(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

chris,
i am not sure abt the prices for medela cos i think since the milk is not going to come in till 2nd or 3rd day, i guess i will have time to buy from the parentcraft room at TMC. Actually since i am not sure which brand to use, i just go ahead with Mrs Wong recommendation loh.

No prob abt the books, just drop me a sms when you are coming by.

Hi Chris,

Yes, I was at the sun 1230 class ... where r u sitting or wearing tt day ...see if I can recap how u look like .. kekek ...

Hi Ivy,

I also just hit my 10kg at wk 29 .... was hoping to gain the most 12kg for the whole pregnancy but seems abit difficult now ...8(

Hi ino,

I also find that my gums bleed easily when I brush my teeth but I guess will only go to the dentist after delivery ...

I think for those who are still deciding on the breat pump maybe you wanna hold for awhile cos I think Mrs Wong will touch on breastfeeding soon and I think she will be able to advsie wat is the best option.

hi chris

i changed a new gyane for my this 2nd preggy...coz my 1st gynae nt veri professional as he only realised my gal's weird position in my womb after he c-sec me..mine was an emergency c-sec..now i'm wif a lady gynae at TMC.

As for the sanitary pads, for me, i only use TMC loop ones coz the nurse changed for me for the first day as i was on drip...after that i use my own normal sanitary pads which i use when i have my menses...if u delivery by natural and gonna have sitches there, i think its better to use maternity pads are they are thicker and comfortable..this is wat i heard from my friends who had natural...just bring ur own pads there in case lor...think its up to ur own preference.

any mummies start packing ur lugagae?? i have note down wat to take and start to pack liao...coz afraid i might forget this and that..also at the same time , spend more time wif my toddler...

mummies, pls pack along a small notebook to hospital to write dwn watever u need to know when u attend the antenal class the next day (after u give birth) coz all of us are in kan cheong mood and tends to b forgetful.. i also use the notebook to record my gal's feeding time and how much she drinks ..gd way to track and also gd way to know how much milk she has taken

Chris,
hosp only provide loop type pad, despite whether you delivery or not.. if you dun like it, just bring yr own pad n tell them not to charge you on that.. cos 1 whole pack..

used b4, v uncomfortable, has to put sting on it then untie it when you go to lady..

fairysnowberry,
should b v hard to wear pantry cos your bottom should b v painful, so imagine when you lift your right or left leg up, should have those flesh tearing apart feeling.. tats what my sis told me.. hahah

you have to wear cos you will b having your mensual... last about 2 2 3 weeks depend on individual.. should be heavier for 1st week, later, become pink less reddish..

Ivy,
Wah! envy your courage leh. going for 2nd one.. for me, 1 bitten twice shy.. no way to go for 2nd one..

so many pain here and there... especially now, fingers and feets joints all painful.. swollen.. holding a pen is so painful..

my sis only have this joint pain when she was almost due at that time.. dun think my body is in good health..(through book stated that this oedema appear from week 27).

Hi milo,
take care n relax urself.

Oh to add on to yasmin's list, remember to bring camera!
Yasmin, u already on 3 weeks appt? Me going for glucose test next week so prob will only start the 3 weeks appt after that.

Ivy, my appetite is getting bad too after CNY.
will be going for gynae appt next week, so will c if my weight has shoot up.

Annie, me too having swollen foot.. but only on my right foot. have been lifting my legs during resting time n it seems to get a bit better.

paradox,
we got the white cot from robinson. looks good so far except it gets dirty easily when it's white in color.

ivy,
i know camera is allowed in the delivery room but is videocam allowed too? heard from some friends that they were forbidden when they had their deliveries.

sponge,

for TMC, videocam is allowed for natural birth and epidural c-sect. But Mrs Wong say no filming when BB is getting out of the birth canal cos it will prob freak out BB when he see the video when they grow up...haha....

I also changed my gynae for my 2nd pregnancy. I find the 1st gynae dont seem to tell me much. For this 2nd gynae i will be delivering in a diff hospital as well.

