(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

hi yasmin,
yah - quite unpredictable (when bb coming out), dat's y i want to buy the things to pack now. Btw, could you remember what you packed the last time? Me planning to go buy dis week/next week... Also, what does Mt A provide/dun provide (i.e. charge us)? I'm also planning to deliver there leh - tho i hvn't signed wif them (and dat's y they hvn't sent me the admin letter, i tink? ) Thanks!!

Hi Milo,

Take care and have plentiful of rest ....

Hi ydnic,

From wat I heard from my friends, most of them use the manual pump...coz they say easier to control the pressure as compared to the electric wan which can be quite painful ...jus imagine if u dun have enough milk supply for the first few days n the thing keep pulling .... ouch ... they say sometimes will even have blood come out..... Arrrrgggghhh ...so scary ...

Hi matched gal,

My gyane actually asked if I have start packing my bags yet during my last visit n I gave her the blur blur look ...haha... tot only packed ard 36 wks ... but i think its good to pack early incase BB decided to pop earlier ...ekekek ... I think we also need to pack all the medical reports like blood test results when we check in the hospital ...its all with my gyane and she ask me to tell her once i have pack my bags n she will give me the whole set of reports to pack into my bag ..

fairysnowberry,

your group is so lucky! We went for the tour as well (7pm class) but only 1 mtb left and she is still waiting in the observation ward, so no babies to see!

yes, the video is quite scary! But my stupid hubby say, see..its so easy! So fast!
I knocked his head cos its fast due to the editing of the video! siao man...

hi matched gal,
Things packed for myself
- 1 dress when discharged
- 1 pack of sanitary pad (loop)
- disposable undies (last time delivered in Mt E, they provided me with 2 disposable undies)
- toiletries( powder, soap, toothbrush, toothpaste etc)
- make-up (which I did not use in the end)
- a pair of thermal socks
- a sweater
- cushioned slippers (sold at Bata, watsons)
- perfume (did not want to stink when visitors came)
- towel
- basin (this was provided by Mt E to 'wash' my wound in salt water)
baby stuff
None cos knew that baby will be in NICU for some time aft birth. But the following is wat i intend to pack this time ard.
- baby blanket
- mittens and booties
- 1 top+1 pants+cardigan+1 cap
- 1 dress + fanciful headband (since its a gal) this outfit is specially for the special prayers for NB in Mt A.
- small bottle of powder (travel pack, I bought recently which has powder, shampoo, moisturizer and shower cream)
- 1 sterilized milk bottle
- 3 hankies ( to place below baby's chin when giving milk)

Hospitals normally provide and is billed.
- diapers
- wipes
- FM milk (MT E, they gave me rubber teats, 2 FM milk bottles. Their FM is already in liquid form. No need to mix water and FM powder.)
- Mt A provide baby tub.

Matched gal,
I will go and have a look at the admission letter frm Mt A and update you tomorrow on the paper documents necessary.
Also, now that we can claim from medisave the pre-natal checkups up to 450. We must remember to bring along the receipts.

Hi ydnic

I bot the Nuk bottles. Bot four 125ml and four 260ml bottles.

As for the steriliser, I bot the Philips 3-in-1 steaming centre which consists of a steriliser, a milk bottle heater and a steamer for baby food.

If you are planning to buy Avent bottles, you have to get the Avent steriliser as the wide-necked bottles will be able to fit properly into the steriliser.

Happy Shopping

hi fairysnowberry n ivy,

I attend the sun afternoon class ...Mrs Wong also tell us the sat class very lucky ...get to see the NB BB ...

Hahah ... after watching the video hubby say its not as scary as he had imagine but insisted tt I go for epidural coz he see the lady delivery with ease with epidural .. no screaming no pain ....

HI paradox,

How much did u pay for the philips 3-in-1 steaming centre??

