(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

little Nana,
I got cloth nappies instead of the bumwear.. since they mention bumwear is meant for multi time uses for nb up to young baby, the cloth type must have certain thickness to withstand the multi washing..
Both bumwear n cloth nappies required washing, y not get the cloth nappies, allow more ventilation and better for baby

hey annie,

no, my baby's head has not turned down yet... i saw yesterday he was moving about but most of the time his head is at the top, near my chest...
actually i sort of sensed that he's not turned down yet all this while, cos i believe i will feel the stretch and weight near the pelvis if so... i feel the weight mostly higher near my chest...

milo,

my husband also complained that i have 'worn out' his boxers, cos i have stretched them so loose he can't wear those tt i've worn now, ahahaha...

these days i wear his t-shirts and boxer shorts to sleep...

annie,

so are u planning to get confinement help now? i rem you mentioned you cldn't get one bcos yr bunny was occupying one of the rooms ya?

sorry to hear wat happend to yr bunny, but i hope you dun feel too affected... cheer up oki!

Hi fates,

It's so consoling to be screaming together. Last 2 weeks I went to the nursery at EastShore when I was there for my Yoga class, so few babies le.

ss1,

im also into 32 weeks, my waist is already 38" liao ... i think i stretch quite a lot leh as previously im abt 27". So far already put on 12kg. but luckily i had lost 4kg in first trim.

Mae Lim,
A few weeks a go i bought the QT front snap nursing bra. The lace and fabric is very nice but got underwire. Hhmmm... i didn't expect nursing bra to have underwire... anyway its very comfortable.
One small regret is that i ordered on-line, the bra (around chest) is starting to be a bit tight for me already.

hi sook,

maybe u can do with the help of a bra extension? i jus bought 4pcs of nursing bras from Mothercare over the weekend, and i kind of 'regret' after seeing those from momsinmind... i actually prefer underwired ones, but it seems that those i came across all come without...

Gummie,
Thanks, well my hubby n i still our bunny cage and his dried food n grass inside the room.. still cant get use to go home and nobody response.
Usually, my bunny will bite the cage to "tell" you to go into the room to see him everytime when we reach home.. haha

No. think very hard to get a confinement lady.. moreover, kind of weird to let a stranger stay in my house.. my mother in law agreed to help me the 1st week then my hubby will take leave to help . I am okay with no confinement food so long got things to fill up my tummy, thats ok..
i brought the herbal for shower during confinement mth.. have u got yours?

oh! so your baby oso bleech like me. my gynea told me next week (35th week) is cricual timing.. to see whether baby turn head down or not.. i have appointment to see my gynea on next monday.. hopefully, i can go for nautral delivery.. else wound take longer time to heal.

my waist is 38 inch, slim 2 inch down.. initially was 40 inch.. duno why... haha

Sook, maybe a bra extender like gummiebear suggested is a good idea.

Gummiebear, how much is the Mothercare bras ? Cheaper than the MomsinMind ones ? I think I like those with no underwire for home use and those with underwire for going out. More support so that my breasts won't appear too saggy.

Annie, I also not having confinement lady. My mom in law will be doing the confinement for me.

hehehe...seems like all of us are wearing hubby's bottoms...i even resorted to wearing his t-shirts as well! fits me well and save me $$ to buy pyjamas.

hi sook,
how do u know what size to buy?

same same..
me also wearing my hubby's boxers till i cannot fit in anymore. even resort to asking him to get shorts from saf emart but too bad, their largest size is XXL nia

anyone got the front opening pj already? i got 2 from the pasar malam near my place @ $6 each. enough?

hi Mae,
i bought 2 pcs for daily wear and 2 pcs for sleep. the former cost $88, or $44 each, which is not cheap loh... the one for sleep is v comfy, cost $63 for 2.
now i regret getting the expensive ones leh, n no underwire support like wat u say breast will look saggy. but the only reservation i have with ordering online from moms-in-mind is i cannot try... and no exchange allowed i believe ya?

very difficult to choose n buy bras withour trying leh...

annie,
if your mil can help of cos good
but for me, i'd rather have a 'stranger' or confinement lady with me than my mil leh... shhhh... cos she like to comment on everything, even my hairstyle! and with her around i'll be very conscious...
yep, the confinement lady oredi asked me if i 'intend' to shower, she said she'll prepare the herbs for me.
now my baby is breech, hopefully will turn down in the next few weeks. cos i think i need to decide wat i want to do if he's still breech by then. to 'move' him or not, else will hav to go for C-sec liao.

milo,

i wanted to get those pj as well but they are too short for me!! Mum wan me wear those that can cover till ankle kind...so i got no choice but to ask tailor to make...

me also wearing my husband's bermudas and tshirt. but now cannot fit liao, the bermus are too tight!

Mae lim,

So good to have such mom in law. My own mum is free but she didn't want to help me.. quite sad..