I also find my feet and fingers a bit swollen, esp when i bend down, i could feel it.

My tummy is now 39"! so big! looks like cannot stretch any further cos i could feel the stretching effect, like max. liao :p

I also felt my bottom like 'tightening'. dunno if you gals have this feeling. and my pelvic bones abit 'sng' thk due to the weight.

I have an aprica stroller from my 1st birth, 4 yrs ago. Still can use now, so it worth it to invest in a gd one if u intend to have no. 2 and so on. I even lend mine to my sis, now she pass back to me. Will have to get those little round cushion to support baby's neck for the 1st few mths, otherwise the head will 'drop' left and right....hehe

Anyone booked their massage lady already?

sponge,

Talking abt cot, we got the natural wood color cot from John little and was suppose to deliver 2 weeks back. But when it came, my hubby rejected it cos he say the colour is not well painted at the legs portion.haha...So we have to wait till late Mar when they got a new shipment.
Hubby even managed to get them to give us a free mozzie net as compensation for the delay...haha!

eve,
do BB slp on pillows when they just come home?

anyone using the old traditional sarong with hook on the ceiling? My mum's place have one hook, so she is asking me to go get the sarong and the spring. Think those old hdb shops should have?

Ivy,
So you intend to have sarong.. Ang Mo kio central got one shop selling, quite reasonable price. As for the hook n the spring - saw it at kiddy palace oso but they dun have whole set..

My sis used the type that can assemble like big C -curve so dun need to hook on the ceiling. V cheap for whole set only $49 plus the sarong, spring n hook everything. Unless, you want to get the electricity type, so that dun need to swing manually.

Bb dun really sleep on pillows cos they will turn their head often n the pillow alway not in place.. not v impt for them.. but i got one just in case, if you can, get a dry bean or dry beancurd to make it as a small pillow to place on bb tummy when they sleep. bb wont get so frighten easier and act as secure. My sis just got a bigger pillow press on her daughter.. which i dun really agreed on it.

Annie,

you are talking about the bean sprout casing pillows. Yes, i got that as well, the elders believe that it will soothe BB's fears.

Yah, BB will slp in sarong at my mum's place. The new type, which you mentioned is available at most stores like Mothercare. But i find that it takes up too much space. So will go ahead to use the old hook on the ceiling.

Ivy

I thk pillow is not neccesary. You can use 1 or 2 nappy cloth and fold a few layers for abit of height. Infant pillows are usually quite thin and some are non-suffocating, thk got holes or something. Maybe u dont need to buy now, if there is a need, then u go and buy.

For sarong, if u let bb sleep in one place, u may need to buy one for your house, cos if bb used to the swinging movement, they may not wanna sleep in cot. But i agree its easier for them to doze off in sarong then cot.

Eve,

thanks for the reply, actually i also dun recall NB sleeping on pillows but the kan cheong daddy say must have pillows and bolsters. hahaha...

I will have both cot and sarong at my mum's place, will let her know to alternate between both so that BB will be used to cot at my place. No space to put a portable sarong now. and its too late to go drill the hook already...haha

ivy,
get the one that i mentioned.. manual one not taking much space compare to electricity type (my gf used that; seen it b4.. take up so much space). somemore, can dis-assembled into 3 pcs n put into box.
bb v smart one, once you let bb sleep at the sarong, hahha.. nite mare.. they start to cry if you stop to swing. They wont want to sleep at cot bed for sure cos not that cooling n no swinging movement compare to sarong.. like my niece, she nvb sleep at e cot bed after discharge from hospital.

Hei Eve,
which Aprica stroller did u buy? can it be doubled up as pram? u must be more experienced...good to hear fr u. u were also talking abt change of gynae....any disadvantages in terms of starting afresh, with no medical records tho i see a change in your case is understandable...

Hei Taurus,
I was sitting against the mirror - was in white pants and green top...how abt u...dun think i can recall but hei hei nonetheless....Mrs Wong really not bad hor, ladies...that day - was a 3hr session...like very worth the money like that...haha *ah soh mentality*

Hi chris ....

