(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

missk,

the avent electric pump can be converted to a manual pump easily...I tried it before, think i am too spoilt by the motor already. Cannot pump out much using manual and hands become too tired after 5 mins.

Cleaning is pretty easy.

milo66 & starry,
Think every bbs are the same lar.. my keane oso v jialat, duno sleep daytime, but if my mum around, he can sleep leh..
Hahah,, he alway crys n screams like tearing the walls down whenever he wakes up and asking for milk even at nights. Can you imagine he sleeps next to me. Now, i understand that y our parents get a bit deaf when they are old.

hi annie, milo & starry

yup yup, same for mi... in the hospital, the nurses sae my bb is a pretty loud whiner... she onli does tat when she does not get her milk, and when she is tired, and we do not let her sleep, or she can't find a comfortable position to fall asleep...

Aiyoh, my girl also can scream until want to tear down the house. Now u know why i seldom bring her out and i never bring her out alone before.. i scared i malu when she cry and like milo, want to dig a hole and hide haha..

kk, yvonne, milo, starry

wah .. luckily for me.. my bb cry v soft type one leh .. sometimes when im at kitchen, i couldn't hear him cry in the room .. sometimes kind of like to hear his crying very cute sound .. haha so i always let him cry few min den i go over

Putting babies to sleep

My old grandma (God bless her soul) told methat if you want to let the baby sleep without carrying, hold onto the hands and dont allow her/him to move it... then they will fall asleep faster as they feel that they are being carried. I suppose its the same as swaddling

Screamy babies
My baby screams too. Usually she does not cry but when she does, she means business. My no 1 will say, meimei cry.... loud.... haha

Hazel,
Wow.. so lucky!! Mine also will scream. Luckily so far when I bring her out, she never scream outside. Else sure malu!!

Milo,
Hope our hb won't take it for granted that we'll still continues to be the last to sleep and wake up for midnight feed when we starts work. haha

Hi milo

Re Screaming bb

No worries, my boy also screams, he never cries one..once he start, he will scream until he no voice..REALLY so me seldom bring him out scared malo...

Btw, I learnt from Ms Wong that for such bb u have to be veri firm with them. She said BB do not understand fierce/shouting but bb will understand firmness..still trying to perfect my firm voice..ha!

Ya, I also realise that when my MIL is around, Rayne is super guai...when she not around, he become veri "org" .

gabby's mum,

i heard swaddling is good but this boi dun like leh. in hospital the nurse keep wrapping him as he always trying to wriggle out of it. i did tried to hold his hand but these days no use liao he still wan to be carry. Yday i tried to hug him on my bed and he seems ok.

this boi change his pattern often. sigh!

milo,
it happens to me once when hubby and me bring him go cold storage. Somemore not his milktime yet and he suddenly want it and cry so loud. U so Singaporean love to see 'show' lah . i had to made milk on the spot and when i looked up so many aunties staring at me in circles. one of them told her young daughter u see later the milk is ready he will not cry. wow piang i feel like i m in the circus.

haha.. now i know so many bb same as my ah boy..my hubby buay paisay one. if bb cry hor, he can still take his own sweet time and find a place to plant his butt b4 making milk. he say which bb dun cry like that but seriously, i never came across bb crying like that in public.

kk,

i think dig hole too long, wish the floor open up and swallow me in faster. practically the whole ntuc ppl are staring at me and whispering among themselves

hey milo,
i was just about to say... my husband also buay paiseh one, ahaha... he always likes to bring my boy out, but i am the one who's always worryin about him making a fuss in public places end up i dunno where to hide my face kekeke...

oh yes check with you mummies,
do yr babies perspire a lot? my son perspires like nobody's biz... his hair is always wet no matter what time of the day, like he just came out of shower n his body feels sticky not long after bathing. i find he doesn't 'smell' as good as other bbies... dunno y?

Milo,

my hubby also like tat. take own sweet time and must find a place to park the pram and make milk. he say nobody make milk in public and feed while standing. Aiyo when bb cries, it is now and then lor where got time to find the right place.

