(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

gummie,
You have to hardened yr heart leh. What happend if you go back to work? Don't tell me you expect e person whose take care yr bb will carry whole day. (V hard leh).
BB is v smart, will learn v fast. once he noes that crying is no use, he will learn 2 sleep without carrying.
Like Keane, i let him cry hour till he got tired n fall asleep.

like to share this following pic. Today, got Piglet to help me to look after Keane. She took this beautiful pic.
Our babies are only 2 days apart. So great!

453639.jpg

gummie, i think you are too tired to eat cos u're probably carrying ur baby the whole time. Regardless w/h u r going to breastfeed, u shd take care of urself n eat well. Else there will be no one to look after ur baby if u r sick. For me, even if my baby is crying while i'm eating i will try to finish my meal b4 feeding him. How to give him good milk if I'm hungry? As long as u know ur baby is not hungry, doesn't need diaper change, not too hot/cold, i think u can let him cry a little while. Take care of yourself first. No need to feel guilty. Anyway, I think breast milk is better than formula no matter what. Eating well so that you can provide him the best milk possible is better for him than picking him up the second he cries. Just my 2 cents worth.

lh_jyc, congratulations and admire you for your persistence. Carry on the good work. Regarding ur question, there should be some feeling if he's sucking correctly. Another way to tell is to listen for sounds of swallowing, then u know if he is getting milk.

anyone can recommend any type of cooling mattress for infant? i suspect that keane dun sleep on his own cot bed due to e cheap mattress that i brought. (oni $49).
As i am using Simon Mattress, its kind of cooling even after long hour of sleeping or laying on it.

Hi Annie and Piglet,

Woh, ur bbies so cute..mabbe we should organise a gathering one day when our bb are bigger. hee now cant coz still have to wait for him to learn not to scream else maloo man.

Annie,
Heard that latex mattress are cooling coz it has holes in the mattress..dunno whether true or not lei. But then hor, its super expensive.

Hi Gummy,
Actually I have the same problem, re not enuff sleep n rest. What I do is to keep a lot of biscuits and bread at home. When I'm hungry, will eat these. Better than nothing. Btw me now giving bb more FM than BM coz I do not have enuff supply.

Hi CP,
I'll try again tomolo to latch him on again. Will observe him ;p

eh annie,
u no longer let ur bb wear mittens n booties liao ar? i still wear leh .. as my bb finger nails quite sharp n hard even though i had already trim.

Annie,
I thought Keane should be 8 weeks 5 days? Mine is exactly 9 weeks today. Your boy did laugh and smile at my place, equally adorable, look at the pix, how handsome. In fact, all bbs are cute and adorable. So tempted to dance with him too since he got strong legs but worried I might injure him.

My bb dances possibly because I hear too much of this song when she's in my tummy. That's why the exciting reaction..

She gets bored with classical music and no reaction to other music

Hazel,
Oh yah, notice Annie also didn't let her bb wear booties and mittens already. My gal do scatched herself sometimes. So when I saw scatches, will ask hb to cut her nails for her cos I don't dare to.

lh_jyc,

lh_jyc,
I think if we organise outing with our bbs, we need a very big place. Sure alot of us will push the pram out. haha.. It's useful when we need to eat, can put bb in the pram

hai... couldn't zzz ... my WC champion brazil out liao .. any mummies watch WC? heehee think no hor .. already not enough sleep where got time to watch.

hmmm now my bb can straight zzz frm 11 plus till now still havent wake up for his feed .. hope to keep it up .. oppz wake up liao heehee

Hazel,

My girl slept at 1 pm (sigh! dunno why so active these 2 nites) and till 7 am only. Seems like not tooo stable yet.

This year WC very unexpected hor? Argentina out.. england out.. brazil out too?? Aiyoh.. oh ya, my hubby said before brazil not so strong this year. For argentina case, he say the referee geilong hee..

