(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

cough & fruits - I thought in the 1st place if coughing, shd avoid fruits? u gals are talking abt when recover time... mass feed huh? :p

To all the fans of Julie Andrews, singer of "My Favourite Things":

To commemorate her birthday , actress/vocalist, Julie Andrews made a special appearance at
Manhattan 's Radio City Music Hall for the benefit of the AARP.
One of the musical numbers she performed was 'My Favorite Things' from the legendary
movie 'Sound Of Music'. Here are the lyrics she used:
> > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > > >> > > > > > > > >
(Sing It!) - If you sing it, its especially hysterical!!!

Botox and nose drops and needles for knitting,
Walkers and handrails and new dental fittings,
Bundles of magazines tied up in string,
These are a few of my favorite things.

Cadillacs and cataracts, hearing aids and glasses,
Polident and Fixodent and false teeth in glasses,
Pacemakers, golf carts and porches with swings,

When the pipes leak, When the bones creak,
When the knees go bad,
I simply remember my favorite things,
And then I don't feel so bad.

Hot tea and crumpets and corn pads for bunions,
No spicy hot food or food cooked with onions,
Bathrobes and heating pads and hot meals they bring,

Back pain, confused brains and no need for sinnin',
Thin bones and fractures and hair that is thinnin',
And we won't mention our short shrunken frames,
When we remember our favorite things.

When the joints ache, When the hips break,
When the eyes grow dim,
Then I remember the great life I've had,
And then I don't feel so bad.

Lyn,
Lovely to have you and the kids here. And thanks for sharing the slides.

Honey
G likes strong taste. She won't eat bland food or drink water since she was a baby. So she had been having honey water since around 1 yo. Now it is better - at least drink water on a hot day.

Aishite,
Hilarious!

lyn

u got the book from where? borders/kino shd have?

paula

no use..already told them liao..esp my mil who really give in when C makes slight protest...they were saying if they dun be the good guy,how can we be the bad guys..then next time my ger dun wan/not attch to them...etc..

<font color="0000ff">I've extracted the following about Unsupported claims about Vit C from the book entitled "Feed Your Child Right":</font>

The public has been exposed to a lot of publicity about the so-called benefits which may be derived from taking large doses of Vit C. It is popularly reputed to prevent the common cold, and many people take Vit C tablets in doses up to 100 times the recommended levels in the hope of fighting off colds and influenza.

These claims, however, are not warranted. There is no conclusive evidence that extra Vit C prevents the onset of colds or shortens the duration of symptoms. In fact, taking high doses of Vit C over the long term has some deleterious effects on health. The higher the dose taken, the less Vit C is absorbed, and the unabsorbed Vit C passing through the digestive tract causes diarrhoea. Kidney and urinary tract stones are further risks related to high doses of Vit C. Large doses of the vitamin may also inactivate and destroy Vit B12 and interfere with the adsorption of Copper. On a more serious note, some studies have shown that large doses of Vit C taken in pregnancy may have adverse effects - harmful effects on the infant, who may get used to the high levels available to him in the womb and suffer Vit C deficiency (scurvy) temporarily after birth.

The conclusion from all of this is that Vit C should ideally be taken from dietary sources, and any self-medication with the vitamin is not advisable unless deemed necessary by a doctor.

However, as well as protecting against anaemia by its assistance in iron absorption, Vit C is important in pregnancy as it promotes bone and ligament formation. Two portions of fresh fruit and two of vegetables daily will take care of the increased requirements during pregnancy.}

<font color="0000ff">kite,
How do you know that C lacks Vit C? Actually, I think "An apple a day keeps the doctor away" must have some good reasoning behind it. So, eating apples is still good for C.</font>

poohy, re milk, maybe you can try magnolia fresh milk? or you can switch to other brands of powder milk? could it be just a phase only?

poohy,
maybe J is rejecting the milk bottle/teat, not the milk. I experienced the same thing with En when she's about 1 yr old. She's willing to drink when I put the milk in cup for her or use straw instead of teat. Maybe you can try if J drinks the milk from cup

Hmm..the thread is quiet today

Mummies, are any of your tots addicted to VCDs/DVDs? I got a prob getting my gal to sleep at nite..she's back to her ritual of barney / Hi-5s...somemore, refuses to let me off the bedroom light. If she wakes up in the middle of the nite, will cry and ask me to switch on the main light...

