(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

I already gain 11kg @ week 28 :~(
put on so much.. my boy only weight 1.293kg.. is it v light?
He is v shy, everytime, my gynea did the ultra sound, he will still and after that, super active.
I have checked with my gynea regarding the case on "baby so big that torn mum apart" on Mind your body, strait time yesterday.
My gynea had abt 20 years + experience stated that he did help a woman to deliver 5.5kg baby gal. He also stated that such heavy baby really required extra cautious of monitor, more detail scanning before considering natural delivery. Detail scanning will inc the woman pelvis floor, e crib etc.
And of cos, my gynea stated that he will opt for c-section unless patient request if bb already weight 3.5kg

hi annie,

thanks for informing us of the talk. i will not be going since the topics are covered under the prenatal class in TMC.

i have 2 pictures of the bed-cum-high chair for those who are interested. my gf might have forgotten the price. it may be $169, instead of $129 as posted earlier. those who are interested to view, pls post your email address. the pictures are too big to be posted here.

Hi anastasia,

Oh! great! Thanks .. yr gf is selling it alway?

Oh! yes, regarding the talk, i cant attend also cos my hubby needs to work that day, unless, i m able to find someone to go with me. I have books on breastfeeding and how to handle & bath the baby.. so its not really a must i have to attend..cheers.

Dun worry if you forget how to breastfeed or how to squeeze the milk out or how to let the baby lace on it.. cos if you choose TMC, the nurse will actually teach u one by one, after you deliver. ( My sis told me, cos she gave birth at TMC in Dec).

anastasia,
Thanks for your email. Finally, have an idea of it. Hmm.. dun seem v film.. Another version of cot basket for nb baby.. heheh.. just that this one can move around easily..
currently, i stick to cot bed since i have one. brought the sarong but not the whole set yet.
see how.. if really cant tahan the bb cry, then will use the sarong one. haha.

hey girls,

liting told me abt the apr thread. got a mummy gonna pop liao. Seems that early labour is so possible. Now make me kan cheong. Think better start to do packing this weekend liao. ha!

IVY,
Think April mtb have higher chance than us. Cos they should be already Week 32 and above..
If our babies come out by this time, (touch wood) bb will feel v cold since the fat issue just start to develop behind the skin and the lung also just start to function. Bb will have weaker lung than those mature baby.. got those lung, nose, respiratory problems..
However, good to pack first for those whose already buy everything..
Else, harder to squeeze down in later stage..

ANNIE,

of cos we know that its too early now for us May MTB. But i am just sharing the case so that everyone of us can be mentally prepared.

IVY,
hehe.. yap.. sometime, i feel if the baby can come out now oso better, cos my back is already so painful n hard to sleep at nites.. have to wake up so many times... Oso, barely can breath (alway feel out of oxygen).
every morning, i keep asking myself, can i dont go to work? haha..
however, i cant be selfish, just to think for myself.
By the way, regarding the packing, should i bring any baby clothes? or Just a big blanket that can cover him when discharge is enough?

good morning ladies.
it's the weekend - *yeah* and i suppose quite a few of us, kiasu mummies will be doing some form of packing...for me, *jus a little trivia for my fellow-mummy frens out there*...i am quite excited that we hv bought two sets of clothes for baby...esp since i'm not 'allowed' to buy with my sister passing me almost everything!!!
haha...

I bought 2 packs of pigeon 82x3 wipes at $8.95 liao..as well as pigeon disposable breast pads at $8.90 fr isetan...saw them at the same price at TMC pharmacy - wanted to buy them this weekend before antenatal - now, no need alrdy. btw, those prices not bad for mummies who want to save a bit cos the wipes - cheapest alwayS $9.95...haha...just a little sharing this morn to start us off. have lotsa fun.

ivy,
mummy jumbo has already delivered the first Apr EDD baby late last night. To think my EDD is early May.

Qoosan,
we've already started washing our baby's items.

and Good morning gals! yes yes yes... it's weekend just ahead.

qoosan,

yes, me also going to wash the clothes this weekend. Then start to pack on sunday. yesterday went to gynae visit and he changed the edd to earlier based to bb's head size. So i think i btr get prepared.

Hmmm....

