(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

gummie,

TMC have both sat and sun class.

me and twinkle is attending the sat classes together, so that if our hubby cannot make it ( work or reservist), we still have each other for company.
If you worry your hubby may not be free, then join us loh.

Match Gal,

I dun think there is any symptom that indicates low placenta. My gynae did commented on my low placenta in my 1st trimester. I was so worried then although the gynae said the placenta showed signs of migrating up. A mth later in my 2nd trimester, the gynae confirmed that the placenta has shifted up

Yes, like what pooh has said, if placenta is low, no exercise pls. By right if the placenta is low, the gynae would have warned quite some time back. So not to worry matched gal!

And today i went for my detailed scan and position of placenta is clearly shown. I am glad my placenta position is normal

I went for my detailed scan today. Everything went smoothly and every part of the bb is growing well

And for some of you who remember my blood test on DS, my gynae tell me he will amend the blood test result slip as when the test was taken, i was indeed in my week 15 instead of week 16. Today detailed scan has really confirmed my real conception date and thus, the number of weeks bb is in So there is now no worry on DS liao! My EDD is confirmed to be 1 May, which is one day after my birthday heeee...

My bb now weighs 296g and it's a bb girl!! 90% confirmed

Wanted to do some shopping today but still end up dunno how to buy.. haha... any advice on milk bottles?? Should i get avent bottles? Or other brands? And what are the other more essential things i can start buying first?

BB is active during the scan. She moves around but too bad, no funny actions hahaa... but she is also cooperative today. We spent around 1/2 hour scanning. There will be another detailed scan a mth later as for today scan i am only in week 19. Next scan will be able to see more things and that will be week 23

hi i'm very new here.. lyk 2 join u mtb.. My EDD 22.05.06

seems lyk everyone is either at tmc, mte, mta.. any nuh here?

V good morning, i had a bad nite yesterday. Around 3am in the morning, my tummy suddenly felt so painful, cramp and felt like sharp pain, something pulling..
my hubby woke up to help me massage my tummy.. i finally got to sleep for 3 hours after had medical oil rub hot on my tummy..
so afraid that baby got problem.. now feel much better.. the pain subsided when my hubby kept massage my tummy.. wonder is it the baby settle down ...so terrible..
i felt so restless today but no way to take leave, all my tops went to malaysia office..

hi teenoyl,

welcome!!! my EDD is 19.05.06... jus 3 days ahead of u

thanks Ivy,

i'll let u know soon if i decide to go for TMC's weekend classes

hi kk,

Congrats!!! now that u know the gender of yr bb, i'm sure things are going to get interesting!
start to shop for baby stuff, ask around for hand-me-downs, etc...

my colleagues advised me to start buying the essentials now (even diapers?), to spread out your expenses, otherwise you may have to end up buying everything at one go and that will be very 'painful'. last weekend i shopped around and started to note and compare prices between brands... think i'm gonna draw up a list of things to buy... can't actually buy yet as i still dunno my baby's gender... not until Jan during my next gynae visit.

hi annie,
hope u're feeling much better this morning. why not give a call to yr gynae to explain wat happened to u yesterday since u can't take time off today? i believe he/she will be able to help? rather than wait till yr next visit to to make sure everything's ok?

Hi Annie,
Did you eat something 'wrong' that cosed ur tummy upset. Like for me, if I eat too much of 'heaty' food like durians and dont drink enuf water will have tummy upset. I normally dont tend to drink much fluid during bed time for fear to wake up middle of deep sleep to pee.

Dear gummie & yasmin..
My gynea is out of town n worst no one replace him..
Maybe, i ate bak gua tea (pork soup) esterday..

Dear gals,
if anyone wants to keep stock for diaper, go compasspoint basement, now offering $12.50 for 64 pcs (est. average usage for nb baby: 8- 9) so one packet can last only 8 days..
$12.50 is the cheapest i came across, others selling at $16.80 for provision shop and $17.80 for supermarket... kiddy palace sell $12.90 offer price (no 10% discount for card member).
I intend to go jb giant to buy, heard from my sister that side sell the same brand at a cheaper than $12.50..

