(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Gummie,
think i read duno whose is going to australia for holiday.. stated that her gynea's advise is that dun go for travel 1 mth b4 labour..
think u still can, y not call up yr gynea to check? shouldnt b a prob..
major prob will be with yr heavy tummy still have to carry the luaggage all by yr own.. might cause backache..should bring along those pregancy waist supporting belt(phyamcy selling)..

do bring multi vitamin n thick cloth to avoid catching flu.. else v v tough for you..take care

Fates
No scan during my next check up. Even have also, dunno can see or not. My neck very long already!!!

Annie
Don't be so bad lah...congratulate me some more!! I'm refraining myself from buying new clothes now. If boy, then wear ko ko's clothes, if girl, see how lah!

Gummie
You better dun bring big luggage. Bring small trolley ones. Is it cold in Shanghai now?

hi gummies,

I am going for the class tmr . See u !!

abt luggage,
how abt asking those passengers waiting for the same batch of luggage to help you . Once they help you with your luggage , you can push it on your own right? Worst case, any chance not to go ?

Zach's mum,

haha..save $$ to buy bb clothes dear.. my colleague jus passed me her son clothes..
wah! all expensive stuffs, all branded, espirit, ko ko, lots of brand.. for me, i dun bother abt the brand, so long, can use will do..

Good Morning!
Gummie, its me going to Australia next mth. I have my HB to help me with the luggage and since I following tour, tour guide shld be able to help out too. I think travelling shld be ok and am sure there will be pple kind enough to help out with your luggage but are you able to cope doing things all alone. It can be quite stressful especially now that you are into your last trimester. If it is cold in Shanghai than your luggage sure heavier cos need to bring the necessary appareals. But if you are used to travelling alone, think you shld be fine. Dont worry yourself unnecessarily ok. Take care.

Forgot to mention to you gals, my gynae gave me a CD capturing the images done during my detailed scan. There was 3-D images as well as 4-D too. Very exciting.

Fates, I've decided on my gal's name. ISABEL. Kindly update the listing with the name pls. Thank you very much.

yasmin,
so good, your gynae scan yr bb all in 3 n 4 D imagine? mY gynea only have the ultra sound scan every mthly on my tummy..only 1s, 3D, can see clearly face expression..hopefully, this coming gynea check up, will oso do a 3 D..
how much yr gynea package?

Hi Annie, gynae package is $1,500. To be paid in 2 payments. $750 at 12wk and another $750 at 30wk. With 1 FOC 3D scan but can upgrade to unlimited 3D, must pay a few hundred more.

annie, ss1,
i dun have a big problem with backaches now, but these days my tummy is big enough to make me feel clumsy. it's still cold in Shanghai now, but i will be having meetings in the hotel most of the time. i just hav to try and refrain from going out. have to travel light, else with a laptop, i dunno how to cope...

twinkle,
good to know u're going for the class tomoro

i can opt not to go, but i will have to support my colleague here from Singapore... i still have to do all the reports for her if she goes, which is difficult if i don't attend the meetings myself...

thanks Yasmin,
i don't know if i should count on anyone to help me, and in Shanghai, people are always rushing around... that's why i think i shd stay put in the hotel n not go out unnecessarily.

Yasmin,
Wah! tats a penny really count a difference leh.. my package for pre-natal is only $500. i should content my gynea let me saw 1 3D last mth.

gummie,
oh! in this case, you better work and attend the meeting yourself.. much better..
Think take one or 2 pcs of big sweater that enough to keep yourself warm is enough..wool underwear helps a lot or heat pack last for 12hrs (light).
think have to walk slowly n wear flat shoes.. not with heel

yasmin,
$1500 oso inc for c-section? so good? my gf told me her $1.5k oso inc everything, then hosp oso billed her specialist fee for her natural delivery.. she said she will check with her gynea on her next apptm with him..

