(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

matched gal,

Better check with the medicinal hall if you are suitable to take it. Rule of thumb is not to any how take chinese herb stuff, try to consult the ppl at the shop first.
For me, i drink once a week black chix brew with cordy (chong cao). It helps me to slp better and seems to have more energy too. But this is a tried and tested recipe from my mum and its quite safe. Only thing is that you have to brew for a couple of hours...

hi ivy

thks for the compilment. seeing her growing and learning everyday makes MY DAY !!!

i alwys love to look at the pics coz from newborn till now, they changed alot !!!

matched girl,

i am also slightly anaemic and my blood pressure slightly lower than yours. my gynae is hardly concerned at all, maybe the fact that i am eating well is a sign that things are ok.

btw, i tried to 'jin bu' also after my 1st trimester. went to Eu Yang Sang for a consultation and the physician there prescribed me some chinese medicine (to bu chong xue qi) but it tasted horrible... i gave up after 3 doses. i guess there's really no need to eat anything 'special' if you are generally feeling ok...

Thanks Ivy,
one of my friends started joggin after 1 month, but hers was natural birth. so i suppose C-sec will take longer to recover and perhaps advisable to start later...?

hi gummie..

My OB said tt it is norm tt our blood pressure is lower in 2nd trimester.. Which is a good sign as we go into 3rd trimester, our blood pressure will usually shoot up lor.. My OB oso not so concern as my blood pressure not tt low and red blood cells count not low too... so he jus advise me to take multi vits.. but hor oso cannot take too much iron.. will hve side effects like naseous, vomit..

So take more from natural fruits like raisins and prunes lor...

matched gal & gummie,
Oh! its liquid form... easy to drink.. taste ok for bitter... i think gummie oso can try since she is scare of the taste that the chinese physican stated..
V safe to drink..if your chinese physican stated that your qi isnt enough, better do something. Eu Yang Sang got chinese physican, if you dont bu your qi, your baby inside will suffer. cos he or she is building lung at this 2nd trimmester... else next time, the baby will tend to cough or sneeze a lot like my colleagues' 1st kids.. they didnt listend to the chinese physican... now, few of my colleagues have the 2nd babies already, they "listen" to the chinese physican, what i see myself, their 2nd babies are better than their 1st one..

not heaty.. its jus "wen"(warm).. bu for both adult and baby.. for my personal feeling, i feel restless without taking it.. get breathless when i climb the stairs..

hi ivy,
i also drink black chix+(duno wat herbs my mom adds - she asked the medicine hall), but only once in about 2 wks. Dat's y was surprised y my bp still so low... Guess i'll wait to see wat my gynae says next wk when i go visit her. Thanks!

hi pooh,
ur daughter so cute!!!
hehehe... feel like giving her a hugz oreadi ;p

hi gummie,
hopefully my blood tests go well next wk. I haven't gone for any of them. Am feeling hungrie frequently & eating well too, juz dat i've no appetite for veges. Luckily, still eating fruits everyday... My gynae hasn't given me any vitamin pills though. Maybe during the next visit...

Same here! i dun really like to take chinese medicine (or anything which tastes... weird...). Dat's y until now, my mom had been nagging at me to take chx essense, but i hvn't even opened a single bottle! haha...

POOH,
u have a lovely daughter.. its really encouragement to see newborn baby... especially for me now... to forget how tough now i am going through..

matched gal,
chicken essence is quite heaty.. y not try the one that i recommend.. not good to take too much heaty things... not good for baby..
seems like my tummy getting obvious.. like a small hard ball.. quite hard to sleep at nites.. especially when turning..
my eyes oso tend to get dry.. read from the book, stated week 18, eyes will tend to get dry and have to be careful when walking cos might lost balance..
have you read yesteday newspaper? pity the nurse, the stupid loanshark too much.. i can only say police don't really do anything.. she lost her baby.. think will have a hard time to get expecting again..
initally, i intend to abort since this pregancy is accident and not prepare, but according to lots of gynea and chinese physican that once abortion done, the destory of thin layer inside the womb will not be form so fast, take about 6 to 7 years.. by the time, already too old ..