Hi Annie,
What brand is the diapers?
How many packs can we bring back from JB? Or, how much worth of goods can we bring back from JB? Any idea?

Yasmin,
Diapers, got one baby crawling, blue colour .. forget the brand..
oh! if you buy from jb, unlimited for diapers only restrict on milk, oil, sugar and rice for malaysia custom. $150 for the above mentioned items. for local custom, no chicken hotdog, nuggets, chicken and pork..

yasmin,
if your hubby or anyone going to jb, just tag along.. for me, my hubby wont want in with his new car.. think i will follow what my sis did. she took bus to city square (e shopping centre opp the malaysia custom) then go to the appointed exist to wait for foc shelter bus to go giant.. (to and fro).. e bus timetable is put on the information counter.. hope thats help you..

if your hubby drive, then buy at 12 packets of 64 packs for 3 mths supply..
but if you got confinement lady then use the cloth type, she has to change and wash for the baby and use the diaper only at nite time, save a lot...

hi kk,

wow, feel so excited for u now that u know ur baby's gender! jus last night, i dreamt that my bb is a gal. so happy but its jus a dream lor, need to wait till end of the mth then can know.

were u very nervous when u went for ur detailed scan? i quite anxious cause seem like a big day. hope everything goes well!

for the bottle, i think better dun buy too many of the same brand. avent is good but not all babies will suit this brand so better buy 1 big and 1 small first lor.

For those who are planning to buy milk bottles ... also have to take into considerations of the brand of sterilizer you using ...coz I heard from my friends that if you bu the Avent sterilizer , then you will have to use their milk bottles ....

Hi milo,

Agreed with you that the detailed scan seems like a big day ...8) ...i going for mine this coming sat ..... so far hasnt bought any BB stuff yet...waiting for the detailed scan before start on our BB shopping ....

Oh yah ...for diapers ...most of my friends is using drypers ...and recently my friends recommend me this brand call PET PET .... her freinds recommend her and she say is better than drypers and if not wrong also cheaper ....

Annie, thanks for the info. I will get my brother to drive me there. He is quite familiar with the roads. I also wanted to go KL this month so as to catch their year end sales. But dont know if HB will be willing.
345882.gif

I feel as though I have put on weight over the weekend leh. I havent been eating alot but think its water retention. Aiyoh hope not to put on too much of weight, sekali cant lose it.
345886.gif

taurus,

same here. was thinking of getting baby stuff after the detailed scan but cos of the robinson sale, cant help but got quite a no of stuff liao :p

yasmin,

my colleagues been taking turn to comment different part of my body getting big. hear liao also sian. dunno why in photo, my face swell till so big. hopefully can lose all this wt later.

anyone mil doing confinement for you? my mil offered and suddenly i started to worry how to cope with her staying at my place for a mth. i have already arrange by mum to drop by everyday to help out liao but how to reject my mil.

yasmin,
its normal to gain some weight. dun worry.. so long you do well during confinement, most of e gals lost a lot...

milo66,
2 u have a basic know of your mil? her daily lifestyle? if not,have to be careful with the words that you use.. some mil get v offended... so v old fashion.. have to strictly follow what they instruct you to do..
my colleague's wife fell out with his mum when she had her 1st baby and d her confinement with his mum's help..
my mil is v modern but too bad, she is unable to help during my confinement..
tauraus,
Thanks! heard abt this brand.. quite new.. will have to check on the price..

Welcome teenoyl

hiya ladies,
What a busy weekend doing nothing(!) haha ;) How was everyone's weekend?

kk,
i c. So low placenta symptom is in the first trimester? I'm actually going to c my gynae tomorrow. And to take my blood tests. Hope everything goes well...

annie,
tink it's like wat yasmin said - maybe u ate something 'wrong'? Or could it b too hungrie? I wake up sometimes in the morning wif cramps... and after having something to eat, everyting's ok. Duno if the same cramps as urs tho... Hope everything is fine wif u... cheer up(!)

