(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Cordlife:

One time payment of $1,400* upon registration

Includes enrolment

Professional/ Procedural fee

Processing of cord blood

Testing of cord blood and maternal blood

Cryopreservation for the 1st year

Annual storage fee of $250 (payable from 2nd year onwards)

* In the event of multiple birth (twin, triplets, etc), the one time payment for each additional child is S$600. Annual storage fee of $250 (payable from 2nd year onwards) will be charged for each baby.

sorry for flooding.. i've just added Scott, Taurus & pooh in my msn! :p
twinkle, add me!! hehee.. [email protected]

By the way, ystd i had a scare.. i was on my way to tarbao my lunch, then suddenly i felt my undies very wet.. thot my waterbag leak! Rushed back to office to check and put on another pantyliner to monitor.. heng heng its a false alarm.. Its just discharge. But kinda strange cos the discharge is more watery then usual??..

Thanks Ivy for comforting me.. was really scare outta my wits!..

Ivy,

As stated, S$250 is an annual fee. BTW, all fee are subjected to GST.

Annie,

Cordlife is pretty expensive unless you deliver in NUH. Cordlife has a special rate with patients from NUH.

Ladies, I abit sotong. Never used MSN to chat. Am very curious. Pls add me as well and also advise/guide me on how to use it. Thanks!

my hotmail account : [email protected]

Hi yasmin,
i'll be going to c Dr Ong tomolo.. u wan me to check out ur case with him?
For me, i only felt that something is pressing on my pte part n will have to wait a while b4 the urine flows out.

ladies, add me in too: [email protected]

ivy,
S$250 is for annual fee, u can keep till yr son hit 10 years old. Cos, once your son's weight is over 45kg, e stemcord blood cannot fully cover e illness already.. unless, e centre can develope e skill 2 reproduce e blood cells from the cord..

i am also on msn ([email protected])... So early you all starting buying diapers and cot liao ah? My room now got no space to put cot... need to shift my bed and some furnitures.. but my MIL does not allow... she actually wanted me to wait till baby first month then can moved.. but my FIL told her once I inside hospital waiting to give birth can shift liao... Me like never buy anything yet.. also don't know what to buy...

hi milo,
when i went for the antenatel class, i recalled 3 brands. Avent, Lactacyd (hope i spelt correctly coz i can't rem) and Johnsons. I tink these are all no-rinse type. Just put a drop into the water and that's it!

yasmin,

i bought a chest of drawers from ikea for my nursery room.. jus nice to store all the towels, clothes, bb wipes and other essential..

ino,

which brand u intend to get huh? i heard good comments on the lactacyd but cant seems to find it at most places lor.

milo,

I went ikea during lunch time to look at their chest of drawers. There was 1 set with only 2 drawers. The drawers are quite big and it cost 148, think its quite reasonable. There was also another that cost 269, 3 drawers and 2 shelves. I've not bought any furnitures from ikea before. Are their pdts durable? Is it self-assemble? How much did yours cost?

Hi Milo,

lactacyd can be purchase from Guardian Phar. and watson. some of the clinic does sell this as well.

This brand is recommendable by many mummys bcos it is so mild and i remember i used that to shower during my chicken pox times.

Hope the following detail information abt the talk on stem cord helps:
Come attend our educational talk to learn more about cord blood stem cells.
The schedule for the following months is as below:
Upcoming talks open for registration in 2006
Date Saturday Wednesday
7 Jan, 4 Feb, 4 Mar*, 1'Apr, 6 May, 3 Jun 18 Jan, 15 Feb, 15 Mar, 19 Apr, 17 May, 21 Jun
Time 10am 11.30am 7pm - 8.30pm
Venue Camden Medical Centre, Level 9, Function Room, 1 Orchard
Boulevard, Singapore 248649

* Session on 4 Mar 06 is fully booked. Please call us at 6238 1828 or email us if you would like to arrange for a private session.
** For last minute registration (less than 1 day before event), please kindly call us at 6238 0808 instead of registering online. Thank you.

