(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

missk,

my bb is on ebm since week 3 for day feeds and FM for midnite feeds. I think this is better cos i will be able to know if he is satisfy. When latch on, he also keep crying every hr...

dear Ivy

I totally understand what you are saying! Exactly, my bb needs me every hr. Goodness ... so tiring even with the confinement nanny. Btw, r you still doing your confinement?

missk,
keane is at wk 7+. hehe. he oso crys like hell if i leave e room a while. he wants me 2 b there or beside him all e x. tin yr little prince still v young, tats y need it hourly feeding.
now, he gets smarter, wants 2 b carry, some x even has 2 walk around so ta he can view around my hse. sigh! i wish i have 4 hands so ta i can 2 hsework n cooking.

missk,

bb is 5 weeks old today and i am gog back to work next week! haha..
Confinement over but i m still trying to pump as much as possible...
Its quite crazy to take care of BB at nite, i have become a zombie already!

Ivy,
How many bottles of EBM do you have in the fridge at any one time? For me it's only one or two now

Sighs....I am not as hardworking as you though...only pump every 5 hourly..

missk,
Me gives my little one EBM only, unless we go out, than bobian gotta latch or bring FM to standby.

hi those experienced mummy,
like to check with you this question. do yr breast size get back to the old size be4 pregnant or not?
heheh.. cos i intend to throw away those old breasts that i cant wear ever since pregnant.

ivy,
its like that, keane sleeps only after mid 9 feeding then wake every 3hrs for his feeding again. By the time, you tried to burp him, change his dryper already take 1hr. Somemore, have to pray hard that he sleeps after that, sometimes, he plays himself.

Hi missk,

have been feeding EBM for my bb. prob w EBM is that the MS will decrease so it is better to latch on ur bb if he is willing

Hi Ivy,
how did u managed to maintain ur MS? mine only sufficient for 2 feeds per day currently n my bb is only drinking 90ml

Annie,

Think it will go back to the original size if no BF. Do u find ur breast sagging? mine seems to be sagging these days...dunno whether its becoz of the size increase. anyway, now have a diff view of breast after the engorgement and attempting to produce milk..hee!

Annie,
when u remove yr boy cradle cap, u use bb comb huh? is the scalp red for awhile. i use bb oil and then bb comb to comb fm front to back once and then cradle cap come back again.

kk,

i did try to let bb not wearing mittens after i cut his nails. but when he is sleepy he tends to rub his eyes and kena scratch lor, so now he is wearing mittens when he sleeps.

Annie,

Mine seems to be return to original size. So can wear back my old bras again
Luckily i never go get more larger sized ones.

Hmmm, no sagging for the time being

twinkle-starry,
bb cardle cap wont go off just 1 day. Its take 2 weeks at least to clean it off totally. Its v normal. You comb it everytime b4 u shower little prince like wat i do.

joyce loh,
is it? cos size hit up to 85C, quite big. hahah. of cos breast sag after birth. Its normal cos after labour, our body lack of 1 chemical substance that used to support our breasts n hips not due to engorgement n e increase in size. Mostly, during confinement, many mummies tend to wear bra without wires support n oso nursing bras, such bra dun have good support to big size breast. You can buy good supporting bra to prevent yr breasts from sagging even further.
Mostly happend if you give birth more times. ( :p)

hey Ivy

I am better off I guess. I try to express milk as much as possible pass the bottles to my nanny so that I dun have to be woken up in the night. However, I still feel the jitters. Sometimes, I would jump up in the middle of the night, thinking that the baby is crying. I think it's sorta stressful. I just hope this difficult period would be over soon!

