because u still dunno the "trick"? Different babies tend to be "tame" differently.

Dun worry!! Everything will be ok
Dun feel too depressed because of tat because i almost fell into depression because of negative thinking everyday during confinement. It is really not easy.

Okasan,
We can go to PD and polyclinic outside. I think the 2nd jab is taken after 1 mth old rite? 2 mths old? I'm still thinking of bringing him to polyclinic or pte clinic outside...
Btw, the 6-in-1 jab package at TMC costs $600+, I checked kidslink clinic @ CCK, costs only $140-160+. I heard polyclinic charge only $70+. For the same thing, TMC charges so high, definitely, i'm not going back for the follow up jabs.

celeste,

I dun feel anything after catherer removed leh hee.. in fact i find putting on catherer is painful but removing out really made me feel relieved and it is actually painless for me!

Angeline,

heee my bb not like celeste's. Mine can only stay in the rocker for at most half an hour. She will seek my attention after that, wanting something else :p

Okasan,
So far, i've brought my baby to TMC 2 times, to check on jaundice, reason why i still go back is becos they have their own lab, baby can chk for jaundice level immediately after blood test. If i bring him to pte clinic outside, they also refer us to hospital for the blood test. Actually, i'm supposed to bring my baby back to TMC this coming fri, now still thinking whether to go for the appt or not cos we see abit of improvement on him.

kk,
Of cos not enough for the whole day! Each time, he drinks 60-70ml, about every 2 hrs. Today, so far, i've just expressed 260ml, will try to express some more later....