Hee, my hubby watch WC.. so my workload lessen after 11 pm these few nites :p He will feed the bb and carry her until she sleep :p

annie,

at first i tot kaeden dun slp in the cot during daytime is cos of too hot so went to invest in the latex mattress ended up also dun slp mah. waste my $$ ah.

gummie,

me same as u but i more worse off as in i have been taking care of bb from the day he is discharge from the hosp. so technically haven been sleeping well for the past 2 mths liao. find that i really have no time to eat and if gotta express my milk, lagi no time to rest thus i gave up bf totally. i know that i am a bad mummy not to provide the best for him and till now i still feel guilty but if i have to remain unhappy everyday, i will lose my temper on him which i feel will be even worse. hope this helps

Hi Annie and Milo66,

Not sure whether u wanna try sarong....coz my Rayne also refuses to sleep. My MIL fedup went to get a sarong to him. Realised that he now sleeps longer but hor..... got cons also .... coz pple say may not be able to bring bb out in future as he over reliance on sarong...

milo,

u are not the only one. I only fed my bb with BM for 2 mths only. And u know lah, basically 2nd mth everyday fed her 30 ml of EBM only cos MS dropped drastically mah.

Dun let this put u down lor, cos we really need a lot of energy to take care of bb. At times, i find myself very depressed, cos the whole day routine going to repeat itself from early morning. It is a totally different lifestyle from before. And we are still trying to adapt ourselves to it, having a new addition to the family.

So take it easy ok?

lh_jyc,
I've tried putting bb in sarong. Same problem. If she wants to sleep, she'll sleep no matter where, bed, cot, sofa, pram.

BB does get cranky before they get into their longest sleep during the night. My bb usually sleeps around 1am to 2am, sometimes as late as 2am plus. These few days trying to train her to sleep early. I leaves her on the cot as soon as she finishes her 11pm feeding, that is around 12 midnight. Then as usual, she'll starts to cry. I then feed her water, turned her to lie at her side and pat her buttock, she'll stop crying and get drowsy soon. When I see that she's drowsy, I turn her back and stop patting her. She'll sleep after that. She slept at 12:30am last night but woke up at 6:30am for her feeding. Still targeting to let her sleeps even earlier.

Hi Piglet,

Mine now cries for sarong during the day. At nite, we swaddle him n leave him in the cot. he usually screams but after a while will fall asleep...he no sleeping pattern yet and still wakes up 3 times @ nite for feeds...tiring man! but sortof getting used to it lor..

Hey Milo,
Me too gave up breastfeeding. Too tired, and took me an hour just to pump that miserable 10ml. She totally on FM now, feels guilty sometimes but I feels more guilty when I lose my temper on her.

lh_jyc,
I agreed bb will screams or crys before they get into their longest sleep comparing to those naps during the days. My bb sleeps in sarong at my mum's place too. Do you rock him in sarong? I kept telling my mum not to rock my bb, but you know lah, elders will not listen. I'm worrying that my bb will rely on sarong though now no problem yet. Maybe your method of sleeping in sarong during the day and swaddling him at night will make him realise the difference between the day and night?

Try to open the curtains during the day and on the night lights / off light during the night? Now my bb can tells the difference

Piglet,

Precisely, I've told my MIL/mother/hubby not to rock but they always do...
In the end now have to rock him until he sleeps else he will make a lot of noise/screaming...
what I do is for the evenings, I die die also put him in the cot...swaddle him n let him cry la, dun care ah....if not next time cant bring him out liao...

Btw, I also pump until veri depressed..keep on quarreling w hubby over this. my MS is also veri low..but I'm still trying coz my health not good hopefully the MS will help to increase my bb metabolism lor....

lh_jyc,
Same same, die die I also want her to sleep in the cot or sleeps with us on our bed else she'll rely on sarong and wants to rock to sleep. I won't get sarong for her at all if I don't required my mum to take care of her when I goes back to work. My mum wanted bb to sleep in sarong, say can sleeps longer. But my bb sleeps the same number of hours when sleeping in her cot too.

