(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Joyce,

Haha! You are most welcome! My bb is now 2months old liao, but she is a small eater so still manage to meet her needs. I took the maximum dosage, eager to see results, so far so good. But if you have medical history then you better be careful.

Me also going back to work in August leh, by then think I maybe have to give her formula also cause not so convenient to pump at office.....so I try to pump more and store for this month lor!

Ivy,

Glad that I've recommended the Avent Duo pump which is good for you cos the same goes for me. I've also gone back to work 2 days ago, however, my time for expressing the milk had gone haywire cos can't really pump ar every 3 hrs interval...
therefore will take Fenugreek to maintain the supply, or even increase the supply hopefully. I guess there's no choice but to be more hardworking in expressing when i reach home & wake up in the wee hours at nite to pump.

it's really tiring juggling work & pumping regularly when at home + taking care of my girl in the nite...u'll find out soon enough...only managing to sleep abt 4 hrs daily...zzzzzz

angelwynd,

my timing also gone haywired. Taking Fenugreek will help? How much are you currently expressing? I am not too keen on taking supplements..

Think i am luckier, left bb at my mum house, i will reach home ard 11, slp at 12, wake to pump in wee hours, average still have 5-6 hrs of slp.. But still tired leh...haha...

kk,

i wanted to bring him back everyday but decided that we will be too tired to wake up to feed and pump. So the arrangements is that i go home everyday after work then play with him till 10plus, then i go home slp. Then next morning, deliver 2 bottles of milk to him and play for 10mins before gog to work...

gals,
i am looking at the flashcards. They are really costly!!!
http://kidzloft.com/shopping/shop.php?cat=68

anyone bought? any comments?

Ivy,

But ur bb won't be sleeping when u go there after work and also early in the morning?

My hubby ask me whether i can tahan or not when i start work.. my bb now only sleep at 12 midnite and we need to wake up 515 am to prepare then send her over to mil place. But to leave her everyday at my mil place, i seem quite reluctant leh hee...

kk,

bb is wide awake when i go back, so i will feed him, play and talk to him...
In the morning, he is also wide awake already! haha...play ten mins then its his shower time..

Guess its easier for me cos i go back to my mum house everyday for dinner and its on the way to work in the morning. And its only 4 nites cos i will take him back on Fri then send back on Monday morning..at least i can slp well with more energy to earn more $$ for his toys! haha...

if you leave your bb at your mil place, you can still go back and see her everyday, rite?

Ivy,

Ya, we will drop by mil place for dinner before we come home. That's our plan so far.

But then u know lah, our own mothers different from mil mah heeee.. so if my own mum take care, maybe i will leave her with mum and only pick her home on friday nite. But then now is mil leh.. just dun feel comfortable lor. So still decide to fetch her back every nite. See how then.

hi ivy...

when u r back 2 work, how often will u pump? now i only pump every 6 hrs (cant pump every 3 hours at work!)... and get 180ml to 240ml... but i dun like it cos the lumps in the breasts harden, and are harder to clear... and take a longer time... 30mins...

kk,

you r rite. At own mum's place, we can rot, slp and bath, sometimes stayover too...but not with mil. you can decide when you start work, maybe by then, bb will be able to slp thru!

yvonne,

today is 2nd day at work. The schedule now is pump at 6am, 12pm then 6pm then 9pm, 12am. Now still not so bad cos i haven make appts to meet customers, dunno how haywire it will be when i have to go out next week liao..sigh.

kk,
My menses took 8 days to end, starts on Friday and ends on Friday. My usual cycle is 5 days. Totally agreed, heavier than normal ya

kk,

yours only started in 2nd month? Then i very accurate, started in 5th week. Really is stop for preg and re-start right away after birth..

Ivy,
Mine too. Stopped at Aug 16 last year, started on 16 Jun 2006 too. Mine started on Week 6. Your menses ended yet?

kk,
Haha.. is not the usual flow right? I stained so many panties on Day 1 and 2. Is very heavy till Day 3 then it becomes the normal flow. Took so many days till I thought lochia came back again

kk,
I tried to put my bb at my mum's place overnight once every week. Everytime comes home, starts to miss her already. My mum suggests to put her overnight there everyday when I starts work and only brings her back over the weekend. How to survive this kind of torture? I intend to bring her back everyday even though my mum is taking care of her. I'm sure I'll miss her when I starts work.

