(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

hi bookworm
*raise hands*...my gal sucks her thumb until red red...now in the middle of the nite, she dun cry for milk...instead she sucks her thumb...so now i got to let her wear mittens...but somehow she still suck at the area of the mitten where her thumb is...

i'm also back at work. so sian...but i guess i can still catch up. Do have the guilt feeling whenever i see my gal coz i'm not spending enuff time wif her. scared she doesn't recognise me as her mummy. ;-(

all the Q mummies,

i am so so ENVIOUS!!! me also feel like Q-ing but no choice, need $$ also. now lagi sian since my collegue leaving and i gotta take over her "baby", 1 human doing 2 jobs

ivy,

arrange gathering leh but put it on a weekend so that working mummies also can come

hi bookworm/ino,

same here.....my gal oso like to sucks her thumb, i got mix up at time whether she want milk or juz suck thumb, there was few times i pull out her hand, she cried. In the end, i leave it and let her enjoy sucking her fingers.

To mummies that quit working, salute you lor!!
I oso feel like quitting my job, really.
Very gulity not spending enuff time wif my gal, super afraid she don't recongnise me. She now started to recongnise ppl i think, coz when she cry, only me can cool her down....

hi mummies, wah so many of u quitting to look after bb... mi oso wish but canot lah.

haha my boi oso like to suck his thumb wif mittens still on. very loud oso... cant imagine i take off the mittens den he will suck his thumb which is exposed...

can i check wif u mummies, do ur bb pass motion everydae?? mine nowadaes pass motion once every 2-3 daes. is it normal?? or issit the formula too heaty for him?? i m using similac but oso on partial breastfeeding. shd i try another formula?? any recommendations??

Quit job sounds sofun. Me currently on no pay leave and will extend for another year i think... dont know if i will be so bored...

btw my girl can recognise people. She brawls when stangers carry her!!!

gina,

mine pass everyday.. does ur boi cries in pain when cannot poo? mine does the other time when he was constipating, that how we realise that he was developing an allergy to cow's milk and switch to nan 1 ha.

gina,
maybe u should buy china barely to brew. add a bit when making milk for your boi.
my son keane had constipation b4 n he is ok after taking barely water. of cos, not daily. we oni brew when he has constipaton.
Same as me, using similac.just hang on there. dun change formula milk unless pd stated so. when bb reach 4th mth can let him eat porridge n cereal...

milo, annie

my boi doesnt even wan 2 poo when we poo for him leh...

i will b taking my boi to polyclinic on the 21st aug for 3rd mth injection. den can ask the dr tis lor. hopefully he's fine.

today i brought kaeden to my family GP for vaccine but realise that he doesnt check the list of things in the health booklet leh.

annie,

u starting keane on cereal when he is 4th mth or wait till slightly later?

Stress...

My little girl is so choosy!!! She only likes to be carried by me and mu mum. When my dh carries her, she will scream especially when she is tired and cranky... SO I will have to carry her again!!! STRESS!!

Kissing

My son loves to kiss his little sister. When Si'en cries, he will kiss her and say, 'mei mei stop cry' of my heart melts all the time

gabby,

Ur son is so loving to his sis! awwwww... And they look so cute together! Good choice for u take NPL
Watching them grow up is really very memorable..

gina,
my keane oso dun poo even we try to fix 1 fix timing for him daily. My keane oso will dun poo on every saturday. He is taking care by my sis maid over e weekdays.
Its ok so long yr bb is comfortable. For me, i brew barely for him if i find that keane didnt poo for the day.

milo66,
yap, keane dun like 2 drink milk these days just same as piglet's gal. Think they get tired to drink e same thing every feeding.

gabby's mum,

My ger REALLY starts to recognise pple and environment 2 weeks ago. She CRIES loudly when we go to my mum's place every saturday. And yesterday my mum's birthday so we had a family gathering. Wow, horrible, my SIL carried her and she cried very long. When others just showed their faces to her, she started to show grumpy face haha..

gina,

my wayne oso had constipation for 3 days a few wks back but after drinking gripewater, he can poo. u can give him 1 teaspoonful diluted with 30~60ml of water, no harm trying. same as annie, after we set a routine for him to poo daily, he never fails.

kk

haha... your girl so smart!!! Think she knows who loves her most!!

