(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

I have been bringing my gal out every weekend. Most of the time she will sleep when we are in shopping malls cos cuddled comfortably in daddy's arms.

Last 2 weeks she has been cranky from 8pm till 10pm. She will cry and cry until she's tired and fall asleep. I was wondering if she's colicky but thot colic will go away at abt 3 months and she's 11 weeks now. Have been feeding her colic drops but still no use. Any solution?

lh_jyc,
sometimes my gal will only latch on for 3 to 5 mins and turn away. If i try to latch her on again, she will cry. On these occasions, i will try to supplement formula and she will take it sometimes.

anyone want to order Similac for infant (0-6mths)? 900g. Batch expiry date: 2008 Dec.
I am ordering for my own. SGD $26 per can. Self collection @ sengkang.
Email me if you are interested.

have not posted for a long time... sigh... have been fighting battle at work, and finally surrendered... am officially unemployed! hehehe, but dun intend to be SAHM...

btw, just brought my bb for 5 in 1 and rotavirus, paid $50 consultation, $195 for vaccinations... ex rite? Kinderclinic... sigh... plus i tot bb has ringworm on hands... but pd saes its eczema.... aniwae, just now 4pm to 5pm, she was crying non-stop suddenly... nothing could pacify her... she even skipped her milk time at 4pm... i carried her and she was still crying, then she fell asleep, and later woke up crying (or rather screaming)... i got real scared... cos you guys have been mentioning the 7th month thing in ur posts... then i quickly called my pd, was told after injection, bb will be cranky for 1 to 2 daes... well... i hope so... otherwise scary...

hey cindy

Do you think your child could be over tired? It has happened to me before too. My son was too tired. He should have been asleep by 7 pm. Now that he is on a routine, my life has certainly been better.

hei gals...seems like all of us have moved on and in full gear now...motherhood...very interesting. If some of you remember me, Christian is now 10 weeks old exactly. My...time does fly. He is 6.2 kg (weighed today) and as of last vaccination on 26th july, he weighed 5.8kg, 60cm in length, on 75th percentile! I am still nursing him, as much as I can...when I leave him with mil, formula milk comes into the picture. Going back to work on 11th aug - sniff. How's everyone else doing?

My take on 7th month - it's all in your mind so stop freaking others out k?

My take on vaccinations - the PD we went to advised us to do pneumococcal jab after 6 in 1 course is over so we are doing it only after month 7. I paid $130 for 1st 6 in 1 jab (no consultation fees as well) and 95 for rotarix. not bad esp since PD is new to us and first time with her. For those staying in compassvale link, she's Dr Vanessa Tan at blk 237 compassvale walk Kidslink Clinic. She's fantastic. I think female PD better, can relate to breastfeeding. Cheers for now. Will try and log in and contribute whenever possible.

cindy,
Thought colic stop after 4th mth? Some even drag till 6th mth. Maybe you check with yr Pd? My keane has colic problem but we alway put e medicine 1s @ e feeding b4 evening time; ie 5 or 6pm. Then he wont cry during e late evening time usually at 7.30pm till 10.30pm

Chris,
Thanks for sharing yr Pd info with us. Yap, i agreed female PD is more caring like my Pd @ kids Clinic Dr Allyson Tan. Hmm.. i thought if you take 6 - in 1 jab or 5 in 1 jab has package? Will b cheaper than having each jab.
Aiyo, this year has 2 lunar 7th mths, you better don't say dun believe. Sometime, bad things love to happen when you dun believe. (touchwood, no cursing you).
Wah! your bb put on great, how i wish keane can put on more...r u still breast feeding?

any kind mummies can share...

I am a first time MTB: going to buy clothings for my BB but heard BB outgrown clothing very fast, can share roughly your BB weight and height/length at 2nd, 3rd, 4th & 5th month?

think at birth 0-1st - 50+cm/ard2.8-3.5kg
2nd
3rd
4th

Thanks in advance for sharing

fates,
hehehe... yr boy also like dat ah... these days i tell myself to 'kan kai dian', after all, we rather see them happy without us than cry n long for mummy when we not around... at least we can go to work with peace of mind

talking about work, i think i also want to surrender n Quit liao...

My MIL commented that baby is too young now to cry when we go off to work. I believe so too!

Wah so many mummies quitting huh? Envy leh....

Eversince work started, I'd not been getting enough sleep. Very tiring especially if gotta wake up in the middle of the night to express BM. Really not easy to be a FTWM.