Wow, luks like most of u have gone/going to the detailed scan. I wasn't recommended the detailed scan by my gynae, so prob may not go though...

milo66,

u hvg ur mil over for confinement too? Me too actually. I was tinking about getting a confinement lady, but since my mil offered, i very hard to turn her down leh. My mom will be helping out to take care the baby, so i guess my mil will help out wif the cooking. Hope nobody clashes...

By the way, any of u gone for facial during ur 2nd trimester? I was tinking whether a not to book. Duno if i can tahan lying flat for 1-2 hrs... Anyone can share? Thanks

annie,

my mil lifestyle totally opp from mine. i have her over for dinner a couple of time, wah tell u hor, must everything follow her style or prepare to argue.

ivy,

guess that shld be the best way. we took very very long to convince her that we wont be letting her take care of bb because of convenience. she staying the other end of spore from us.

matched gal,

my mum will be coming over to help out too. she will cook at her own place which is few mins walk only then bring over cause she not use to my kitchen lor. now my mil wans to come over too, i really is big headache though i must admit my mil more experience with bb lor but the tot of her nagging abt my dogs and kitchen (didnt use the appliance she gave me) is enough to drive me nuts

matched gal,
Thanks for your concern.. i am much better.. just still having pohia that the cramp and sharp pain come back to haunt me today.. really scare..

Hows many weeks are you now? how come gynea get you for detail scanning.. have you done the blood test? Detail scanning is a double checking on down synchrome, cos thick bone can cause ds; holes in the hearts oso develop ds... moreover, the detailed scann can detect other illness (i forget those names).. when they have the check.. Maybe, you should ask.. Anyway, the detail scan is for week 18 to 22, week 20 is more accurate, where every organs already develop in the baby body.. especially the connection of the veins and muscle to the brain.. the hands and legs are able to move v freely and can form fist.. heheh

mostly, the detail scan will confirm your baby gene..heheh.. which i am looking toward on 22.. to confirm my baby is a boy... i love it.. hopeful this xmas gift come true.. :p

Its alway a bless to have mil to help around.. just have to tactful to know what types of your mil belongs to? no worth to trickle the bomb... (not harmful meaning)..

for my case, my mil got illness, so she cant help to take care.. she alway instruct me to take shower daily.. cos she is v modern.. but my mum stated cannot take shower.. my hubby wants me to listen to my mum.. else like his mum.. kena the reth.. at old age.. where she has to go hospital mthly to withdraw water inside from her bone... quite painful.. now, duno listen to which side..

milo,

yah, it's rather hard to turn mil down if they want to come. I guess it's a "happy problem"
Cos one of my galfrens, both her mil & mom dun want to take care of her kid. End up her fil had to help...

On the other hand, tink our moods may not be in the best form after giving birth. So i'm kinda worried i may offend my in-laws. Moreover, my own mother will forgive & forget if i scold her unintentionally. But duno about in-laws... *sighz*...

Nevetheless, it's only logical to cross the bridge as it comes... good to plan in advance, but no point worrying...

anne,

i'll b in my 17th week in 2 days ;) Mayb dats y gynae never mention to me abt detailed scanning when i went to c her the other time... Hmmm...

hi matched gal,
i went for a facial in my 14th week. lied down for 2 hours. it was ok. i did not feel uncomfortable.

detailed scan is compulsory. if your next appt is after your 20th week, you may want to call your gynae and check. maybe the nurse forgot to inform you.

matched gal,
When is your next appointment? by the way? are u with tmc gynea? if so, the gynea can directly book for you or advance booking.. if not, think you might want to call up and check.. week 20 is the best.. till week 22..

gals,
like to highlight this to all of you, cos i am oso involve, after delivery, we tend to have post natal depression due to our body homog. change again.. homog need to adjust back to the normal stage but still have to produce milk.. read from a book, we have to take more vitamins and lots of rest.. in additional, most of the gals especially those whose are the slim type, get v frustrate with the loose fresh around the tummy and buttock.. the non stop crying noise especially for the 1st timer mum (i m one of them)... tend to be very sensitive, cos our parents and hubby all put the focus on the nb baby instead of you..