Maybe there is mars vs venus.

twinkle starry,
is like tat, some will told their kids ta they r like ta whe they r young. tin the parents r takg our bbs s teaching material to educate their own kids

gummie,

My girl also sweat.. but mainly in the nite when i myself find the weather very hot too! The hair will be wet and when she drink milk, my arms will also be wet due to sweat on her hair.

i find that bb addicted to air con liao. around 9 ++ pm we have to place her in bedroom with air con room.. else she is very grumpy.

kk,
why yr girl sweat mostly at night? bcos u turn on the air-con in the day? ya ya... my arm always v wet from carrying him... i wanted to let him sleep in air-con at night with us but i was told not to do so bcos my boy has some breathing symptoms. apparently his breathing is quite loud at times of the day, and esp at night. sometimes he seems to be grasping for air in his sleep so i dare not put him in air-con at night. does anyone else have the same problem?

angelzwynd (angelzwynd)

u mean u take ur express milk from freezer to fridge to let it thaw for 1 day, then the next day, warm and give bb ah? can like that?
I always took those stored ones (usually stored for 1 week in freezer)from freezer and let my mum heat up when i am away

kk,
my son loves aircon. even day x, esp afternoon, i oso have to on aircon, else he dun close his eye. like now, he is mumbing his pacifier with eye shut but not sleeping. sigh! but at least i can do some hse hold chores.

gummie

my son also breathe v loud; at nite even worse, seems like grasping for air also. Paediatrican says he got blocked nose, can sleep in air-con but not for too long. These few days weather terribly hot, me can't do without air-con at nite so no choice, bb also sleep in air-con. But I'll try to turn off the air-con in the early morning...

catherine,
you also experience the same? i brought my boy to the PD, and he says it's not really uncommon, and that most babies will grow out of it. however, he taught us how to monitor and to watch for signs that cld indicate his heavy breathing may be a concern. i did not ask him about sleeping in air-con though.
i was kind of worried when a friend's mother commented that my boy must have a weak constitution which could be due to the mother... when she saw my boy breathing in his sleep. she even said he may develop asthma...

i let my boy sleep in air-con during the day, but i leave him alone in the bb room with the fan at night.

hi ivy

i havent got time to take pics of the flashcards coz busy..no maid helping nw. will take pic once i free .

i wont say flashcards useful or nt useful coz at the age from newborn till 3 yrs old, we can only input knwledge. u can only see result later..and also will depends on individual kids

Annie/Gummie,

Wow, ur bb sleep in aircon in the day heee.. mine dun. My house is cooler in the day. And fan on is already enough for my bedroom. But when it comes nite time, oh gosh! The heat can really kill!

My bb will only get to enjoy air con in the day when my hubby is at home. There, both sleeping the bedroom with air con on liao.

Hazel,

I set 24 degrees
BUT my bb is sleeping on her own mattress on the floor. So that side not cold for her.

bookworm,

yes. i take the milk frm freezer to fridge so that wun take long time to warm the milk. the website provided by Pooh also mentioned that it's ok, however, i decided that may not wan 2 freeze the EBM anymore since the site mentioned that freezing will cause the loss of some nutrients in the milk

annie/gummie

my bb only has aircon on at night for 2 hrs, then will be on fan liao. daytime he only get to sleep w fan either on rocker or on my bed

i think 25-26degree is ok lah, not cold just cool enough.

Hi Hazel,

My PD say 25 to 26 should be okie for babies also. But remember to cover him well and not blow the cold air at him.

Do you know if we can use whitening products like SKII when we are breastfeeding? Will it be harmful for the babies?? I cant wait to use whitening products cos my face looks so haggard now..

duno any1 experience this or not? My keane is damn smart. He can hold his cries when i beat him then start crying after i leave him. He seems to understand whenever i scolded or said him. He will cry harder n louder to show his anger and used his fists to box my face.
Just now, really make me real mad, dun finished the milk, left 60ml and dun want to sleep.
Cant imagine, i have to wake 3xs each nites just to feed him.More nightmare if he still awake n dun sleep after the feeding.
Couldnt understand why he cant sleep long.

hi annie

how old's ur bb? Is it because wind in stomach? I always figure that when bb cry other than feed and sleep, is cuddle, diaper and wind. oooooo yes, bb always like to box my face and grab my clothes... i believe she is trying to express herself... But i have never scolded or beat her as yet...

yvonne du,
Keane is 10weeks old. He just want to play and only sleep if either one of us sleep. (he sleep in btw us). Thats y i said that he is damn smart.
He oso noes how to cry for carry whenever my hb is around. Cos he noes that his mummy dun. He oso loves to show me his tongue if he is angry with me whenever i scold him...

Hi Annie

hahahha, ur boy seems very interesting!

