(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Gina,

u went to the PD in Blk 139 Dr Cecilia Lee ??

i went there for his colic and only cost me $30. This time went for jab dun even charge consultation fees. I only paid for the jab

milo66,
My hb doesnt like e idea to bring bb out. stated that bb is too young and not good to be exposed in e public area like shopping centers; fully air con enclosed area. I fully agreed through cos keane hasnt finish all the 5 in 1 jab, pneuomococcal jab n rotaviru jab n chicken pox jab.
We did bring him out 1s to East coast park for abt 15min.Other then that, we just stay at home and play with him.

twinkle starry,
yr pd charges so x for 5 in 1 jab? Kids clinic charge $400 for the package, $79 for each dose. Pneuomococcal jab is $165 each, rotavirus is $95

annie,

if PD has package it will be cheaper. but this PD has no package. Pneuomococcal jab is @$150.

her price is reasonable and some GP even charge @$95.

One thing i like abt this PD , she perform routine checks and very thoroughly which i know some PD dun do so.

annie,

no lah, i am not bring him to the beach yet. And also will not be late at nite, cos it will disrupt his sleeping time.

Taurus,
yup, i agree with you on exposing bbs to as many ppl as possible so that they are not scare of stangers.

I agree tht it's good to expose bb to ppl, of course not to very crowded place.

I bring my boy down to playground every morning, he can meet other children besides enjoy morning sunshine

Wow,

That means my PD charge me very ex ley ... S$100 for the Rotavirus jab ... S$120 for the 5-in-1 and S$160 for the Pneuomococcal jab ....8( ....

ivy / taurus / annie / starry,

ya kaeden will normally play on his own after milk then slowly drift to sleep. will wake up again for next milk feed and this can continue for the whole day. felt bad leaving him in the room alone, like do nothing whole day but will bring him out for dinner or grandma place lor. do we need to teach them anything or play with them? i see my dad can talk to him for 1/2 hrs, i tried but cannot contining rattling on for so long

ivy,

agree too! i brought my boy out every weekend since his full mth celebration loh. better in this way cos more exposure to ppl and place, thus when we are at a new place or someone carry him, he will be ok with it.

i am trying to let kaeden be as chin chye as possible. eat wat, slp where all no prob else i very chiam

Initially we went to Kinder Clinic in Mt Alvernia for the jab ... just the 6-in-1 and Pneuomoccal jab already cost us S$400 plus ... coz they charge us consulation S$80 and S$10 for the fever medicine

So we decided to change to another PD ... and 3 jabs cost us S$399 and they did not charge consultaion and medicine ... and this current PD did not recommend 6-in-1 and ended up my boy took the 6-in-1 at 6 weeks but 5-in-1 at 3 mths ....????

Really so confuse by all these jabs and pricing difference ... really think that they should control the pricing abit hor ...

milo,

your boy is really good leh! I want him to slp also cannot.At this age, you can play music to him or just like your dad, rattle to him ( mostly nonsense)
I will just talk to him like wat i did for the past week, or ask him how is his week and i will ans my questions to him myself! haha....its very funny if you can picture it...haha..

ivy,

haha..can..like me, machiam talking to the wall lor..now everynight after fetching him hm from my mum place, i will spend abt half an hrs 'asking' how is his day. alittle silly but seeing his smile makes it all worth it!

taurus,

kinderclinic charge super ex... i wont go to them for vaccine, thinking of GP but cannot deny that dr terence tan is gd

Hi milo,

I play music ... and will also sing to my boy and also incorporate some gestures ... like sing twinkle twinkle little stars ... I will open close my fingers like stars glittering ... and sometime i see tt my boy boy will try to mimick by open his fingers ... and he now also try to sing in his BB language ...super cute ... we also tok to him and he will noe how to answer back in his BB language or will reply with a big bright smile ... really melt all our hearts .... kekek ... and sometimes when I tok to my mum or hubby ...BB will think I toking to him and keep replying also....hahah

Milo,

yr bb so so guai leh can fall asleep on his own. mine no way except at night. he still prefer to cuddle and pat to sleep.

I noticed my son likes the word butterfly dun know why lah . Maybe see the silly mummy flying around singing Fly Fly Butterfly. hahaha

milo, I am so envious! My son wants to be carried all the time. Even when he's carried, he cries. I find him so grouchy!

Just to check if any of ur bb can stand when holding his arms or turn already??