Sponge
Yeap.... taking npl is worth it... love every moment of it with the kids

Piglet,
keane is back to normal. He drank 240ml @ 4pm, other feedings all at 150ml yesterday. I was so happy.
think i have to stock more similac, else sure no enough.

i m down with flu, cough, fever and migraine these days. Therefore, i am wearing mask at home. Keane is quite naughty, he tried to pull whenever i carried him. However, he oso seems confuse when he sees me wearing a mask when i m close to him.
Luckily, he still smile at me.
too bad that i cant kiss him these days.

Count i m lucky cos my hb d help me to take care of him last 2 nights to let me have a full rest.
keane starts to say out "A" "AH" sound after each feeding.

Hihi to all mummies, i have been inactive for a long long time. Seems like a lot of mums here are thinking of quitting.

My son is coming to 3 months old next week and i have applied for 3 more months of unpaid leave to spend more time w him but now im getting alittle bored at home. I dunno if i should go back to working part-time or stay at home for these 3 more months. Breastfeeding round the clock is no fun man :p

Can i have some ideas on what to do with extra EBM? I have more than 1 month's supply of frozen EBM but my son doesnt need it since im at home and bf him round the clock. I know frozen EBM can be kept up to abt 3 months but i'm still feeding him and pumping everyday i.e. i will have more and more frozen EBM hence would like to have some ideas on what should i do w the "old" stock.

Oh and abt meeting up for those mummies who are like me, staying at home for the moment, I think this is a good idea! Since for now, we are quite free :B

Anyone taking leave these 2 days for a longer rest since Wed is a PH?

need 2 ask any mummy wants to buy over similac infant formula milk (0-6mths). Sabo by one mummy. She told me that she urgently needs the f.milk and when i hurried my friend's friend to get for her. In e end,she told me she isnt comfortable with the payment (she oni wants to pay deposit 1st then see the milk got problem or not).
I have 4 tins to let go at $26 per tin. 900g. Batch expiry date: 2008

Wow Annie! Your Keane really drinks alot!!! My boy is drinking only 90-100ml every 2.5 to 3 hourly

Now your turn to fall sick huh? Better take care.....the week before I was as sick as you, so I know how miserable it was.

Hi fairysnowberry,
I had a few packets of frozen EBM in the freezer too. Doubt I got chance to use it because I had some in the 48hr fridge compartment. As for the excess, better throw it away if it pass the 3mth date? Your supply is really good. Mine is not...more like there is no demand

twinkle,
I'd used the Prokids diaper before...it's given by a friend and heard it's cheap but not very good leh....it gives my baby diaper rash!! Not sure if it's because I didn't change as often but don't think I'm using it again lor...

starry,

i have used prokids before on my dog when she is on heat. it causes rashes on her so even when i have balance, i didnt dare to try it on kaeden.

fates and fairysnowberry,

you gals are great! My supply is only enuff for day time...nothing for nite , let alone freeze! ha, maybe you can post a thread to see if any mummies wan or donate to hospitals?

Fates,
Xavier also drinking very little still. 120ml per 2hr...Waiting for him to be able to drink more at a longer interval...

fates,
thanks. i think bm difference leh. cos its by 2hrs interval right. Pd stated that you take bb weight * 1.5 equal the total milk amount for bb per day feeding. (For keane, he is weighted 6kg so should be 6*1.5=900ml for a day). Keane is at the low side.
How i wish he cand drink 180ml to 240ml per feeding at home.

Ya, v jialat, so sick still have to work, now waiting for keane to feed him last round @12 mid 9. How i wish i can lost some weight through but never ever how sick i m.

Ps advise me, how to stop milk flow hor? I had not bm to keane for more than 2 weeks. I tried not to express out but somehow i do feel a bit engorged after few days. I will express out to release e hardness in some part of the breast every few days. How to stop completely?

Ivy

Wow Xavier drinks 120 per 2 hr... my Si'en only takes 110 every 3 hourly(When i bottle feed; dont know how much when latch on). However, since she's still fat... I am not worried

Yo Ivy,

Not great lah..no demand leh..sometimes I need to pour away those pass 48hours one..HEART PAIN leh! Btw is the slinging session on Saturday on? 4 mummies only?

Annie,

How about just leave it ie. don't express at all? Engorged good what! At least got milk..why dun give Keane?