Paula,
Kelly is so good. Will say "not nice". She's very smart leh... Next time, if we got chance to meet up, teach me some tips ya?
I am very impressed with Kelly.

poohy,
Better feed her some water after her milk during her sleep. Milk can cause tooth decay when the toddlers suck and sleep.

kite,
I am getting loose on A's diet. Think he ate something not so right last Fri. He started coughing badly. Now back to strict diet. Good thing is that he will listen. I told him he's coughing so it's not for him. He seems to understand

St Dalfour jam can get from any supermarket. It's not organic. Only written no preservatives no sugar added.
When coughing, better dun eat bread. Bread has hidden sugars and probably preservatives too.
I put goats milk to cereals. Just make the milk like for drinking, but pour into a bowl and add cereals.

mtdt,
I give fruits even during cough
kekeke... but selected fruits. One of the fruits I usually give is dragonfruit. I think it's full of Vits.

aishite,
hahaha... the song is so cute...

angeline,
I think borders or Kino should have the book. I bought mine in Chinese from Bras Basah. Very good book to read on how to handle discipline

Lyn..

Bambino LUK... u wanna do BP ar.. keep it low profile... the distributor eyeing at SG motherhood... I got mine direct frm states! haha

GUG

Hey.. I rmb someone saying GUG is not as good now... why huh?

I will be signing up chelsia for the parents n tots class.. wanted the bilingual parent n tots or the playclub but all FULL...

lyn:
how is A now, better? Thanks for the info, didnt know cant take bread during coughing. Ya, will add goat milk into cereals....Hmm i think its due to dust that cause her cough....

steffi

mine worse..addicted to tv now.last time i used to control her watching those edu vcd..but everscience she stay at ny inlaw house for 3x...she grew addicted till can sing those songs liao...guess they let her watch the tv allday...they cant make her zzz.guess wat they do? they let her watch tv/vcd till she too tired n doze off to zzz...during my confinement when she come back 1st few days..can die man..character change abit..more rebellious..etc...even now still will pester me to on tv for her everday...trying to cut down on watching tv now...

lyn

chinese? wow..my chinese all return to teacher liao...haha...

Steffi,
Kell used to be addicted to VCDs but noticed that of late, even if the VCDs are onz… she will not watched it like how she used to watched (very focus; like the telly has sucked the soul off her) like before… even if the VCD is being switched off, she will be busily engrossed with other plays…

Lyn,
She ar… at times we are amused with what she says or her actions but there are times when we find her behaving like an old auntie like this. At bedtime today, I was applying some lotion on her buttocks. I have this bad habit of biting the cotton bud so that it will leave my hands free to diaper her up. She saw me and she said ’Mummy, cannot bite cotton bud like this. It will get stuck in mouth. Then you stay in hospital. Cannot come home. Qiqi is worried’. I smiled (trying not to burst out laughing). Then she said ’Say sorry to Qiqi’. I apologized and promised not to bite cotton bud again. She then said ’okay now. Qiqi hugs mummy’.

These days whenever we are at the malls and she needs to go to the toilet to wee, she will tell her daddy ’Qiqi go toilet pee pee now. You wait for me here okay? Wait here okay?’ Her daddy will usually replied with ’okay’ and she will usually reverts with a ’okay, see you later’.

