(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

gummie,

agree! wonder who will be the next to pop after juzmaine for our may mummies hor? its really something to look forward as we go pop one by one

Fairarina,

Welcome, do you want to update yr personal profile here with fates? Like EDD? yr gynea name, hosp name? Baby's gene?

Oh! durian, my favourite food but i cant eat, my mil forbidden.Stated that baby's hair will be v smelly.. but what i learnt from others, durian is rich and 'bu" for pregant mum. you can eat some since baby at this stage starts to extract up to 80% of what you intake..

But due to high sugar content, dun eat too much.

yasmin,
since u didnt take beef, y not drink pig intestine organ soup? v "bu" for baby.
Chicken Essence can drink now but not close to yr due, stated that will causing more bleeding after labour.. duno true or not.. but lots of mums told me that...
Should have some time to destress...

gummie,

Let's see who will pop first and I see what I can do about the chart? Chim...:p:p

Fairarina,

Welcome welcome! Will update accordingly

Ray,

You wanna add more details to the chart?

fates,

maybe you want to share the excel with a later edd mum? So that if you pop, then someone can take over the updating of the chart?

fates,
u have done so much for us, updating so faithfully our EDDs... should we give u a break ah? hmmmm, i dun mind taking over (but u must teach me how to paste the table, ahahaha)... cos i'll be going on leave next week, so i predict i shd be very 'free'... until i 'POP'... then maybe i will hand over to another mummy... wat u think?

gummie,

i am so so jealous!!! You gog on leave from next week? Wow, then you can start to eat, shop and slp till you pop or "pop-kai"....hee...

ivy,
hahaha... yeah! i'm plannin to go up to KL to catch their sales leh, whilst i'm still mobile... i just need to make sure if have to 'pop kai', it will be my husband and not me, kekeke...
shop-n-eat, shop-n-eat... final haul oredi... dun care fat or not liao!

gummie

so shiok, shop and eat non stop, and sleep late! How i wish! you must enjoy this moment before baby pops, dunno when is the next tm u gonna do that again....hehe..

I feel like shopping but will get tired after half an hr, gotta find chair to sit...hiaz. And all trendy clothings cannot wear, so only see....and wonder when i can lose weight :p

I gonna stick many model pics to motivate myself to slim down :p

Ivy, hehee but seems like I am one of the latest? hee..

Hi gummie, you popping earlier how u update huh? Ok will forward the excel to you! PM me your email!!

wow.. seems like most mummies here are experiencing frequent BH contractions eh.. tat means we may be popping soon!

my gynae also says i can give birth anytime now.. aiyo scare the hell outta me!

Hi Yasmin,

do take care. But try not to overload on sugary stuff now. Can try to brew black chicken soup with red dates. My cousin faced the same problem as u and she drank the soup everyday. Not sure whether there's any scientific evidence to this but it's supposed to be nutritious for both mum and bb.

hi sponge,
woah...can give birth anytime now? woah...that's fast...so u are at 36 weeks?

hi gummie,
just measured my waist yesterday too...it's 39 inch!!!!! alamak...din realise that i grew so much...and now my tummy a bit on the high side...feeling a bit breathless.

hi twinkle-starry,
yes, tink my MS is back too. ;-( have been feeling nauseous lately...not sure whether i'm unwell or the MS is really back.

Yas,

Dun worry so much, mine bb was small too but gynae says eat more & rest more lo. & he's better now la. Like what the other mummies said, do not be too stressed or worry.

Starry, I had MS also in my 31 weeks or so but the degree not so bad, more tolerable than the 1st tri. I suspect due to bb growing big & presing on the tummy, like the 'zhang' (in chinese) feeling ya? Eat smaller meals did help. Now I;m much better.

Eve,
u're right... we better take this time to 'pamper' ourselves before the bb arrives. next time no chance to wake up late or laze in bed oredi...
i'm also like you, feel tired easily and cannot walk for long. also quite depressing to see pple wearing nice trendy clothes, may have to change my entire wardrobe after delivery. slimming down will be another great challenge...

fates,
ya hor... like dat how ah... possible i may 'pop' 2 weeks before or after if i deliver naturally, same for you... maybe we need a 'backup' plan?

ino,
i told my colleague abt my waistline n she almost fell off her chair
my tummy also feel 'high', has yr bb turned down yet?

Hi CP

Spring is the best weather. Even the midwives was telling us that it is the best time to give birth. So are you intending to have homebirth? I guess it is quite popular in UK and US ya.
Kicking is a good sign
dun worry if your bb is over active at this time. The best sign of healthy baby is their movements

Gummie
I'm not too sure if their research. Anyhow try to prevent from wearing too much ;)

Zach's mum
Jialat.. so meanwhile gotta enjoy sleep first kekeke....