$500 (for 3rd mths onwards till delivery). 1st 3 mth, charge individual, not more than $85. 1 time each mth for normal, unless for those whose have abortion, miscarriage b4 then required 2 times each mth.

$500 for natural delivery n $1.2k for c-section. this will bill at the hosp bill under specialist fees charge.

Regarding cordlife, the website i provided just now, for stem cord collection.
according to e website, charges charge individually depend on which hosp you are in.
e charges they stated there, if you deliver at NUH. My gf's sis delivered at KK, charged 1st charge is $1.2k then $250 sebsquence year..

Hi yasmin,

Wow ur S$1500 oso include delivery charges ah ... so good ...for my gynae pkg which starts from 5th month onwards ... already cost me S$950 ...and the delivery charges irregardless of normal or C-sect is S$1200 .... 8( ... and not even one single 3D scan .... very tempted to go n do a 3D scan just to see how BB looks like inside the womb ...8)

Hi ivy,

yeap he say ok but too strenuous exercise cannot do. Can go there and listen lor. Plus tmr i think there is a topic on husband's role

Yasmin,

Mind to check with you? think you have to ask your hubby on my behalf regarding this leuka... illness (white blood cell eat red blood).
My father in law had this illness 10 years back, at the age of 38+, was admitted to hosp n doc at that time stated his illness was cruical and might die anytime.. luck was on his side, managed to get some 1 2 donate the bone stuff for him, saved his life..
My hubby n his 2 brothers dun have such illness up till now. However, will my son have it or not? You know the so call the next gap generation suffer the illness.

anatasia,
i only know that next to Shun Li industrial (baby hypermart, bedok north secondary beside it. my colleague told me. sorry, cos he drives there.. then just told me like tat..

Hi anastasia,

here u go,
bb hypermart - 91 Kaki Bukit Ave 1 , Shun Li Industrial Park

bb kingdom - 85 Kaki Bukit Ave 1, Shun Li Industrial Park

twinkle-starry,

is bb hypermart at 61 or 91? cos i searched the forum and saw another member listing it as 61. sorry but i dun want to go searching and end up at wrong address.

anastasia,
when are u going, if not so fast, then after i go then tell u can? cos i intend to go there in march..
bb kingdom should have contact no.. mayb u call 100 to ask..

Annie,
i plan to go this weekend. i hope to finish shopping for the necessities by next weekend as my new maid is coming. i need my mother to go with me and we cannot leave the maid alone at home.

anastasia,

guess you have the same worry as most new employers, afraid to leave the maid alone at home. I had the same feeling at first too, but after a couple of weeks, you will learn to let go this feeling, else the maid will be like a sticker to you and your mum.
I have trained the maid even to take the mrt alone to come to my place from my mum's house....

Annie,

It's spelled - CongRaTUlations, not 'congulation'. Sorry - reading your English makes me very queasy. Try and read preview before you post lah. Just friendly suggestion. Also, you tend to err on the caution and get quite paranoid reading, watching, hearing stuff. We have to be careful with what we post here lest we put other mummies into unnecessary worry, worse - panic. Perhaps you can reserve some of your more negative thoughts to yourself and ask/comment on things more generally and objectively. I dun think I'm d only one who's saying all these...remember others telling u nicely before. Dun take this the wrong way, we are all here to learn, most of us being first-time mummies. cheers.

have just been discharged from the hosp
was bleeding on tues morn then admitted to hosp, heng bb is ok.. ask the doc but dun seems to be cause by low placenta leh.. he gave me a jap to support the preg and some hormone pills to take. really frighten me to bits, somemore hubby not ard

ivy,

u feeling better now? still taking the med?

Milo
Take care! Did the doctor say what could be the cause? lately I also find that when I'm too tired (from walking or carrying #1), the discharge seem to be more. Some times I'm also worried that water bag may break early like last time. Take care!!

Fates
Are you attending the talk next Saturday?