Just recall that watching this taiwan news, stated abt breast feeding. According to the taiwan Pd stated that bbs get benefit if breast feed at least 3xs a day. So there are pp selling breast milk powder (extact from healthy mums n use the milk to form powder) just like formula milk.
if the news is true, then keane doesnt get any benefit since i only feed him 1x a day

Hey annie

I totally agree with you. My son, when he is awake, wants to be carried. Please lor ... where am I going to find energy to carry him all the time? Luckily, my hubby and my mother are at home. I cant imagine myself handling him.

hey fates

How's your little one? I am also thinking of feeding him EBM. Firstly, I need to have some surplus of milk so that I can feed him. That's why I am trying to pump often. I try to pump one hour after he has latched on. However the amount is really pathetic, only about 20 - 30 ml. Jialat right?

missk,
i carry keane e whole day cos i take care of him alone. like i use 1 hand 2 try msg 2 post msg here. he crys even hiccup. cant understand y he crys? cos he has hiccups everyday even in my tummy

missk,
i m not superwoman, my left hand already injured becos of carry keane upright all the time. Somemore, he is a packet rice weight now. v jialat. he cannot carry horizontal.
Think twinke starry is more superwoman. she oso take care of bb all alone. hahh

Annie,

i think u more super , u still cook everyday. at least i only cook 2-3 times a week now 4 dinner
now i dun carry him much unless he very cranky. he wake up at 7 or 8am 4 1st feed and sleep again till 11am. so these days i get more sleep liao.

447212.jpg

Hey girls

I think you guys are doing so well. Can you imagine I have my hubby, CL and my mother yet I am not coping so well. My duty is just to breastfeed and yet I feel so mentally exhausted. Haiz

annie,

huh....really must fed at least 3x for him to have the benefits of BM? ciam...me can only supply him w 2 times currently.. already pumping abt 4 to 5 times per day but ms is still so low..
cant find time to pump more time coz still got to look after Rayne and he does not sleep so much..like urs,mine need to be carried most of the time....

missk,
dun pressure yrself too much. Just take things one at a time lor. Must remember we gonna enjoy Motherhood too

447270.jpg

Sorry but what does cradle caps look like??

missK,

Nowadays my little one is very cranky. I reckon it's because he'd grown and doesn't want to sleep so much already! He loves to talk to us too! Loves to oooohhhh arrhhh and smile

Actually it's good to latch. I do let my baby latch on when I'm not tired and if he wants to suckle when he don't have enough to drink. Natually you won't get much milk after you latch eh?!

fates

Lol ..yah ...but some mummies can still pump a great deal even after latching. Why the difference huh? I wonder.

Annie/twinkle,

Guess i am considered superwoman too as i take care of bb myself? Heeee.. and i cook every dinner as well, unless dropping by mil place to eat. This week seldom pop by, because lazy :p Prefer to cook my own

Now bb also no need carry often. She loves to sit upright and see things around her
So i just have to sit with her :p

And she does sleep in the day, and at nite, 1230 am she will sleep and all the way till 8++ am recently.

kk,

mine also sleep fm midnight to 7/8am. but hor in the afternoon he got sleep lah but not deep sleep. frequent naps and each nap is abt 30min lor.

tis week i hv not cook dinner yet. Hee... fridge no food hv not gone shopping .

fates,

i try to pump very often...and also eating lotsa fish and hot drinks. But still not enuff to store leh, just enuff for his day feeds and maybe 1 nite feed.

tat time some1 mentioned tat there's a medical hall in sengkang which sells FM cheaper than outside. was it rivervale mall or rivervale plaza??

haiz mi nw still pumping milk. tink my MS oso gone dwn. is it true tat latch-on reali can help to stimulate milk?? mi was on EBM since i discharged frm hospital...

hey Ivy

I am trying to store some too as I will be away from my bb. Currently I have 3 mottles of 70 ml in the fridge. It's still quite little as I have read abt one mother having 120 packets of frozen milk. Gosh! Can you imagine that?

