(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Hi Scott/Taurus,

I hv added u to my msn too

Hi Milo,

Take care. I myself was on MC for 2 days last week for a suspected urinary tract infection...but was given the all clear later on. My glucose level was also a bit high...gynae nearly wanted to send me for a glucose tolerance test...dun think i can tahan...so to all mummies out here who took the test, i salute u!

taurus,
Yap, i agreed cos i already suffer from the additional pain that just started this morning. Have this backache even when i sit straight. Initially, the pain occurs only during sleeping. Think additional weight and water retention cause the problem.

Congrats on having a girl Sindy! I'd added Taurus to my MSN too.

Just now I guess I was too hungry, was feeling giddy, so went to have an early lunch

What breakfast do you girls normally eat?

Everybody went to chit chat at MSN huh? Hehe

Who wanna meet to go to the TAKA baby fair??

For those who have Robinson card, JL got cardmembers night tomorrow.

ivy,
53cm is not long. is it a gal or boy? normally, nb boy weight 3.3kg to 3.5kg at 51cm.. best to be taller than shorter :p
yap, c-section to play safe... else will be v tough to go through natural.. cos head might b too big..

fates, yasmin, taurus, ino

my family has diabetes history thus doc ask me to take the glucose test lor, who knows so sway and fail.. u know lah i very scare of blood test, took 3 times that day already half dead, this coming mon still gotta go back take somemore
my doc say bb and my wt gain everything is excellant condition but if bb too big will need to induce at week 38.

hi milo,

it is a great to hear that u and baby weight is in good condition. Dun worry, things will be fine.

my doctor told her last week my blood pressure is a bit high , maybe i m too stress so i also got to de-stress and to be monitor now.

hi milo,

it is a great to hear that u and baby weight is in good condition. Dun worry, things will be fine.

my doctor told her last week my blood pressure is a bit high , maybe i m too stress so i also got to de-stress and to be monitor now.

Baby's height and weight
My no 1 weighed 3.6 and measured 54cm at birth. Given that ds and I are tall, I suppose he's not that big. No 2 weighs 1kg already at 26 weeks!!! haha. I suppose she will be real tall and big too!

milo66
If you fear gestational diabetes, can cut down on carbo to control sugar level. Takecare

milo,
Wah! at least you and bb are ok. Induce on week 38, ie baby already mature..so dun need 2 worry too much..
Get enough rest and ready to welcome yr bb..

Milo,

Ya usually those who has diabetes or gestional diabetes, the baby will be big cos' of the sugar in their blood...

Ok lar, 38th week not so bad.....some heard to be earlier
kao_scared.gif

yup abit excited to see bb liao.. still got another 83 more days to go..

anyone interested in signing up with cordlife? heard if we manage to get certain no of ppl to sign up, might be able to get a good deal.

milo
How much is cordlife? I signed up with stemcord for no 1 so am interested. Do keep me in the loop if you are signing up.

Milo,
not really the case that all gestional diabetes, bb will b big.. depend individual. Mayb, yr bb absorp more than others..
dun worry. u only will noe weather yr bb get the gestional diabetes only after birth. 1 of my guy friends oso didnt have it even both his parents and sister have it.

twinkle-starry,
better look after your stress, cos high blood pressure not good for bb.. try to take a day off.. to rest.. or swimming.. to de stress yrself..

Gabby's mum,
u already have a a/c since you had yr 1st son signed up for stemcord.. y not, u call back n check the rate, cheaper for 2nd one.. cos u dun need to open a/c for the 2nd one.
Hope this information will help you.

Corporate Office
600 North Bridge Road, #12-09/10,
Parkview Square, Singapore 188778
Tel: (65) 6238 0808
Fax: (65) 62951108

Laboratory
1 Orchard Boulevard, #08-08,
Camden Medical Centre, Sngapore 248649
Tel: (65) 6238 0820
Fax: (65) 6238 1108

Email: [email protected]

Annie, gestational diabetes, as name implied, only happen during the 10mth gestation leh. After that, most mummies will not have diabetes already. (ie if b4 preggie, they don't have).

Some unlucky ones will continue to have diabetes, but then again, diabetes got different kinds.

Milo, I am interested, maybe we can go for the talk or presentation together.

wat i heard is 1st payment is abt $1k + then yearly abt $250..

if arrange for gp buy can enjoy some discount loh

will go check it up and update u gals

i heard that if we donate to Singapore cord bank even if we deliver in private, when we need it, will still get priority.
Any one knows about it?

Good morn ladies,
I am also v interested in retaining cord blood privately...Ivy...it's first time I am hearing your idea so if someone can verify it will be great...

fates, milo, sponge, scott...I am for group discount...please remember me when u want to go for talk or for negotiation...moreover, i heard if an existing member intro u, there's disc...

Hei Ino and fairysnowberry...

was good seeing u guys last week during class once again....
Esp to Ino...hope u dun mind that we (both fairy and myself) bought the books by Mrs Wong under your name *which means she's going to write the receipt for our purchases to your name* cos she recommended tagging under a tmc mummy to get cheaper price...thank u you. hee.