Bingo, I guess correctly .... hahah..I was actually 'bio-ing" u last wk coz u r a new face in the class and I tot u r very pretty ...and ur green top with white pants very outstanding .... especially when u r so fair .... i am sitting directly opp u ... i came slightly late wearing a pink strip top with black slack .... small size but round like a potato ...hahah

hei taurus....
indeed, got vague impression of ya. hee. u flattered me...will love to see u again some time....haha. take care now. baby very funny...like shivering inside tummy like that...lotsa movement...haha...

Just pop by to say hi.
Seems like a lot fo u are having fun attending classes, pls do share ur notes to us.

went to check out the baby's cot at mothers work , great world city, saw one that cost almost 800 bucks, wow,
Anyone knows what to look out for , when buying the cot?
also have u gals bought the breast pump already?

Chris

I also feel my bb like 'shivering'. Sometimes abit pai say if baby starts to move during meetings and my whole tummy shiver...hehe

I dont know which model is my stroller :p Its actually a gift. Thk its the lowest range, $499. What i dislike is the basket cos its a bit small and hard to reach. Its gd to get those with easy to reach basket at the bottom. But its very durable lor. I find the wheels easy to rotate, and its not very big and heavy. btw, whats the diff between a stroller and pram :p

If u switch gynae, u will have to tell him your medical history. But i thk its ok, nothing too troublesome. Just update him on my 1st delivery, thats its natural w vacuum, etc. Should be quite standard if u dont have much complications i suppose.

Hi Chris/Eve,

Yah, my BB super active .... and sometimes tummy trembles so much especially when I am in MRT ...feel so pai sei when ppl start staring at my shaking tummy .... hahaha ....

Even my gyane also commented tt my BB very active .... during my 28 wks scan ... BB already turn head down .... and gynae say tt usually they will stay in tt position till delivery ...but who noes just in a wk's time .... BB decided he dun like tt position and choose to be naughty and turn straight up .... 8( ....

CHRIS,
u feel that do? thought i m the only one that feel it.. Its still ok to feel that, the other movement like he is trying to turn whole body to one side.. either my left or right tummy will be tighten at the point of time, you can feel that duno which part of his body is poping up..hahah

Ps correct me if i m wrong! Esp. those experienced mum
2 anyone don't feel the baby movement for a day b4? I d n few times.. of cos not the same days..
Once, i called up my gynea and i went to hosp for a quick check on my baby, the ultra sound indicates that he d move, but not in big action. That time, he only used his two hands touching each other. My gynea stated that i should feel e movement but i dont.
of cos, like other movements, hiccups, kicking, boxing and other i can feel it..even can he is turning from one side to other..
however, is it true that baby wont move so much after they turn their head down? How to know baby is ok?

BOOKWOrm,
R u sure you want to buy so expensive cot? Not all baby love to sleep on cot bed. I got one given by my friend's hubby's friend.
Although, she has a 18 mth year old son, she told me that her son never sleep on cot bed, tats y she is giving away.
personally, i feel that if you want to buy such expensive cot bed, the material (wood) is important, what type of wood is that. Able to extend the length? Adjustment in the height? The type of screw use... whether they state can use up to how many years old.
The one that i have, the length is almost King size bed length. Can use up to 6 years old.

Sarong is the most common use for bb.. cos bb loves to swinging movement.. sarong oso more cooling for bb compare to cot bed. My niece sleep on sarong on the 3rd day after her discharge from hosp.

Unless, you can bear your bb crying at nites, my colleague did so, for 5 nites cont. her son cried non stop for hour. She never gives in. She personally dun like to use sarong, cos bb will hook on it and some may stick to it up to 5 years old..

Qunny Buzz
We have this giant stroller for my baby. Its useful but what a mega size thing!!! Its good as its easy to manipulate it around and the 5 point safty harness is good.

