(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

milo,
think u are abt same week as me.. I think for your sickness, y not take american ginseng cory. essence (without the chicken). Its warm. Not heaty. good for you n baby. will smooth your qi so that you wont puke out so often.
i had it daily cos i oso puked daily 1st 3mths... now better becos i drink it daily. Y not you try one and see..
Only after 4 mths then can eat those bu food, u can eat the 13 tai bao.. good for baby and oso help to ease your sickness..
for triple test, i will b having it this evening. I d check with the nurse. No dinner b4 the blood test. My gf had it mths ago. stated that the test oso check your cholestorl level, sugar level to check whether got hypertension, diabetic and of cos the risk of ds..

Hi Annie,

i guess ur gf took more than the triple test? What i know is that the triple test is for DS only. Other blood test will be testing for our own health, like what u have mentioned.

Milo, u are only taking the triple test or all other blood tests?

That time i drew three tubes of blood. Only one tube used for triple tests. The rest for other things.

KK,
Oh! iC, i oni noe to pay $120 + for detail blood test..duno for what.hhehe. Thanks
Maybe, my blood test inc my own health thats y no dinner b4 the blood test this evening.
My gf one v. troublesome, she stated that she had to go for no breakfast before the blood test then went back 1/2 hr after her breakfast for another blood test... i duno my one need or not..heheh

Milo, think u better call to check with your clinic.

kk,

not sure also. i blur like sotong forgot to ask the gynae. the nurse jus told me next visit need to go for blood test so i presume shld be the triple blood test since i am into my week 16 soon.

alamak, 3 tubes ah. actually i very phobia of blood test. hopefully i dun malu myself too much tomorrow..keke

u going for yours tomorrow also? good luck

annie,

aiyo, draw one time enough to freak me out liao. eat breakfast liao still come back from 2nd round *faint*

annie,

oh, for my blood tests, in total i paid $189.90. Haha.. expensive ya? Gotta spend another $180 for detailed scan.

i think our blood tests for general health also as a rough gauge only. The real blood test outside for chloesterol and sugar levels normally need to abstain from good for at least 10 hours leh.

Har? Seems like ur gf testing for diabetes level leh. I read about such test. Thought it is only necessary if initial sugar level is tested to be high.

Hei ladies,

I haven't gained much weight too, at most prob 1kg. Now in week 15. Haven't quite started with maternity clothing tho of cos there are favourites I cannot wear any more.

My take on food and cravings - really...from old wives' tales to readings/information on everything - MODERATION is really the key word. If we follow everything to the tee, we prob end up not being able to eat anything at all.

Anyway, on names - you guys can check out: www.behindthenames.com as well as www.motherhood.com.sg (generic website). cheers

KK,
r u going for your 2nd check up regarding the blood test... hope that i remember correctly.. nowsaday, v v forgetful..
Hows your flu? I had flu over the weekend. listened to the doc, sleep most of the time to recover.. now better..
if possible, let me noe.. worry for u. .. anyway, if there is a must go for the amino test for certain ans... (shd be a fasle alarm).

Hi milo,

So far I did not abstain from any food for my blood tests but I did heard from my colleagues that if you are testing for your sugar level ...then better abstain from fast food, drinks with high sugar content and chicken rice ....

Hi KK,

Yah I still take salad but not very often also coz not sure if its good to take raw veggies ... so just take in moderation ... me currently in my wk 18 ...going for my detail scan in 3 weeks time.. still having MS on and off ...but as compare to before , I think I am much better now ...so no complains ...8)

Hi juzmaine,

must not be easy for you espeically when u have ur gal to take care ... I think the packet herbal soup is ok but u need check the content before buying to make sure that the herbs is safe for pregnant women ... best to get it from those medical hall ..then can ask them for opinion ...8) ... for myself, I like to brew the potato, carrot, onion and pork rib soup which I feel is healthy and not heaty .... and most important easy to brew...8)... and the onion can help to relaese some wind from the body so that dun feel so bloated ....

I'll be doing my blood test tomorrow. I quickly called the clinic up after reading the earlier postings on fasting b4 blood test. The nurse said no need to fast, phew. The blood test will be for rubella, Hep B, HIV and FBC. It costs $75. I so thick skin, asked her if this routine blood test is included in the package. Her answer was a very fast NO. hahahaha...

Hi Annie,

Oh, i am meeting my gynae tomorrow. I think i did not update in this thread. My hubby called up the gynae last fri and the gynae say actually not much worry. He just want to know our date of conception. If the blood test is taken in week 15, then no issue. But if week 16, then there is a risk. Me and my hubby counted and most likely it is week 15. Anyway the blood test is taken in week 15. I was not in my week 16 yet.