Went for BB shopping last weekend ...went to BB kingdom n hypermart last sat but bought nothing ...too confusing liao..too much choices ...see until blur blur ...

hi milo,
sorry to hear about happened. do take care!

ydnic,
based on my 2 girlfriends' advice, i bought Pigeon bottles. If you buy Avent, other brand of teats cannot fit the bottles. but for Pigeon, the teat sizes are standard so can buy those non-branded ones to fit the bottles.
as for breast pump, i also heard manual one is better.

hi fairysnowberry,
woah...i tink i will freak out too if i see the video on deliveries...eEeEe...i'm very very scared about the labour process. ;-( Ok...whoever is early next week, we chop places for each other, ok? i'm definitely going for next sat's class. ;-)

hi Taurus,

i was at BB kingdom and hypermart yesterday. we were overwhelmed by all the prams and car seats. bought a cradle at hypermart but spent over $150 at the other shop. they give discount on certain items.

Threw up real bad for the last few days! Wonder if I am too stressed. Anyone feeling bad and throwing up like me?

Bottles
As my no 1 and 2 are still going to drink milk, I will only buy the teats for no 2. From what I experienced, think that the wide neck bottle, like Avent ones are good for those giving fm as its easier to scope milk in. However, my fussy no 1 only likes rubber teats from NUK in the early days. I think it was softer than silicon ones. So will do the same for no 2. As I intend to bf for sometime, I think wont invest too much on bottles yet.

Milo
Take care

hi milo,
do take care okies(!). Rest well...

hi taurus,
i also hvn't packed a single thing yet ;p wow, dinno we've to pack the reports too ah... tink will ask my gynae next visit then. Thanks!

hi yasmin,
thanks for your list!
Dinno there's so many tings to prepare ah... btw, do u noe if Mt A provides basin? If not, we've to get our own ah? Hmmm, duno where to get leh....

oh yah, lucky u reminded me about the receipts... cham, i've to go luk for them now... hope they're still ard ;p

hi sponge,

me in the saturday class. Nevetheless, the 2nd class was quite useful - though i quite regret never bring pen to write down notes ah (had to quickly write down during break-time using "take-attendance" pen ;)). Have u started doing the exercises yet? Me lazy to do ... tink muz start - wait delivery no strength to 'push'...

Hi Taurus

I bot the philips 3-in-1 steaming centre at $99 at last year's philips carnival sale. Usual price is $199.

I also went to baby hypermart 2 weeks ago and bot a stroller. What are u planning to get?

Hi all...wow...so a breastpump is necessary? Dun wan to spend too much yet.
So nobody recommends Avent bottles?Seems like its very common but yet impractical.

Hi Ivy,

Huh yr hubby said labour so easy ah? My hubby said aiyo labour is such a scary process! His face was all squirmed up when he was watching the video. And he kept telling me not to see if im scared.

Hi Taurus,
Yeah we were v fortunate. We heard the BB's loud cries when we were in the labour room and Mrs Wong said wah a baby has just arrived into the world. When we stepped out, she asked the father of the bb if we can stand ard to see his bb being weighed and measured and he agreed. So we all stood ard, amazed at the sight of the newborn baby :=)

Hi Ino,
Okie whoever who is earlier will chop seats for the other this Sat. We shall sit where we used to ok? Against the mirror. Mrs Wong actually read out yr name before the class ended just to make sure u are not there and not that u forgot to sign the attendance.

Hi paradox,

Wow, so good deal for you ... almost half the usual price ...

Initially we are looking at the Maxi-cosy Quinny stroller but when we check out the prices ... we almost faint on the spot...hahah ... i think the total price is S$1034 after discount! Hubby quite tempted to buy but I find it abit waste of moni .... so keep discouraging him ... 8) ....

The salesgal showed us some maclaren stroller but i dun quite like the look ... so in the end go back empty handed ... 8( ... but i think we will be going back to buy the BB cot which can convert to toddler bed later on .... cannot remember which store got better deal ...

Hi taurus,

Me got it from BB Kingdom.the one with the 15% discount...My opinion its quite a good buy. Anyway its almost the same...islandwide...

Hi Taurus

I was looking at the Quinny and Maclaren strollers too. But hubby din like 3-wheel strollers and Maclaren din have the safety bar in front.

I finally bot the Peg Perego Pilko P3 stroller after comparing their functions with a few other brands. Find it very stable and comfy. Baby hypermart gave us quite a good price for the latest 2006 model.

I'm also looking for a baby cot which can convert to a toddler bed. How much does the baby cot at baby hypermart cost?