Ivy,
Woah, my hubby is really good with these people.. we are planning to have our camera and video camcorder along during delivery and hopefully they allow us to.

hi annie,

the price there range from 500 plus to very exp one...not too sure though. What is the normal price range of cot cost?

bookworm,
cot bed really rely on the what type of wood used for.
I saw the cheapest is at john little. $199 including the mattress and others etc.. of cos, the quality of the wood is not the top grade,the colour and tonning isnt that beautiful or even.
However, i believe that you can get more reasonable price at mega mart @ shun li industrial rather than mothercare. Think the brand plays a part for charging higher price on cot bed..

As for Mt A, sure give baby bath tub, dun need to buy or bring one. You have to request milk for the month when you discharge. One can is given foc. (they gave 3 cans last 4 years but this year onward only 1 can).

bookworm,

i guess it depends on your personal budget and needs for the price of the cot. If you intend to use it longer, then get one that can convert into a toddler bed. For me, i only intend to have it till BB is outgrow it. Furthermore, fr what frens told me, when BB is 1 yr and above, they will start to want to stand up and jump out of the bed! So probably, once he outgrow the cot, i will have him on a mattress in our room or use the current guest bed in our guest room so i only got a $189 cot.

Gabby's mum

ehmm.. is it you are the one who mentioned the talk on 25 Feb? I just find out that i got appointment on that morning. So sorry, i couldnt make it.
You be careful, think there are few constructions going on, be careful about the traffic..

hi paradox, bookworm and Ivy,

i seeked advice about buying a cot from my gf who has 2 sons. she encourgaed me to get a swinging bed where the baby can crawl and play in when he is older. can choose normal mattress or latex one. it comes with cushions that can be ordered separately if they become flat. it can be converted to a high chair when baby is older. it is sold at john little specialists. my friend got it at $129 during the sales.

i may go check it out this weekend but if any of you sees something similar, do keep each other updated.

hi ivy,

i just re-read my gf's email again. it is not a playpen. she bought a playpen but has this other swinging bed that can be converted into a high chair.

pardon me about the mattress and cushions...they go with the playpen.

anastasia,
is it? you mean the height can adjustable? Some cot bed can adjust the height according to your demand especially when infant grow older, tend to play n jump a lot.
Mind to check with you, the swinging bed got gd back support? Cos bb dun have good spine yet..
Playpen is oso not cheap. basic without additional feature already cost $299 (saw at john little). Music mobile, adjustable height, light and some even got laser carton feature that can pose onto the ceiling cost even higher..

hei gabby's mum,
how much did u pay for your quinny buzz? generally, what should we look out for when we select a stroller/pram, experienced mummies out there?

hi bookworm,
Mothercare stocks branded cots lar...tat's why it's so ex. Places like bb hypermart, bb kingdom, john little or robinsons shld have cheaper ones...So many moms have bought the cots from them...so shldn't worry much about the quality. For me, i intend to get a convertible cot bed as i intend for it to last for 3-4 yrs (before my new house comes). Don't intend to spend more than $350 for a cot. ;-)

Hi anastasia,
woah...swinging bed? what's that? If the bed can swing, isn't it dangerous for the toddler to crawl in and out coz there's no stability?

hi Annie & ino,
my friend mentioned it can be adjusted to flat level for baby to be rocked to sleep. not sure about back support and the safety though. i am also trying to imagine how it looks like.

i bought a lightweight bouncer with spring and removable fabric covers. that is for bb to lie on when he is awake. bb will outgrow it by the time he can crawl but it costs only $16.90.

anastasia,
hmm.. i think i have to find to have a look. So John little has it?
Nowsaday, hardly go out beside going to work.. worst, my fingers n toes' joints are painful, foot are swollen..
yap. lightweight bouncer, some of my friends used that.. quite cooling..

Hi anastasia,

My friend has one of those swinging bed too. not sure is it the same as yr friend. The swing bed can rock the baby to sleep, and if u dun want to swing there is a catch to lock the cradle. but i am not sure abt the convertion.

yes, Annie. at the branch located at Specialists' Shopping Centre, not sure about other branches. i have bought most baby necessities but still need to get cloth diapers, diaper covers, fasteners, more tops and some miscellaneous small items. i think your water retention may get worse as pregnancy advances. so maybe it is a good idea to try and shop now.

twinkle-starry,
it does sound like a worthwhile investment. we do not have to spend on a high chair when our babies can sit upright for feeding solid food.

