(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

i had c-section, till now, tummy still v floppy and cant fix back 2 old skirts. Saw this advertisement today abt slimming. $588 @ slimming santuary.. wonder can i go for such slimming or not. cos the use of machine...

kk,
remember to wipe e belly button with dry wet cloth, not fully wet. keep clean, dun apply any mediated oil or baby oil on it, avoid it when u apply them on bb body.
you have to check whether e belly button go down when u press it down lightly with yr finger n check whether it pop up or not.
If e belly button dun pop up after you press n let go, have to go a & e immediately without any delay.
redness and painful when press indicate the belly button already has infection.
dun worry, just dun do anything to it now, treat it as normal. (tats wat e specialist indian doc told me yesterday when he told us abt keane's belly button). haha.

annie,

yoo, but we apply ruyi oil on it so many times liao leh heee..

Haha, i press down on my baby's and she still continue to sleep. I shan't disturb her liao.

Yooo we switch topic liao. What u have shared is so scary :pp

kk,
no lar, not scary, dun apply anymore. i oso d that cos initally every1 blamed me for letting the belly button exposed, said wind goes in. (old folks, sigh!)
of cos, yr bb dun feel anything or pain, i alway do to check whether pop up or not. hah.
by e way, when can go slimming? do u noe? my figure all out of shape.. sigh

Alamak....all the jabs thingy is making me blurrrrr

Anyway thanks for sharing girls

Very informative!

My boy will have his jab on the 2nd mth, so I reckon he will be having 6-in-1?

annie,

haha! i gave up on my body shape. My tummy also flabby like dunno wat. Skirts all cannot wear. And i went G2000 get new skirts. I dun think i can fit into my old skirts anytime now before going back to work. If i dun buy, i have nothing to wear to work end of july heee...

i am seeking the natural way to slim down... hopefully work stress, stress from old folks and less food are able to slim me down :ppp

Hi fates,

Yah all the jabs is really very confusing ... I also took a while to understand wat is going on .... To simplify things ... the only different bet 5-in-1 & 6-in-1 is the Hep B ... if u take the 5-in-1 ..the hep B jabs are given separately at 1st mth & 6 mths and the 5-in-1 jabs will be taken at 3, 4 & 5 mths .... so all in all ur bb will have to take total of 5 jabs ... 2 hep B & 3 5-in-1 ..... whereas the 6-in-1, the Hep B is incorporated into the 5-in-1 so it becomes 6-in-1 ... and only need to take at 1.5 - 2 mths, 3 mths & 5 mths ....so total only need 3 jabs .... but for those mum who got Hep B ... the PD will usually encourage them to take the Hep B separately .... and not the 6-in-1 .... so if ur boy did not go for the 1st mth Hep jab..then mostly likely he will be taking the 6-in-1 jab ....

Hi Annie,

Me too underwent c-sect and now also thinking of ways to slim down ... going back to work in a week time n still couldnt fit into my old clothes ....panick button on liao .... but refuse to buy too many new clothes coz still hoping to squeeze into new ones...hahah

I have check with gyane and she say better not to swim the 1st 2 mths though my wounds already heal coz swimming will use tummy muscle ... so better to be careful... also cannot do sit up ... I did checkout a few slimming centre like expression, theresa and slimatirx ..... but i find all their promotion abit bluff ppl wan ley ... though their promo state a few hundreds dollars but according to them ... u will hv to spend at least 1 to 2 K to see some results ... the few hundreds will only help to lose 500 grams to the max 1.8 kgs ..... and furthermore ...we underwent c-sect ...we cannot use their slimming machine .... only after 3 to 5 months later .... 8(

Taurus,
Yaya...during his 1st mth checkup...he wasn't jabbed, so he will be jabbed for this coming 2nd mth checkup. It's 6-in-1 then

Annie,
Stress and not enough sleep will naturally slim us down leh...but I heard for breastfeeding mums, harder cos' they need to eat ALOT.

kk

When will you be going back to work... I am thinking of tajing no pay leave till nov.