Call us at 6238 0808 or fill in your details below to register for the talk:

My friend stated that he has his 2nd son registered under cordlife. Delivered at Mt A. Referred by his wife's friend, So the charge is $750.

Pricing & Payment Plans
CordLife offers different payment plans to better meet the needs of expectant parents.

2. Basic Plan
One-time payment of $800+* upon registration

Includes enrolment

Processing of cord blood

Testing of cord blood and maternal blood

Cryopreservation for the 1st year
Annual storage fee of $250 (payable from 2nd year onwards)

+ This amount excludes the Professional/Procedural fee, which still applies.

* In the event of multiple birth (twin, triplets, etc), the one time payment for each additional child is S$600. Annual storage fee of $250 (payable from 2nd year onwards) will be charged for each baby.

**This pricing plan is only applicable for deliveries in NUH.

**Terms and conditions apply

All prices are subjected to Goods and Services Tax (GST). Prices stated are correct at time of publishing, and are applicable to parents who are delivering in Singapore only. CordLife may, from time to time, review and make adjustments to the prices. For parents delivering outside Singapore and all other enquiries on our latest pricing, please call CordLife at (65) 6238 1828.

hi milo,
sorry for my incomplete sentence and bad English. aiyo my network keep going up and down like yoyo and hanged my web pages.
What i meant is lactacyd is highly recommended and can be purchase in most Pharmacy
377938.gif

yasmin,

mine is a chest of 4 drawers priced at $169.. i brought hm myself to self assemble but take note that its super heavy.. hubby carried till all the veins popped out :p

as whether is it durable, i think for the price that it cost, shld be quite alright. worth a consideration

yasmin,
i only want to buy those 5 tiers plastic one tat sell at carrefour, giant (IMM).. cos i think my son will choose one for himself when he is abt 2 to 3 years old.. nowsaday, kids r super smart compare to our age..
My friend told me that his son insists to get one at the age of 3 years old.. so.. see how

hi milo,

i intend to get lactacyd too. my bro used it and my mum swears by it. ;-P For baby oil, intend to get Avent ones (i tink it consists of sweet almond oil ....sounds very pampering...)

twinkle,

keke its ok.. alright will go look for it.. u be using that as well for ur bb?

sponge,

yup, we got the same drawers. hubby fixed it up himself and i think his skills got some prob.. haven put into use already got scratches here and there :p

My HB not very handy, dont think I can rely on him to do a good job with the self-assembly. Think I will go IMM to check out their prdts.

Last time got ample space cos got 2 build-in cupboards in the other spare rms. Now no more spare rm so have to squeeze another cabinet or drawers into my jammed up rm. Actually will have not much space left aft setting up the playpen....dunno how. Must think of something b4 May.

The website for the Singapore Cord Bank is
http://www.scbb.com.sg
Once we donate, it will be the property of the of the SCBB. Actually i had a talk with my gynae on this and conclusion is that i am more inclined to donate. Will have to check if TMC will be included in the scheme.

Main reasons being ( personal):
1) Its better to help others immediately rather than to store till it become useless.
2) I do intend to have more than 1 kid, so (touch wood) if the need arise, there will be siblings to help.
3) No serious medical history in our family tree, so cross fingers and legs that we will be just as healthy.
4) There is no guarantee that ownself stem blood cells will be able to cure the diseases.

ivy,
Thanks for the information.. i m oso keen on donation..
so i have 2 check with mt A abt it.. hmm.. ok.. will read the information from the website..
Through i only want 2 have just 1 kid. I more likely in believe that 1 people fate..

ivy,

thks for the information!

does it means that as long as my gynae is agreeable to help pack the cord blood, SCBB will accept donation from pte hosp?

hi ivy

pertaining to ur reason no 2, nt all siblings are suitable for one's cord blood especially they are of different blood group...(heard from my cousin)

Good morning! Its Wednesday.. time seem to pass so fast..