Yesterday, my bb refuse to sleep (it's 2am). Scolded her becuse I'm too tired. She sleeps at 3am the night before too. I think she wants to play with my hubby. She almost cry when I scold her and she seems to understand that I'm angry and sleeps 5 mins later. First time scold her.. bad mummy!!

piglet,

Precisely!!! U know tuesday i need to go back to school to settle some work. So early in the morning around 6++ am my hubby took the bb over to my mil place. I already felt like crying!!! I dunno how i am going to cope when i officially start work

Sooo i am going to start on some "training" first haha.. me and hubby going to HK next weekend for 5 days trip. So see how much i will miss my bb then :p

Haha, last nite my hubby got angry with my girl. Poor thing. My hubby carried her but she dun wanna sleep (normally she would). Then she started to get hungry. My hubby made milk for her, she drink 1 oz and slept. My hubby thought she sleep liao.. but then she woke up again crying for more milk!! My hubby had poured away the FM liao haha.. so got to make another 2 oz and i fed her, knowing hubby is super mad already. Luckily she slept after drinking the 2 oz. Sigh! So end up she slept at 12 midnite (making noise since 11 pm) till 8 am this morning.

kk,
Sometimes, really quite fed up when they don't sleep. Usually my girl will sleeps around 1am to 2am. Time when my hubby not in Singapore, she'll sleep at 10plus and wake up again at 11plus for milk. After drinking, she'll go back to sleep. These 2 days, she sleeps after 2am. Maybe because my hubby just came back from KL, so she wants to play with him. But no matter how, hubby still got to work the next day and he'll sleep when he's tired. Left me ALONE to coax bb to sleep. I'm always the last person to get to sleep and still got to wake up for her feed.

Yesterday my hubby also got scolding from me because he makes bb over excited by making her stands, teach bb how to walk and put her in the walker, playing toys on the walker with her, it was 12am already. How she gets to sleep when he's playing with her...

kk,
Who knows first night there, you starts to miss her already. BB have been with us for 10 months in our tummy. When we didn't see them, it seems like cutting a piece of flesh from us. Do enjoy your trip!! The same tiring routine comes back when you're back.

Hey Ivy,
So you're back at work! Manageable?
Mi will start work end of July..don't intend to leave bb at mum's place cos' I think I will miss him like crazy. Do you freeze & keep your EBM? I am trying to do that now....

Anyone freezing EBM? What storage bags you using?

Very hard to put bb to sleep now..esp now he got fever after his 6-in-1 jab

piglet,

my hubby also like that. wanna teach my boy how to stand wor. alamak, sit straight already got prob much less standing??? then after he play finish, went to zzz left me alone to settle cranky boy.

these few days been thinking of who can help me look after kaeden. originally was my mum since she leave nearby to me but dunno leh, she like cannot like that. ask her to help me feed and bath bb, she keep saying she know lah dun need to learn etc but all i have seen for the past few weeks is she only know how to carry bb to slp which i told her not to, will spoil him.

mil will be a better choice but she leave very far away. hubby has got irregular working hours so diff to depend on him to ferry bb. then leave there on weekdays, i bu she de.

ivy,

do u feel funny w/o bb at night with u?

piglet,
my mense not ended yet...

fates,
yes, back to work liao but nothing to store leh! Already not enuff to feed him while i am at home, how to store? You are really good! Can feed and still got enuff to store?
Share with us your secret leh...

milo,
i am too tired to feel funny...Everyday reach home, shower, i will fall aslp right away. Last nite, i was already soundly aslp in the car on the way home. Even told hubby to leave me inside the car to slp, dun wan to wake up at all! haha...

Your bb can support their head already? Mine still cannot leh, so everyday only on the lying down position...