Have your mensus started?

hahah seems like quite alot of mummies want to quit eh? me too! but cant quit now cos havent found a job yet..arghh..have to drag my feet to work every morning..

hey fates,
speaking of menses, i havent really started mine yet..but was having spottings on and off. BUt think starting soon...cos i'm having P...M....S...

hey sponge,
i also wanted to 'ren' until i find a new job, but looks like that's not gonna happen soon. and, my job is driving me crazy oredi...
anyway, my husband suggests i quit first and spend some time with our little one in the meantime whilst i look for a new job... will you consider doing the same?

hey gummie,

same here..hubby has been asking me to take no-pay leave to take care of ariel 1st.. but i'm just worried once i take the NPL, i wont have the urge to go back to work. U see la..just 3 mths of ML and i've already lost my momentum..what more for a 6 mths absence??.. Anyway there are also ALOT of changes in my dept, thus make me want to quit even more..

sponge... u not on msn?
you will pick up momentum in time to come, no need to worry so much wor...

so how's yr nanny so far? ariel in good hands?

gummie, i've been trying to login to msn since morning lor.. think msn hates me la.. keep logging me out automatically..hahah

my nanny is quite ok..save for the fact that she can be abit scatterbrained at times..she lost her keys this morning..then call me up sounding very lost and flustered..in the end i gotta take urgent 1/2 day leave to take care of ariel..

Hi mummies...

Wow dun tempt me ley ... SAHM ...

Recently got flu n cough and have to wear mask at home and also try very hard not to go near my BB .... everyday my BB just star at me from afar and like dun recognize me ..... so sad ....

Last nite we got a scared out of our life .... my BB was sound asleep and he suddenly scream very very loud ... until our whole family rush into the room and my mum quickly carried him up but he just continue to cry and scream ... we try to feed him water but he just continue screaming ... so I quickly on all the lights in the hse and keep clapping my hands to wake BB up ... but he close his eyes and keep shaking his head .... really very scary ... then my maid take a bowl of water and clean his face .... and finally he quiten down and fall asleep in my mum's arm ... after that my mum dun dare to let him sleep alone and cuddle him to sleep .... so scary ....luckily he wakes up with his usual smiley face this morning .... otherwise still thinking of taking urgent leave to stay at hm ...

i envy u all leh, i also feel like Q. managing work and motherhood tough leh especially long working hours. must find a 9-5 job liao

taurus,

wat happen huh ? he got nightmares i think?
Last night my son cried a few times in his sleep and he must be unhappy at nanny's plc.

Hi starry,

I dun noe ley...never happen like last nite before ... last time when he had bad dreams... he usually smoother down once we pick him up ...but last nite really scared us until me, my mum and maid almost cry ... I dunnoe issit because of the stupid muscial mobile tt we just bgt for him ... coz this mobile will automatic play by itself at the slightest touch or sound if we did not off the power button ...the only gd thing is when my BB cry ..the musical mobile will play song and he will quiten down to listen to the music .... but last nite ... when my BB is sleeping ... the musical mobile suddenly play and my BB was waken up and hubby had to pat him to sleep again ...then 1 hr later ...he suddenly cream and cry in his sleep....

gabby's,

i am serving out notice now...gog to be at home till i find another job. Its not my character to be a SAHM lah...haha..

So many mummies quit liao..
Tell u my story...
My company called me last wk(3 mths ML just over)they have to retrentch me due to company's business is very bad,need to cut down manpower,they good also lar,let me choose to resign &pay me 1 month salary +AWS.Actually i also plan to resign when back to work, now i have extra money,plan to buy LV bag...hehe

wei ivy..dun tempt me hor.. hahah..

Taurus,

You muscial mobile quite high tech leh..at the slightest touch/sound can automatically be played..but in this mth esp, can be abit scary hor? hee..

By the way, i will most probably shave my girl's hair when she's 4 mths old. Any idea where i can bring her to shave her hair?

Race,

sometimes i wish they do that to me and compensate me rather than i hv to prove myself at work especially with a young bb.

Race,

welcome to the club! Wah, you are tai tai liao man, unemployed, still can buy LV..hee...

Sponge,
Come come...join us!

i am intending to shave Xavier as well. There is a salon at Forum that do bbs' hair. I am gog to bring him there. Talk on msn.

The temptations to quit here are so great! How I wish I can quit but, I CAN'T! Also cos' I can't be SAHM lah....will go crazy

I just hope my working hours can be shorter? Hehehhe.....daydreaming...

Taurus,
Your musical mobile sounds scary..

Hi sponge,

Hahah... yah lor... initially when I just bgt the musical mobile... was very surprise tt when I clap my hand ... will auto play ...initially tot very gd ... but later find it annoying when its just play by itself ...agree tt it can be scary at times .... hahah... so i make it a point to off it when its not BB playtime ...

Me also bringing my boy for haircut when he's 4 mths old ... his hair really look like lalang now.... very long and all stand up .... like a little pocuupine .... hahahah....my hairstylist at REDS is charging us S$28

sponge/ivy ,

they got branches at Suntec, United Square, Plaza Singapura and Parkway Parade and Paragon

hey 4th mth is lunar cal right? must it be on the exact day? bcos mine fall on wkday so thinking gog on wkend.

me too can't be SAHM,already started look'for a job- good company,9am-5pm,nice colleague,career prospect,nice environment, good pay&compensation package.