February almost over...any meet up?

milo,

i have cut down on walking alot. No on medication but seeing gynae every 2 weeks rather than the usual 3 weeks. So far so good, but i do see an increase in discharge is i am super tired for that day.
Maybe you try to cut down on walking and work stress, shld help.

Milo,
Gosh, must be a real scare for you! thankfully both bb and you are ok. take care yah..

ss1 & Ivy,
This increase in discharge is normal right? Realised that my discharge has only increased recently, and its more sticky and yellowish..at 1st thot i have infection.. but no itch leh?

any of you started to wash baby's clothings yet? hehee i've started my 'laundry' today.. fwah.. nvr realise we actually bought so many clothes until we wash them!

Hi Milo, oh dear! You feeling better now? Are you still on MC? Are you very stressed because of work, that's why the bleeding? You must be so scared since your hubby not around. Take care ya?

Yo SS1, nah I don't think I'm going because got something on that afternoon. U going? Guess nobody is interested in the meetup this month :p
Maybe March 2006..

Hi sponge, baby clothings? Nahh..haven't got the NB hand-me-downs from my MIL..maybe next month or April

You are fast eh!!!

Hey girls...

I have been reading the thread. This lazy MTB is too lazy to update and post msg :p Jus went to visit my OBS on Fri, as usual no scan for me this round. I've gotta wait till 32th wks to check on fetal growth... (Wat a long wait man!!!)

Hi Milo...

Are you feeling better?? Rest more and gotta take care whlist ur Hb not around. Get some family support too.. Dun get too stress up

Hi sponge..

Wow.. u r faster than me. Waiting for my non-biological wash to arrive on monday hahaha.. shld be starting soon.. hehehe reali excited to fold nappies and bb's clothings kekekeke.. Hey i've oso realised that i've bot too many cothings for my ger too.. Jialat!!! luckily daddy did not check on bb's closet, i bet he'll scream when he see the stack of clothings hahahaha....

Hi fates, SS1...

Wow gng to have another gathering.. hey not to forget to bring along a digital camera.. Wat a shame that we did not take a pix during the last meeting... haiz... Anyhow gotta remember this round and post the pix on the webbie.

Hello girls,
Went shopping for bb things last weekend.Bought a bb cot from bb kingdom.Was having a sale.
Anyway, what type of milk bottles do u girls buy?how many 125ml bottle and 260ml bottle did u girls get?Which brand is better?I saw AVENT bottle.Havent get any bottles yet, would like to hear your opinions.

sponge,
my gynae said that the yellowish, sticky discharge is yeast infection, although i dun feel itchy at all. Guess you better ask your gynae to do a check for you.

ydnic,
I have not bought any bottles, but the sterilizer that i bought came with 6 free bottles. So i think it shld suffice. But i think it does not come with teats, must go home and check it out first.

Girls,
I think we bought a lot of stuff for BB, but nothing for ourselves yet! haha...I am thinking to start look ard for nursing wear, shld get at least 2 pcs to standby?

hi chris,

did you go mrs wong's class on Sunday? i played truant and skipped her sat's class. ;-P...can't make it that day. praying that i didn't miss anything much...heard that she wld bring the class to the labour ward...was it intimidating?

hi milo,
deardear...must take care. i can understand the scare that you went thru'. Take care of yourself and get more rest in bed. Even if you must walk, walk very very slowly...like an old granny...;-)We are approaching our last lap of the pregnancy...so hang on! We are with you!

hi ydnic,
woah...so fast! so how much did you pay for your cot? Can it convert to a toddler bed? i'm still taking my own sweet time, trying to clear my room. ;-P i asked my parents on the things to buy (e.g. bb powder, detergent, lotion, etc) and they seem quite relaxed about it...hehehhe

Hi Ivy, u have bought a sterilizer with bottles?
How much is it?Whats the brand? Me still undecisive whether need to buy a sterilizer...

ydnic,

we got the pigeon brand, think the price is $129 before discount, and yes, it came with the free bottles.