U know why.. my birthday is very close to my EDD. When i first went for my appt, the gynae say my EDD is 25 apr, that was based on menses date. But we remembered clearly that he shifted the EDD to May after 2nd/3rd appt. But this was not updated in the patient's card. We still saw the date 25 Apr on my patient's card. So there is a difference in the triple test whether i am 28 or 29 yrs old. If the EDD is after my birthday, that is in May, then i would be 29 and the triple test results would be fine. I think all these alarms are due to misunderstandings and of course, it may be due to the nurse's fault for not updating the EDD in the card.

Taurus,

That's why i need to check with u on ur EDD haha... u are in ur week 18 rite? And i am going into week 18 tomorrow. Which means my EDD cannot be earlier than yours! If urs in may, mine cannot be april!

kk,

glad to hear that things are alright now
cross your fingers for mine tomorrow hor. i very nervous abt the results also. hope they can let me know the results asap

Hi KK,
Oh! really! great! good news! fasle alarm hahah..
Oh! is it? then how come they want to take the blood test this week, which is week 16 for me. Think wednesday to b exact. hmm.. have to ask the gyne.
Some how, he got so many patients, might oversee my case.. my last mense date is August 1 - 3. So i count correctly rite?

Annie,

I think if we count from menses date, it is really a very rough gauge only. It is only when we know the date of conception then more accurate. Because that is when the egg is really being fertilised by the sperm

And i find that counting from the conception date is indeed more accurate cos it coincides with what my gynae predicted when he measured length of bb on every appt

I am having problem with week 15 and 16 mainly because my birthday is on 30 Apr. Very sensitive in this aspect. If my EDD is 25 Apr, i am 28. If my EDD cross over 30 Apr, I am 29 haha... and triple test standards are based on comparing standards in the same age group. So once we cross over to another age, we are banded in another category. Something like tat lah, i guess :p

Annie,

So to add on, whichever week we take triple test doesn't matter, as long as we know roughly how old we will be when it's EDD

Hi KK,

Huh?? I abit confuse on the wk 15 & wk 16 ley ...is there a difference when we take the triple test?? I did mine during my week 12 ... the only difference my gyane tells me is the price ... I paid S$170 for the test in wk 12 but if I do in wk 16 ... i only pay S$110 or S$120 .... so I choose to do in wk 12 to noe the results earlier ....

The only thing i remember is my gyane checking my birthday ... my EDD also same month as my birthday ... my BD is late may and my EDD is early may ... and i should be 32 after my BD ...so she say I still consider 31 when I deliver... so quite ok .... and my results is 1:9000 ...so she say results very good no need to worry ....

Taurus,

At least u are not in a big mess of calculations because ur EDD is early May and ur birthday is end May. They are at least 2-3 weeks difference rite? Cannot miscount by so many weeks haha...

Yah rite, if u are counted as 32, then ur triple test results would be banded differently already.

That's why on the day of blood test, we were arguing with the staff nurse when she say i am 28 when the bb is borned. We kept saying no because we heard from gynae that my EDD is may and that is 29 yrs old when bb borned. And she say this affects blood test results lor. Siao leh she, still use calculator to calculate such simple maths problem :p

That's how we came to recall that the card was written 25 apr instead of may date.

Hi kk,

One more thing which i am quite confuse is how ppl calculate the wk you are in?? coz you mentioned the wk you did the triple test is kinda critical ... so just to make sure that I am not misleading you ...

To pe precise ... I am now in my wk 17 and 5 days. So i take it that I am in my wk 18. And I should complete my wk 18 this Wed and move to wk 19 this thur .... is this how u calculate your number of wks??

Yah lor, confirmed correct liao lor!!! Because i counted based on the last gynae visit that say i am 15.4 weeks, which is around 15 weeks 3 days. That was a friday. So every tues is a brand new week. So tomorrow i am week 18. While u will be in ur week 17 and 6 days rite? So i am more than u by 1 day rite? So if ur EDD is 3 May, mine is 2 may lor?

HAHAHA... and more confirmed liao lor. If week 16 means EDD 25 apr, then week 15 must mean EDD 2 May lor, which is so perfect matched Yoohoo!

mmm...I'm very confused cos next Mon is my 19th week but my EDD is 6 May!! The photo from scan shows from my last visit dated 5 Nov in 14 week 5 days...uurrgghhh...I've not only lost my ability to remember, I can't calculate too!!!!

in fact, during my 1st pregnacy, i ate alot of crabs , somemore black pepper crabs !!! my gal ok leh... my hubby dont let me eat tis time round coz he afraid bb will be like crab 'duo suo duo jiao '.. actuali all these all supersitious, just eat moderate coz seafood high in cholestrol..

i did sign up cordlife for my gal and will be doing the same for my no 2..coz in case they have different blood group ...of coz, as parents we hope nt to use it lah...

actually my fren also adviced me not to eat crabs. she said her sis ate a lot of crabs during her pregnancy and now her son pinches people very frequently. hehehe...aiya...dunnoe whether to believe a not but i dun have craving for crabs so no issue for me. ;-)

i also believe in eating in moderation.

i tink i will take bird nest only in month 5. actually hor, bird nests is just for skin complexion...doesn't really give much nutrients...i also heard it would cause asthma in babies...but it's really not scientifically proven.

if want good complexion, can opt for a much cheaper way...ie. drink soya bean milk (w/o sugar syrup). hehehe.

hi kk, u count till so accurate ah? how does your gynae determine which wk u are at? thru' ultra scan? mine is a rough gauge based on the ultra scan as well as the length of the bb. i shld be in wk 16 this coming Sat. btw, i find my work clothes getting tighter...looks like gotta switch to maternity wear next wear. ;-)

Morning ladies! How's everyone??