Also, my thanks to you for sharing the physio tips cos they really worked...hubby helped me to stretch both nites and wow....thanks...however, i still get cramps/pins n needles middle of the nite on calves...how??? anyway, thanks so much already...

see u guys this weekend....
cheers.

morn all!

ivy,

i tot the public cord bank only accept donation id we deliver in govern hosp? can help to check ple.. thks!

i jus compile those that are interested first hor.

milo66
gabby's mum
fates
scott
chris

By the way, ladies,
I visited the warehouse of Infantino yesterday and so i thought I will share the experience here...
Went to buy screws and wheels for the 4 in 1 cot bed that is so popularly sold everywhere *esp kiddyland....so, ended up buying a new mattress for baby *since i got a 2nd hand cot*...and interestingly, we got a fibrelux - coconut husk mattress which is supposed to be much better than the foam ones cos of anti-bacterial and ventilatory functions....

foam - $48/49 plus...
fibrelux *which is thinner it seems and def lighter* is $89.95...i managed to get a 10% so about $80.

I was in the showroom while waiting to be served n saw so many cute things like musical mobile and stroller those-decoration-type thingy...aiyo...

and of cos they were packed for the taka sale happening fr the 1st/2nd march i heard....shermaine, the secretary-lady in charge there was very sweet and nice *as well as the other staff - helpful*...and she said might have 20% on those toys/thingies...by playgro/munchkins...so might want to go take a look then....

so should anyone need to go down for whatever reason - let me know n i will give u address n phone no, k? cheers.

thanks milo for compiling... there is a talk coming up for cordlife soon tho...one in march and 1 april i think, if u guys interested...can go down together or what...i can double check dates when i get home tonight n get back to the rest of the interested mummies...cheers.

chris,
i do have the same problem as you do. I think swimming helps..
I just went swimming last nite. For just 45mins.. i feel the difference. I tend to sleep better and the cramp seem to let me off last nite.
However, you have to do so warming exercise before swimming. What i do, i do those stretching exercise inside the pool..
Give a try.

hi chris,

No problems with putting it under my name lar as long as payment is made by u. ;-P
Where's Infantino? I'm very suaku...never heard of this lei. Their products will be sold at Taka?

For cramps, i get hubby to massage both my calves at nite before sleeping. Rem Mrs Wong's exercise tips on prevention of cramps? Think you can find it in her books. Try practicing it too. And when you sleep, ensure that you don't stretch your legs...always keep your legs slightly bent at the knees.

Btw, if i'm not wrong, one of the cordlife talks is on 7 March...which coincides with the doctor's talk (last session of the antenatel class) at SCGS (i think)...

Hi milo,

First payment for cordlife is now $1.4K!!!! If you have TMC card, there's a discount of $50 for 9 years of the annual fees of $250. If you introduce a friend, you can enjoy $100 off your next yr's storage bill...

I've a big problem. My pte part where I pee hurts. There is a stinging pain as if got urine infection. And the tip of my tongue has ulcers also there is a blister on my lower lip. I have been religiously drinking lots of water but still there is all this which makes me very uncomfortable. Do you gals have any remedy for my problem. Do I still need to see a doc? I'm just so sick of taking medication...

Gd morning mummies,

Its been a long long time since i last posted here. Hv been so bz wif work n family. Hope everyone's fine. I'm expecting a boy again, n EDD is mid May.

About donating cord blood to public cord bank, wat i know is that those delivering in pte hospitals can donate too but when i delivered my son in 2004 at pte hospital, i was told cannot because they have too much already, and their storage is costly for them, though i don't hv to pay a single cent for donating. So I didn't get to donate in the end.

yasmin,

could you be too heaty liao? Seems to be the case. Try drinking fruit juice rather than just plain water. But if it does not get better in a couple of days, better see a doc.

Hi Ino,

Yup yup we paid for the books but bought them under yr name since we will get a disc :=)

Yeah Chris, where is Infantino? I never heard of this place too?!? *Blur look*

Yup ladies, swimming really helps in toning body and i read that babies also enjoy when their mommies swim and play in water. I try to swim once a week on Sat evenings when i have no appts.

There has been lots of publicity abt cordlife thingee...is it really worthwhile saving the cord blood? Its ex to start an account and we have to maintain it every year with a fee somemore ;p So i really need to hear some views on this before i can decide.

hi yasmin,

better see your gynae. any form of vaginal infection now is not good for you and baby.

milo, i bought the Mamypoko newborn diapers at NTUC. they had a promotion for Feb. 52 + 2pcs at $15.80. i did not have a coupon but the promoter was very nice and gave me 1 so i can buy it at $2 cheaper. my 2 girlfriends told me Mamypoko diapers can absorp very well and do not leak, even at night. but they advise not to buy too many newborn diapers as baby may outgrow them before 2nd month.

