(2006/06) June 2006 MTB

mtdt,

where will you be hanging out this sat??

Lyn,
need to ask u... anything u'd recommend for eyesight?

I see a few kids under 5yo wearing specs and I'm very worried. These kids not having poor sight because of TV/ reading/ flashcards... it just "happened"- parent notices child rubbing/ squinting, go for test and realise astig etc. If not corrected with specs to balance usage of eyes, will lead to Lazy Eye.

I wore specs at 7yo... both HB and I have poor sight, so I dun think can *siam* myopia.

But I wld like to try DELAYING it, cos if my kids wear specs, bound to have some ignoramus who'd wag their finger at my kids and exclaim, "ooorh, must be watch too much TV! *tsk tsk*". You know, those AUNTIE STRANGERS always have alot to say. Bad enough that some occassionally in well-meaning manner harass my daughter, "how come so short? Must be never eat! Must eat more then u grow BIG, ok?!". (Ahgirl eats VERY well... eat anymore will be sideways expansion hor!)

Panda, Josh looks so different now...big boy liao leh...ya you will get a vaccination certificate from the clinic after you have completed all the jabs. You mean you dun have? By now should have completed all jabs right?

Dal, housewarming leh...keke..wah..congrats on 1st time successfully toilet training Jezoir. 2 of Jerica's boy classmates have just began toilet training in school, they were born in Jan 2006, 6 months older then our kids. Me still no courage to start Jerica on pee training. But she already sit on the adult toilet bowl to pass motion.

Mummies morning.
What certifictae huh, I didn't even get it for my girl..What should I do, go back to the clinic ti get it ? It will issue after 18mths jab ?

Cutie, its a vaccination certificate detailing all the jabs and the dates taken, you will get it after the last 18mths jab. They din even issue for your girl? Its a handwritten cert where the clinic will issue on the spot. Maybe you should check with them.

2yo assessment, shld be when u get the cert I think? I just switched PDs... so til now haven't sent Boy for 2yo assessment. Made appt at new PD next Mon though... will be assessing Girl's ht/ wt/ eyesight (for peace of mind lah) too.

My friend who brings her kid to RMG, also no cert, she says that according to RMG, some clinic will give some will not. but most important is that MOH must be informed. All jabs details are already written in the health booklet so should be ok.

PP, I check with clinic they say no assessment for 2yo le..the next one is 3yo..are they giving me the right information ? My Ah gal vision test not too good so have to redo in OCT, a bit worry for her.

Spice, if I took the 5-in-1 and the rest at different clinic, can I still have the cert.

Cutie, hmmm...i am not sure about tat. For Jerica, her MMR is taken at polyclinic, the rest from the same clinic. Maybe like what my fren said, so long as MOH is informed, the cert is not necessary, since all records are in health booklet already.

Below from my friend's colleague who registered her kid for primary 1.
"My colleague say when she went for the registration, some child got cert, some got cert for certain jab. her kids (twins) both no cert. the school is only interested in the booklet last page which has records of the jab. school will make a copy of the last page from health book."

sunflower,

thanks. Will keep you all updated.

toto,

ya J was not in school since last week. We went to Genting last week. She had fever since Thursday and then Monday the rashes came after fever break. Its false measles. The rashes are gone and fever are gone too. So she will be back today after missing school for more than a week.

morning mummies - ipanda, wow - josh is all grown up, cannot recognise him at all...

sunflower, what are you doing this weekend? ke ke... me most likely going to sentosa on sat!

VV, sunflower, no le... bringing sis and mum. sis will take J on luge... then go Rasa then lunch.

nowadays, J's fav is skyride and luge. ke ke..

btw - next week keen to go on hippo river cruise? boarding at clarke quay.

re: cert
my PD issued me the cert during the last jab at 18M ler..and the nurse keep on emphasize must keep it properly cause u will need it when my kid go to school and so on....even ask me go and laminate it.....

Cutie,
my previous PD was suspended temporarily... we didn't have the confidence to continue with him. But the clinic phoned to tell us Boy was due for 2yo assessmt.

Hmm I just DIY eyetest the girl, I handwrote "B, 3, E, 2" on a paper placed a distance away.

Covered each eye... RIGHT eye stronger leh. Not sure if any implication.

She was rubbing her left eye while playing the piano.
I heard that squinting/ rubbing eyes is a sign of weaker eye/ astig... I'm worried too.

PP, the vision test is just like we went to the optical shop. So did you write from big letters to small one. She fail on the row with smallest letter which suppose to be seen at their age.
Will just bring her again in Oct again and see how is it.