This is the ultimate one that happened this morning. She requested for her pretend toy phone this morning when her dad is driving her to walk. She told her dad that she wants to call me. Then according to hubby, she placed the phone on the receiver and said ‘Mummy, qiqi go school now. I see you later okay? Must be good girl huh’. Then she made another call to Enen gege (my brother; but now becoming her imaginary friend and said ‘Enen gege, qiqi miss you. After I go school, I see you okay? You come qiqi house okay?’

Celeste,
GO ACT3 Speech and Drama lah! Why GUG when Chelsia is attending class already?

paula - Kelly going to ACT3? she starting MIM soon also right?

They are so cute now... but also v notti. always testing my patient! :p

mtdt,
thanks for the info! Want to go together? Me thinking of wat class for X on weekends. Wanted phonics but his cc teachers say they will be taught at N2..so better dun learn now and be bored later..
So now exploring....

Aishite,
This version's hilarious! Haha...am teaching the kids some songs from sound of music now! Perhaps should intro them this version and see their reactions...wahahah.

Paula,
My ger's also getting very mak nenek these days...always telling us to do/not do this and that, this way that way...very funny to see a little person walking around the house bossing.

Re: DVD
I'm glad right now my ger seems alright with the amount of TV time we allow her, which is 30-45 minutes everyday after dinner. Though I think one way to limit is to have a fixed time for watching TV. If they insist and cry, just let them and after that explain to them. It may be tiring initially on our part but after a week or so, they should get the idea of the routine. I think routine is really the key to managing any sorts of behaviours.

Re: Coughing
My ger just caught it again....haiz...really never ending since she went to cc...must also say i've been rather lax with her diet. I suspect the culprit is really outside foods, no matter how healthy they are cos i notice she doesn't get cough in periods when i cook for her religiously.

Callipoe:
C loves the 2 songs from the sound of music. She will sing or help me fill in the blanks. hee

Yup hv to be careful. C has been coughing for quite awhile.

Ivy,
MIM classes is on every Wednesday in LV@RP. The MIM teacher would come down to the school and teach them. ACT 3 have lah... but only Saturday 11.20am slot available I think... I am keen lei! Let me know if anymore interested... it will be nice if they could have a Chinese bilingual version too... keke

Paula - u noe which teacher goes down to LV?

I noe for MIM only 1 teacher @ Funan is "gd" :p
I trial at Parkway MIM before... CMI :p

MTDT : hey girl, re baby prom tic, are we going to meet at the door on the day itself ? Or sld i arrange to pick up the tic ?
(Am at work at Raffles Place - u still at Sommerset ?)

Kong-i prefer u gals to pick up before the show. Yes am still at somerset.

Celeste- I pass u paula's tics too?

Sorry I still haven send those mails one. Paisei...

Calliope
2 yo and oledi singing this, haha!
She's gonna join the PAP man.....get her used to wearing white :)
Did her school teach this? Wah...if so, realy peppered with PAP !!!

Tonight 930 show
There is this parenting show on Channel U at 9.30pm tonight showing G's Sunday school class, I heard. But G will not be in it coz she didn't attend that sunday. Well, jts if anyone is interested. The person in charge was on one of the earlier episode before. She is responsible for Growing Family Singapore. I have attended one of her toddler classes - very good tips.
http://www.gfi-singapore.org/webapp/smarty_forwarder_showcourse.php

paula, mtdt,

Act3 Class: 10 weeks for $250 + $50 registration.
Start 3rd Jan 2009, Sat, 10.45am.

Left 5 vacancy and i told her to reserve for us, she will hold till Monday only.

Please confirm by putting your name here and i will email you the details required for registrations.

1) Ivy
5)

Act3 Class: 10 weeks for $250 + $50 registration.
Start 3rd Jan 2009, Sat, 10.45am.

Left 5 vacancy and i told her to reserve for us, she will hold till Monday only.

Please confirm by putting your name here and i will email you the details required for registrations.