My mum in law only will help me 1 week else her own house will go chaotic, cos she doesnt have any daughter to help her to do household chores..

I told my hubby to cook one big portion of food then left some for the next day lunch.. He will bath baby when he is back from work.. I think thats good enough.. haha

Gummie, very expensive the Mothercare bras lah. Maybe I should take the time to go down to the Moms in Mind showroom to try the bras. They have so many varieties. In the showroom, also have Little Dreamers which sells very interesting stuff for confinement including powder for bathing if you are one of those who are planning not to bathe at all. I think Bumwear also there.

Talking of Bumwear cloth nappies, my mom-in-law keeps saying I should invest in them, how good they are, blah, blah, blah. I think this is because my sis-in-law (her own daughter) uses them on her twins from birth. They're now 20 months and still using them. So both she and my mom-in-law really thinks the world of those nappies. I think I might have to buy a few. I console myself that they're cheaper than the American brands...

My mom-in-law and I generally gets along well, except that she can be opiniated on some matters (like this nappies business, for example). I think I can close my eyes lah because she's generally kind and not very fuss-pot.

Gummie,
Hows the mothercare bra? I am thinking of getting them this weekend. Not every into purchasing online stuff cos of sizes.

thanks cindy, for the info.

Hi fates,
Abt the stem cord,pls update us when u go for the talk. I am thinking if i shld apply for it as well.

gummie,

^5.. for me, i rather have no one to help than have my mil with me ah. told my hubby that if he still wan me to be sane, better keep his mum away :p she also like to comment on everything aiyo cannot stand leh. cant she jus leave it to us to make decision...*shake head*

ivy,

in that case, will u still be wearing slipper/sock? guess i have to wear a sock to cover my feet area.. was thinking most prob i will hide whole day in the a/c room ah. cannot stand the weather leh

Forgot to add that I told the hubby that since I'm buying the Bumwear nappies to keep his mom happy, he should pay for them. He agreed - maybe because he's been brainwashed by his mom and sis about how good they are, ha ha.

I hope they will be another bulk purchase for these nappies soon. I missed the last one -- so many moms were buying them.

milo,

ya, the concession that my mum gave for me to stay in a/c room is to cover up. So have to wear socks, and long pjs.

my mom-in-law says that if I can tahan, then maybe should not bathe for the confinement month ******faint, man !!! *******

Mae,
ya loh, v expensive hor? if not for the gift voucher of 200dollars my fren has given me, i wldn't have thought of buying. did u mention momsinmind has a showroom? can you tell me where is it?
also i'm getting curious about Bumwear. are they supposed to 'function' the same as cloth diapers? or do we need to let baby wear cloth diapers underneath? also, do we need to change it after every poo/pee?

bookworm,
under than the fact they are not 'wired', i personally think the nursing bras at Mothercare is quite comfortable, and they fit better than other nursing bras i've tried, but then again, i guess this can be quite subjective loh, but it's worth giving a try
also the staff can advice u what size is good for you.

ivy,
if the pj not long enough to cover to yr ankles, maybe u can wear knee-high socks, instead of custom-made?

milo,
i cannot stop my mil from poppin by every now n then, cos she stays v near... but at least she wont be breathing down my neck every minute :p
i predict she will keep tellin me to watch my diet and figure and appearance right after delivery. it seems that these things are v important to her, i dunno why... like tt i'll be v stressed.

Gummiebear, I'm not sure how the Bumwear nappies work. My mom-in-law in her bid to convince me to buy some said she'll bring one over to my house (from her daughter's house) to show me how it works. Wah lau, eh....she's such a fan, they should really pay her as their sales-woman, ha ha !!

I will let you know after she explains to me, okie ?

gummie,
Wah! pity you.. your mil really prickling... thats not a good sign..
My mil oso comment me for taking hand down milk bottles despite that i told her those milk bottles are brand new and still in the gift box n my friend really didnt use them..
She oso not happy that i still go for my weekly massage. Stated that baby head will be flaten.. wats a joke..
Luckily, we stay far apart.. but she insists that i should shower every day, think becos she is hakka.. difference from hokkien..hahah..
Wah! you dare to let gynea push and adjust yr baby's head position? My colleague advised me not to let gynea do so.. let it be natural.. although i am 50% dun mind trying.. but 50% worry that whether will my boy turn up again at the last min.. then have to survive two pain ( 1 - from yr private part) the other your tummy..