Found this useful for those whose is going to travel aboard for holiday or for work. Extact from Baby centre. 8 smart Strageties for pregant travellers.

Reduce stress
There's one sure way to avoid travel stress while pregnant stay home for nine months. But what fun is that? By using some simple planning strategies, you can reduce your travel anxieties and get the most out of your time on the road, even when raging hormones leave you ready to scream or cry.

First, arrange everything in advance that you can, including your seat assignment on an airplane (an aisle seat works best for frequent trips to the bathroom), any special-order meals, and accommodations at your destination. Next, travel light. Ideally, pack only what you can roll on wheels or carry easily with two hands. That way, you won't be stuck if you can't find a porter or a kind stranger, and you won't risk injuring yourself by lifting too heavy a load. Bring a carry-on bag with vital supplies, including a headset for music or a good book for relaxation. When you're ready to go, schedule plenty of extra time to get to the airport, the bus or train station, or your destination by car. That way, when the seemingly inevitable delays occur, you'll have a built-in margin for error. Finally, don't forget your sense of humor if and when you get stuck in a long line or on the tarmac, you'll need it.

Conserve your energy
Just because you're pregnant doesn't mean you can't enjoy an active vacation or take a productive business trip. You can still pursue many of your normal activities, whether it's hiking, visiting museums, or dining out for business or pleasure. But you'll probably tire more quickly than before you were pregnant, so don't expect to maintain your usual pace, and make down time part of your daily schedule whenever possible. Taking a bath, napping, putting your feet up, reading on the beach, and even spending a quiet evening with room service can keep you feeling rested and energized throughout your trip.

Eat and drink smart
When you're pregnant, it's doubly important to eat regular, healthful meals. But since your eating schedule may be disrupted on the road, it's a good idea pack your carry-on bag with plenty of portable snacks, such as nuts, dried fruit, and crackers with low-fat cheese. If you're flying, call your airline to preorder any special meals, such as a fruit plate or vegetarian whatever you need to satisfy your dietary requirements or pregnancy cravings. Carry bottled water and drink it regularly. It's always important to avoid getting dehydrated, a particular problem when flying. Drinking extra fluids will help prevent water retention, too.

Once you arrive, seek out regular, nutritious, well-balanced meals with plenty of fresh fruit, vegetables, and protein. (If you're traveling in a foreign country where the water quality is uncertain, however, remember to avoid uncooked vegetables and fruit that you haven't peeled yourself.) Always carry healthful, energy-boosting snacks and bottled water in your purse or bag, since you never know when you'll need them. If you're having trouble eating regular meals, or you're finding that some foods and smells now turn your stomach, try eating five or six small meals a day. They may go down easier than three big ones, and frequent, light eating will reduce your chances of heartburn as well.

Prepare for pit stops
As an expectant mom, you're probably running to the bathroom three or four times more often than usual. Airplane facilities are cramped and public restrooms can be dirty, so when you find a clean, comfortable bathroom, use it. Even when you can't find a luxury commode, play it safe and use the restroom. Try to anticipate when you'll need to hold your water between rest stops on the highway or before boarding the plane and make a stop just before. When planning your car trip, remember to factor in plenty of time for frequent stops.

It's not always easy to find a suitable restroom when you're on the road, so be prepared for cramped or dirty facilities or no facilities at all. Some women find it helpful to pack toilet paper (remove the inner cardboard tube and flatten the roll for compact carrying), sanitary wipes, and antibacterial hand cleaner. For car trips, you can bring along your own restroom for emergency pit stops in the form of a large plastic yogurt or cottage cheese container with a lid. If you're flying or traveling by train or bus, opt for an aisle seat so you can get to the restroom without having to climb over other passengers. Seats near the front or rear of the plane are usually closest to the restrooms.