A true sad case, my 5th uncle (father's side) wife used to work in a big firm, she was very smart gal and v understanding that my uncle has to work late most of the time due to hetic work schedule..

My nephew (2nd uncle's son- older than me 30 years old) with a playful heart at that time, went to fool her that my uncle has a woman outside after she delivered her 2nd daughter..

Up till now, she is still on medication.. She once tried to kill her 2 kids, forced them to take so many pills.. luckily, they were safe..

so! please do not bother things inside your heart.. tell and say to your hubby.. tell him to be prepared that your temper might change rapidly and great.. tell him that at that point of time, he needs to be understanding.. and let you.. (tats what my colleague did).. moods tend to swing more than ever..

anastasia,

I'm wondering up till when do we feel "uncomfortable" till we can't do facial, wud u noe? ... hmmm... duno wat my face will luk like. I've still to attend a relatives' wedding next yr leh...

matched gal,
Don't think it's compulsory. I didn't had it for my 1st pregnancy n didn't have it this time round as well. But if you want to have it, she won't stop you.

wanna chk, any of u MTBs xperience sudden CHILLING, SHIVERING kind of cold to the spine?? I had dat last nite and my hubby got to bury me under tons of layers of comforters and pillows..
I'm so worried...

pigletz,

I see... tink i'll go for the blood tests, but if not compulsory & if my blood tests go well, i may skip the detailed scan... Well, i'll mention it to her & c how lah...
Dis is ur 2nd pregnancy?
Howz it like compared to the first one? My colleague was telling me every pregnancy is "different"... even the foods craved are different, hehe ;)

annie,

My gynae's at Mt E, i'll b going to c her 2morro... Will ask her then ;)

teenoyl,
Mind to ask which religion are you in or those free thinker?
Last nite rained for a while, you might be catching a cold.. drink some ginger tea.. help to sweat out and wont harm to your baby

pigletz...

really? We've the same gynae
Hehe... So which week are you rite now? Did u deliver ur first one wif her too?

She was actually recommended to me by my colleague...
Find her quite ok, always calms me down wif the way she talks, when i ask her lots of questions... ;p

match_gal,
Ya, go for the triple test 1st. If there's nothing wrong with the test, she won't ask u do more test.
Don't worry too much, you are in good hand.

Yup, this is my 2nd pregnancy. Quite similar to the 1st one. Don't have ms, no craving and no appetite. Just feel more tired, but think that's becos I'm working and taking care of my boy at night myself.

hi milo,

i may be facing the same problem as you. well, my mil did not offer to help me with confinement but i'm very sure she will pop by every now and then at my place during tt time (since she lives nearby) to 'bond' with the baby. i believe we will need plenty of rest by then and it's better not to have the additional stress of having to cope with a naggy mil...

i plan to let my husband know and have him tell his parents not to come over anytime they like. first of all, my parents-in law are very noisy pple, and secondly, i need privacy. with them around, i always feel uneasy and may even need to 'entertain' them. i can imagine how stressful this wld be.

maybe u can tell yr husband that you dun need your mil to help since yr mum will be with you? it's always easier for a mum to hear it from her own son then to be 'rejected' by the dil. at the end of the day, i guess it all depends on whether you can 'bear' with her or not. if u can, there is also the benefit of saving a sum of $$$ on confinement help... for me, i'm very sure i prefer to be left alone...

matched_gal,
haha, think u didn't visit the other thread since you last post hor.

I'm in my 28 week this week, and yes, the 1st one with her also. She very nice lady, experience and never kancheong type. Even up till the time you in the delivery ward, she's still so 'zai'. hahaha

Gummie,
Wah! you prefer to be alone? i prefer to have someone to help around.. cos, i didnt noe whether i can handle myself or not. But, no choice, i have to do all by myself for the confinement mth..