hi yasmin,

betta to get your gynae to do a thorough test on your urine...sounds like a urinary tract infection to me. Besides that, do you also feel the urge to urine frequently? That's another sign. If u do not have any fever, the infection may be mild. But nonetheless, it's betta to get it treated fast. ;-)

thanks ino for your tips once again...

as for infantino...it's actually name of company who market their particular brand of cot *$299 fr kiddyland and other major dept stores* but they are agent to other big brand names of toys and such lah....no big deal lah...just that in case got mummies out there like me...get 2nd hand cot of same brand and cuckoo...lose the screws and wheels during transition *really slap forehead*...then, i may have info that will help lor... nothing much lah...

as for the peeing issue...i am not experiencing pain but i do feel funny abt this whole pee thing recently...like more pee and so frequent...so erratic...quite scary at times....

as for the swimming advice, u guys will slap me when u know i have a pool within reach...at my mum's apt but yet i still so laZy....did u buy maternity swim suit, fairysnowberry???...i sim tia, esp now so near end of preggie leh...sigh...

as for cordlife...we think worth it cos never know when it might come in useful...but seriously...can afford then go ahead lah...otherwise, i really think it's quite ex. to do it too....

anastasia,

^5, i bought that too with the $2 coupon.. quite a good buy hor.

so far i bought 1 52+2 pcs and 1 28 pcs newborn diaper from mamypoko for nite use. intend to order from nepia for day use. hope i didnt buy too many

ino,

*fainted* price went up liao ah? think must calculate my budget again.

anyone getting hospitalisation plan for bb? heard dbs has this policy with aviva called 'myshield' using medisave to pay. if both parents are under this plan, their bb get the coverage for free

Thanks gals. I will try taking juices and monitor if there is any improvement.

I just completed a course of antibiotics for urine infection. Now its like back again. Frequent urges to pee and just aft the last drop, feel need to pee more but no pee comes out. My pee colour is light yellow not dark yellow which was the case for last week. Will monitor than think will go for another urine test this Friday. Hopefully can fully recover by this Sat cos will be flying off. Dont want to suffer like this during the trip, if not $ so wasted.

oh...final word on this pee thing...i am v afraid of uti....got it once before so i know how sian it is...did u gals rem mrs wong mentioning that it's not good to hold pee n exercise kegel during peeing cos may cause uti? aiyah...
but that's one tip - drink cranberry juice...it helps dispel it.
cheers.

hi chris,
buy bikini and wear lor. hehhehee...then u can wear it during and after your pregnancy mah...be a sexy mama!

hi milo,
ya lor. when i saw the prices, i nearly fainted as well...when we have bb hor, we really have to give up on a lot of things. i used to travel at least twice a year...now i can't. but hey, at least i got a lil princess to accompany us...tink that's the best gift that anyone can get. hehehe

hi yasmin,
try taking cranberry juice and plenty of water. cranberry juice is supposed to help for urinary tract infection. i've been taking it.

Yasmin,
I think you better drink more water.. i have urine infection history even b4 pregant..
gynea stated that the urine should b clear in colour. yellow colour indicate your body didnt have enough water. dun 4get amino fluid (water bag) cannot be used in the body..
cranberry juice and barely drink helps...

Thanks Annie,
I drink abt 10-13 glasses of plain water a day. Excluding fruit juices, coffee/milo/tea etc. But still have this problem. Drink so much and end up going toilet so very often and its really tiring. Especially diff to find clean and non-stinking public toilets. End up these days dont go anyway. I also not too enthusiastic abt the trip to Aust. Also backache quite bad.

Eventhough I am a 2nd time mummy, this pregnancy is so very diff from my 1st. And its also more tiring for me. The only thing that keeps me going is that in just 2 1/2 mth time I am going to see my baby gal. So exciting.

yasmin,
pity gal.. yap..backache v painful.. same here.. i even have it even i sit straight..
u should go swimming.. i just went to buy swimming costume (its a waste cos i dun want another bb in future)...
Know what? i insist to go swimming despite my hubby dun allow.. i have a good sleep last nite.. great, my backache gone, really ease the pain.. my fingers n toes joints are painful.. but lighten the pain after the swim..
Now, i believe what my gynea told..swimming really help.. haha..

Hi Chris,
I didnt purposely buy maternity swimsuit.I already had a 2-piece one since i swam frequently before i got pregnant so now still can wear that.

Ya i agree with Ino, you can get a 2-piece swimsuit for now and you can still use that after you give birth

Time flies! This Sat is our last lesson at TMC afterwhich there is only another Doc's Talk at SCGS. The 3 of us shd exchange contacts so that we can keep one another updated of latest happenings :p

huh??? wear bikini ah???...haha..perhaps even with my tankini...my stretch marks *UGH!!! they have appeared - red and probably staying!!! Boo Hoo HOO!*...will show...pai sei leh...perhaps i will try. maybe i really should try and swim...

indeed...will definitely exchange info...
hey, how did u get info on hosp tour and when...tried to search on website...can't find leh...

on baby names, i have been searching all over for suitable ones...online and off...will mummies out there rec. some good websites or books???
cheers.