Good Morning Ladies!

Its been a very very long time since I last posted. Have lots to catch up with....

Brining my gal for 3-mth jab. Dont know how much she weighs...her milk intake is not very good leh, abit worrying. I dont BF her anymore. Now she is on FM, S26 Gold. The most my gal drinks is 120ml. She has not gone beyond that. Most of the time she drinks only 90ml. Very little hor.... will highlight to PD next week.

She sleeps through the night sometimes. But mostly will wake up ard 4am. But will drink less than 60ml, than go back to sleep. After that will drink only ard 9am. Very worried.

Annie,
For me I reduced the no. of times I expressed my BM. For 2-3 days I only expressed once a day. After that the 4th day did not express at all. Was uncomfortable, BM dripped out and even stained my blouse but still did not express. And supply stopped. Furthermore I had sore and bleeding nipples so it made me stop expressing too.

I've heard that there is medication to stop supply. You might want to ask your gynae abt it.

yasmin,
Heard that those medicine is not good for breast. I don't intend to get from my gynea. I did like what you do, i even drag till 5th day then express out.

fates,
Cannot feed keane, the amount that i express out is only 30ml ( i guess)each side. Moreover, i still down with flu, cough, fever and migraine..cannot let keane drink oso.
still wearing a mask.. with my sexy voice, think keane doesnt recognise me already

yasmin,
u see whether yr gal put on weight or not when she goes 4 e jab.
Some bbs are like that, keane oso 1s b4, even worst, can dun drink milk for whole day. Pd said its nothing to do with the formula milk, just that bb get sick to drink milk every feeding.
keane oso loves 2 wake up at middle of the night then crys for milk and drinksless than 60ml oso. After i found out that keane just wants to drink milk to smoothe himself back to sleep.I stop giving him evne how hard he cried. I just put pacifier on he will go to sleep after a while of struggling n grumbling. He then can drink more in e morning around 6.30am.
Some bbs wake up from their sleep n still duno how to smooth themselves back to sleep will rely on milk.
There are few methods that Pd mentioned to me.
1) rock them to sleep (bad idea, you have to wake up).
2) feed them water (bad idea to me; dun work on Keane).
3) put pacifier on (thats what i do; these days, if keane wakes up from sleep, he will cry for pacifier. We just start to let keane use to without pacifier).
4) help bb to find a way that he or she can smoothe themselves to sleep.
This is important and affect bb whole life.

hello,
any mummies bought and tried the baby sling from MIM? my sil lent me hers but somehow my boy don't seem to like it, not sure if it's too warm for him, or he simply dun enjoy having his arms and legs wrapped up... he tends to fidget a lot these days.

saw a few mummies concerned about how much their bbies are drinking. seems that bb girls drink a lot lesser than boys huh? my boy is drinking 150ml 3 hrly on average now. he still wakes up at least once a night to feed. my inlaws have commented that he is a bit 'fat' and that he may grow up to be a fattie next time... i'm a little concerned every now n then when i hear them say that. not sure if i shd cut down his intake?

Gummie,

my boy also dun like to be in sling. My frenz lent me hers and tis boy seem to dislike losing his 'freedom'

Long time no post! How's everyone?

RE: Quitting job
I'm hoping to join the SAHM group soon. Indicated to my bosses that they can start looking for my replacement. Yet to know when's last day though. Ivy, u SAHM now?

RE: Sling
I'm using the BBSuply and Comfort Carry slings. So far so good, but I only know how to handle 1 position now. Yet to explore other positions.

RE: Milk Supply
I latch on bb most of the time now. Dare not pump coz supply too low, and I'm trying my best not to supplement with FM (Got donated milk from cousin). With this, Isabel's stool is once every few days...a bit worried.
Fates, don't throw away your BM lah, sayang leh... Consider donating to my poor girl! Any mummy wanna donate milk please let me know!

RE: Milk intake
Isabel seems to be a big drinker! Ever tried before giving her 4oz FM and she cried for more after finishing in 1 gulp!! Sigh... if only my supply can catch up with her demand.

RE: Breast pump
I'm not pumping anymore, use hand express occasionally and latch on most of the time. Any mummy looking for 2nd hand Medela Electric pump?

RE: BB's weight
Err...no more chart on this is it? Well, my bb is only 5.4kg @ 12 weeks... light hoh?