Got such kind of ideal job???very greedy hor...

hi race C, Ivy, gummie, sponge, starry

yar... veri difficult to cope with work and motherhood... yar, i changed to a new job... end up almost everydae knock off at 10pm to 11pm... not the rite environment... plus need to pump every 6 hours... and the guilt feeling of not spending time with bb... hahaha...so quit lor!

mi 2... luking for 9 to 5, but must also pay well lar! diapers xpensive! at the same time, must also be passionate abt the job... sigh... hard lar... used to have a hard time balancing passion and remuneration... now, one extra factor - bb... even more difficult...

Aniwae... now i am reali super free to meet up! Grrrrrrrr... u noe... my medala pump spoilt... aiyo... need to go all the way to toh guan (jurong) to service!

By the way, wat is Junior League?

gummies & fates,
dun worry 2 much. Your son sure recognise you. This is the information i extact from the website. BB development @ weeks 12.

I know you!
Even though your baby has been able to recognize you since he was just a few days old, he may now be able to show it. About half of babies this age begin to exhibit an obvious recognition of their parents.

Most likely he'll still smile at strangers, especially when they look him straight in the eye and coo or talk to him. But he's beginning to sort out who's who in his life, and he definitely prefers you, your partner, and a select few over others.

Your baby may quiet down and make eye contact with you, or he may search for you in a room and move his arms in excitement or smile when he finds you. He may even find your scent calming and comforting.

A big spurt is happening in your baby's brain development that coincides with significant behavioral changes. Your baby is more attuned to the outside world and more sensitive to changes in his environment.

The part of the brain that governs hand-eye coordination and allows a baby to recognize objects is developing rapidly now. His hearing, language, and smell have also become more receptive and active. When your baby hears your voice these days, he may even look directly at you and start gurgling or trying to talk back.

hmm.. seems like everyone wants to quit & find another job..
hmm.. through i wish to quit but kind of heart ache to let off. Put in 6 years effort leh in my current jobs, learn all the technical required n those "deep" & hard learn specific information for each products my company selling. *Sigh!*
My company is a trading company selling products that use for power station. Everytime, when i want to quit, those past memories flash back, how hard i struggle to learn those things like a small kid learning ABC, countless of scolding....
Anyway, i comfort myself that at least i can go home on e dot and its a 5 days job better than nothing.

Yvonne,

Junior League is a salon for baby and kids

me very timid type when come to shaving bb hair so go there lor.

hi twinkle

oooo, is it the one at Suntec 3rd floor? heheheh, watched the pple there cut kid's hair... veri pro...

heheheh, i also will go there... cos i dunno how to shave bb's hair too...

hmm..mummies, seem like every1 wants to bring bb to salon to shave hair.

well, i will shave keane's hair myself. 1st attempt, think i will do it after my bkk trip since he is oni 3 mths old.

Yo mummies,
i find this information attached at April forum.Hope to be useful info.

It's Official: TV Linked to Attention Deficit
by Jean Lotus
Original here

A study from the American Academy of Pediatrics shows that watching videos as a toddler may lead to Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD, also called ADD in UK) in later life.

TV watching "rewires" an infant's brain, says Dr. Dimitri A. Christakis lead researcher and director of the Child Health Institute at Childrens Hospital and Regional Medical Center, Seattle, Wash. The damage shows up at age 7 when children have difficulty paying attention in school.

"In contrast to the way real life unfolds and is experienced by young children, the pace of TV is greatly sped up." says Christakis. His research appears in the April 2004 issue of Pediatrics.

Quick scene shifts of video images become "normal," to a baby "when in fact, it's decidedly not normal or natural." Christakis says. Exposing a baby's developing brain to videos may overstimulate it, causing permanent changes in developing neural pathways.

"Also in question is whether the insistent noise of television in the home may interfere with the development of 'inner speech' by which a child learns to think through problems and plans and restrain impulsive responding," wrote Jane Healy, psychologist and child brain expert in the magazine's commentary.

Babies brains grow rapidly
Even a child playing with its own fingers has the neural patterning that comes from bending, flexing, stretching and grasping. Scientists tell us that the brain develops in completely unique ways between birth and three years. As a kiddie viddie baby sits "mesmerized", neural paths are not being created. This is crucial brain development that stops by age three.

"You dont want to think that something as innocent as half-an-hour's peace and quiet could reduce your kid's chances later in life," says Claire Eaton, 27-year-old mother from Lewisham, Australia.

Setting up baby for failure in school
Are parents who use infant videos such as "Baby Einstein" and "Teletubbies" putting their child at risk for a lifetime of Special Ed classes, school "behavioral therapy" and Ritalin?