hi annie,
really? i'm beginning to worry now that you've said i shouldn't take the physician's words lightly... if it's going to affect my baby's development i think i better do something about it. try my best to finish up the remaining doses or medicine the doc prescribed...
btw the pao shen chong ao jing u mentioned must take everyday? or is it up to individual?

matched girl,
i think most pregnant women take multi-vits... how come yr gynae never give u any? i am taking a prenatal formula from GNC. i guess these multi-vits are more or less the same, u can buy it yrself dont have to wait for gynae to presribe?

little nana,
my bp was also low in the first trimester... jus that now it's gone slightly lower. but generally i feel better

hi annie,
really? i'm beginning to worry now that you've said i shouldn't take the physician's words lightly... if it's going to affect my baby's development i think i better do something about it. try my best to finish up the remaining doses or medicine the doc prescribed...
btw the pao shen chong ao jing u mentioned must take everyday? or is it up to individual?

matched girl,
i think most pregnant women take multi-vits... how come yr gynae never give u any? i am taking a prenatal formula from GNC. i guess these multi-vits are more or less the same, u can buy it yrself dont have to wait for gynae to presribe?

little nana,
my bp was also low in the first trimester... jus that now it's gone slightly lower. but generally i feel better

hi matched gal,
my dad cooks black chix soup (sometimes with frog) + cordy + wolfberries + ginseng...almost every week! that's my only bu...only my MIL is going to let me start drinking american ginseng with cordy soon too...

am now waiting for 5 months before i start to take a bit of bird's nest.

my gynae has started me on calcium already...so i'm taking it faithfully everyday as compared to my multi-vits (which is quite huge and has a weird smell).

hi annie,
i also read the newspapers and felt so sorry for the lady and her bb.

gummie,
u try one bottle first, i found the taste ok. not those chinese herbal.. not bitter taste.. dun worry..
whats i see from my friends' n my colleagues' kids, their 1st one alway got coughing and sneezing problem due to weak lung qi.. (chinese physican stated). 1 of my colleague even spent thousand dollar to go for every blood test then doc just said its the genes.. end up he brought his eldest son to see a chinese physican for massage and accuptance, then ease the coughing problem .. then the physican told him that its the lung qi weak..
i myself, will listen to chinese physican.. else, i will cry if my baby has this problem.. v heart pain to see the needle pin on baby..
My colleague, she told me she brought her daughter to see chinese physican becos of non stop coughing and she barely 5 days after birth.. cos western doc said bb too small to take medicine..has to wait till the cough subside..

hi gummie & matched gal,
Try to drink the one that i recommend. buy without chicken will not be heaty.. black chicken oso heaty.. can use white chicken with cory. and american ginseng to boil.. v gd for baby lung... bu qi.. same for adult..but i found that cheaper to buy the essence.. will buy only when i reach 7th mth.. cos bb will then absorp 70% of what i intake.. then maximise the effect.. put a little bit of salt.. quite tasty.. if those whose have a gal, love sweet taste, put the small bright red thing (duno wat its call).. can get from

sorry, been real busy. I am currently in 16 weeks going to 17th tomoroow. need some advice on where to buy materity clothes. My clothes getting too tight for comfort

4get to finish the sentence, eu ren sheng sell a packet of $2.80 for the small red thing oval shape, for those whose love sweet taste, v good for baby eye n oso for adult eye..

i have it with american ginseng, cory boil with water..

hi annie

the red thing is called wolfberry (GOU QI ZHI). its gd for eyes...my gal take that once every week..i add into chicken soup wif red dates ..veri nice

Hi matched gal/gummie,

I also drink black chix brew with cordy and wolfberry. At times it is with black chicken or lean pork. I drink this once a week made by my mum. It does help in my qi. this is the receipe my mum and my family had been using so i think it is ok.