Hi Ivy,

Now trying to pump not more than 6 hrs difference...so i pump at 7am, 12pm, 4pm, 7pm, 10pm & 2am...waking up at 5.30am every day so that can reach office in time for the 7am session. Getting abt 200ml+- during the 5 hrs interval, otherwise it's abt normal of 120-150ml. Trying Feenugreek cos saw a lot of moms in the forum taking them to increase their supply, try to see if it works for me. Saw that u intend to pump every 6 hrs during work, can imagine when u'll b having difficulty clearing the lumps as Yvonne mentioned. I've just cleared one lump yesterday & immediately noticed that my supply had dropped by 20ml for that session for letting the duct to clog up.
I haf abt more than 1 week supply of milk for my girl in the freezer. 1 week before i came back, i pump religiously every 2-3 hrs for 30 mins so that my milksupply wil increase. right now, i'll feel engorgement if i did not clear my milk for more than 3 hrs

fates,
just started using the avent liners for storing the EMB today. No choice to use milkbags since I've finished using all bottles that I've have to store the milk in the freezer but i find the liners quite messy. Maybe haven't get used to using the milkbag...quite messy n heartpain whenever i've donated some milk to the floor. very scared of freezing the milkbags cos afraid that it'll leak/burst n waste all my milk

piglet,

Ya rite, when it is bedtime, we gotta signal to bb it is bedtime liao. I will switch off bedroom lights, and also minimize noise level in the house. And definitely no toys!!!

hi angelwynd

I read that you express your milk at the office. How do you clean the equipment? I find it very troublesome and I hope to learn one or two tricks from you.

my bb has been terrible since 2 days ago. in the afternoon he refused to sleep on his own yet he is sleepy. he will cry and want to be carry. Once i carry him he will Zzzz and put down on bed, rocker, etc... will wake up to cry. Normally his nonsense will stop at 5pm plus . yday till early night also like tat so i whack him on his thigh (not hard leh)then he behave. So heartpain but really fedup liao.

today he managed to sleep since 1 plus and had milk at 2.30pm. now guess what he is on his own on rocker and playing w his saliva and use hands to rub his face till red. i m ignoring him and i know he is trying to do this for attention. He keep looking in my direction but i just look away.

i think i more bad than u ladies leh.

missk,

there is no choice except to use the sterilising tablets since cannot use boiling/sterilisation method. after washing the parts, just put into the container for at least 30 mins (sterilising tablet dissolved into water). i know that there is a chlorine smell, therefore, i clean the parts with tap water followed by hot water to remove the smell. it's really troublesome washing n sterilising the parts but no choice since we r all afraid tat any small mistake might make our baby sick, right?

Twinkle,

Ya, sometimes they just change rite? Mine opposite of urs.. sleep a lotttt these 2 days. For e.g. last nite slept at 12 then wake up 800 am. After feeding at 830am, she sleep till 1230 pm. Then feed, then sleep until now 300 pm haven't wake up heee... and she drink a lot too! This morning drank 210 ml!

kk,

ya lor change out of the blue like tat. really cannot tahan at times. i dun mind he make noise on his own rather than prefer to be carry. he is too heavy for me soon and i m so exhausted if carry for long. Now i m upgrading him to 180ml and he puke abit this morning.

i hope he will change back like yr bb schedule soon lor, he used to sleep like tat. today seem better now still playing on his rocker and making so much noise dun know is talking or grumpy

Frankly speaking i shld be happy he only grumpy in afternoon. at least he sleep thru at night. last night he slept at 11.30pm and wake up at 8.30am today

angel

Ya lor..there is no choice at all. REally quite troublesome. What pump r you using? Do you express when you go out shopping?

twinkle,

wow ur bb can sleep pretty long in the nite ya? mine around 8 hrs only. Sometimes shorter than that, around 7 hours. So depends.

haha, my bb schedule not like tat.. in the day she can be in alert mode till 1 pm. Dunno why these 2 days i seem to be very free in the day, can do a lot of my own work.

kk,
he also depends on his mood lah, at times he feel like waking up at 3-4am. but mostly is 8am.

now i wake up early in the morning bcos he will hv milk at 8am and sleep till 11am then take shower. so i hv time to do work in the morning. Afternoon is really depend on his mood whether he is cracky or not. when come evening he is such a good boy when daddy comes home.

u still express once a day?

missk,

no lah...so troublesome cos me using the Avent ISIS Duo Pump...so bulky. There4, whenever go out will keep telling my husband that i need to go back b4 3 hrs until he cannot tahan anymore. he say that going out with me is so "mafan". as a result, we hardly go shopping, only mayb nearby shopping centres but definitely not town area

angelzwynd,

i only get 80-100 for every 3 hrs pump. Now 6 hr pump is abt 200ml.
How to clear block ducts? Think i got some at the chest bone area.

bookworm,
still practising leh .. but seem like bb dun really like to b inside though .. think quite warm .. i tried to put him in ... in a few min later, he will start to struggle and wanna to break free if he can't break free .. next min u know liao lor .. start to cry liao
haiyooo dunno whether isit i din put him in correctly ... i only tried 3 times at home since i collected last sat.