Make it easy to answer nature's call by wearing clothes that are quickly shed. Choose pants or skirts with a top or dresses instead of one-piece jumpsuits or overalls. When you're in a rush, the fewer fasteners, the better.

Pamper your feet and legs
Sitting anywhere for long periods of time can make your feet and ankles swell and your legs cramp. When you're driving, be sure to take breaks at least every hour and a half to stretch and walk around. If there's an empty seat next to you on a plane, train, or bus, put your feet up. When flying, take off your shoes, put on a pair of thick socks that you can walk around in, and elevate your legs by resting your feet on your carry-on luggage under the seat in front of you. Since your feet will probably swell whether or not you take off your shoes, wear comfortable footwear with expandable elastic panels, ties, or adjustable straps.

Pregnancy puts a strain on your circulation, which can leave you susceptible to thrombosis (the formation of blood clots) and varicose veins. Sitting for hours on a bus, train, or plane or in a car during pregnancy increases your risk of clots even more. Keep your blood circulating by strolling the aisle or getting out of the car every hour and doing some simple stretches every half hour. If you're sitting or standing, stretch your leg, heel first, and gently flex your foot to stretch your calf muscles. When you're sitting, rotate your ankles and wiggle your toes. If you're prone to varicose veins, wear maternity support panty hose, which relieve swelling and aching in your legs by compressing the veins to keep blood flowing.

For the traveling mom-to-be, nothing is more important than choosing comfortable, supportive footwear. The best shoes or sandals have a contoured footbed to help prevent aches and a thick, skid-resistant sole for good traction and to offer support for walking. Sneakers built for high-impact aerobic sports fit the bill; strappy high heels and mules don't. Bring an extra pair of shoes and blister pads, too, since even broken-in footwear can rub the wrong way.

Find out about vaccinations
It's best to find out about your immune status and then get any crucial vaccinations at least three months before getting pregnant. If you haven't, and you must travel to an area where serious disease is widespread, you and your healthcare provider will have to weigh the theoretical risk of the vaccine against the potential danger the disease poses to you and your baby. Generally speaking, pregnant women should avoid live vaccines such as those for varicella (chicken pox), and measles, mumps, rubella. Because live vaccines are made from live viruses, they could potentially infect you and your unborn baby with the disease. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) says there's been no reported harm to a fetus from the accidental administration of these live vaccines, but information is limited, so it's still a risk that expectant moms shouldn't take.

Some other vaccines, such as those for Hepatitis B, Hepatitis A, and tetanus, are considered safe and are recommended for pregnant women who are at risk of getting these diseases. For more information, see The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) chart listing safe and unsafe vaccines.

The bottom line: If you have the option, don't travel during your pregnancy to countries where the threat of disease is high and a potentially risky shot becomes an issue. In many of these countries, the quality of local healthcare and the safety of food and water are often questionable as well.

Head off yeast infections
Pregnancy makes you susceptible to yeast infections, and they're even more likely to strike if you travel to hot, humid climates. (Fungal organisms thrive in warm, moist environments.) To discourage yeast infections, wear lightweight, loose-fitting, breathable clothing, including cotton underwear. Leave tight jeans and pants at home. After a swim, change out of your wet bathing suit as soon as you can. Before you leave, talk to your healthcare provider about bringing along an anti-fungal cream, just in case.

Steer clear of risky activities
The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) recommends that pregnant women avoid sports with a high likelihood of contact or falling. That means no snow skiing, waterskiing, surfing, horseback riding, or ice skating while you're on vacation. Scuba and other "pressurized" sports are also out since dangerous air bubbles can form in your bloodstream as you surface. Waterslides and many amusement park rides are risky as well, since a forceful landing and sudden starts and stops can harm your baby. Some studies show that raising your temperature during early pregnancy can increase the risk of birth defects, so you should avoid hot tubs, too.