Have you tried expressing in the morning? I only express in the morning because MS is better.

gina seow
maybe you go to this website to see is it cheaper? cos i just got them delivered 4 cans (min) foc to me and just finished 1 can (1 week), payment by cash.
As for e cheaper FM should be at rivervale mall, e medical hall, heard that Similac sell at $29.00 (e website is selling at $28.80.

http://dignus.sg/index.php

kk & twinkle,
so good, yr bbs still catch naps in e am n afternoon unlike mine. I asked PD, but said that so long he put on weight n poo as normal, he is healthy. I look more like pada with two dark eye circles. sigh!

missk,
dun pressure yrself, you are better than me, i only can feed bf 1x a day only. We did our best, remember!
Think so mummies do pump after latch to collect any leftover to empty.

missk,

i will wake up to express in the wee hours too...but the milk get used up by the end of the day cos his intake is increasing and also, some days, i am out for shopping so cant pump at 3 hr interval. Dun think i will be able to store much after i go back to work, just trying to ensure he have at least 3 feeds of ebm per day at least then.

fates,

my pd say that cradle cap is aka baby danduff, so its those white flaky stuff. You can use olive oil. I just bought a bottle fr Guardian, abt $4 plus.

Annie,
maybe you wan tp try to change environment for your bb? We went to sponge house the other day and my boy slept the whole afternoon away! And when he went home, he can still slp at nite. Yesterday, i brought him to my mum house and we stayed over the nite and he is slping well too...i think he is sick of his own house...haha...

ivy

If the bb requires abt 70 ml per feed, that means he requires about 700 ml per day. How am I going to produce thaT? lol

Ivy,

Wahaha, u all really trying very hard! My bb started drinking 150 ml long time ago. I wonder how i am going to squeeze haha! And sometimes she even need as much as 180 ml - 210 ml!!

gals,
i think i m giving myself a 1/2 day break. going to centrepoint for shopping.
now going to bring my bb to my mum's hse. 1st time to bring him out of sengkang area.. hmm.. pray hard. he wont cry in e train.

annie,

if you are so stress, why not call a cab? Maybe its easier, esp if its his 1st trip out...

kk.
no choice, i bought a expensive pump and my mum feeding me expensive fish, so i must try super hard! haha...

ivy,
i think train is better, at least, i dun need to "close" e pram. hheee..

taka is having sales on avent steamer n food warmer @ $179.

ivy, u noe the i-econ near my flat, having promotion on dryper wee wee for M, L n XL size.@ $16.95 for M size 84pcs. (20c per pc) cheaper compare to NTUC. You can buy to store up for Xavier.

ivy, Exactly. I also bought an expensive pump. Hence to give up breastfeeding is outta the question. Of course, there are a lot of benefits of breastfeeding.

missk,

My bb 2 mths liao

Annie,

Wow, i am thinking whether i should go to takashimaya. Tempted by all the newspaper ads. But then troublesome lor, got to push pram all the way to mil place.

haha, my bb always cry on the way back from my mum's place. And that day brought her out to ntuc on the pram, she always cried too. Think she too sleepy liao, and we kept disturbing her :p

Ivy,

Haha, that's why i dun wanna commit to expensive pump lor. I bought the medela mini already heartpain heee... luckily now still pai shang yong chang. Can still pump milk now, although little. Last nite managed to pump out 40 ml. Better than 30 ml heee... dunno what i ate yesterday too.

447572.jpg

Hi Joyce

Yar... my breasts have sagged tremendously... so sad... plus lopsided. One side bigger than the other... Sigh, but no choice... bf sacrifice...

I have no idea how much breast milk to store too, when i go back to work... how often do you ladies intend to pump per day when you return to work?

At 8 weeks, my bb is still taking 80ml every 2 hours in the morning and afternoon. Her last feed is usually 8pm to 10pm, then she will sleep either through the nite on good days, if not wake up twice on bad days... hahahah... so i estimate her total intake every 24 hours does not exceed 720ml... small eater hor...

pooh
I am keen in getting the sling. Drop u an email already.

what is the website and contact for this? U mean u bought urs ah? So perhaps pass me the contact and i will call the person directly.
Taurus, u interested in getting as well?

I am still trying to cope with bb eratcic sleeping patterns. Very xiong

pooh,
ur email bounced leh.

so have u gals bring bb out already? so far i only handcarry her to mum's place and mil. Dun adrte to bring her out in case she started to brawl...