(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

<font color="0000ff">Interested in bringing our little tots to this playgym this Sunday, say 3pm?

The Alantis City @ Delta
Tel: 64799709
www.playtime-recreations.com

It's located at Delta Sports Complex (near Redhill MRT)
Rate: $4 per hour, but if you buy a PlayCard for 10 hours, it's only $2 per hour.</font>

<font color="0000ff">milo,
When you brought Kaeden to HK, did you bring along his food and stroller? Think we need to check in the stroller right as it can't be carried onto the plane. Do you have to declare the food and milk powder?</font>

bbloh,

yup, i brought along his FM and stroller. this time round, i packed his stroller and checked in cos on our previous trip to BKK, they almost lost my stroller when i used it till the entrance of the plane.

no need to declare anything leh. u going hk?

Hihi Milo,

What do you mean by you packed his stroller and checked in? How do you do that?

U mean on yr previous trip, even when the stroller was physically on the plane with you, they almost lost it??

<font color="0000ff">Hi milo,
Thanks for your reply. Do you have to check in his FM? Packing stroller mean you have to wrap it up? I'm not going to HK this year but may be going to Korea in Sep as my DH is going there for a training course.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Eu Yan Sang Member Discounts at the Singapore Zoo
From now till 31 August 2007, Eu Yan Sang Privilege Card Members are entitled to 10% discounts off published rate for Friends of the Zoo and Wildlife Unlimited memberships at the Singapore Zoo.

Terms and conditions apply.
- Promotion is valid till 31 August 2007.
- Discount is applicable only for application at the Singapore Zoo or Night Safari Visitors Centre. Mail-in or online application will not be accepted.
- Eu Yan Sang members are to present their privilege card at the point of application.</font>

Fairysnowberry,

I got the Zapp which comes with a bag. Packed it in and checked in as lugguage.

Ya lor. They are supposed to give me the stroller when i leave the plane but didnt. Waited till all the lugguage cleared liao still never see my stroller. Asked the crew, no one understand what i am talking abt..

Bbloh,

I checked in 1 400g and brought with me 2 feeds worth of FM.

Mummies feeding GAIN IQ,

Anyone face problem with it? K will poo but his poo is 1 lump like marble leh. Is it not suitable?

littletot,

need to feed how long then will be back to normal huh? K is on it for abt 1.5 mths liao. i switched to nan 3 today and see how it goes.

back from the motherhood fair also.. so many ppl grabbing pampers machiam no need money like tat :p

milo,
she's on it for about a mth liao.Say about 2 weeks to get used to it.But then she was on similac follow on b4.Hmm... maybe you'll like to persist for a while longer and see how?

Did you manage to buy NAN3 on its promo price at the fair? Original $30 selling at $5 but must product birth cert.Were you there ard 7pm? Pampers promo for 1st 50 customers at 7pm onwards, buy L or XL $23.50 selling at $11.90.1 pack/person.Other then that its buy 2-3 pack at original price(depends on the size)and get a free fisher price toy, while stock lasted.But i find it no pt.Might as well buy from supermarket.30% off retail price(all sizes) but for today only.

Hi littletot and milo

Where is the motherhood fair? Oh! you mean there is NAN3? I don't see it around! I've only seen NAN 1 and 2. And my gal has to drink the hypoallergenic one.

After your kids turn 1, is there any vaccination that they need to have? I called my PD. He said only the chicken pox one, which is optional. The next one is at 18 month

hi yvonne,
Motherhood Fair is at EXPO hall 5A.7-10june, 12pm-10pm.Nan3 is for 10mths-3yrs.Not sure if they've got the hypoallergenic ones.You may call their customer svc hotline 68367200 to chk

Hi bbpotato
What a beautiful cake!!!

Hi milo
When my daughter took gain when she was 1+, she had constipation a few times. Gotta make sure she took ALOT of water and fruits.

Vaccination - anyone's bb has taken the pneumoccocal vac yet?

M'hood Fair I can't go due to many programmes this wknd, but I got a colleague who went to help me get MIM nursing bras. Very gd deal! If you're getting anything fm MIM, remember to print out the 10% discount voucher!

Yvonne,

Got. The Nan 3 is the new one.

K used to be on NAN 1 and 2 HA but now taking NAN 3. According to the person, once baby reaches 1, they shld be free from allergies thus NAN 3 dun have the HA.

