(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

twinkle,

ya lor.. so cute right, move here and there. at first the pic taken look quite funny, i ask doc normal or not, he say everything fine, so i guess shld be fine bah.. worried queen..hehe

i bought quite a few dresses while on sale that time since so cute, now wasted liao..

u started ur shopping? hubby drag me to grab the stroller upon knowing the gender on fri. say new "sport car" for bb for new year wor..xiao liao

fate,

thank you!

milo,

i only bought a few clothes for bb, the rest not yet, 'sport car' will be getting it by my collegues. my mum very pantang mah, she say only get the rest of the stuff after CNY which i m bigger. i already started to purchase secretly liao.

i think my mum also trying to get some hand down from her friends too so i dun need to spent much

Actually, i also went to buy wet wipe for bb during robinson sales.

Yesterday, while buying a bracklet for my niece full mth b'day, i oso brought a pooh bear pendant for my son if he can come to this world safety.

ivy,

my mum also pantang but i didnt let her know that i got so many things else my ears sure suffer. the things are all so cute, jus couldnt resist.

fates,

i got the maclaren techno xt stroller. heard got 20% sale so went down to grab. warranty will start from my bb dob so seem like quite a good buy

Annie, you bought baby stuffs so early too? Keke...being prepared is good lar :p

milo, that's a very light stroller right? Where did you buy it from?

wah, seems like all of u luking at bb stuff, hehe...

anyone luking at baby cot? I'm wondering whether i've to get more than one cot... cos if put at my parents' place during daytime & bring back during nite-time, need two cots, rite? Anyone facing the same situation?

Cot rather ex tho... saw one at Robinsons last wk... $300+ ...

hi matched girl,

i was also looking at baby cot over the weekend, went to Baby Kingdom and saw one tt we like, also around 300, think it's quite difficult to find anything cheaper?

my niece is about 18 months now, but she only slept in the baby cot for less than 6 months. now she's sleeping on a mattress on the floor as she doesnt like the cot.
perhaps u want to get 1 cot first instead of 2? see whether yr bb can get used to it before u invest in a 2nd one? if u need 2 for the first few mths, maybe u can try to borrow from a friend or relative first?

these items are expensive and they take up space, so i also tend to think longer before we decide to buy...

hello gummie,

yah, i heard it varies for different babies. Some like cot, some dun like - my fren's son spent most of the time in the cot (till 1 yr old). Dey bot him a playpen, but at last didn't really use it...

Maybe u're rite... get one first and c how... For me abit difficult to borrow leh (since people never offer to borrow me/my relatives children all still small)...

matched gal,
y not u buy a playpen then. cheaper.. serve the same purpose, somemore can fold flat if not in use. cot is too expensive.. some bb dun even like cot, one of my gf brought n end up didnt use.

matched gal,

maybe u should go to soon lee industrial at Eunos.. open on weekend and p.holiday oso.. mega warehouse for all baby products. cheaper and widest range.

fates,

i got it from baby hyperkingdom (cant remember the exact name). look quite light and sturdy.

matched gal,

i got a playpen instead of a cot. cheaper also. got 1 first to let my bb try. if he is willing to sleep in it, i will consider getting a cot and place my current playpen at my mum's place.

hi annie,

playpen alot cheaper, but heard fr my fren dat quite difficult to change diaper using playpen leh.... cot easier, i heard... but really depends if baby likes a not...

hi annie,

do u noe the exact address for the warehouse / soon lee industrial at Eunos? Hmmm, maybe i shd go down hv a luk... hehe... thanks!

hi milo,

so u planning to use the playpen in the daytime & cot at nite? Tink i may do the same - use something else besides a cot in the daytime. I duno if i still got energy to luk ard for a cot after delivery / baby is a few weeks/mths old leh... but this thing can't plan in advance cos duno wat baby likes (cot / playpen)... *headache*

hmmmm.... playpen is cheaper, but baby can only use it until about 1 yr old i think (any older/heavier the playpen will topple). as for baby cot, it can double up as a playpen (although i doubt its usability here as the bed frame is so solid and hard, may not be v safe for baby to play in, esp without close-distance supervision) and more importantly, a bed next time for your child, until up to 7 years... so value for money or not... it really depends on the child's sleeping habits?

aside from the cot, can i ask u ladies if u have any problems deciding what pram/stroller to buy? i still cannot decide if i should get a light-weight one (eg. Lucky Baby, which i can handle better, but prob not as comfy for baby) or a heavy-weight one (eg. Peg Perego, which are typically more sturdy n offers a better quality ride for baby)?

my husband prefers a light-weight one cos he says no point getting something tt i cannot manage on my own, but i feel they tend to look very flimsy...

hi gummie...