<table border=1><tr><td><font color="ff0000">MAY 2006 MTBs</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">EDD</TD><TD>Hospital</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Gynae</font></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby's Gender (name)</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>kk</TD><TD>1-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Lim T C</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>angelzwynd</TD><TD>2-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Taurus</TD><TD>3-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr C Y Chen</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>sponge</TD><TD>3-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Girl (Ariel Lim) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Juzmaine</TD><TD>6-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>Boy (Elgin) </TD></TR><TR><TD>twinkle-starry</TD><TD>7-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr C W Lee</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little_Nana</TD><TD>7-May-2006</TD><TD>Portland Hospital , UK</TD><TD>Dr Patrick O'brien</TD><TD>Girl (Kaelyn) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sindy Lee</TD><TD>9-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Catherine</TD><TD>10-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>paradox</TD><TD>12-May-2006</TD><TD>Raffles Hospital</TD><TD>Dr Thong PW</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>lee</TD><TD>12-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Koh C H</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Annie Quah</TD><TD>13-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Koh C H</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>ydnic</TD><TD>14-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lorraine Wang</TD><TD>16-May-2006</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Han H C</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>anastasia</TD><TD>17-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cindy</TD><TD>17-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount E</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>amie</TD><TD>17-May-2006</TD><TD>East Shore Hospital</TD><TD>Dr Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>bookworm</TD><TD>17-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>milo66</TD><TD>18-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD>Boy (Kaeden Cheng) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Eve Lim</TD><TD>18-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>pooh</TD><TD>18-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ivy Yeo</TD><TD>18-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr C W Lee</TD><TD>Boy (Xavier) </TD></TR><TR><TD>yasmin</TD><TD>19-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Girl (Isabel) </TD></TR><TR><TD>QooSan</TD><TD>19-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr LC Foong</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>gummie</TD><TD>19-May-2006</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>Dr Yu Su Ling</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Eswallow</TD><TD>19-May-2006</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>fairysnowberry</TD><TD>20-May-2006</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD>Dr LC Foong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazel</TD><TD>20-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>ino</TD><TD>21-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>may2006baby</TD><TD>21-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>teenoyl</TD><TD>22-May-2006</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chris</TD><TD>23-May-2006</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>fates</TD><TD>25-May-2006</TD><TD>East Shore Hospital</TD><TD>Dr Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>SS1</TD><TD>25-May-2006</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>-tba-</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>bijin</TD><TD>26-May-2006</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Joceyline Wong</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>gabby's mum</TD><TD>26-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount E</TD><TD>Dr Chiew</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Margaret Heng</TD><TD>29-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Y C Goh</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>matched gal</TD><TD>29-May-2006</TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>Dr Dolly Wee</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Sponge,
Pray hard that all our gals have our babies after week 38.. mature bb is more healthier..

(good news)..

Hmm.. so many mtbs choose MT A, i have checked. Daily doc inspection charge $100 exclude GST.

My gf had her natural delivery at MT A on 22 dec. Total charge $2300 for 2 bedded. Paid less than $500 cash after deduction from mediasave ( a simple guide).

This gf had her bb at week 35, cos she is overweight and under strictly meals to follow since she expected on 5th mth as she gained 20kg in mid 2nd trimmester. Initally, to have her c-section on week 38 but she kena sudden contraction one mid 9, end up natural delivery.

So, anyone with hypertension, overweight, bb overweight, bb stop growing due (gynea will state) be prepare to have early premature delivery. Get ready to welcome baby to this wonderful world..

bookworm,
Heard TAKA will have a baby fair from 3rd March to ... (dunno when) ... fyi :p

Scott,
Next Sat, you mean 4th March? All the MTBs seems busy :p

Milo, milo, how are you.....

there is a upcoming Baby fair in Singapore Expo, i think. Cannot rem when it is.....

scott,
you work on sats too? so poor thing =(

Btw,
who is the mtb that have to be bed rest for a long while? How are you now?

Want to check, anyone buy storage bag to store your squeezed milk into milk bottle when you go back to work?
is it a must? i got fridge in my co but dun have nursey room, so have to express the milk during lunch break in the toilet, put it in the freeze n bring home after that. is it ok?
However, the milk will deforst on my journey back home.. is it ok?

Hi MTBs,

Found the info below.

Baby Care festival
10-12 March
Singapore Expo Hall 5B

Motherhood exhibition 06
31 May - 4 June
Singapore Expo Hall 5A

look like we only can make it to the baby fair

Ivy,

Wah! thanks for your great help. havent come across this thing only heard of it. Ok! i go to the website to book 1.