CP/ annie,
usually when my boy's sleepy i carry and coax him to sleep before putting him down on the bed during day time. is this what most of the mummies out there are doing? i try to pat him to sleep again if he wakes up and cry and if he doesn't stop... yes i'll relent half the time and pick him up. i guess i must have been carryin him too much, pampering him maybe. looks like i really have to 'train' him to be more independent bcos i also am aware that once i go back to work he will not get that kind of attention. but must admit that every time i recall what the 'ang mo' books teach us - to pick up baby every time they cry so that they will not feel unloved and uncared for, i feel guilty and doubtful if i'm doing the right thing.

lh_jyc/ milo,
can totally understand... i constantly struggle btwn taking care of myself (eat n rest well to produce enough BM) and attending to bb's needs, and feeling depressed about not giving enough BM. my boy's also a fussy drinker, he seldom complete his feed without makin a fuss and that's making me even more depressed at times.

i guess can only kan kai yi dian and tell myself i'm trying my best already...

Hi Gummie,

I face the same prob, ie to carry or not to carry the BB whenever he screams but after a while, I found that if I keep on carrying the bb, I'll have no time to rest. Hence, end up I also put him in the sarong

I just tried this 2 times today, seems to work. I swaddle him with a cloth, he screams n screams, I just answer him to tell him that he has to sleep himself coz mummy busy...he continue to scream (almost chokes coz he "Ge " too much) after a while, he tired liao, he sleeps...

Heart pain to see him screaming like that but no choice...like what Ms Wong says, we must not be attending to bb every seconds...

It's ok to give up breastfeeding if it becomes too stressful. Yes, BM has a lot of benefits. But, one is not a bad mother if she chooses not to breastfeed. Come on, the child has a long way to go. There are other ways in which we can fulfil our responsibility as a good mother.

Missk,

Are u using the Medela PIS (ADvance) ? How is it? Am thinking of whether to buy another pump..my medela mini died on me today..think I overused it

hey ...lhjyc. PIS is good, I believe. So far, it's working well on me. Last sat, I just went to Mums and Babes to buy 2 more funnels so that I dun need to sterilise when I express my milk outside.

You can go to Mums and Babes to enquire more abt the pdt. In fact, you can try the PIS there. But of cos, if the price is too steep you can buy elsewhere.

hazel,
no leh! after the full mth took out, thats y he scatched his ear and bleed, really scared me. Hhaha.. i learnt to cut his finger nails n polish them.

I even dare to shave his eyebrow. Now, thinking to shave him bo ta..hmm.. must wait hb not at home. else forbbidden me to do so.

piglet / kk / gummie / ihjyc,

yup, that wat i tot too. so wat if i provide bm and yet i keep losing my temper on him, that will makes me a bad mummy too and worse may affect him emotionally.

this few nights my boy started sleeping after his 7.30 pm feed and will wake up at 1am follow by 5am then 7 am. shld i make him slp later so that he will wakes up later?

kk,

yesterday, 1st time in history i dump my boy to my mil place from morn till nite and went par tor with hubby..wah super shiok man!!!!

WC
hehe.... I agree that with hubbies that watch WC, its a load off our backs as they can take over and take care of babies as they are awake watching 22 men chasing after a ball! My hubby will feed Si'en on EBM at night but the 4-5am feed I will latch her on. So I get to watch too!!! Turning into a routine.

Annie
Why must shave off babies' eyebrow? I am curious as I did not do that for mine.