hv u heard of the brand called "combi"? My fren recommended dat... I saw it last weekend in a neighbourhood shop - priced ard $200... light, but not too flimsy... u can hv a look (if u hvn't) and see whether it's suitable for u...

actually i'm less worried about pram/stroller... dat one only buy when baby is ready to go outdoors, rite? Or izit??

matched gal,

i be using the playpen for both day and night for the first mth to see if bb like it or not. i will need another set for my mum's place since she is helping me to look after. if confirm he like, i will invest in a cot for him to sleep lor then the playpen move to my mum's place

gummie,

i took a long time to decide on the stroller also. went to test out the combi one, tends to topple easily. tried the peg perego one, looks too bulky and heavy. thus i settle for the maclaren, which is the middle range lor.

hehe...

if buying a pram/stroller is like buying a 'car'... then...

lucky baby must be a 'Nissan March' (small, and easy to park but not as comfy)

peg perego must be an 'MPV' (heavy, bigger, comfy but parking may be a little more difficult...)

aprica must be a 'ferrari'... (good ride, not bulky but v expensive!)

hi milo,

i checked out the Mcclaren ones too... but the models dun come with a front bar handle... i was told this is not really a safety feature, but i tend to feel more secure with one... is yrs also without the front bar handle?

matched girl,

yes, i saw Combi in the warehouse... but they only come in a few designs... good thing about this brand is i was told all the models come with suspension wheels... was actually quite keen on the 'egg shock' model... but when i saw it last weekend i find it a bit flimsy and also not cheap...?

hmmm, i'll have to check out a few other models...

hi gummie,

haha, the difference is we're picking a car for baby to sit in, but we're the "drivers", and pity we dun hv the 'experience' as passengers to tell which "car" is most suitable... ;p

combi is ex? Hmmm, how much are the other models? Tot ard $200 is middle range??

Saw some "luxury range" ones in mothercare... priced >$400... woah...

milo,
I'm also thinkin of which stroller to get. Lucky baby and Combi tends to be pretty flimsy. Peg Perego is very sturdy and comfy. Downside would be its weight. Pilko P3 Classic which is one of the most common Peg Perego in SG weighs about 8kg
My hubby's friend recommended us Quinny, which is even heavier! Those Maclaren models in SG are not "safe" too. Ladies, any other suggestions for a baby's "sport car"?

matched gal,
i will check for u, cos heard it from my colleague, he is out for sales now. I told my hubby, he oso noe how to go by driving.. we want to go down to buy after chinese new year.. cos mostly got sales around..hehe..

matched girl,

hehe, u're right... if only the 'passengers' can tell us what they want

the egg shock model i came across is sellin for close to $400, not cheap... i think for lucky baby can get reasonably good model around 2 to 300 (but may or may not have suspension), peg peregos typically around $400, maclaren also around tt range i think or slightly cheaper...

hmmm i think $400 or more is a bit too pricey for a stroller ya? worse come to worse, at least this is one item we dun need to buy now, i believe most of is will be (hand-)carryin baby if we go outdoors within the first 6 mths at least... i'm only excited to buy one cos i hear a lot of mummies already shopping for one

gummie,

mine do not have the front bar also.

matched gal,

ur description make me laugh..keke.. i will definitely by a lousy driver cause when i push my granny on her wheelchair, almost cause her whole leg to bye bye as i never check out the front and jus push..

sponge,

not sure which quinny u looking at but the buzz one seems light after collapsing. the bad pt is u have to get a bassinet to fix to it since the stroller is cater for 1 year and above. dun think any bb close to 7 mths will like the lying down position lor

Sponge, why Maclaren models not safe?

Just my view that if your usual mode of transport is public transport, then better get lite weight ones. If you have car and hubby usually travel together, can get bulkier and sturdy ones.

From my experience, sometimes babies dont wanna stay in the stroller for whatever reasons. So there were a few times I ended up carrying the baby + pushing the stroller. When going in and out of public transport or stairs, gotta carry baby + stroller + diaper bag... no joke man!

gummie,
wah, combi so ex ah?(!). Tot it's an average brand oni... yikes... $400 for a stroller very ex... like getting a "BMW" oreadi... hahaha...

milo,
muz luk out for the "blind spots" before driving, haha... i tink i very "lunzhun" and inexperienced... my husband more careful than me... ;p Hopefully i make a good "driver" for the rite stroller too... ;p

zach's mom,
oh dear... sounds like u've got a handful(!). Oh no, wat if baby dun like staying in stroller... end up have to push heavy stroller ard + carry heavy baby + carry heavy bag

matched girl,

baby hyperstore and baby kingdom are at this place called shun li building. it's at kaki bukit industrial park. pretty closed to bedok reservoir. they are only a few units apart. from eunos mrt, if you drive up north, it's on a right turn after the entrance to PIE. Look out for signage that says Kaki Bukit Industrial Park.