Littletot,

Never lor.. Aiyo i was there so early but didnt know got this promo so never bring along BC. I got it 2 tins for $40. Cheap also la

hi fairysnowberry,
i dun tink peg perego stroller comes with a bag ...think u have to pay extra to buy lei. i'm considering buying...keke

Am thinking of getting a new pram for boy as find my peg perego so heavy n bulky. Any recommendations, pls?

Btw, my son bo gai for the longest time...suddenly pop out 4 teeth at the same time.
so happy...initially tot its becoz i no drink milk hence my boy no teeth...

<font color="0000ff">Mummies,
Are you still using baby detergent for cleaning bottles and laundry?

I'm thinking of getting a savings policy for my DS. What plan did you buy for your little tot(s)?</font>

The thread seems like a bit slow recently...
Would like to know, other than saying "papa,mama,gou gou,jia jia,mei mei,bai bai.." my boy likes to say "yiyi...yayaya...ahahah" frequently, izzit the same as ur child?

bbloh,
am still using baby detergent for cleaning bottles (but only once per 2 wks)but use steriliser to steam it daily. oso using bb detergent for laundry..

bbloh,

i am using kodomo baby laundry detergent. it is only about $7 for re-fill so i plan to continue to use. cos for our own laundry, we use powder detergent and i worry there is residue if not washed thoroughly.

My bb is not eating well recently. I was wondering if she is sick of the food. (porridge+ veg+ fish)

I saw some mummies giving cereal, may I know the brand and type?
I gave her the white bread from gardenia, the milk type, is it ok?

Can they eat macoroni?She will spit out the food recently creating such mess, any ways to teach her not to do it?Also she has been trying to pull my hair off despite telling her nonono. Is smacking her hands a good way to deter her from doing?

<font color="0000ff">Seems that most mummies still stick with baby laundry and bottle detergent. Was thinking whether to stock up when my current supply depletes.

lh_jyc,
Are you looking for light weight stroller? Try Aprica or Combi. Maclaren also has some light weight models too.

Race,
Your boy's vocab is quite wide already. Mine usually says "Mama", "Baba" & "neh neh" but he likes to point at things (e.g. at the light when we switch it on) and likes to move our hands to do some tasks (e.g. to scoop water with a mug and pour onto him).

Firefly,
Try changing the type of food. We will also be sick of the food if it is offered daily right?

For bases, I feed my boy brown rice (ground), white rice porridge, mee sua, stelline (similar to macaroni but is flowery shape) & rolled oats (ground), serving each type not more than 2 days consecutively.

For cereal, it's not necessary to feed them ready-made type, maybe except during outing or travelling. I used to feed my boy Healthy Times cereal but no longer do so as now I grind the brown rice myself. It only takes 10 mins to cook.

I also give him table food if they're not too oily, sweet or salty. After 1 yo, their digestive system is more mature and should be able to handle more types of food.

As for spitting food out, my boy has yet to master the art of spitting. However, he will soemtimes roll out his tongue and the food will drop off his mouth. Usually, I will stop feeding him for a while and try again shortly to see if he still wants to eat. Else, I just take the food away. On the other hand, it is actually a way to protect themselves.

On smacking hands, I must admit that I've done it before when he scratched our faces hard. I will look him in the eyes and say "No! Pain pain."</font>

Hi ana and bloh,

Thanks will check maclaren

Hi firefly
smacking works for me. but beware as bb will imitate u and may smack others. my boy does that

my hub n i have been ahemm a bit stern on him and we use rubberband or smack him to punish him

now if anyone says rubberband or beat, he will make the actions immediately

oh one thing i enjoyed playing w my boy is I tot him the actions to "siang na jing", "or be good", "crying", "coughing", "laughing", "or ee or ee or" etc... they learn and when u repeat these words, they do the actions..its so funny n can make them confused...heee...pple say i seow mummy at times, teach my son all these nonsensical stuff

Hi Race,

My son's vocab is limited to "bus, bird, ball, bye, Ye ye, Pa pa, mai (dunwan), rubberband and mom mom (asking for food). Sad thing is that he does not call Ma Ma except when he's crying

FYI, Nestle is giving away a $38 goodie bag that contains a NAN 3 follow-up formula (900g), hippo plush toy, powder dispenser and a set of 3 bibs tomorrow between 11am to 3pm at OUB Centre Walkway.
Mummies, in order to collect the goodie bag, you must remember to bring along your child's birth cert and any empty tin of formula.
(But I saw a lot of people working in that area just give the baby's birthcert no, never give any empty tin to the Nestle Staff to collect the $38 goodie bag)
NAN 3 is a follow up formula for baby fm 10mths to 3 years