<font color="ff0000">matched_gal</font>,
did you went on Fri or Sat for the 1st lesson on diet? we checked with Mount A but they said no more space on Sat

yup, started on those workouts.. gotta be prepared for the actual day.. hehee

<font color="ff0000">paradox</font>,
how much did you pay for the Peg Perego Pilko P3 from baby hypermart? we are eyeing on the same one too, juz a matter of choosing a color we both like

sponge,
me went on Fri for first lesson. Fri's class got many days' classes combined (cos lecture room got lots of space
Me signed up quite early, so got into the Saturday class. Anyway, weekdayz i usually can't make it at 6:30pm... too rushed for me &amp; hubby ah...

Hi sponge

I got it at $480 inclusive of 1 year warranty commencing from baby's date of birth. Usual price for the 2006 model is $569.

Baby hypermart carries almost the full range of colours for the 2006 model. Which colour are u planning to get?

matched_gal,
Friday is also too rush for both of us but we dun really have a choice now.

paradox,
We are thinking of either the baby blue or the "beach-pattern" one leh. which color did you bought?

Hi gabby's mum,

ME too ...recently nauseous back n a few times throw up after meals .... check with gyane but she says that maybe I didnt have enuff rest .... 8(

Hi paradox,

I saw the Peg Perego wan as well but was too confuse until give up... maybe will go back another day to see again ...keke... me n hubby like 2 blur stotong down there .... kekek

Cannot remember the price of the BB cot at hypermart ... I think there are few prices due to different kind of Wood ...one is pine wood (rd S$200 plus) ... the other is solid wood (ard S$300 plus). According to the salesgal, they supplied to places like John little n mothercare etc but the only differnt is tt if we buy at hypermart ...the mattress that they give is dunnoe wat air cooling mattress which is suppose to be better ...

Hi sponge

I bot the blue one, similar to highlighter blue with off-white and grey trimming. Very pleased with it

Hi taurus

Oic...I was thinking of getting this cot which I saw at Robinsons &amp; JL. Think it's $299 for the wood one and $329 for the white one.

hei hei ino and fairysnowberry (and Taurus, and Ivy - hope u feeling better),
i was at a sun 1230 class cos hubby not ard on sat so asked if can go for just 1 session on sun so both can make it and they allowed. Were you there too, Taurus??? Well, missed saying hei to another mtb then..
Yes...I totally agree....the videos totally freaked me out...OUCHHHHHHHH!!!!! My goodness. Quite disgusting to see our v**** stretch to the impossible 10cm hor....yucky yucks...and why all the women practically naked one...i think Asian women more reserved...won't be like that in labour ward lah hor...

HOnestly, I very scared of the after-effects of epidural tho i really dunno my pain threshold...as well episiotomy...ouch....wat cut my perinuem....wah lau....:p

And I think damn embarrassing to shit while pushing....my goodness....ino, u are totally not alone...i am very very scared of labour...that's why i thot i may not have the guts to get pregnant...now...sigh...too late...haha...

Indeed, ino...i guess u might hv missed a bit if u like me gian the exercises...the revision was good...esp for hubby who wasn't there on 1st lesson. Yes...let's sit at the same places this week...i am on my own this sat...maybe will drag mum...maybe not...cos both days hubby also working so no choice...chop places for each other ok??? hee. *so fun to have kakis in same class*

Now, to give my 5 cents worth on the other matters discussed...

DISCHARGE
yes...i suppose it's normal...i can feel an increase in discharge too...stretchy...r we on right track??

STERILIZER
i got a hand-me-down from my sister which is the kind that you sterilise by putting in microwave....my sister - mother of two - says it's v convenient...so for mothers out there who haven't bought any...it's about $15 - 19 *saw the exact on sold at TMC pharmacy that sun*..it's a transparent cover with a coloured base...

Breast PUMP
yes...i think manual might be better tho i think i might give my sister's hand-me-down electric one a shot cos she said can be tiring having to press and press...but i also agree that the manual one might be kinder to us ftm....eee...got blood one meh...so scary sounding.