Coz went for the 3 mth checkup and the nurse ask us these questions and try to hold my boy and make him stand??? was quite surprise n ask the nurse ...3 mths isnt abit too young n the nurse say no ... some 3 mths can stand liao ... so now we start to train my boy to stand .... he just learn to turn with alittle assistance 2 days ago ...kekek .. but have to be more careful now

twinkle starry,
She is good n v detail. if you are comfortable with her then stick with her. Good for yr son, cos she knows yr boy well since she see him few times already.
Like my PD, through my gynea recommended DR LIlian lim, we change to this DR Allyson Tan due Dr lim is fully booked at e 1st visit. Up till now, i still stick to her cos she was e 1 that detected keane's heart has a hole.
She oso v detail n does e routine check through everytime i have to wait at least 2 hours.

milo66,
wah! so envy, your son love sleeping hor.. you can play with yr boy while he is awake. Keane is alway awake at home. My hb n i take turn to play with him. He seems to prefer to play with father.
He oso loves 2 look at his father.. thats make me v jealous! i will scold him for not wanting his mummy..

i think i m little mouse or what, this time round, i feel scary as currently its lunar ghost mth. I alway ask keane, whats he looking at or starring at during night time. He will lift his head up abit to look at something. Usually, i will think that he is starring at the ceiling but maybe i scare myself this mth.

Taurus,
no! my pd said most bbs can flip by 4th mth. think e nurse got v high expectation hor.My pd also stated that 3th mth, bb neck should b able to b more firm.Think the nurse wants to check yr bb neck swinging a lot or no

haha on my side here, we were getting worried how come he likes to zzz so much :p at my mum's place, he cant slp for long though, maybe weekend compensate back

starry,

my boy likes the word "chou chou (smelly)" and he give me the brightest smell when i make noise at how stinky his poo is..

hi Annie,

dun think you are paranoid. my son also like to stare at one corner of my living room ceiling, even in the day time. on some occasions, he will also smile as if someone is at that corner. that already happened during my confinement.

according to my mum, babies can see spirits but they cannot differentiate them between human beings. i am sure you heard of old folks saying not to bring young babies out at night, especially during lunar 7th month.

maybe i am superstitious but i believe in guan yin, so i got an amulet from the temple and let him wear it. we also do not bring him out after the sun sets.

my aunt were saying not to try making ur bb stand at this early stage as their muscles not strong to cope with the weight.
when he comes older,he may suffer frm bowlegged..its no good in a sense that when he grows up,he or she will experience knee problem.
But my 2month old son enjoy standing n walking movement esp i bring him to e pool.wad i do is i oni allow his feet to touch the ground rather then landing weight on his leg.

anastasia,
my bb too......remember the 1st day of the ghost festival.
my son woke up at 130am for feeding..normally when he wakes up,he will make alot of noise trying to get attention.
but that nite i remember very correctly was,he didnt.
in fact,he was busy looking all over the room n den start staring at a particular space n start smiling n giggling.so cute i felt that time..
but when i slowly regain my "conscious" i realised it not that funny anymore..the whole nite he was giggling..i felt so irritated that i hang my buddha pendent given by my hk cousin on his cot.
after a while later,he kept quiet n dozed off..

anastasia/janise/annie

i heard if 'they' disturb yr bb, yr bb will cry . Maybe smiling is a better thought lor.

some old folks say scold bb when u see him smiling to the space, some say dun sco;d or else the spirits will know.

so many stories, dun think too much lor. just take it easy if not how to pull thru 2 7th mths leh.

twinkle starry/janise/anastasia,
u can said i m timid or supersitious leh. Old folks alway said that bb can see 3 jie (human, hell & heaven)till the age of 6 years old.
Just now, keane again smiled,talk and made those giggling sound when i changed his dryper in e room. He was staring my left side ceiling. I kept asking him " Who are you looking at, keane". He nvb responsed to my call. He only keep starring the same direction n smiling. I got frustrated n called my hb in.
Can you imagine that my hb waved his hand in front of keane eye, he still didnt look. Out of anger, i said that i dun hope anyone to disturb my son.
I do make keane wear the fu (put inside a red cloth n sew in triangle shaped) and hang on his neck. After one incident happend the 1st day of ghost festival. He suddenly cried like hell in e daytime.
Hopefully this lunar ghost festival get over soon.

just to share my experience too... it's either this so-called 7th month is really spooky or i'm just paranoid?
i was feeding my boy his milk that night (on the 1st day of the 7th month) and he kept crying with each attempt to drink from the bottle (for no reason at all)... that had never happend before even though he has a tendency to cry when he choke on his milk. suddenly i had this feeling that probably he was looking at some ugly faces right in front of him which made him cry... i quickly told my husband to come nearer to our boy and talk to him and soothe him. almost immediately he stopped crying. after that night, i decided to let him sleep together with us in the room lest he sees something spooky again and gets frightened.