Hi bookworm,
As earlier, i mentioned my tummy seem obvious but i m still wearing my old skirts and clothes as per normal..
however, thats depend whether you want expensive or reasonable price for maternity clothes..
You can buy from This Fashion for those spagetti top and larger size skirt... oso at City Plaza.. the higher the floor you patronise, you can ask for discount.. all wide range of maternity dress suitable for difference occasions.. formal dress for dinner etc.. the price range from 20 for a top till 100+ for full dress.. my mother in law brought one for me from there.. quite beautiful and trendy..
if you want brand, can get from those mothercare or even metro, quite expensive..espeically metro, the design seems out dated yet so expensive..
you can buy few pants and spattegi tops, look younger..

I told my pregnant colleague that my mum boiled black chix soup for me and she said she had been avoiding black chix because her sis drank black chix soup that time and her bb turned out to have skin of darker tone, like malay. Hahha...

Wolfberry is good. I used it to boil huai shan soup. They can be eaten raw. The effects for the eyes better than being boiled.

POOH,

Thanks! mostly i dun remember the name.. heheh. wolfberry.. hmm.. nice name.. quite tasty.. i love it.. my parents eat it every morning. stated that they are old folks need to improve their eyesight ...hehe

kk,
no! dun believe that.. black chicken wont cause baby black.. has to be the genes inside..
if you afraid of having a darker tone baby, drink more soya bean drink, high in protein.. drink american ginseng or eat red bean paste that will cause rosy cheek.. i have soya bean drink 1s weekly.. without much sugar syrup..
you can drink red bean soup, oni the soup not the red bean.. our body will turn darker when come to later stage.. its just normal way..
no get frighten from your friend.. dark chicken is v bu and heaty.. thats y my chinese physican suggest to use white ... so long with the same herbal use to boil the soup, the effect is the same..

hi there

wow, so many postings!! ;) Me juz back fr meeting. Last min meeting actually, so din finish my breakfast, only ate half sandwich b4 mtg, and tummy really hurt during meeting (tink gastric). Juz ate something to appease my bb, hehe ;p Tummy-pain went away...

I wasn't given multi-vit pills. Only iron & calcium pills, which i've been taking faithfully. Were everyone of you given multi-vit pills from the 3rd mth onwards? Oh dear, yah, tink i'll go buy them if i'm not given in the next round. By the way, does the multi-vit pills cause constipation?

Actually for the black chx, i only drink the soup, i didn't eat the chx (can't bear the tot of eating something "black", yikes)... i tink my mom puts some paoshen inside. Seems like after i drink, have a good nite's sleep, hehe...

Oh, by the way, talking about maternity wear, anybody here noes whether there is any credit card which has discount for Spring (maternity) at Suntec?

pooh,
paosheng is the only ginseng type that u can take especially you are pregant now..
Pao sheng oso v expensive. i went to check with Eu ren sheng, 1 liang already $200+..

you cannot take chicken essence when you are about to deliver! tats important, else bleeding non stop.
you can drink coconut water before you admit hosp for labour.. purpose is to "cleanse" your baby ...actress like zoe and ivy, pang linlin all did that.. but dun drink now, cos v v cooling and a lot of wind!

Matched gal,

I was given multi vitamins ever since week 6.. heeee... together with folic acid and also vitamin E. After some time, neurogain was given, and vitamin E taken away. So until now, left with multivitamins, neurogain and folic.

So far i have no problem with constipation
Have to take veg and fruits more consistently.