In the study of more than 2,000 children, Christakis found that for every hour watched at age one and age three, the children had almost a ten percent higher chance of developing attention problems that could be diagnosed as ADHD by age 7. A toddler watching three hours of infant television daily had nearly a 30 percent higher chance of having attention problems in school.

Infant videos: They wouldn't sell them if they were dangerous --Would they?
An explosion of kidvids for the bouncy chair set has hit the market. These include Baby Einstein, Baby Mozart, So Smart etc. TV shows, such as Teletubbies, aim at 18-month-old toddlers. These videos are peddled as "educational tools" to "give your baby a head start." The truth is, they are a video-tether that keeps baby out from underfoot.

"Max is learning German right now from a video"
Parents take away crucial life experiences from their child every time they pop in Baby Einstein. But they do love how it takes the baby out of their hair for awhile Listen to what parents say in testimonials about infant videos:

"I love spending time with my boy but let's face it, there are times when you just have to have 10 minutes or so to yourself so that you can wash the dishes or do laundry; that's when you pop this video in. It's 25 minutes of entertainment that holds the attention of even very young children." (son 10 months) Chris Hudson from San Antonio, TX.

There are times I rewind it and play it again and again until I get the dishes done and order restored. My son is captivated (and hopefully learning something). Mom in Connecticut

The only thing I wish is that the videos were longer than 30min. Melissa Perruzi, Clinton Mississippi
(From Baby Eisntein reviews on Amazon.com).

Big problem for little people
Twenty-six percent of US children younger than age two have TV in their bedrooms - often watched from the crib, and 36 percent of families leave the TV on almost all of the time, even when no one is watching, according to a 2000 Kaiser Family Foundation study.

Don't put your child at risk!
The good news is, infants and toddlers don't need television to distract them. Humans raised children for 50,000 years before television sets and you can do it too. Your children can learn to entertain themselves or play with your supervision.

"When one-year olds are playing with a toy, they can explore it, poke at it, drop it," says Yale University Television Researcher Dorothy Singer. "They're learning about space, about sound, and they're developing sense of competence. Watching a TV show just doesn't provide the same sensory experience."

Leaving a child alone with the TV is never a good idea
"Would you entrust you toddler into the care of a baby sitter, even for a few minutes, who cannot hear or see your child?" writes Nancy Hall of Yale University's Bush Center in Child Development and Social Policy. "Would you leave your child in an environment that encourages passivity, limits creativity and results in increased aggressive behavior? Many 1-year-olds are spending time regularly with just such a baby sitter: the television set."

What is Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder?
ADHD affects 12 percent of US school children and has increased dramatically over the past 50 years. Studies show ADHD increased with the introduction of children's television in the 1950s and then spiked higher in the mid 1980s when VCRs and home video became commonplace. Although the condition is known to be genetic, scientists have noted its rapid spread throughout every social class of children, and guessed that there could be an environmental cause. TV watching is a cause, this study shows.

How much TV should I let my baby watch?
No child under age two should watch television at all, the Academy of American Pediatrics advised in 1998. Doctors blame TV for increasing aggression and obesity in children, now they add ADHD risk to early TV use.

since so many mummies want to bring their babies to shave their hair, maybe we can organise a 'hair-shaving' gathering?? hahaha.. i dun dare to shave my girl's hair too..her skull still looks very soft..ewwww...

twinkle,
no need to be on the exact date la.. actually the main purpose of shaving is to trim away all the tai mao so that new hair can grow out..so by right anyday also can shave right? hahah..

Yvonne,
I was also hoping for a 9-5 job, good boss and colleagues, conducive working environment and a good remuneration package.. but i think this is a d~r~e~a~m~ ...

mummies who quit,

wah, we have more and more members in the club liao, once 16th hit, then i will organise gathering!

sponge,
we share the same dream...haha..DREAM ON!

Sponge/Fates,

This is the sling that i mentioned.

http://www.lucky-baby.com/p_products.asp?cat=Reversible%20Slings&cID=1

I have contacted the local distributor. The price is $59 each and we get a $5 discount each if we have 5 buyers.
I am also organising a viewing trip to her place where we can try out the sling and learn from her on how to use it. She have a 4 mth old bb to demo if you dun want to bring your bb.
I am thinking of next Sat morning (12th Aug).
Keen? Anyone else keen? Btw, her place is at Sembawang.

long time since i log in. Was back to work since last week. Trying to cope. SIgh. Miss my baby so much but need money

Anyway, was thinking of shaving my girl's head as well in the 4th month. But she seems to be balding.
Recently, she is developing this trend of sucking her hand. Think she is finding her thumb already.
Anyone baby wakes up in the middle of night to suck the hand? Mine does and she makes the sound so loud. totally sleep deprived