RE: Breastfest
There's a Breastfest this Sunday 18 Aug @ Tampines West CC. Anyone going? Details http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/events/latestevents.html. Anyone keen to go?

Fairina,
Thanks for your concern.
No..
still having running nose n cough and migraine. Keep rubbing my nose till skin tear, so painful
The saddest part is that i didnt kiss my keane for 5 days already. I put on mask whenever i am close to him, carry him or feeding him.. so sad.

gummie,
definitely out of the thought to buy e sling. Keane definitely crys if i put him in. He didnt even like sarong.
These days, he loves to move his hands and legs often. He oso loves to sit n stand with support leh.

Annie,

I bought the MIM sling for my ger, until now still a white elephant. Dun think will ever use it, wonder who want can buy from me.

My ger also kicking and waving a lot. So dun wanna restrict her to a sarong or sling. Will seem pathetic if do so heehee..

Yup, she love to sit super upright recently. Standing too

Gummie,

Ur bb feed seems ok leh.. my ger can drink 150 - 180 ml in her first feed in the morning. After that is a consistent 140 ml. Her feeds are highly predictable now.

Dun worry about bb being plump i think. Once they reach weaning stage, they will slowly adjust the intake of milk, probably taking less milk then.

Happy National Day Mummies!! The best part of National Day is IT IS ANOTHER HOLIDAY! Can see baby.

Annie,
Sofia also went back normal already, luckily is only 2 weeks (she might be regulating herself according to PD, she said it usually happen when baby are 3 to 4 months old, or she's sick of the milk). I was saying she starts to drink 150ml the day before right ? Now she's really back to normal drinking at 180ml. Luckily is only 2 weeks when she only drinks 20ml to 60ml every feed.

I'm going to start her on cereal when she reaches 4th month. Is a promise to her, I told her to endure this one month with the milk, knows she is sick of the milk already. Will add cereal to change the taste when she reaches 4th month. The very next day, she starts to drink 150ml. Don't think she understands what I'm saying but still got to keep promise. haha

kk and Annie,
So good, baby can recognise pple. Sofia will let anyone carry, strangers she also don't mind. Somemore still can smile and "talk" to stranger. I think she can do without her mummy, ME

Isabel&Zach's Mum,
You can see the chart in baby's health booklet. The percentile is there.

piglet,

Initially i thought my ger ok with anybody, but then for the past 2 weeks, she started to really recognise pple and the environment she is in. So now headache ah, she go my mum's place will cry loudly. Even my mum carry her she also cannot, will show grumpy face then cry.

For my ger, my mum will go chinese hall grind the si shen for her, then i think is add to porridge to feed her.

Which cereal is good and not so heaty?

Piglet,
Wah! thats a great news! keane oso althrough sometimes he can only finish 120ml -150ml. I am so happy already.
Same leh.but might need yr help leh. i think i need to buy 1 more tin of yu ren sheng cereal for keane,so can place at my sis place. Think you have the discount card :p
Maybe, we go to buy it end of the month where they are abt 4th mths soon.

Hi mammies,
i m abt to leave spore to bkk ...yappee! happy national day to all of you.. heee...
i just miss e firework.. but not the celebration.

kk,
yap, not all bbs love to b inside the sling leh.. so no point buying.. maybe try 1st be4 buy else a great waste of $$

Re: Cereal
I will be starting my girl on cereal when she's abt 5 mths old. My fren recommended the Eu Yan Sang's shi shen cereal. Supposedly quite good.. Wonder if theres any difference b/w Eu Yang Sang and chinese medical hall shi shen cereal??

Re: Milk intake
My girl is drinking 170ml now. However i find that she's abit fussy nowadays..must force her then can finish. Cld this be the starting of the 'milk rejection' period?..eeecks!

Re: MIM sling
gummie, my sling is also a white elephant..ariel dun like to be in it leh. But i'm still quite gian to carry her in a sling (tats y i'm going for the sling tryout on sat with ivy and gang LOL)..she's getting heavier..hands will tremble if i carry her for too long..

Re: Pampers
Mummies, I am going to upgrade my girl to M size soon. However i cant seem to find Pampers Premium Cotton Care in M size?? Cant find in NTUC & Cold Storage. They only have it in NB & S size leh.. so strange.