My mum asked me to take the chicken. Second time i ate a bit only. Other than that, like u, i only drank the soup. Anyway so far i only drank twice. The last time my mum boiled was something else. And there was once she boiled some soup with sea cucumbers, instead of using any meat.

matched gal,
I was given multi vitamins but i only took twice.. sure cause constipation .. cos v heaty.. not a must!
Multi vit include vit. A (which we can only take v restricted else too over will cause baby blindness).
My hubby brought calcium pill for me to eat, so currently, i take folic acid (for baby brain)and calcium pill(baby spine already formed, so have to give more calcium to build strong bone) and a cup of milk power for pregant woman like us..
Iron pill can only take later stage... if your gynea give u, indicate your body lack of this.. my teeth alway bleed..
I guess diff gynea gives diff. not that we should take so much ... the best is from the food.. else our liver and kidney will be more stressful. Read from the book, our liver and kidney are working extra hard now for our body n baby

matched gal,

i was given multi-vit and folic once confirmed preg. After 1st trimester, gynae add on Fish oil and calcium. Unless you really take a balanced diet, else better take the pills. It will ensure you have the necessary vits.
Dun worry abt constipation, just eat lots of fruits and veg.
You can check you your gynae for the multi-vits when you next visit. Mine is included in the package, so no need to pay extra.

Ivy,

Oh, ur multivits included in ur package?

For me, every pill i bought got to pay. For multivits, i am consuming obimin which i normally bought in big bottles of 100 pills. So maybe three mths buy once. Neurogain got to buy every mth lor, since there are only 30 pills inside each bottle.

hi annie

i bought 'paoseng' from hock hua and nt so expensive as wat u mentioned $200..there are alot of range and i buy slightly better ones but nt expensive as $200. think i pay for abt $100++

i also ask them to blend into powder form so i can just add hot water and drink like that ...easy for me and once a while, make for hubby to drink..

ladies, drink black chicken soup wont make ur bb black black one lah...pls ....must see the genes lah. me and hubby belongs to the tann-skinned type so my gal also but now she fairer than when she newborn...also heard that during pregnancy and confinement, mummies are nt afraid of 'heaty' stuff one...during my confinement, i almst used up more than 10kg of ginger and i dont feel heaty at all....but feel so shiok coz after taking the ginger stff, i sweat and feel so shiok after sweating.....

Pooh,
oH ! yes, i check with hock hua oso but dun trust the gal.. then didnt buy on that day.. maybe will go to other branch to see...
heheh.. powder form quite concentrated.. i still like to bite them, the taste v attracting..
oh! yes, ginger for confinement is a must.. to drain out the water rentention in your body... most ladies dun feel heaty during confinement.. cos as according to chinese physican.. before delivery, your body is like "fire", after delivery, your body is like "water".. meaning indicate your body is quite heaty during pregancy.. however after delivery, your body become "xu" so have to take a lot of ginger and seasme oil..
i m thinking to get my hubby to buy one carton of seasme oil..

hi matched gal,

dbs ladies card has 10% discount for spring maternity. just bought a pants from them. very comfy!

oh my god annie, u eat the ginseng like that? if u bite the ginseng, isn't it more concentrated? usu i buy from eu yan sang...then they slice it for me. i just put some in the soup. actually eu yan sang does sell american ginseng tea. not sure whether can take anot tho...

hi pooh,
i take wolfberry almost everyday. my in-laws add it into the soup that they cook. now that my appetite is not very good at nite, i resorted to eat bb's porridge (my MIL cook it for my nephew)...and she added fish, vege, red dates and wolfberry. Tho it taste a bit bland, i do not mind since i noe i'm still eating healthy food. hehehe

i agree with you. My auntie drank a lot of black chix soup and her daughter (ie my cousin) is still so fair! And the best thing is that my cousin is very intelligent too. so my dad followed her recipe...hahahha...i think i drink until a bit scared already...

sigh...for bb, everything also eat lah. i used to hate fish but now gotta force myself to eat at least 3 times a week...

I was given folic acid, Vit B12 and neurogain from start of pregnancy .... gyane only prescribe Muti-Vit (which includes iron, folic and other vitamins) and also calcium tablets at wk 17.... I was ask to finish off watever folic acids I left and after tt just need to take the multi-vits pills, calcium and neurogain .... only the multi-vits pills is included in my pkg .... for calcium n neurogain ... will have to pay

hi Ino & matched gal,

I think DBS women card got 15% ley ...not 10% ...coz the other day I was at spring maternity and the salesgal mix-up DBS and UOB lady's card and tell me got 15% discount .... then during payment time realise tt I am holding a UOB lady card but she still honour her mistake and give me 15% discount ....8) ....