btw, yesterday was my first day at work after ML... when i got home at about 7pm, my boy was already getting ready to sleep, didn't get to spend much time with him, so sad... and this morning i was rushing to pump milk and prepare myself for work, by time i want to say good-bye to him he was oredi asleep...
feeling so sad...

gummie,

dun be sad lah..my first day at work, i also cried bucket after leaving kaeden at my mum's place. he was holding on to my top when i tried to put him on the cot..wah so sad. now everyday after work, will rush back to collect him so can catch him before he zzz.

hi Annie,
my advice is best not to agitate those 'things'. who knows it may one of your ancestors who came to visit keane. so long as keane is well and he has his 'fu' with him. just tilt his head towards you or carry him to another room if you feel uncomfortable about him smiling at 'something'.

hi gummie,
me too...it was my first day at work yesterday. My gal woke up early in the morning...to see me off to work...then i heard she was quite cranky the whole day. She still refused to take the bottle...in the end, my parents spoon-feed the milk into her mouth...

when i went home yesterday, she was already asleep. i can only tok/sing to her during her nite feeds...also feel very sad...

milo/ ino,
at least yr babies show some attachment to you... my boy simply 'bochap' me. just now i called home and was told that he's happily playing, doesn't seem to know that mummy's not around, much less 'miss' me :'(

gummie,

u shld ask the maid to let him hear yr voice , maybe on speaker phone or put to his ear so u can talk to him mah

hi annie

read frm above, dr tan is e one who found ur boy has a hole in e heart. Can i noe how come she managed to find out? is it during checkup at her clinic? She is my pd as well but she did not do such a detailed chk on my gal.

Or is it becos ur boy got some symptoms so that she did a further chk?

my dodo 77,
if i m not mistaken should be 25 July (1 day b4 my hb birthday). is the 1st day of 7th mth.

babe99,
just a normal hearing to the lung or heart, like e way doc d 2 us when we see doc. Murmur sound for bb whose has a hole in e heart like keane. She oni checked normally n fast that time cos keane oni 6th day oni and was cried loudly.
When she told us our son heart has a hole, we initally not really believe. She reassured that her judgement is 100% correct with her 10 yr experience with VSD(hole in e heart) prob.

hi annie

hole in heart may heal on its own... my cousin's did; however, my aunt and bil needed surgury at older age. So what is the follow up you need to take. I think they cant do PE etc...I suppose your son need not go thr rigourous training for NS...

Hi annie

thanks for ur reply. But i think hole in the heart is not exactly same as heart murmur. Last time i heard from a specialist, heart murmur is where abnormal sounds are heard from heart due to the heart valves not closed properly. Some pp can leave with it, do not need operations.

So did u bring Keane for further check up?

gabby's mum & Babe99,

Thanks a lot. Yap, Keane is now with KKH under cadiological section with Dr Wong (heard fr Dr Tan); he is a v snr experienced doc in this field. Therefore,can rest assured that keane will be in good hand under his supervise.

We have to bring keane for regular check up every 2 mths time.Dr wong and those trainer will exam by listening to keane's heart sound and a 2D scanning.Each visit cost $115 after govt subsidy else will be $350.

Hmm depend leh, keane has a hole in e central inner heart (in btw left n right chambers). Thats why can hear e mur mur sound. Meanwhile, we have to monitor his breathing n if any cases show he is breathless, has to go for A & E. Such situation occurs when the blood from the left side chamber escape through the hole to right side chamber. This will stir e unbalance of two chambers blood pressure. Hence, water retention will arise in the lung. Operation has to perform to drain out the water in the lung.
Dr wong stated that keane hole is still moderate, therefore, will leave it, unless the above situation arise.
Only 1/3 of the babies get fully recovered. The hole is forever there, only those fat tissues surrounding can help to act as a block wall; thats why i want keane to put on more weight now.

my boi since birth has alot of phlegm, after taking medicine fr pd, still e same, not much improvement. any mummies encountering e same problem?

Gummie,

You're not alone. My boy don't seems to be missing me too! Hahaha..
Can smile and giggle when I wave byebye to him this morning! *shrug*

fairnana,
maybe you want to try chinese sinseh? She is v experienced and good in this field. Was recommended by my colleague. That time,her gal was only few days old and had such problem, western Pd didnt give medicine...
I brought keane there 1s when he had constipation n bloated tummy. Saw many mummies bring bbs there.
This sinseh graduated in china and under TMC group.
if u interested then let me know. give you the contact no.

I am a first time MTB:
going to buy clothings for my BB but heard BB outgrown clothing very fast, can share roughly your BB weight and height/length at 2nd, 3rd, 4th & 5th month?

think at birth 0-1st - 50+cm/ard3.5kg
2nd
3rd
4th

Thanks in advance for sharing