Steffi,
Thank you for the link, will check later.

hello mommies...

finally got some breathing space. hahaha...

toto,
Wah.. going sentosa this weekend... hee.. this weekend, bringing ABC take train up North M'sia ;) Go visit kampong, visit chicken farm, and maybe durian plantation too
should be quite a good experience for A.

pawprint,
For eyesight, I do believe in nutrition is very important for eyesight. Have you thought of how come nowadays more and more kids wear spectacles? Is it only due to television?
I dunno what is your believe. For me, I believe in nutrition and supplements. Many people believe in nutrients from food only. How are the food grown and transported nowadays? For us here, our vegetables and fruits are imported, during the journey, handling and storage by the big stores, our own handling and storage, cooking, will there be loss of nutrients? Yes, nutrients from food is the best, but are they really as nutritious as compared to our parents' time?

ooo.. gotta buzz off now... C crying for milk... moooooo.... later going JG at 4.30pm

I recommend Vplus. Got new and enhanced version coming soon.

Spicegal,
That’s really good to know that Jerica is doing well in school. Kell’s Chinese Teacher sure complained right, left, top and bottom about her spoken Chinese language with Ang Moh slant. Sigh.

Dal,
Congrats on successful potty training! Help to save us quite a lot on diapers fees … Kell will also to help to empty her own potty into the toilet bowl. Keke.

panda:
How r u? Long time never hear from you. Josh so big liao. heehee btw u gg to Spore fireworks festival this yr? heehee tis yr seems alot of program ya.

terrible 2 signs:
Chloe also showing signs too, sometimes i lost patience n wil shout at her. N she wil know i m angry n she will say "Mummy angry" and then will ask me to forgive her by saying "Mummy sayang chloe". heehee then all my anger diminished..

<font color="ff6000"><font face="kristen ITC"><font size="+1">mummies</font></font></font>
<font color="0077aa"><font face="century">thanks for all the info on the immunisation cert. REally helpful!</font></font>

<font color="ff6000"><font face="kristen ITC"><font size="+1">toto</font></font></font>
<font color="0077aa"><font face="century">how is J now? Hope he's adjusting well.</font></font>

<font color="ff6000"><font face="kristen ITC"><font size="+1">steffi</font></font></font>
<font color="0077aa"><font face="century">thanks for the website..josh's immunisation records all updated. Maybe i can print the summary &amp; put inside the health book.</font></font>

<font color="ff6000"><font face="kristen ITC"><font size="+1">kite</font></font></font>
<font color="0077aa"><font face="century">yap, going again this year. May go for NDP too! </font></font>

pawprint,
haha.. guess i'm more fortunate to be cleaning puddles for just a week. :) but of cos it was not the case of just buy and wear and voila, done! for the past month or so i have been asking him if he wan2 wear underwear and he said yes. but when i told him he must tell me b4 he pees and must pee in the toilet bowl, he'll say dun wan and wan2 wear diaper. it was only recently that he seemed more open to the idea then i acted. from tomo onwards we'll try letting him wear underwear when we're out too. hope things will work out well. *keeping my fingers crossed.
yeah, somehow peer pressure does work. i was also thinking of this but then since the opportunity presented itself, might as well just take a chance lor. :)

mtdt,
hm.... but jezoir is not hiao leh. maybe beginning to be? haha...

sunflower,
no need to gatecrash. invite will be sent. hehe...

spicegal,
you;re in the invite list liao lor. haha.. since jerica already using adult toilet bowl for pooing, so maybe can start her on peeing? jezoir still refuses the toilet bowl for big business. :)

pauline,
thx! he must catch up with kell mah. hahah.... yeah, can save on diaper money. :) dats so good of kell. she's really grown up. for now jezoir only pees in the toilet bowl. he refuses it for the 'big biz'. think will give him some time. otherwise backfire then jialat. heheh..

Dal,
Yea, she is in the ‘qiqi helps’ mode now. Everything also wanted a hand. She will help to fetch the bowls to the basin after meals and volunteer to throw rubbish away (there will be spills to clean up with), clean the floor with wet towel, every morning when she wakes up, she will unopened her own diaper and throw it away… everything also ‘qiqi helps qiqi helps’… nowadays, after pooing, she also wants to wipe herself … it doesn’t help that she has been talking non-stop and it can goes ‘mummy holds please, mummy waits please, mummy sit on the floor please, daddy read a book please’… she can go on and on till my hubby said, ‘buay tahan, overdosage liao’!

morning mummies, yesterday J cried at school when he saw his classmate's daddy, and kept calling jake daddy... he din eat much at lunch, and had no mood the whole day. so heart pain...

anyway, decided to stay in the US for 3 months, extend J's visit there. hopefully, i can get him into a school there, and if all goes well, will relocate early 2009 after J's graduation at LW.

paula - kell is so cute, J also loves to help out. maybe we should organise a get together for them, say clean up day! ke ke...

dal... wow... go out without diapers, i wish i can do that soon! will spend more effort on toilet training. J will pee in the toilet when i ask him to... sometimes he din want to wear his diapers as well. but he will forget to inform us, hence he still needs to be on diapers in school. some inconsistency here, hope i can train him in the US... btw - what brand of underwears did you get for J?