Extract this information from Mind your body from Strait Time dated 1st March. Hopefully, help:

Protecting & Providing for my child - Essential Health, Vaccination and Nutrition Tips
Loaction @ Raffles City Convention Centre,
stamford Ballroom Level 4,
Date: Sat 18 March
Time: 1-5Pm

All Participants will each receive a goodie bag worth $25!

Registration fee: $10 per person or $5 per person (with Mind yr body coupon).

Closing date for Registration: 14 March

Enquiry call katherine / shoo fern @6733 766.

Topics include:
1. Is that Flu again?
differentiating between common flu and serious ailments, recognizing critical symptoms
by DR Thoon Koh Cheng (KK Hosp, registrar, Dept of paediatric medicine).

2. Choosing to protect my child
Essential vaccination parents should consider
By Dr Low Kah Tzay (consultant Neonatologist & paediatrician, MT E)

3. Eat Right to be Right
By Dr Steven Ng (consultant neonatologist & Paediatrician, Gleneagles).

Make yr cheque to Singapore Paediatric Society.
Mail e completed coupon along with cheque (write yr name, contact no behind)

Post to: Wyeth (Singapore) Pte Ltd
111 Somerset Road, # 11-01
Singapore Power Building
Singapore 238164

For those You're 29 Weeks Pregnant
H
ello from BabyCenter!

Your baby's brain is developing billions of neurons (important for later learning) at an amazing rate no wonder her head is getting bigger now! To meet her nutritional demands which peak this trimester you'll need plenty of protein, vitamin C, folic acid, and iron. Her bones, in particular, are soaking up lots of calcium now, so drink your milk (or find another good source of calcium, like cheese or enriched orange juice). And get enough fiber in your diet to help prevent constipation, which can lead to hemorrhoids, a common occurrence in late pregnancy. Even if your belly button was an "innie" before, it may become an "outie" now.
See what your baby looks like now and find out why it's important to monitor your baby's movements, how to avoid dizziness, and more.

haven't popped in for some time. hope everyone's doing well

finally... we're into March!

btw, is anyone of you here planning to go off earlier for your maternity leave? i was told that we are allowed to go on leave 1 month before our EDD, is anyone able to help me verify that?

i'm thinking of talking to my management about it, hopefully they'll agree to let me off earlier. i've been feeling so stressed at work that my husband is asking me to quit my job...

oh yes, my baby's been very active for the past 3 weeks or so. sometimes it gets so violent that my whole tummy can jerk, i feel so weird... is this normal or a sign of a hyperactive bb?

anyone has this experience of feeling breathless especially when sitting inside the moving car where air con already on at higher peak..

I do.. but i feel much better after i come out of the car.. strange rite?

Good Morning gummie,
Abt taking earlier ML, it depends on your company policy. Why dont you ask your HR or Personnel Dept?

Yup, agree tough being preggie and working as well. Its not easy. Yesterday, 1 of my colleagues commented that I already look very tired. Another male colleague said that when his wife was preggie she too always complaint abt being tired. He doubts if our being tired is genuine or not. My colleague and I got very irritated with him and said you man never can understand nor appreciate. So irritating.

Having lots of movement at this stage is very common and good. We mummies can be quite weird, baby dont move complain, move also complain. Hahahahaha.....
378241.gif

gummie

My baby has been moving alot for the past 1-2 mths. Lots of jerking and trembling on my tummy. In fact, active baby means healthy baby, no need to worry. But we will need to monitor baby's movement towards the last stage. If movement is not so great, will have to check with obs as baby could be too stressed inside, etc. And also not as much space for them to move la....hehe

I suppose for ML, if you start early, you have to come back early to the off. Its the same 12 wks, depends on how u wanna utilise it. BUt before baby is born, nothing much for you to do but wait and wait. I was on leave 1 wk before my EDD for my 1st pregnancy, every day asking myself, will I pop today? Gets quite sian after awhile though i can't deny the fact that it's nice we can sleep late and no need to go off, esp with the extra weight.