The Quinny Buzz weighs a whooping 12kg!~ It's heavy. I'll most probably buy the Zapp + Maxi Cosi car sit

Still reckee-ing..........

sponge,

okie, thank you!!
Sounds like quite near my parents' place... Do u happen to noe if they are open on public hols & weekends?

Oh ya another thing about light strollers......don't hang your heavy bag on the handles ok? I saw a toddler being flung backwards because the mummy hung her heavy bag on the handles..**OUCH**

So you see, sometimes a sturdy stroller is good too? :p

matched gal,

not exactly about this. this is their contact. probaby you can try to give them a ring before going.

Baby's Hyperstore
69 Kaki Bukit Avenue 1
Shun Li Industrial Park
Opening hours: Monday to Saturday
11am-9pm, Sunday 11am-7pm
Tel: 6844-1123

fates,

I totally agrees with you in this aspect about light strollers. sometimes mums create danger to their kids accidentally without them knowing. hence, a sturdy stroller would be better. you pay more for the safety of your kids.

However, Buzz is totally out with its whopping 12kg weight. Eyeing on the Peg Perego Pilko P3 Classic though we are still recce-ing.

Fates
I've seen that baby flung backwards incident many times! There was also once where I saw a toddler kena kiap by those collapsable stroller. Maybe the safety lock was not latched properly, but the baby so poor thing!! Really scared me when I saw that!!

ss1,
In anticipation of such incidences, that's one reason we're thinking we would rather choose a sturdier stroller. probably we can just get cheap and light stroller if I'm just alone and being not able to handle too many things.

Ya actually I prefer sturdier stroller.....and if you or hubby drives, a stroller between 6-8kg actually not so bad.

Yalor sponge, SS1 ~ poor babies!

Like a car, safety is very important.

Hey fates

Can update my details, I am expecting a gal and will be delivering in TMC. Thks!

Gals

Talking abt strollers, I also rpefer those with basket that is easy to reach. My current aprica is small, must 'stretch' to open, abit mah fun, dunno if we can buy 'add-ons' like a bigger basket. Anyone knows?

btw, anyone has Mdm Rohayah's contact? I am keen in the massage too, dunno so fast must book liao :p

this few days i have been feeling this pulling feeling when i stand up from my chair after sitting for quite sometime. any1 feel the same way?

V GD Morning gals,
Today, Mind your body (Strait Time) advertised my query on migraine. I am so happy that finally they reply my query. None of the words change. Surprisingly. However, i feel relax after reading the reply. Hopefully, as what they said the migraine attrack would go off after 5th mth.

hi milo, is it because you have been sitting down for too long? can try standing up slowly at least once every hour.

fates, need your help to update my details too. i will deliver my baby boy at TMC. thanks!

MILO,
i think its the vein being pressure by the plactera. its common. is it painfully? i had once few weeks back, so painful..

Good Morning everyone!

I tried calling mdm rohayah during the weekend. She was not able to slot me in.
My personal experience for my 1st kid, to do the massage 3 days after normal birth. It actually helped to stimulate the milk glands thus producing more milk. I called this rohayah and she said to massage only 1 wk after birth as wound will be very sore and breasts will be engorged. I disagreed with her. Maybe bcos of my disagreement she dont like me and didnt slot me in. But it was just based on personal opinion right. Also kept saying she too busy already have 4-5 bookings for May and asked me how. I said dont know how, its up to her, if she can manage her time than can if cannot also ok wat. I'll just have to find someone else. Maybe she expect me to pay her more than she will take me in. Well anyway, I got another rohayah contact from another thread, I called her and she was more accomodative. She will provide, baby massage, binder and 'jamu' as well in her package and she charges 380.

FATES,
Is it you mean the basket like a carrier that you can carry around and to put in the car while driving. I brought one @ robinson. cost $179. quite expensive. For new born to 13 kg.( estimate 1 year old). My hubby said that we have to get one so that he can bring the baby alone to hospital to check up while i am doing my confinement; ie i cant go out that particular mth. I understand that baby has to go back for check up on the 4th day.

fates

I have a quinny buzz (hubby like it for its looks) for no 1 now looking for car seat for no 2... where are you planning to get it? perhaps can tell me where...

yasmin,
thats sound bad experience for you with mdm rohaya.

glad tat u manage to find another one. Hmm... well, milk will only produce on the 3rd day after you delivery. I read few books and my sis who had her bb recently also confirmed that. You should have the massage only after your wound is heal else not good as the massage involve lots of pressing here n there. Might hurt your inner veins or others that you dunno.