Ladies, do you count the number of movements your baby make in one hour ? I think I'm a bit paranoid but I get worried if I don't feel movements for a while. My friend told me to take a cup of cold water and then lie down and then baby will move. It works so far. But the hubby is getting a bit irritated with me for being so paranoid

My friend just given birth to a 4.4 kg baby. Without drugs. I cringe when I imagine how she manages to get a 4.4 kg baby out and she's very slim too.

We went to my mom-in-law's house yesterday to celebrate my father-in-law's birthday and I took the chance to drill her on how the Bumwear nappies work.

She said the twins use them full time except when they go out. That means even at night !! I can see why she's so enthusiastic about them -- to old folks like her, anything that can save money is good!

Use-wise, she said that after 3 hours, they just change the insert and the liner (wear back same nappy). Wear another 3 hour then wash everything. So one nappy can last 6 hours if the twins don't do big business. Here's the part I don't understand - she said the twins change to a clean Bumwear nappy at night at 9 just before they sleep and since they don't move bowels at night now, the diapers can last until the next morning. That's almost 10-11 hours.

How come ? Do babies pee less at night when they sleep, is it ?

And like what I said before, she's very happy they have no nappy rash.

Mae Lim,
For sure your baby will make big biz after each milk intake. Every 2 hours if your breast feed n 4 hours if you use formula milk..
Bumwear is useful for bigger older infants..

Oh! i know, u wait till yr baby poo first then put back e bumwear to save the trouble.

gals find this information, hopeful, its help

Braxton Hicks contractions may be difficult to differentiate from pre-term labor activity so it's always wise to err on the side of caution. Call your doctor anytime contractions are:

Accompanied by lower back pain
Coming at regular intervals
Accompanied by watery or bloody vaginal discharge
Are very frequent (more than four per hour)
Any or all of these can be signs of premature labor and require immediate medical attention. If you are past 37 weeks gestation and have had no other complications throughout your pregnancy, the call to the doctor can wait until contractions last 60 seconds each and are five minutes apart. In this case, you are going to have a baby, and yes, you'll know how real labor contractions feel very soon!

morn!

mae,

i am counting the movement of my bb now cos gybae instructed me to do lor. abit silly but will try to do as long as i free. me also getting more paranoid and i guess that normal. afterall, we are at this stage already

milo66, ya lor at this stage I would hate to lose the baby. My baby loses hers at 37 weeks due to cord accident 5 years ago.

hei milo n fates...yes, will order from the bulk purchase list in the other site. thanks.

about durians...it's 'bu' bec. it's a combi of everything - proteins, carbo and fats...enjoy it while you can.
cheers.

hi Ray
I have the same EDD as you 4 May and my baby's weight is exactly like yours, 2.48kg at week 34.
But my gynae didnt say that i will pop early.
Think i better go and buy my baby cot liao. :>

mae,

that's a really sad thing esp at our stage now, so i tend to be more careful in the things i do. nevermind, another few more weeks and we can see our bb loh!

chris,

sound very good hor? show my hubby the webby yesterday and he was very fasinated also. has lynette email u on the payment?

any one heard of the superstition that we are not allow to set up the cot before bb is out?

Mae,

I have a stupid question regarding Bumwear...

When the insert is soaked full of urine, we got to wring it dry with our hands before we throw it into the washing machine? Or?

Milo,

Cannot setup meh? Never heard of that tho' ...I thought can't move or shift the furniture only? DUH...

Hi Matsu,

My baby's room is ready, including all his clothings and bed sheets..

My MIL's side also ready, she is officially retiring today. Cos she wants to take care of her grandson full time. Even the baby cot is set up over MIL's house.

My details as follows:
EDD: 4 May 06
Hospital/Doctor: KKH/Chris Ng

fates,

good question! me thinking of that too..keke

i dunno leh, some of my colleagues ask me not to set up the cot wor, say can only do so when i am in the hosp after the birth of my boy. but u know lah, now my bb room is temp a storeroom, asking my hubby to do things need very specific instruction else dunno wat will happen ah :p

another question:

for those mummies that have to get 2 set of cot/playpen, have u all got both or 1 first? abit worried if bb dun wan to sleep in the cot then would have waste getting 2 set.

can do brazilian waxing? i really worried if it is safe?me going to do it today. cannot take the bush anymore. Ha
anyone still doing it?

Hi Milo,

cannot setup cot meh? Oh i hv a cot given by my friend and i m thinking of setting up so that i know the size of mattress to buy leh?

Can setup while I m not in the house?

hi starry,

i set it up in the living room to check out the size of the mattress also, after tat keep back into the box lor. i dunno wat superstition is it leh cos i was thinking of setting it up with the mobile nearing my due date

hi Milo,

i m thinking of setting up in the spare room and leave it there. When i discharge then will move it into my bedroom. . Like tat i can setup the mobile etc 1st lor.