That doesn't mean you should spend your vacation sitting on the sidelines. If you're a healthy woman who exercised before pregnancy, you can continue your fitness routine, depending on your fitness level, proficiency at a given sport, and how far along you are in your pregnancy. Plenty of activities are generally safe, such as walking (including moderate hiking at low altitudes), swimming in calm waters, riding a stationary bike or doing yoga at the hotel gym, and easy jogging (if you jogged before you were pregnant). Be sure to discuss your exercise plans with your heathcare provider, since some activities that might be okay early in pregnancy could put you at risk for falling later on, when your balance may be off. Also, women with high-risk pregnancies may be advised against exercise altogether.

A final note: Use your common sense. If you feel overtired, overheated, or just plain uncomfortable while exercising, slow down or stop.

thanks for the advice. I will go to Baby kingdom to purchase the cot and pram. Besides these, do u gals buy cupboards to put the baby's clothings and diapers? Bascially my baby's room is entirely empty.
Also baby kingdom sells cupboards , bottles and stuff?

I wonder anyone read today strait time, "Mind Your Body", "baby so big he tore his mum apart"
Feel sad for this woman, such a great career end up becos of the gynea. I simply don't understand y her gynea dun go for c-section when the baby already 4.3kg at birth.Although such case really rare and really can avoid.
According to Dr tan, babies estimate to be above 4kg will give problems to asian mothers. hence, do make a good decision for whether to opt for natural or c-section.. cos no matter what, you are soley responsible for your decision.. (hosp will make you sign agreement, to protect their own doctors inc. gynea).

Hi bookworm,

Baby kingdom do sell bottles n stuff but dun remember seeing any cupboard.

I have purchase a cupboard from Ikea to put BB stuff, pay S$250 but need to self assemble and the cupboard is quite heavy so hubby needs to get help from friend to setup the cupboard. The other day went to this neighbour furniture shop and was surprise tt some of the cupboards/wardrobe they sell is quit cheap n nice .... saw one cupboard only S$220 somemore free delivery and no need to fix ourself ...so much easier...

For your additional information about having successful breastfeeding.
The process starts during pregnancy
If you're pregnant, you have no doubt noticed the huge metamorphosis occurring in your bra cups. Those physical changes tender, swollen breasts, and darkened nipples and areolas (the circle of skin surrounding your nipple) may be one of your earliest clues that you've conceived. Experts believe the colour change may also be a helpful aid to breastfeeding. It's nature's way of providing a visual guide that helps newborns feed successfully (hey, dinner's over here!). Another pregnancy signal: the appearance of tiny bumps around your areola called the glands of Montgomery (named after the British obstetrician who first described them), which also play a role in breastfeeding. These bumps produce an oily substance that cleanses, lubricates, and protects the nipple from infection during breastfeeding.

What's going on inside your breasts
Perhaps even more remarkable than this visible transformation is the extensive changes taking place inside your breasts. Your developing placenta stimulates the release of oestrogen and progesterone, which in turn stimulate the complex biological system that makes lactation possible.

Before pregnancy, a combination of supportive tissue, milk glands, and protective fat makes up a large portion of your breasts (the amount of fatty tissue varies among women, which is why breasts come in such a variety of sizes and shapes). In fact, your newly tender, swollen orbs have been preparing for your pregnancy since you were a 6-week-old embryo in your own mother's womb. By the time you were born, your main milk ducts a network of canals that transport milk through your breasts had already formed. Your mammary glands stayed quiet until puberty, when a flood of the female hormone oestrogen caused them to grow and swell. During pregnancy, those glands shift into high gear.

By the time your baby is born, glandular tissue has replaced most of the fat cells and accounts for your bigger-than-ever breasts. Each one may get as much as 1 pounds heavier!

Nestled amid the fat cells and glandular tissue is an intricate network of channels or canals called milk ducts. Pregnancy hormones cause the milk ducts to increase in number and size; the ducts then branch off into smaller canals near the chest wall called ductules. At the end of each one is a cluster of small, grapelike sacs called alveoli. A cluster of alveoli is called a lobule; a cluster of lobules is called a lobe. Each breast contains between 15 and 20 lobes, with one milk duct for every lobe.