Some ppl are even saying i look so big like going to give birth anytime, and finds it wierd that i am still working....

gummie,
Hows yr trip? ok? great to hear from you..
OH! great, your bb is like me.. hyper active.. sometimes, he is so busy inside twisting, turning, kicking inside for whole day.. but i read from book that some mature bb will turn their head down from week 32, the movement will decrease and might not have those obvious kick like before.. ( my sis told me that oso)>.
Yap, you can take earlier ML if you want, but best to take after you deliver, so have more time to rest n with bb..
For me, i intend to take 2.5mths then come back to work. will clear the 1/2 mths within the 6 mths (according to govt rule).. for taking bb for injection & check up & spot check on maid.
Will get a maid cos no one 2 help to look after my son.. any good recommendation? Good agency? Learnt from news that day, one agency made use of the client's particular to get another maid permit without her knowing.. (quite scary)..

milo,
For the donation, i think you might want to check with your gynae as he will be more familiar with the hospital.

pooh,

I am not too sure about the blood group thingy. Guess hubby and i going be relaxed about things and just pray things go fine and everyone stay healthy. =)

Gummie, think company different policy. check with your HR side. HR ask me if i wanna go on leave earlier, but i told them that i dun want cos i dun want to waste my leave sitting at home to wait.

gummie,

most prob i will stop work from may onwards.. keke cant wait man!

are most of ur tummies high and big? all the older aunties in my office keep commenting that my tummy very low, machiam gonna give birth like that..

milo,
me too find that I am carrying my baby low. Not like my 1st preggie, tummy was higher. Must remember to ask my gynae during the next visit, why this is so.

hi gummie,

in the total of 12 weeks, u can take ML earlier if your company policy allow.

for me i already told my HR i will clear last year leave rather than take ML early. otherwise it will be forfeited anyway. I think i will stop work in mid April , trying for 2 weeks b4 EDD.

hi gummie,

i intend to get a more definite EDD from my gynae during next visit. like Eve, i intend to take leave only 1 week before EDD. i will rather spend the leave with baby later and have sufficient rest before returning to work.

but of course that is not entirely our choice, my gf who just gave birth last month had very swollen legs and she had to rest at home for about 2 weeks prior to EDD. i will be in 29th week soon and i feel perpetually tired like in 1st trimester. these few weekends are spent shopping for baby stuff so did not rest well too.

anastasia,
i have hit 29th week, yap, swollen legs due to water retention.. painful and stressful to walk to long..
Try swimming dear.. its help.. trust me.. i just started 2 swim.. after my gynea advised so many times..

milo66,
Dun worry abt yr tummy.. so long bb is fine.. how many weeks are you now? Bb will turn head down from week 32 (those mature one).. yr tummy will then be lower..

I have big and low tummy so most pp even m colleague thought that my EDD is March..hahah.. i wish to.. cos my backache is killing me...heheh

milo and yasmin, me also intending to get the chest of drawers for my baby. Was considering to get a nice cupboard, like those children departmental stall where they hung the clothes in a nice cupbaord. So sweet.
But i cannot seem to find the cupboard. anyone knows where to get. I was thinking, if i cannot find then will get the chest of drawers from Ikea

hi gummie,

My bb also very active recently. Sometimes too active til i feel abit of discomfort from her kicks and turns.

Agree with yasmin, when bb too active, we complain, when bb not active, we become worried! muahahahah really not easy to find a balance eh?

Am in my 31st week now. Tummy still quite high wor. But ar, when i sit down to pee, can feel my tummy pressing on my thighs.. aiyo.. very heavy ar.

Wrt ML, really must check with ur HR. Cos like wat Ivy says, different companies different policies. I'm in HR myself, and my org states that i can start to take my ML anytime 1 mth b4 my EDD.

Initially i was thinking of taking my ML in Mid April (considering that i may pop in late Apr) but then, now i've decided to play the waiting game.. as in to wait and see my bb's 'progression' b4 i start to take ML. Dun want to waste leave unneccessarily mah hehee.. Agree with twinkle to clear last year's leave 1st..if not also very lu gi.. kanna forfeited for nothing..