Jabs
Taking the 5in 1/6 in 1 and the Prevenar(dont know spelt correctly) for Si'en. Prevenar jab is 170 per jab... heart ache. How much is the one for the rota virus and how soon can we give the babies?

Increasing milk supply
I think plenty of rest helps me to maintain a good supply! I latch on directly at least 6 times in addition express once... Try taking lots of cod fish and kurau. Think that helps too

gabby's mum,

Hmmm i dun wanna sacrifice my bonus for next year leh.. no pay leave will affect our bonus, u know rite? Sigh.. so i am going back on 24 july lor

Joyce,

Not me.. but my colleague did the mao bi

Hi kk,

Can help me ask w her whom she did the mao bi with? and whether it is safe?? me having second tots coz he has to ti botak for the pen...

Hi kk,

can help me check w yr colleague on whether its safe? how much she paid for it? me having 2nd tots coz bb has to ti botak for the brush

hi kk

oopss...me tot my message did not get in so retyped it 2 times ;p

nope...me dunno the shop from kk..
me searched the internet only managed to find one doing it..Scholar's brush, so me made an appt in impulse.....

oh i can't remember what is the shop name liao.. but if u got chance to pop by KKH, can find the shop there

The shop also makes those footprints and handprints mah.. u can take a look too

hello

any mummies here massage your bb? How do you go abt it? Do I need to buy any essential oil for that? If so, where do I get it?

Hi gabby's mum,

My PD charges S$180 for 2 dosages of the Rotarix vaccinations ... 1st dose given bet 1.5 - 3 mth and 2nd dose between 3-5 mth ... I oso considering whether to let my boy take it ....coz I oso choose the 6 in 1 and prevenar ... dunnoe if its gd to give bb so many vaccinations at such young age .....

Hi Joyce,

We also almost wanted to do the "tao mao bi" for our boy but coz they indicate tt they will send to china to do the pen ... I am quite apprenhensive ...coz dunnoe how to proof that the pen that comes back is really my boy's hair ... so sorry if this worries u further but maybe its gd that you check with the company to get their assurance ...and also make sure that they use a new blade to shave ur bb's hair ....

hello mummies

How long do you take to express your milk each time? When you express, does the milk flow continuously?

Also, how many times does your bb poo each day? Mine poo quite often. I wonder if it's normal.

missk,
its ok 4 bb 2 poo many times a day, just like us, some poo few xs a day while others 1s a day.

i 2 massage 4 my keane so that he can let out of wind n oso prevent constipation. i oni use bb oil or bb lotion mix with ru yi oil.

4 me, i used hand to express out milk since my supply is low and cant pump out. It's partly depend on which brand of breast pump you are using. Usually 15 mins can pump out about 80ml to 100-120ml also depend on your flow

Hi Twinkle-starry,

Thanks will call n check.

Hi Taurus,
Actually I din ask any qns...coz it was recommended by my friend. will call and check w them again.

Hi missk,
I take 20 to 30 mins each time to express only abt 30 ml but cant compare with me coz my MS super low...

I've got 3 pumps, avent iq, avent manual and mendela mini...found the mendela one is the best for me, avent iq not powerful enuff, avent manual is good but tiring to keep pumping
;p hope this helps

missk,

Me using medela mini like Joyce. Find it very good
I dun have other pumps so dunno how they perform.

Same as Annie.. i took around 15-20 min to pump out max 110 ml of BM from both sides. That was my peak that time lah.. now very little BM liao.. max 30 ml per nite

kk,

hee...sama sama like me lor...me trying fernugreek now..hopefully it will work...
if not then have to give up real soon coz going back to work next month and not feasible to express at office if only can get 30 ml of milk....sianz. too bad bb dun latch on...else can help me to stimulate

Joyce,

me also going back to work end of July. And need to pop by school frequently in July too. So dun care liao heee..

I just hope that 30 ml of milk can be maintained. Come home from work, every nite then pump. At least better than nothing.