I managed to purchase above $250 in single receipt and got their 10% discount card ...

hi ino,

Thanks! Pity i don't hv the dbs woman's card...

Found out fr my colleague that the Suntec Priviledge Card also got 5% off. Duno if true, later i call to ask.. hehe

ino,
heheh.. yap. i eat the ginseng only after i finish the soup.. then left the used ginseng.. taste good with a bit of salt.. else bitter.. heheh
oH! where is spring?

hi taurus,

wah, got 15% ah... But u got the 10% card anyway in the end... I went there once, and found the clothes quite nice, but rather ex... Guess the maternity clothes price are "inflated" on purpose... hmmm...

Hi Ryue,

Are you still going to see Dr Foong this Sat? I will be seeing him at 10.30am this Sat. If you are going then we will be able to meet one another

wah the thread moves on very fast!

the discount only applicable for woman card? normal dbs card can?

anyone got prob with swallowing pills? think i very lousy, every night when i stare at the amt of pills i gotta pop, i auto feel nausea liao. last night worse, puke out my med.

Milo,

Haha, it is normal. I see my pills also want to puke. Yesterday morning was having slight MS. Goodness! Dunno why always feel like vomiting. But i tell myself cannot vomit, i dun wanna waste my pills! Haha! So i really tried very hard to curb my vomiting and managed to do it

kk,

ok, i shall take u as my eg

when u going for ur detailed scan? me so excited waiting for mine on the 30 dec..keke

milo,

But sometimes very difficult not to vomit. Will have that merlion act, then have to try very hard not to let anything spit out *yucks*

My detailed scan is tomorrow. More worrying!

milo, Kk
Wah! so good, your detailed scanning is tomorrow.. i still have to wait till 22.. seems long way to go..

taurus,
Thanks for your info. i will have to check out the price.. dun intend to buy expensive.. cos only use for few mths.. currently, still fix into my usual clothes.. my sis only wear her doll dress to cover her tummy at 8th mth time.. i think i need to wear it maybe next mth..

matched girl,

i take multi-vits and true it will make your body slightly heaty. but dun worry, u simply need to drink more water (at least 8 glasses, more if you can). as for constipation i did not have that problem, in fact i think i go toilet more regularly now than before i was pregnant. i guess it's true when they say every pregancy is different

really envy those of you who can still wear yr normal clothes leh. i already started wearing when i was 11 weeks' pregnant. my new maternity clothes burnt a big hole in my pocket... my husband already hinting to me that i should STOP...

this weekend i'm going to go to check out the 'bu qi' recipes u all recommended... for the sake of my baby :D thanks for all tt chunk of info ladies!

Hello gummie,

Hey me too, my bowel movement is better than that before pregnancy. Water intake still the same as before. i think i suffer more constipation before that. Ever since pregnant, no more

And i too, think that the pills are really heaty stuff. No choice got to take them.

hello there kk,

yes, good for us huh? let's hope we continue this way throughout :p otherwise acumulate too much toxins will suffer pimple breakouts... i already had a severe one in my first trimester. maybe becos of the hormonal changes, but the pimple marks are taking longer than normal to disappear i'm beginnin to wonder if it will ever. anyway they say pregnant women are prone to pigmentation so i'm keeping my fingers crossed tt it will all clear after childbirth...

I seldom have constipation problem before pregnacy but ever since I start on the Multi-vit and calcium pills ...I am badly constipated and the other day went toilet got one pool of blood when I try hard to pass motion ....8( ... really scare the hell out of me .... now keep forcing myself to drink more water n take more fruit and prune ..... 8( ...

For clothing .... I used to wear those body hugging strectable material tops n bottoms ....now still contine to wear and can see my tummy very obvious ... last time is sexy .... but now I find looks quite ok with the bludging tummy ... at least I prefer wearing this compare to those lose pajamas maternity clothing ...