Booties and mittens
Si'en still wears them esp at night as she may scratch her face. She will wear socks at night as her feet is always very cold. MIL says that must wear socks and keep feet covered until 1

hi milo,

my boy also has this rountine of sleeping the longest after his 7-8pm feed. usually he wakes up between 11pm to 1am (last feed for the day). like yesterday, i was tired and wanted to go to bed so we woke him up at about 12.30am to feed. however sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. there are times when he's so sleepy that he doesn't want to suckle after tryin for a few minutes... the worst part is i have to throw away the remaining EBM/FM which is such a waste.

wah... i so envy you... at least you can 'park' yr baby at yr mil's every now n then. i have no place to park mine, not even for 1 or 2 hours, really have to bring him everywhere we go.

Milo,

Ya shiok rite? Haha.. sometimes we just get super tired looking after the small ones. Now i am really looking forward to my HK trip!! I ask hubby dunno how i am going to survive this week because i am already too excited over the trip heeee...

Now my bb still sleeping. Once she wakes up, will be another routine liao. Very sianzz hor sometimes?

Gabby's mum,

True.. i will also let my girl wear booties and mittens at nite when she sleeps. Adults also same thing, we get cold because it starts off with the feet so some of us wear socks to sleep too.

I heard from ex colleague have to trim eyelashes too heee.. so next time the eyelashes will be long and beautiful. ANyway not going to trim mine.

There won't be any soccer till thurs rite? I am really happy my hubby loves to watch soccer hahaha.. now at least once the game starts at 11 pm, i can leave the girl with him liao. And then have some personal time to do my household chores and school work if any.

lh_jyc,

yest we tried to 'train' my boy... left him to cry when he wants to be carried to sleep. that went on for about 10 mins and after that he was so tired that he fell asleep 'automatically'... all we needed to do was to bear with his cries and refrain from picking him up even when it pains our heart to see him cry...

since i have to leave my boy to the maid's care, he had better not cry for attention all the time, or i'm afraid the maid will be so frustrated that she may take it out on him when we're not around. talking abt going back to work, i think i will think of my bb the whole time...

gals,

talking abt FM, its its REAL cheap in JB. My neighbour just bought back 2 tins of Dumex Mamax for me and the price diff is S$10 per tin of 900g!!!

Ivy, I understand that JB milk is not as good. Must check the place of manufacture. Think Dumex is Australian right? The QC in JB is not as good. But then again, the BB in M'sia have been drinking them for years so....

I also at 1st let my boy cry, 10min, 20 min. Heart pain till I also cry. Then I adopted a modified method. Give pacifier/pat while he cries but no carry still. It's been almost a week liao. He's better, now no need pacifier cos he rejects anyway & just 'eh eh' to z in like 5 min. After the weekends usually worse cos a lot of craddling from the grans but i guess he associate home with strict mama & will try to settle himself to z. The crux of this method is to pat/pacifier till he sleepy but not asleep & then let him drift into sleep himself. It's gonna be v tough cos he'll cry the moment no pat/pacifier. Gotto try many x. I went in like 10x once & finally he fell asleep. Hope it helps.

I read somewhere that this crying method works if
- BB not hungry
- BB not soiled
- BB not overtired (ie not awake for more than 2 hrs)
- BB not sick (including colic which usually starts at 6pm & ends at 12am)
- BB not too cold or hot

feng,

it is stated that the milk is from New Zealand and pack in MY. The same thing was stated on the tin that i bought from SG NTUC too...in fact everything is the same. So i think it shld be okie. You are right, BB is M'sia have been drinking too, so it shld be safe!

Hi Gummy,

Ya, veri diff to train bb. Must hardened my heart..yestd kenna scolded by hubby because I let bb cry too much...he say me sit down there do nothing
but if no train cannot coz I cant possibly carry him the whole day!

Annie,
My boy is now bo tak...found him better looking being bo tak...hee!