Dun let yr mil naggy abt your figure.. she shouldnt add additional stress to you.. health is most important. remember if you opt for c-section. best to lay on bed as much time as u can..

can i ask, do we have wear our home our clothes in the hospital. Mine is MT A.I like to pack light, can we just wear the hospital clothes?

bookworm,

me also at mt A. they only have gown which are open from the back. not very presentable if u have friends and relative visiting cos can see bra and panty mah :p i intend to bring only 2 set of pj along instead of the 4.

gummie,

heng mine stay super far away but i think for the sake of her grandson, she will climb mountain cross river to come ah. she also everytime comment that i wear too shui pian liao but is like that one mah, preggy now cant be i wear heel and low cut right?

oki Mae, you can 'educate' me later after yr mil's demo, hehe...

annie, i know the 'dangers' of having the gynae turn the baby (umbilical cord may entangle, water bag may burst etc.), tt's why she says i must make a decision... anyway i'll keep my fingers crossed tt he'll be a good boy and head down eventually

bookworm, private hospitals actually encourage their patients to wear their own clothes. and most importantly, i dun think u wan to 'bear yr back' like wat the gals describe... better bring yr own

milo,
my mil even before i married his son already have this habit of commenting about how i look. she says i must not put on weight (when she herself not skin n bones) when i was working in Dublin at one time (she scared i come back become big like the europeans)... when i have pimple breakout, she asks her son not to use the same facial products as mine... hai... so u can imagine loh. just last weekend she commented abt my hairstyle... sianz...

Hi SS1,

can you help me to check is their Raspberry tea leave in already? i heard it is out of stock badly when i enquire previously.

ivy, i think maybe u too tall la... if not, why dun u try the pjs in OG? i think they come in longer lengths... i bought one over the weekend, i go home n measure for u the length...

Twinkle Starry,
OK, I'll check. I plan to get that too. But do you want me to ask them to reserve a pack for you if there's stock or help u buy first?

hi SS1,
it is fine , i hv outstanding order with them. Just like to find out the latest status and it has been months and they been telling me their shipment did not arrive. tks

SS1, yes...do check for me if they have stuff for confinement like the the warming bath and so on.

gummiebear, your mom-in-law sounds like a terror !!

bra extension:
Where to get ha? Its an extension to the hooks behind, right?

Mother care vs MIM:
Initially, i thought of getting nursing bra instead of maternity bra. But mothercare staff say, i should get nursing bra after i deliver.
That's why i got materternity bra instead. I didn't really like mothercare's maternity bra due to the seam rumnning across the cup. Visible under the blouse.But at that time, i was desperate to get new bra, so bo pian buy lo.
MIM's QT lace nursing bra has no seams.

Can check their website to see how to take measurement and determine the size.

MIM's showroom is at 40 Jln Pemimpin #04-01C, Tat Ann Bldg.

Mae,
Does your SIL use bumwear exclusively, meaning, don't use diposable diaperat all? If so, how may sets of bumwear and inserts does each baby have?

hei twinkle-starry n SS1, where do u guys get your raspberry tea? I heard it's good.

So, how much is package for bumwear??? is there one...i went to the website...$25 + $7..wah...quite expensive.

fairysnowberry, mothercare not really sale...even with the credit cards disc they claim...all their new stuff *orange tag*, new arrival...all nett ones...v. irritating...they disc randomly on the bras...

after you guys measured yourself, i did the same too for fun...and ...haha...i am 38.5 inches, tomorrow's my 33rd week!!! ahhhh...put on 11 - 12kg liao....ahhhhhh....haha.

Woke up reali late today..

Hi Ino

I'm not sure if it hot for baby. My frd actually recommended this and I found that the colours look better den those cloth diaper wrap. So i Bot them lor.

Zach's mum

I think i'll consider buying fuzzibuns when i'm back. Hey btw the sales told me that the cloth napkins can be used as the inserts too. But it will not be that absorbant la. I've got 2 dozen of cloth napkins.. so will be trying to use them as inserts too

HiAnnie

I'll be using both.. cloth napkins and bumwear.

Hi fates

I do agree tat too... I'll be starting using them after second mth
NB reali poo a lot... kekekeke..

Hi Gummiebear

I read from the UK mag that research said that wired bras will destroy milk duct??? NOt too sure about it too. So i've bot maternity and nursing bras from mothercare. Dun feel regret ya... they're quite comfortable too.

Hi bookworm

I bot the package online. If you purchase more den 100SG, they will have FOC deliver to ur hse.

sook, let me check with my mom-in-law and get back to you about whether my sister-in-law uses Bumwear nappies full time. All I remember is they both said it's SOOO good because the twins never ever had nappy rashes and they never had to buy diaper rash cream. Do you know whether this is true -- that babies wearing cloth nappies have less or no nappy rash ?

starry - what's raspberry tea for ?

mae

Reali soooo good??? Help us find out more abt bumwear. I'm interested to know oso leh... Dunno if it is worth investing more... Anyhow I've got 4 pcs liao. Even no good oso cannot regret

Little Nana, just wondering --- your friend who recommended Bumwear to you, what did she say about them ? I'm guessing that she must have liked them as she recommended to you.

About nursing bras -- didn't realise the underwire can destroy milk ducts!! Oh no, I really like underwire bras.