I latch on bb, dun seem to stimulate leh. Maybe after confinement i didn't eat enough, so no milk loh

joyce loh,
d u try 2 eat fish? eat fish in every meal. the best is steam fish. shd have milk. the other way, heard from my gf, she tried n work for her. Buy chicken feets n boil soup with pork meat, drink it. increase milk supply. I didnt try cos i dun have time to express out milk even i have milk.

hi kk

huh, latch on also no use? me tot if bb latch on, the milk will flow gradually? or at least that is what my cousins told me...theirs like shower one..

actually, me also din eat enuff before n after confinement coz no time lol...maybe tats why also la

Hi Annie

me initially super stressed...tried all methods like drank gallons of water till me vomitted n drank the papaya soup..but dunno why, me just limited supply lei..

now give up lol.. just try to pump as often as possible n whatever little come out me give the little prince.

futhermore, me super tired coaxing Rayne.... my in laws keep on saying my bb veri bad tempered unlike the father and the other bbies they have looked after
dunno whether they are saying he is bad tempered becoz of me

well he is really bad tempered but think he is not feeling well coz he kept on puking his milk lol...sigh...

hi missk,
TMC do organises bb massage classes. Can called up Parentcraft to enquire about it. Sometimes, Johnsons & Johnsons do have some promo whereby they give free massage classes (taught by TMC's Mrs Wong) if you buy $10 worth of their products.

I massage my baby with the J&J oil.

As for milk, i take about 15 mins to pump each breast. Milk do come out...in squirts...probably it depends on your pump. I use Ameda pump.

For the 1st mth, bb shld poo every day. Frequency will poo-ing might decrease thereafter. My gal just went w/o pooing for 4 days! Yesterday, she finally give in and poo one big pile for us to clear (which we are too happy to do it. hee)

hi joyce,
i got my dad to boil fish with papaya soup for me twice a week. plus i keep drinking water and milk...my ss not very fantastic lar...but i tink it's enuff to feed my bb for now.

Hi ino,

2 times per week? me peiseh to ask my inlaws to do, mine is usually once a week unless my mum comes, if she comes over the weekend, I'll have more.

btw, do u latch on? also how much water u take per day??

joyce loh,
is it u still giving tbf, if so, do be careful of what u eat. Your boy has lots of wind thats y v cracky like my keane.
4 bf or express milk, the best for you to avoid garlic, onion, bean n some veggies that cause to promote to create winds.
dun bother what yr in law said, my mil oso said that when she was here during my confinement. Kept hightlight that my hb is v easy to take care unlike keane.
stress n lack of rest will decrease milk supply. anyway, u have tried yr best. no need to blame yourself. Give a last try on the chicken feets soup that i mentioned earlier on. Just drink e soup. my gf told me that this receipt was given by TMC nurse.

yeah. usu i latch on. i only pump in the mornings (if i feel engorged). I try to take at least 6 glasses a day. Everytime, after i feed, i will drink one glass of water. That is besides other drinks which i take e.g. milo, soup, etc.

Ino,
How is the Ameda pump? It's quieter than the Medela Mini right? I thought of buying a dual to save time...it's very tiring to stand in the toilet for 45mins looking at trickles of milk dripping into the bottle

annie,

nope, me not tbf as my MS is too low. Currently bb taking in more FM than BS...dun think can increase the MS...just called my hubby to see if he can come home earlier today so I can go and buy the chicken feet and meat. will try and let u know yeah...

Hi ino,

tats the difference, see...latch on can stimulate more milk...pumping..sigh...no matter how often I pump can only pump out 30-40ml now....

Annie, r you saying that that you can hand-expressed about 80 - 100 ml of breast milk? When I use PIS for abt 10 mins on each breast, I can only express abt 80 ml max from both breasts. Pathetic supply right? I am hoping to express more this week and next week because in week 4, I am going to be out. What can I do about it?

missk,
same lar. v low ms. but dun give up. for me, i tried to hand squeeze out few xs a day. n only manage to give keane to drink 1 x a day. no choice. dun give up hope. u have try yr best.

kk

ya lor .. I wonder how come the MS is decreasing instead of increasing. Weird man. My CL told me that my bb is not having enuff milk and that's why he keeps crying. I wonder if it's true. I am now consider expressing my milk and feeding him via bottle instead. In this way, I can gauge his appetite.

Any mummies out there feed their babies on EBM only?