STROLLER, COTS etc.
As for stroller, we haven't bought any tho my silly hubby has his eyes fixed on APRICA...sigh...*pocket burn hole liao*...but I think McLaren wheels are quite sturdy except no bar in front for child to hold/security...otherwise, the quinny looks great but damn heavy...heard the peg pegro not bad....tell us more k?
cheers for now....mummies are indeed the noble ones.....

oh btw, experienced mummies out there...please advise...why must buy loop sanitary pads...and is it true that the blood flow lasts for quite a while...up to even a month...my goodness. *faint*

So which brand of breatpump ur recommend?
Medela or avent?
Haiz...this year too many cousins getting preggy...so no choice got to buy all ourself ...."siong"...

i dunno....avent has the problem of being exclusive...meaning...once u use their bottles or stuff...everything must be the same brand otherwise won't fit...also heard avent tend to be more expensive than the others...i am going with pigeon for my bottles ... but on manual breast pump...i really dun noe if medela is good brand...me lost too...

hi chris,

yeah! what fun! look forward to sat's class now. i heard so much about epitosomy that i'm realli very scared. As for the exercise, i dun realli do. Tried the kegel exercise tho but feel funny lei. I have the 3 books written by Mrs Wong. One of which shows all the exercise in pictures! so can used it as a guide , just in case i wanna exercise.

oh...the sh**ing portion. I tot it sounds disgusting ...hope it doesn't happen to us. ;-P. can't imagine giving birth to my gal in a pool of s*** eEeEeEe...

At first, i want to be "Hero" and opt out for epidural but my hubby persuaded me otherwise (coz he noes my pain threshold is veri veri low). Even my gynae knows my "kuan" and advised me to go for epi....hehehehe

As for breast pump, for series BF mums, i heard it's betta to get the dual types. Coz milk flows from the 2 breasts at the same time and it's less time-consuming if we do 2 at the same time (tho i think we will all look like a cow. ;O

I heard the brand, Ameda , is not too bad and there's a trial set for rental to try on. Medela is, of coz, the superior breastpump brand, just like Aprica for strollers. But it's really very expensive...so still thinking whether to invest or not.

Aprica is good and lightwt but it's really expensive. Think can go to this Aprisin website...they are the distributors for Aprica. If your frens/relatives happen to go to Japan, can ask them to help you buy. Apparantly it's cheaper there (but it still costs over $700)...urghhh.

Hi Taurus,

the nauseous feeling is coming back for me too. ;-( No appetite to eat dinner and i feel tired very easily. Plus i find my gums ultra sensitive and bleed easily when i brush...Wanted to go dentist but i tink i will start getting so breathless the moment i lie flat on the dentist chair. ;-(

Gals: have your appetite increased? mine has. I'm now eating like 4 meals a day. ;-(

chris,
i brought pigeon brand for breast pump cos my sis is using.. quite good.
Yap. avent brand is v expensive n make no sense that the milk bottles size are difference compare to other brand.. enforce you to use the same brand.. not a good choice.

ino and chris,

the parentcraft room at TMC do sell the medela brand, and i heard its at a discount price plus highly recommended. I think i might seriously consider that.

Chris,
i think loop sanitary pads is becos in case its too difficult to wear the panties.

For stroller,
My hubby wanted the quinny but i think it is really big and heavy. My boot will be ultimate full with a big stroller....so still considering...

ino,

my appetite decreased but weight keep increasing! Already hit the 10kg mark this week,(28 week).
Siao liao, i was hoping to gain 10kg for the whole 40 weeks, now no hope liao....

gals,
v gd morning.. my foot is now swollen like pig leg.. n all the joints are getting much painful than before.. anyone experience that?
Seem like having high water retention.. bad for kidney.. any good suggestion to ease the water retention part?.

Ydnic,
i got it @ robinson.. the selling price is $101, battery operated breast pump with natural suction.. if only battery operated cost only $89 then manual pump only $59. Brought during the sale, got 20% discount + 5% rebate for card member.

Hi Chris,

Great to be able to see you again at this Sat's class :=)

Huh Ivy, what do you mean by difficult to wear panties? Can elaborate? Sorri maybe i sua ku but if difficult to wear panties, does it mean we are to go without panties for the entire 1-2 days after giving birth?!!??