Just like to check something personal. For those who underwent caesarian, have u all resumed intimacy with hubby already? I believe should be ok on the wound rite?

gummie,

very heartpain to throw abt the milk, esp if it is ebm. i fed the unwanted fm to my dogs instead :p i can understand how u feel cos yesterday was the 1st time in history that i park my bb at my mil. it was my hubby's idea and he jus brought bb over while i was sleeping.

kk,

ya lor, so sian. everyday same routine. worst than working
good to have something to look forward too! cant wait for my trip to batam too! though only one nite but its a good break..keke

btw, to ans ur qns hor, already tried "baby-dancing aka intimacy" with hubby. so far ok but quite painful. think hormones cause us to be very dry. i ask him not to rest his whole wt on me though. an 85kg elephant will kill my wound ah :p

milo,

Oh when u going for batam?? I am going to treaure this trip very much!! I guess it will be the nicest trip so far hahaha.. and also going tour with a different "status" liao heee...

Painful at V u mean, due to dryness? i scared wound open leh.. won't hor? heee... paranoid me here goes again..

kk,

we booked for this weekend, now waiting for reply on availability.

ya lor, very diff then can go for one, must treasure till bits liao. sigh..next time if have to go for long trip, will have no choice but to bring bb along cos no one to look after for me.

yup painful at the V initially but after awhile ok. haha the wound wont open lah..so long loh

Hi kk

Althu I natural birth, I still phobia, dare not let hubby touch me yet ;p

Btw, any mummy with natural birth has the same problem? I found that if I drink lots of water, when I cough or sneeze veri diff to control leak

kk,

i hv not tried but my gynae told me can do anything liao but just be more gentle and not boat rocking lah

milo,

i also give up bf liao. well i also feel gulity at first and now getting used to it liao. i tell myself it save me more time and give me more time to take care of his needs.

Gummie,
with no bf and cloth nappies, i hv more time even he want to be carry in the afternoon. i can even check my work email and prepare for work.

gabby's mum,
ps dun shave yr si'en got dark eyebrow, keane dun have n oni few light light brown colour thats y i shave it away. so that will be darker colour. hahah.
I didnt wear sock for keane even i on air con at nites. He is those sweaty type of bb. His palm oso sweat so eee...

1h_iyc,
cos some pp said bb cant b bo ta less than 6mths old. duno true or not.. hahha

gals,
left my bb at my sis's place starting from today. kind of feeling weird now, alone at home..
i left sad when i went to compasspoint just now, trying to buy clothes and find that oni can fix or some squeeze into L size. Sigh! ...
My buttock n thights are like pig fresh.. so sian...

Hi Annie,

Me too me too...was going thru my wardrobe and realised that me nothing to wear except 2 maternity jeans and 3 T-shirts...me la..happy happy tot bb come out will slim back to S so gave away all my maternity clothes...but hor now still ba ba....think have to go for shopping spree to buy clothes...else nothing to wear to work liao

Btw, this website clothes veri nice n cheap...I missed the earlier spree
waiting for the next one to start...hee! homebound still can shop..me really shopaholic man!

www.cct-fashion.com

twinkle-starry,
no! my sis is working. her maid is looking after my niece (6mths old ) n keane.
my hb n parents in law are worry.said that maid cant take care of 2 bbs. However, my sis's hb already told the maid that if keane n their gal cry, attend keane 1st. They didnt let the maid noes keane's got a hole in e heart, scare to scare her too much. Just told her that keane is v weak.
i am happy that at least they care abt keane too. No, havent start work, just put there and monitor to see hows the maid doing well or not.

lh,

Heee, i thought for those who underwent natural should be have more phobia because it really affects that V area mah. Looks like those who had c-sec dun have a good first time experience too after delivery

Ok i'll try soon haha.. by hook or by crook, must rid the phobia mah rite?

Annie,

Haha, i have accepted the fact that i grow ba ba liao.. i am back to my self before wedding. 50++ kg instead of 40+ kg. Sad!!

So i have gone on shopping spree after my confinement and bought many clothes liao. I won't definitely get back in shape so fast before i go back to work. So might as well change my wardrobe heeee... me and hubby going HK this weekend.. hopefully can get more new clothes