Milk is produced inside the alveoli, which are surrounded by tiny muscles that squeeze the glands and push milk out into the ductules. Those ductules lead to a bigger duct that widens into a milk pool or milk sinus directly beneath the areola. Milk pools act as reservoirs that hold milk until your baby suckles it through tiny openings in your nipple. (You can think of the 15 or 20 milk ducts as individual straws that all end at the tip of your nipple and deliver milk into your baby's mouth.) Your milk-duct system becomes fully developed sometime during your second trimester, so you can breastfeed your baby even if she arrives prematurely.

Production heats up after the baby is born

Milk production and prolactin
You'll begin full-scale milk production within 24 to 48 hours of giving birth to your baby. Scientifically speaking, this period is called lactogenesis. Once you expel your hormone-producing placenta, the oestrogen and progesterone levels in your body suddenly drop. At the same time, the level of the hormone prolactin rises. This pituitary gland hormone signals your body to make lots of milk to nourish your baby. Laboratory studies also show that prolactin may make you feel more "motherly", which is why some experts call it the mothering hormone.

As your body readies itself for lactation, it pumps extra blood into the alveoli, making your breasts firm and full. Swollen blood vessels, combined with an abundance of milk, may make your breasts temporarily painful and engorged, but breastfeeding frequently in the first few days will help relieve any discomfort.

First comes colostrum
During the early days of breastfeeding, your baby will enjoy a creamy, high-protein, low-fat substance called colostrum. You may have leaked a few drops of this thick, whitish substance during the final weeks of your pregnancy (some women have this happen during their second trimester).This "first milk" is produced as the cells in the centre of the alveoli dissolve and flow through the milk ducts and out the nipple. The precious, easily digestible liquid is full of disease-fighting antibodies called immunoglobulins that strengthen your baby's immune system. Your milk changes breast milk throughout the feed to suit your baby's needs.

How milk flows from you to your baby
For your baby to enjoy your milk, it must be "let down" or released from the internal alveoli. Here's how it happens: As your baby sucks your nipple, she stimulates the pituitary gland to release oxytocin as well as prolactin into your bloodstream. When it reaches your breast, oxytocin causes the tiny muscles around the milk-filled alveoli to contract and squeeze. The nourishing liquid is emptied into the ducts, which transport it to the milk pools just below the areola. When she feeds, your baby presses the milk from the pools into her mouth.

During the first days of feeding, you may feel some contractions in your abdomen as the baby sucks. The usually mild discomfort signals the release of oxytocin, which helps shrink your uterus back to its pre-pregnancy size. (This same hormone caused your uterus to contract during labour.) Another signal: You may feel calm, satisfied, and joyful as you breastfeed. No wonder some people call oxytocin the hormone of love!

As your milk flow increases, you may also feel some tingling, stinging, burning, or prickling in your breasts. Some women say their milk drips or even sprays during letdown. And it helps if you can create a peaceful environment if you're relaxed during feeds, your milk will flow more freely and easily. In fact, many women compare breastfeeding to learning how to ride a bike: It may be tricky at first, but once you and your baby get the hang of it, it becomes second nature.

http://www.babycentre.co.uk/general/8785.html

Anyone interest to attend a talk on "Looking After your pregnancy & NB - ensuring a healthy Baby"
5 March, sunday 2- 5pm @ Revenue House Auditorium Level 5. (oppsite Novena Mrt).

Topic include:
Early Diagnosis of Foetal Well being By Dr Henry Chong (gleneagles Gynea)

Optimising your pregnancy By Dr Lisa chin (same as above).

Care for NB By Dr Steven Ng (Paediatriican, Gleneagles).

Optimal Attachment & positioning for successful breastfeeding By Ms Tan Guat choo (Lactation consultant, Parkway Hosp).

Anmum member: $5 per pax $8 per couple
Non Anmum member: $6 per pax $10 per couple
email: [email protected]
send cheque & detail to: Anmum Public Forum,
c/o Resource Creative, Bukit Panjang PO BOx 164
S(916806)