Toto,
Yep, a clean-up day would be great! I have tried letting Kell going on diaperless when we are out but gave up cos’ because of hygiene factors… toilet bowls!

toto,

why dun u put on training pants for J? The teachers will help u to toilet train him too by bringing him to the toilet to pee regularly if you tell them.

Sad to say, my S not toilet trained at all
He knows all the concept and what he should do but he refused to pee in the toilet bowl. His teachers are now helping us by letting him wear his training pants in school. I really pray he will get the hang of it soon.... he just dun let go in the toilet lah... funny boy. dun think i can toilet train my J soon.

do u give J DHA or omega 3/6 fish oil supplement? I read some research that omega 3/6 may help in speech development and eye contact issues. I am trying to give my kids nordic natural omega 3-6-9 now. But I wonder whether I shd switch to the nordic natural children's DHA instead. The concentration of DHA is higher in that. Omega-6 more easily found in diet thus I wonder should I just go for a higher DHA content.

Dal, thanks in advance
Ya I am thinking of starting her pee training soon. Hope she can be like Jezoir soon, go out without diapers.

Paula, Kelly so cute, really a great helper at home ah? Jerica also wants to do many things by herself, take off pants &amp; diapers, wear pants, comb hair, apply lotion, bring dirty laundry to the pail, throw rubbish, (open the door, close the door, on the light switch, off the light switch, press the lift buttons) with our help by asking us to carry her, fold the blankets..haiz..sometimes if we forget and do it ourselves, she will get angry with us...haha...

Spicegal.
Haha, good to have her around lah but just that at times, by being helpful, she mess things up loh … so have to keep a check on our temper and make full use of her help at the time being! If not, as she grows older and refused to help, then we chiam! Haha.

poohy / toto
hx is partially toilet trained..she is 100% correct wrt pooing but when it come to peeing, she will let us know only when she's in the 'right' mood. Also, she doesnt seem to be able to differentiate bet poo and pee leh, to her, everything is 'emm emm'

poohy, i got the nordic natural children's DHA in strawberry flavor for J, but have yet to give him. actually, i tried it myself, taste quite ok, you just need to squirt it into their mouth, or maybe their food, if they do not like the taste. right now, J is on Childlife Colostrum and Ester C, and i am proud to say J has not fallen ill since a long time. his immune system has really strengthen so much since he started PG.

re toilet training, maybe i will check with the teachers in school. my concern is there are so many kids, and i wonder whether the teacher will remember to bring J to the toilet.

steffi, J is trained to poo in his potty since 6 months, and he will tell us when he wants to poo. when we are outside, he is willing to sit on the toilet bowl.

guess we just need to hang in here re toilet training, as soon as they understand the concept, they should be most willing to cooperate.

Toto,
Nordic Natural Children's DHA is the Cod Liver Oil right? Kell is also on Childlife Colustrum... Where do you get Easter C from? She has been off supplements for three weeks down because of the medication intervention. Have to start her on it soon.

paula,

nordic natural children's DHA is not cod liver oil leh i think. But it does contains Vitamin A. I give the nordic natural omega 3-6-9 but am considering between the 2 'cos the concentration of DHA is lower in the 2nd one. I used to give children's DHA, but they hated it. Now I force feed liao... force them to eat

good to give probiotic to Kelly since she had been on fair bit medication recently.

I am giving (or attempting to) give nordic natural DHA or omega 3-6-9, lecithin and childlife colostrum with probiotic to my kids now. Hope it helps.

All these talks on potty training reminded me of two incidents. Kell imitated her teacher in one of the evenings. Hubby and I were sitting on the sofa. Suddenly, she folded her arms, looked at us and said in a stern voice, ‘you want to go toilet? No! Go now.’ That stern expression projected out from her eyes is just so funny. There is another laughing episode at home when she leaked a little on her sofa and she came running to me and told me that ‘qiqi pee pee on sofa. Daddy is angry.’ I asked ‘why is daddy angry with qiqi?’ She replied ‘coz the sofa is dirty’.

toto,

ohh din knw its cod liver oil... no wonder got vitamin A
u mean you just peel open the softgel and make J swallow it ah?

Poohy, Toto,
Do you think now is a good time to introduce cultured milk to them since cultured milk contains probiotics? I am just worried that she will be addicted to the sweetness of the cultured milk that I’ve been dragging my feet.

paula,

www.nordicnaturals.com

got softgel and liquid version. Liquid version easier to feed for me.

cultured milk is yakult? my mum give them to my kids but i dun really like it cos too sweet. I give S acidophilus from Animal Parade. Recently he took a liking to those candy but i dunno for how long lah. I thought childlife colostrum already has probiotics?

toto,

ya its cod liver oil.

Poohy,
I think the probiotics component is stronger in yakult and vitagen. I am still trying hard to keep Kelly clear from sweets but it is getting tougher cos she is seeing her peers eating sweets.