Agreed, if mil is those noisy pp n u nvb have comfortable time with them then thats v bad... will feel stressful..

hey annie...

not 'alone' as in all by myself, kekeke... like dat how to cope? this is my first bb, i have no experience leh...
i will be gettin a confinement lady to help me for the first 2 months. it's really expensive, but i don't have any other help available. i will not consider havin my in-laws help me so no choice...

are u saying u'll be coping on yr own? will yr mum or mother-in-law or any auntie be around to help you at all? u need to at least have someone cook yr meals for u... and taking care of bb can be v stressful if u dun have an extra pair of hands...

gummie,
oic... scare me.. Wah! 2 mths for confinement lady, v expensive leh..

Yap, my mil stays at bukit batok, she oso got illness, reth.. v hard to help me, cos she alway suffer in lots of pain already.. she is v good and kind.. not those mil, she is v modern.. but too bad, she cant help..

my mum.. no way, she didnt even help my sis; whose is going to labour these few days..

no auntie to help around, all working in those factories.. sigh!

i think i will get my neighbour to cook 2 meals for me and pay her $$.. i still need to do other household chores and clean the baby shit and urines myself..
i wonder .. i think i will cry.. cos i hate baby crying..

best to get outsider to help then to get mil, especially those old type mil.. so terrible, i witnessed few incidents that my gfs and colleague's wife fall out with their mils during confinement period, then no way to talk after that...

moreover, your hubby will be in the sandwich, if he sides his mum, sure that you would get angry and very sensitive.. most of the guys would torelate with their wives at that point of time, cos afraid they kena post natal depression...

i have no choice lor.. have to use drypers.. more expensive..

annie,

ya i know its very expensive. but i'd like to spend the 2nd month learning how to care for my baby. i was told first month we shd concentrate on nursing back our health... besides all tt breastfeeding will keep us very busy. i've thought of the expenses involved, but i think this period is very important for mums who just delivered. they say if u dun take care and have enuf rest or eat well, it is hard to make up for it down the road...
btw are u working now? why dun u start putting aside some money to hire confinement help? discuss it with yr hubby and let him know the importance of your well-being during that time? ask him to work out something for u?

i think gettin your neighbour to help is a good alternative if u really decide not to get a CL...

i leave it to my husband to talk to his parents, cos like u said, husbands are unlikely to risk their wives suffering from post-natal depression and such symptoms... so this is probably the only time i can expect him to 'stand up for me'. i guess it helps that my husband shares my views about his parents. they will be more of trouble than help...

gummie,

my mil is those very interferring type with alot of comments whereas i am those who prefer to do thing my own style. now i can still tahan since we dun stay tog. jus tolerate abit i still can do it for the sake of hubby but like u say during confinement period, sure very tired and pek chey, where got so good mood to entertain her? our own mum still ok, wont ji jiao with us if we scold them but mil is still mil.

my hubby and i still thinking of how to bring the msg across. she is very experience in taking care of bb thus i believe if she is ard, bb will be in good hands. my mum will be cooking for me, jus wondering how to tell her she dun have to cook jus help out with the baby can liao.

gummie,
back to the topic of the natal class.
i went to sign up for the 1st Born Incentive program card at TMC today. Its for mothers gog to be delivered in TMC and its their 1st child. The card cost $98, comes with a lot of discount, including delivery fees. I had a surprise treat cos they gave Mrs Wong's 3 books together with the card. Mrs Wong is quite famous for her experience and her natal classes. I think the books are sold in major bookstore and its on Childbirth, breastfeeding and Bringing up the child, all in SG context.
Then i went up to the 4th floor to sign up for the natal class, got 10% discount for it cos i have the card.
So if you intend to deliver in TMC and also attend the classes, then its really a good value to get the card.

Hi girls...

I've gone thru my detailed scan last friday on 18wks and 5 days (as OB is gng for holidays). Bb is a girl and she is perfectly fine
So hope to hear from u girls...