<font color="0077aa">Hihi

speech
My boy has 8 teeth but he can only say Mama, Papa, car car, jie (sister) and ahhhhhhh (scream). lh_jyc, wow! Your son can say RUBBERBAND! That's a three syllable word!!

detergent
Yes, we're still using baby laundry detergent and bottles detergent. Likely will stop using bottles detergent when my current stock runs out. As for washing, should be sticking with it for a few more months.

punishing
We don't smack (we've never smacked our girl too). We will say 'no' or 'cannot' in a very stern voice and remove the object/carry him away. For me, I don't believe in smacking or canning. I use reasoning and logic with my girl when she was old enough to understand. She is turning out ok so far

Hi bello,

Ya, when he first said that word, i tot i was dreaming but when he repeated it a few times...well confirmed liao lor. guess it was becoz we have been using that to punish him

stern "No" already dun work with him. he is veri pampered by the gradnparents and will give all sorts of pattern now

Hi Ino,

U considering to buy the stroller bag? How much does 1 cost? I dun think i will buy the stroller bag. I may probably just leave the stroller with the stewardess at the entrance to the plane and collect it when exiting bah.

Hi lh_jyc yah my hubby also recently commented that the peg perego is a bit bulky. But i think its not as bulky as quinny zap?

Milo,

Your Zapp still in one piece when you collect your luggages? I thought they will throw the luggages around when we checked them in. Hee..

bbloh,

I'd bought a variety of savings and protection policies when J was born. I think you gotta share with your agent your concerns and priority, and they will draft some plans for you. I think insurance is a lousy way for savings....so we channeled some of our $$ to buy unit trusts etc

<font color="0000ff">A cute video to share:
http://www.10000fathers.sg/blog/?p=81

<font size="+1">Celebrate Fathers Day at East Coast Park!</font>
Launch of 10000 Fathers Reading! on 17 June, Sunday
Enjoy fun & entertaining programmes and performances
Fathers who read to their children get a free goodie bag!*

*while stocks last

DATE: 17 June 2007 (Sunday, Fathers Day)
TIME: 11am - 6pm
VENUE: East Coast Parkway, Area E (big field beside Carpark E2, near East Coast Lagoon Food Village)
GUEST-OF-HONOUR: Mr Gan Kim Yong (Minister of State for Education and Manpower)

ADMISSION IS FREE.
NO REGISTRATION NEEDED.

Click http://www.10000fathers.sg/blog/?cat=16 for the programme line-up.

HOW TO GET THERE?
- Car
- Taxi
- Bus No. 401 (from Bedok Bus Interchange, near Bedok MRT)

FREE! Direct Shuttle Bus Service
- From Bedok Bus Interchange, near Bedok MRT)
- Available from 11am - 7pm</font>

<font color="0000ff">fates,
Thks for replying. I'd just like to know which companies give better offers at a lower premium. It's nut-cracking & time-consuming to talk to so many different reps and compare, esp. for a "non-financial" type of people like me.</font>

bbloh, my advice is to speak with a ifa (independent financial adviser) with regards to your concerns. He/she will be able to provide you with a wide variety of products from differenct insurance companies.

Do visit this site sgfunds (www.sgfunds.com) for more information.

Btw, I've been mulling over whether to purchase this plan. Read this thread for more info.
http://forums.sgfunds.com/viewtopic.php?t=5510

Btw, my ifa gave me a quote for Amber. PM me if you would to view the benefit illustration.

fates,

heng ah, still in one piece. my travel insurance got cover the zapp. if spoil lagi best, got a new one!

Ah K,

Wow wow where did you buy from travel insurance from? Intro leh

bbloh,

If you want lower premium, NTUC's policy is known to be quite cheap but protection wise.....I don't know how comprehensive is it because I don't have good experience with their car insurance! Manulife's policy yields good returns, and if you want my agent's contact to get a quote, let me know. shawny's idea of talking to a IFA is great too! Besides insurance they can advise on the different vehicles of investments for you to invest your $$$s. Let me know too, if you would like my IFA's contact.
kao_embarrassed.gif

MUMMIES,

Any gathering coming up??

Anyone interested in Little Gym trial at Forum? Thought of going for one more trial before deciding on Gymboree :p

Ah E,

I think its Aviva Travel Insurance. Exact package not too sure, have to ask my Ah Lau. U thinking of getting huh?

hi mummies, just pop a question, anyone sought fengshui/naming master to name your babies?

i was thinking to consult the master to check my gal's chinese name.

anyone heard of You Long Zi?