Milo,

Great minds think alike?

Very difficult not to setup cot now leh....like u....the things I bought for him were all strewn in the room. Bo bian gotta setup his room alrady. Worst case I won't be around when hubby is shifting the cot/chest-of-drawers/sofa bed/shelvings.

hei bookworm, u 1st time mum? if yes, i heard that the bush will come in handy/useful when we have episotomy cos the wound will hurt and the *ahem* bush will help guide urine stream and therefore, relieve a bit of pain....Nyuknyuknyuk. *cheeky* my gf share with me one lah.

fates,

i also in the stage of cleaning and setting up the room for bb. No choice got to be ready by 37wk just in case lor. Since baby will be sleeping in my bedroom so that room is just for his chest drawers and stuff.

tat why i think ok to do things in that room as long as i m not there to witness it.

at times, bo bian got to get things ready and avoid some superstitions beliefs by my mum

aiyha, i think no need to ban tang lah..i am setting up early april.

also, i agree with fates - how not to change diaper pants if need to change insert....like a bit dirty hor...also, u are right, must wring dry pee ah...eee...haha...

no, i haven't place my order with lynette...want husband to decide design/colour n no. of pieces before i place order, hopefully tonight...
cheers.

twinkle -starry,
up to u to be ban tang or not... u can get your hubby to set when u r not inside the room or not at home.
For me, i just sit in the living room while my hubby assembled the cot bed.. cos old folk stated that cannot see the parts of the cot bed..

Annie,

ya i plan to be out of the house lor. cannot wait for everything to done only when in hospital.

My chest drawer will be deliver this weekend and i also will be out shopping

hi chris,
thanks for the info. yap i am the first time mum..

i have already set the cot in the baby's room already. Now going to search for pyjamas...sigh..

Hi twinkle- starry,
Great! robinson & jl has 20% offer for those who received the letter.. maybe can grab somemore baby products..
fates,
same here leh. just dun be eye witness when yr hubby set up the cot bed.. thats important..

milo,

i bought 2 sets, one at home and another at my mum house. Bo bian, must train BB to slp in cot, else will tell him that if he dun, then he will have to slp on the cold hard floor...hahaha

hi milo,
i have also set up my baby cot already... cos i dun even know there's a 'taboo' associated with it :p my husband also assembled the new chest of drawers and i think i might have 'witnessed the act' unknowingly.
i guess i shd have been more 'careful' hor... hmmmm
why dun u get a cot and a playpen instead of 2 cots?

starry/fates/chris/gummie/ivy

agree.. sometime very diff to follow all the old wives tale else dun have to do anything liao. will set up the cot sometime mid/end apr else later very dusty. cant wait to see my bb room!

mine also assembled the chest of drawers for the bb so i guess nevermind lah. okie, will look out for a playpen instead.. cheaper also

Annie, twinkle

Hmmm but when my In-Laws brought the cot over, they start to setup the cot in the living room and I saw them setting it up leh

chris,

I assume the fleece won't be soaking wet like the inserts....its suppose to draw the baby's urine into the absorbent inserts, which WE suppose to wring dry!

ivy,

You bear to let bb sleep on floor meh? heheheeee

Me got a scare on Tues .... been having diahorrea for the past weeks and then past few days keep having stomach pain but nothing comes out when I visited the toilet .... then my colleague told me that it might be contraction pain ... really scare the hell out of me ... currently in my wk35 and quickly made appoinment to see gyane .... kekek .... luckily false alarm .... my BB is weigh approximatey 2.4 kg at wk35 .... and so far I have already put on 13.5 kgs .... and was given 3 days MC to rest at home ..... 8)...

Been really laid back throughout the whole pregnancy ...so when I really tot I having contractions...really gan cheong coz alot of things not buy n wash .... so yestersday quckily start to pack my bags and also wash most of BB clothes yestersday .... 8)

fates,

if yr mil did so, thats mean she didnt mind or cannot blame on you if anything happend.

1 of my colleague, kena blamed by her in law when she had miscarriage for her 1st one.. stated that she attended a wedding then crash with e pregrancy..

1 of my ex colleague oso blamed by her in law when she lost her baby at week 38, stated that my colleague was stubborn to set e bed b4 baby came out..

Really, i believe up to individual to believe or to think is it taboo or not. What i heard even two stories. 1 stated that can set up the cot bed only after 6th mth pregancy, the other set up after delivery..
for me, i just sat at the living room when i got my hubby to help me to despatch 1 single bed n move to my own hse and when he set up the cot bed.. i count myself lucky cos i didnt stay with my mil now..
However, she still call to check on me whether do i go for massage.. cos she thinks that baby's head will be square instead of round shape due to the massage.. the pressing ... hahah