1) Ivy
2) Pauline (Mite be missing d first class because I will be in the States)

Aishite,
Haha...indeed very PAP. Her choice of colours cannot make it though...current faves are purple and pink...urgh! Yep,she learnt them from school plus I have also been singing these national songs during that august period cos have to teach the kids in school lah. Haha...must say these tunes are really infectious! Now on and off, she'd still sing them. Actually, she was singing the national anthem before i was fast enough to get hold of my camera. That's why,if you'd noticed, daddy was standing so still right next to her at the start of the vid. Yep, everyone in the house must be at sadiyah position when our friend sings the majullah!

MTDT,
She was singing 'We are Singapore' and the pledge. My friends also say the same...dunno what she's singing but got 'say' can liao. Haha.

Re: Lizards
I know this may sound silly to some of you but anyways to get rid of lizards? My house didn't use to have them, perhaps only once or twice a year my hubby would have to hunt them down. But in the last month or so, he's killed three! And today, I just spotted one when i got home! Yucks! I hate to say that my ger's now too developed some kind of phobia...she'd go: Lizards...yeeee yucks! and run away. Haiz...I'm to blame...and to think i was still thinking of depending on her to catch them for me when daddy's not around.

Calliope,
Go and get those lizard traps! It worked! When I first moved into the current flat, there were big big lizards roaming on our walls... till I got hold of this lizard trap... and the lizards got trapped... and since then, no more lizards liao... Guess the lizards send out signals to the rest of their family to avoid visiting our flat after seeing the traps!

calliope - oh!!
Zav also love the "we are singapore" song. v catchy uh! :p still the good old "singapore songs" niceer. the new ones - all i cant rem! hahaha

lizards - gd mah.. then home wont hv mosquito! hahahaah

Helo... how's everyone?

Re: Lizards
I have them at home too. Am ok with them but my maid is terrified of them and she prob influenced ER. He's quite scared of them too.

Re: Singing
ER is into Jingle Bells song now. Everyday goes Jingle Bells Jingle Bells Jingle all the way. Then wants to buy big jingle bell. Asked him where to buy from, he says "Ikea". Wonder how he knows ikea has it.

Re: Being possesive???
Does any of your tods exhibit the following behaviour? ER is extremely possesive of my things, ie he does not allow my hub to touch/hold on to my stuff, eg handphone. Example, just few nights ago, my hub borrowed my hp to use. ER refused to let him hold on to it...kept saying "mummy's hp, mummy's hp". My hub ignored him and took it into the studyroom and closed the door. 2 hours later, ER still rem hub has my hp and continues "mummy's hp, mummy's hp". He behaves the same way if hub uses my laptop. Just don't let my hub use it. Is he behaving normally?

Btw, he also refuses to sing happy birthday to papa. He'll sing happy birthday to mummy, ah mah, etc all except papa. Ask him to sing happy birthday to papa, he replies: papa no happy birthday.

Rodeo, hmm, Kell exhibited similar traits when she was younger… she refused my hubby to hold my hands or come close to me too. But these days, she is getting quite okay with it… have been spending loads of time explaining to her ‘it’s okay’ and etc…
and I think she understands that certain things can/must be done/share with family members…

MTDT, her MIM teacher is Teacher Maggie… Was told that they taught them one musical note per lesson…

Was sharing the following activities with Ashite the other day… quite a good activity to test out their taste for color.

Project Lollipop
i. Cut out three or four different sizes of circles; ranging from the biggest circle to the small circles.
ii. Get ready many bottles of paint and place these bottles in the basket.
iii. Explain to the child what they are supposed to do: they are creating a lollipop and are required to paint each circle with one color.
iv. Starts off with the biggest circle. Get the child to paint the biggest circle with their preferred color.
v. Then get the child to paint the second biggest circle with their preferred color. Paste the second biggest circle on top of the biggest painted circle.
vi. Continue on with the third or fourth circle.

Kell’s color combination for the first lollipop – purple, pink, red and her combination for the second one is – Orange, brown and yellow…

Have fun!