For those whose havent book a massage lady, here are some information:
Traditional Malay/Indonesian Massage Pre &amp; Post-Natal :
Mdm Jamilah Tel: 6-8530153 / Pager: 92077371
Mdm Naini. Mobile 94562817, Tel 62190062.
Mdm Fauziah. Tel: 91993324
Mariam Rawi, Aesthetician &amp; Physiotherapist (Indah Faidah Traditional Salon), HP : 9067 2482
Mdm Dolly Lim, (at customer's house), Contact HP: 97386081

Hopefully, useful to everyone

Hi gals, Ivy,

Hope this information helps:

Local Confinement Practices

No Bathing in your 1st Month? Sounds intolerable, huh? It's something that I cannot pull through myself, but if this is a practice you believe in, there are some ways to make it more tolerable:

1. Herbal bath
This may be acceptable on ocasional basis. Most confinement nannies or grandmothers taking care of you will know how to prepare such a steaming hot bath according to their own "recipe". If not, you can probably purchase pre-packed packages from the Chinese Medical Halls for post-natal baths. Alternatively, you can use products that have been formulated specially for this purpose. Some stores like Little Dreamers carry a range of such organic products for these purposes.

2. No-water cleansing
Try PhysiOBebe by Mustela.. You can buy this from most pharmacies or at Robinsons Dept Store. It is a no rinse cleansing fluid that is linically proven mild. Enriched with aloe vera to hydrate and saponaria extract to dissolve dirt, this hypoallergenic fluid is light and truly refreshing! My husband with his oily skin loves it for the convenience of cleaning his face during the day at work without the risk of wetting his best shirt &amp; tie!

3. No-rinse Shampoo
For those with long hair especially, not washing the hair would be a torture. Try a no-rinse shampoo to keep it clean. There is a powder-like brand in the market that comes in a purple bottle. Most pharmacies have it. You can try NTUC pharmacy. You can also try other brands like No-rinse Shampoo &amp; Body Bath.

Qoosan,
i think twinkle-starry taught me how to wash when i posted earlier on.
Vinegar and water to soap it help to sterilse. think you have to refer back.

qoosan,

actually, baby laundry detergent will work just as well. But if you are free, its better to handwash it. According to some old folks, BB will slp better if the clothes are gently handwashed.

scott,
i added you to my msn. =)

Mei Feng,

Welcome to the thread! Maybe you wanna update us on your details for Fates to include you in the table.

Hi Ivy,

Ur gynae shifted ur EDD to an earlier date based on measurement of bb's head?

So, they are able to judge based on measurement of bb's head.. guess wat, i went for check up yesterday and my gynae measured the bb's head and delayed my EDD! From 1 May to 11 May! Now me and hubby confused lah, dunno when the bb is actually coming out hahaha... if too early, we will really get the shock. U still remember what's the length of ur bb's head?

Hi to the rest of the ladies! Have been busy so have not been popping by this thread often. For those who are using ABD laundry detergent for bb clothes, can buy at CK department store.So far i find it the cheapest, at $5.85 for 1.5 kg. Much cheaper than pigeon brand i think. And the detergent is good. my SIL has been using it for her 3 kids. It smells nice too

Come to think of it, i have not been doing much recently to prepare for arrival of bb. I think we better start soon. I need to wash the clothes and other stuff. My mum is helping me to wash the nappies and hands-me-down this weekend.

My info for updating in the May table"

EDD: May 10, 2006
Hospital: Mount A
Gynae: Doc Y.C Goh
Baby: Boy (Joshua)

Nice meeting you all! I have been learning a lot from this wonderful forum!

kk,

i forgot the measurement liao, next appt is on the 16th March. Will rem it and we do our comparison.
Actually its true that edd shld be based on our LMP, but i think if BB is growing fast and bigger, then gynae will suggest to induce earlier, esp if the head is getting bigger.
My colleague's sister just delivered 2 weeks ago. The edd was delayed by 2.5 weeks cos BB just not ready to come out and she dun want to induce. Guess wat, the BB is 3.95kg and 53cm long, and it is delivered by c-sect. I took out my ruler to measure and 53cm is really big for a NB!

thks for all your care and concern!

i am finally back at work today after my 2 weeks MC..

went for my glucose tolerance test last friday..sigh.. didnt pass thus have to monitor my sugar intake else have to be admitted to jab insulin

bb wt at 27 weeks 5 days is 1.242 kg!

Hihi Mei Feng! Welcome to the thread

Welcome back kk! Ya seems like the most accurate EDD is based on how big is the baby's head...mine keep changing too! It's became June 2006! But based on other measurement like stomach (AC) it's in May 2006.

Ooohh welcome back too Milo! What happened? I thought you don't have any diabetes history?
Did yr gynae say your boy is average size? or big?

HI Scott! I'd added you in MSN too

Was on MC for 4 days last week. Back to work today. So sianz.

Milo, welcome back. Need to cut down on sugar and cutting down on carbo might help too! But its easier said than done. Your baby at very good weight.

hi Milo &amp; yasmin,

Do take care ...seems like now we getting heavier ...more n more problems surfacing .... also notice that my joints become so painful every morning after i wake up and my back also ache like hell .... 8(