Hi Hazel,

Is the sling you having bought from recommendations here? Is there a website I can take a look at it? Knew there is, but can't find it already.

Yo Ivy,

Cos' sometimes feed my boi FM in the night mah...so got BM leftovers loh! Haha..
Nowadays getting lazier to pump...jialat...last nite my breast was so full cos' I never pump for 8-9 hours, that I managed to pump 300ml...pain!

Hi angelzwynd,

Can we freeze EBM in glass bottles? If so how do we defroze the bottle? WOn't it crack under extreme coldness and heat? I don't think I am using the Avent liners...the material is kind of thin rite?

Hi kk,

So envious..ur bb sleeps so long @ nite. mine still wakes up 3 times at nite for feed...despite being 2 mths, he still only managing 60 to 90ml per feed...sigh!

twinkle-starry,
i think tats normal for yr boy to play with his saliva. Keane oso, n oso licks his fist.will licks his dad's chest or my hands or my clothes when he is being carried.PD said its normal.

tats y i took Rotavirus prevention jab for him.Its oral so still ok

hi ivy & angel

realli admire those who work, and still can pump regularly, and maintain supply...

everytime i pump (every 6 hours), sure have lumps to clear... sigh...

annie

thanx for ur info... wat i do is massage and apply pressure to get clear the blockages...

the rotavirus jab is it optional? or one of the required vaccination jabs? how much issit? Sori, i dunno much, but wat does it protect bb from?

Annie,

Ur boy got any side effects from rotavirus jab like fever, crankiness, tiredness, etc?? It is taken orally hor?

I wonder should let my girl take that or not. Many doses rite?

fates,

i dun tink that there's any problem freezing the glass bottle & reheating it cos i had been doing that. i tink the bottle can take the heat since it had also been sterilised. i juz take the glass bottle down frm the freezer 1 day b4 my girl needs it to thaw so that the bottle is at not at freezing point wen i need to heat the milk

kk & ivy,
keane dun have side effects even through he took e pneumococcal jab together. Higher chances 2 get fever.
yap, its orally, two doses. e kids clinic charge $95 per dose.duno sweet or not, cos my pd gave drop by drop in2 keane's mouth. but fr keane's reaction, shd b little bitter cos he gumble a bit.
keane loves 2 suck his fists, lick his father's chest when he carrys him or lick my clothes, tats y i chose 2 take e jab.thinking ta he will put anythng in his mouth 2 bite while teething when he has itchy gum at ta x. (my niece is 6mths old, she bites anything from chair to glass)

e brouche tat i got, stated ta infants stayed hospitalise 97% due 2 this virus. however this one still can cure n treat easier than pneuomocaccal dieases.

hope this info explain clearly abt this rotavirus.

http://www.astdhpphe.org/infect/rot.html

starry,

dun say that lah. i also same same. last weekend, he refuse to slp think overtired so he rather cranky. carry also cannot slp. i pek chey till scream at him then he shut up and look at me with pitiful face. felt bad but no choice. he tired i lagi tired.

no leh my boy head not very firm yet still like turtle, wobbling ard..keke

hey, any one bb scream at the top of their lungs when its milk time? yesterday brought kaeden to ntuc alone. saw that his milk time is near, faster go pay money, who knows at the cashier, he let out such a big scream and start to cry. even the auntie say 'wah ur boy so fierce'
me so malu wish can dig hole and hide

milo and starry,

i think my aunt is a magician...haha..
every time my boy cry, pass to her, sure will stop right away!!! I test and tried several times, ( cry, pass to her, stop liao, pass back to me, then will start to cry again and will stop when i pass back to my aunt) confirm that her hands are really good! haha...