My gal is 9 weeks and 3 days. By the way, can ur boy sit up on his own, and hold up his head? Is it that we should not be using the carrier to bring bb out, until he/she is older (4 mths old), cos it may hurt the spine and affect the meck support...

Cos i brought my bb down to the park to walk in the carrier... met my neighbour, and she went to tell my mil that i brought bb out in the carrier, and my mil came back to tell mi not to... hmmmmmm.... well, i am ignorant and the instructions on the carrier did not sae so...

yvonne du,
its ok depend on yr gal, if your gal can hold her head up and full of strength, u can let her practice like 10mins per day till she reachs 3 or 4mths.
its not the neck or spain that we afraid to hurt. I did check with my pd, according to her, its the bb lung that get affected. Cos bb's intestines, lungs n hearts are brand new and just start to function. By putting bb in the carrier, bb has to use whole strength on balancing her neck, end up "squeeze back' cos bb dun have so much strength to hold her neck all time, then lung get pressure n oxygen level decrease. (scientist d such experiement. Hehehe.. i oni noe e oxygen level drop but how to explain clearly, ehhmm.. i m v lousy. paiseh
i nvb use carrier through i got one cos keane is too heavy, i like to use pram.
Just let keane cried for an hr, now sleeping like pig. heheh.. made me real mad, dun finish his milk, leave 50ml.. he thinks his mummy so rich.

Annie,

yr old is older than mine huh? Could it be he feel insecure and refuse to sleep. How abt try to wrap him up or what i do is get a backsleeper and he seem to sleep quite well as there are cushion btw his sides and he can even lift his leg on the cushion like big boss.

hi annie

thanx thanx... agar agar understand! hehehe... haven got a pram yet, that's why... and read mar thread, their babies can sit in bumbo!

u fm totally? when she waste fm, i dun feel anithing, but when she waste ebm, i try to force her to finsh! tsktsktsk....

yvonne du,
yap, fm oni give 1 ebm per day, v v low ms. moreover, no x to express out.

twinkle starry,
he didnt like to wrap, even we cover blanket for him, he oso kick it off. He just want to play his father especially his father is only at home in e evening time after work.

hi twinkle,
my gal sleeps exactly like your bb! very chor lor hor?

hi annie,
i tink bb usu cannot control their movements lar...my bb also "box box" when she wants milk...guess that's her way of communication. ;-)

Hi Annie,

Not sure whether u want to try to swaddle ur boy? I've tried this after advice from my LC, it seems to work. It is normal if the BB screams at first, mine always do but then after a while, he will fall asleep and will sleep longer.

I'm so happy after 2 months of trying n trying...today my Rayne finally latches on...the naughty boy wants to wait until mummy about to return to work to latch on...

Jus to check for latch on,will there be any feeling? I din have much feeling except that he is sucking...hopeful its the correct method. I'll try again tomolo..keep my fingers crossed. hopefully he will latch on again tomolo!

ino,
duno leh! He oni box me when he is v angry leh.He oso noes how to recognise pps. these days, bbs are v smart. Like Piglet's gal can even dance when heard e familiar song. So sweet and adorable. If oni keane can her half adore, maybe my hb will play with him ...

lh_iyc,
tried but no use for him. Wah! u r so hardworking. i already gave up letting keane to latch on. He basically dun n even if u force him on, he will just play with my nipple n throw it out. V painful leh..

I'm taking care of my baby on my own since my CL left and have not been able to keep up with my 3 meals. Usually have a milo drink n chicken essence in the morning and usually skip my lunch... when it's time for dinner sometimes i dun have much appetite bcos i'm too tired. I'm just wondering if I should continue to breastfeed in this case, cos i worry my milk may not be 'good enough' for the baby. Wonder if formula might even be better? Anyone out there who is breastfeeding and having the same concern?

Today we brought bb out shopping and he was cranky the whole evening. Refuses to sleep without being carried and the moment we put him down he cries... I actually 'hardened' myself and left him crying out loud until he's so tired that he fell asleep... is tt too cruel of me? i'm tempted most of the time to pick him up when he cries for more than 30secs, but i realise i can't possibly be tied down hands and legs when i'm on my own with him on weekdays... i still feel a bit guilty over leaving him alone to cry...poor bb.

lh_jyc,

for me, i can feel some pain (feels like 'pulling') in my other breast when my boy suckles... i think he's suckling action stimulates the flow of milk. the feeling is definitely much stronger than when i express with the pump.