Ino, I am one with super low pain threshold so i dont think i am brave enough to go without Epidural. Aiyoh i hate to think that besides the painful contractions and the epidural jab, we have to go through episiotomy as well! Mrs Wong said most Caucasians dont need episiotomy but Asians need cos our perinueum supposed to be thicker! Gosh!

fairysnowberry,

i am not too sure either. just that i saw some mothers wearing the green gown after birth when i was staying at TMC. Dunno if it is too painful or troublesome to be slipping in and out of panties and outerwear, so loop kind maybe easier.
That's my guess.

Maybe 2nd time mummies can share with us more?

hEI INO,
how much are the books by Mrs wong? Saw it at the TMC pharmacy..but no price tag. Good or not?? Should buy or not...actually, we are hopeful about having no. 2 but now, after those very scary realistic labour videos...I am keeping my mouth shut jus in case i eat my own words...haha...really like a girl... just bought our first romper for little one...*quite exciting* but options are so so limited...*wish secretly it's a girl...sure dress up like crazy...* haha.

Re: sanitary pads
Hospital will provide us wth one package of loop sanitary pads. Reading from those early MTB thread, mummies tend to prefer the adhesive one. So, i think prob we can prepare the adhesive one since hospital is giving us the loop one.

Re: Water retention
My gynae advice me to drink more water to reduce the water retention. Try to advoid salty or sweet stuffs.

chris,
Mrs wong say that she will bring her stocks during class, i think have a discount. I am not sure about the prices either but i have it with me at home cos i got it free when i signed up for the FBI card. Maybe you want to pop by my place to pick it up to read first? I finished reading liao.

Let's hope we still have the courage to go for the 2nd one and let it be a girl! haha....

hi ivy

during my first preggy, i had c-sec and wore their green gown for the operation. after the next day when they had took out my drip, i changed to my nursing dress and bathe...well, i guess for normal delivery, u will still need to wear their green gown and after everything is over,u can changed to ur liking in ur ward ...

hi chirs,

are u a first time mum?? if yes, u can 'invest' in Mrs wong 's collection of books...i got it free as i sign up the Subsequent BORN INCENTIVE. thou i'm a 2nd time mum, i still find it useful as i gave birth to my no1 two yrs ago...

Ino, your image of us like cows being milked very funny...can't help but laugh to myself *my colleagues going to think i siao*....
Where can we find out more about the brand, Ameda? Do you know how much for sale and for rental? Ivy, how much is the Medela one?

Yeah...I agree that Aprica is good and lightwt and i think my crazy hubby going to buy for sure - and he's always looking out for it in Japan. Perhaps when he buys already, i can fill u girls in.

Gums bleeding v. normal....all pregnancy books say that....just be careful...i think no need esp see dentist but can consult gyne lor. I agree that appetite has improved - at least for me too....however my fren who's in mid 3rd tri has no appetite...so i guess it really differs from person to person again...

Ivy, take heart...I have also gained abt 9kg since...boo hoo hoo...and my stretch marks have appeared despite being v dilligent with stretch marks cream since beginning of preggie. sigh. warned my hubby already...not hopeful that i will resume much aft child-birth... sigh.

hi chris!
I dun noe...coz i got the bks free when i applied for the TMC card. I think Mrs Wong sells them but most prob, she will only bring it at the end of all her classes. The content is similar to what she teaches at the class.

yeah...i got my cousin to get some bb clothes from UK as well (e.g. Marks and Spencer, Mothercare)....exciting, right?

ok, thanks, pooh for sharing...will def look into buying the books then. yeah, ivy...will prob borrow the books from u to see look too...wah...so nice, all of u get it for free huh...*jealous* now, i quite gian this whole TMC thingy...wat to do...i'm stuck to glen...

any 2nd time mummies out there who changed a gyne for 2nd preggie??? do people do that???

yes, will be looking forward to seeing you, ino and fairysnowberry on sat....will be doing some shopping at the tmc pharmacy this time round cos saw some discounts, quite attractive...

yes, experienced mummies out there...please share on this sanitary pad thingy...loop or no loop...previously didn't know that there will be blood flow...looks like we paying back for no menses for 9 months like that....LOL.