Actually if the caregiver is okie abt boiling the bottles in a pot everyday, then dun have to get the sterilizer. But my mum want me to get it cos she was too lazy to boil...haha...She said she have enough of these troublesome stuff while bringing up the 3 of us!

hi ino, have bought it but request delivery in april.have checked out the prices of most places n found the price to be the same.unless u wan someting more expensive and new version etc if not i tink the cot i bought is good enough.I bought for $270, it have all the functions necessary n can convert to toddler bed.Can be used up to 7 or 8 yrs of age..depends on ur kids' development of coz.

Hi Ivy,we did think of boiling it...but hubby insist on buying one sterilizer...Usually guys are more ignorant on these things...hehe..

Good Morning!

Seems like all of us have an increase in our discharge. My gynae too had warned me that infection cld cause early delivery. Since my 1st was born in 35 wks, he wants me to monitor closely my discharge, looking out for smells and coloured discharge. My gynae even asked me to smell my panty leh. When he said that I was so embarrassed. Ever since then, my HB will ask me everyday whether I smelled my panty, so disgusting. One of these days going to throw my panty at him and ask him to smell. Hahahaha...

Ivy, you got a very good deal leh. Where did you purchase the sterilizer frm?

yasmin,

i got it from John Little during the 20% disc last year.
Eh, did your doc say what kind of infection will cause early delivery? I got yeast infection but my doc din warn me abt early delivery....

Ivy, my gynae just said infection. But did not specify if vagina infection or urine infection. I also have a drop of brown discharge, not everyday but maybe 2x a wk or once a wk. My gynae said as long not everyday got its ok. He also mentioned cld be due to BD. Very funny. My HB gave me a funny look cos me and HB have not BDed since we found out of the preggie. He was like who have you been sleeping with? He was just joking.

Milo, pls take care of yourself. Me too wld have been terrified, especially since you were alone. You are really brave! Kudos to you. God bless both you and your baby. Everything will be smooth and fine, dont worry!

Wondering if any of you has packed your "emergency" bag? I've juz realized i've only about 3 months' to my EDD, and not packed anything yet. Duno if it's too early to pack now tho [maybe i'm too kiasu ;p ]... Anyone has the list of what to prepare??

match gal,

dun need me so kan cheong, the bag can be packed at week 35 onwards...heee...

I think the important things are your admin letter, both ICs, marriage cert. All other things are personal effects, so its based on your need.
I will be putting in my toileties, novel, sanitary pads ( TMC got provide 1 pack) and clothings.

hi ivy,
oh i c
... hehe, cos i hvn't really bot anything yet (the sanitary pads is the loop ones??)... Tot maybe i can buy now to prepare leh... Btw, wat "admin letter" we need to prepare ah?

Hi matched gal,
for my 1st preggie started packing at wk 32. Who knows that I will give birth at wk35 and that came in really handy. Cant image packing on that day and also I bought all the essentials for my baby at wk 33. So it was a breeze when I came home everything was ready. Think this preggie will start packing at wk 32 too. I very KS. But that really helped me the last time ard.
Admin letter is the letter that will be given to you by the hospital confirming your booking. The clinic will arrange the booking and a confirmation letter will be sent to you. I have already received mine from Mt A.
Me booked a 2-bedder and need to make a deposit of 450 on the day of arrival for delivery.

Now my gynae appts are 3wks once. I feel as though I have graduated to the next level leh.

Hi Ino,

I was at Mrs Wong's class last Sat and i wanted to chop a place for u initially. Lucky i didnt cos in the end u didnt turn up :p or else paiseh.

Ya she gave us a tour of the labour ward and guess wat? When we came out, we saw a newborn baby being weighed and measured right in front of us! So interesting and touching! The baby girl was so cute! She gave a loud cry to announce her arrival. Hai...a pity u missed it!

Mrs Wong showed us a video on deliveries and it was quite scary. I didnt dare to open my eyes in some scenes.