Cord Blood banking
I was interested in this during my first pregnancy. But before I manage to attend their talk, gave birth liao! I think Cordlife has a seminar this coming Sat, anyone interested to go? Maybe we can go together and meet up??

Ivy
I thought I read somewhere about donating the cord blood to govt hospital and get priority or discount in future if we need it. I forgot the details though. Can tell me where to get the info? You poor thing, still puking ah? Hope it'll be over soon!

Eating crab
I only ate once or twice during last pregnancy and like what Milo said, my boy is duo shou duo jiao and drool a lot! I think I'll stay away from crab completely this time.

So many postings to catch up!!

Zach,

i read that in the newspapers before, now dunno where to get information liao. Maybe can check with the gynae later on?

Hi Juzmaine,

I also abit confuse in how to calculate the no of weeks .... coz when I go for scanning on 10 Nov ... the scan indicates that I am in wk 16 .... which is complete wk 15 and 1st day into wk 16 ... so tomorrow I should complete my wk 18 and move on to wk 19 on thur.... but from your gynae scan .... you already complete wk 18 yestersday and today already in ur 1st day of wk 19 ...but how come your EDD is later than mine .....me blur liao ....

Yo Zach & Ivy, I took the brochure during my last visit to the gynae, gimme sometime to find, if not next Mon I go get for u guys

Hihi Taurus,
think we are of the same age
, my BD is July so you mean I'll be considered 31 when I deliver next yr?
Yeah man, me blur abt the calculation too, I calculated my est. date of conception and the date is when I still hv menses leh....

Hi Juzmaine,

Yah, gyane say they calculate based on your BD ... so since ur BD in July n u give birth in May ...u still consider 31 yrs old ... 8)

Funny hor, if ur r still having menses during your conception date .... tt mean ur conception date should be at least 10 - 14 days later coz we usually ovulate 10 - 14 days after menses mah .... so ur EDD should also be later n not earlier hor ... but anyway ... so long as BB is growing well .... I guess we just leave it as it is lor ....gynae say wat wk jio wat wk..keke

But hor seems that all your gyane measures the length of ur BB during every visit .... mine stop measuring after 1st trismester coz she says BB too big now ... the measurement wont be accurate...

Sigh, actually just now i almost cried at the clinic. I went to the gynae for the triple blood test results.

And seems like results are borderline. If the test is taken at week 15, the results are normal. If week 16, then it is abnormal. Based on menses date, that was week 16. We have 2 conception dates and unsure which one. One can lead to week 15 and the other lead to week 16. Finally, based on size of bb, the test is taken at week 15. Out of 4 appt dates i went to, 3 appt dates indicates that the blood test is taken at week 15.

The gynae suggest amnio test as an option but can cause miscarriage in the ratio 1:300. In the end, we decided not to take the amnio test, mainly because abortion is not one of our considerations at all. And to us, if the bb is normal and miscarriage happens in the amnio test, then we will really feel guilty.

Since my menses cycle is not regular and we aren't sure on the conception date, we can only really trust the bb measurement. And since it indicates week 15 when the test is taken, we take it that it is normal.

Hi Juzmaine,

When should u think is ur EDD?

My gynae shifted EDD to a later date due to size of bb. The first EDD is always based on menses date. After that gynae should shift based on actual size of bb.

Did ur gynae do the shift?

Hi Ino,

My gynae also uses the length of bb to calculate the number of weeks. Yup, through ultrasound scan.

The rule of thumb is to measure, then add a 6.5 to it. That will give the number of weeks in decimal point. We can then convert to weeks and days

yo gals,
Gd morning. ... I am quite in a relax mood lar.. cos had the triple blood test last nite.
4got whose ask? Hmm.. not that painful, just like a insect bite.. drawn three tubes but not full... so dun worry...
i went 4 dinner b4 the test, hopefully the blood wont indicate the cholestol is high. I had a blood test years b4. Had my lunch then went for the test, end up the result not good, scare me like hell.. I had to go to polyclinic to do a retest without meal..
The nurse told me that the test oso include Aids (HIV) test. Anyway, i had done it b4 my wedding. Think its a must...
gynes stated that my baby is a boy (said 90% accuracy).. hopeful my wish come true..

Hi KK,

sorry to ask this but wat is ur test results to determine that you are at the borderline? Coz gyane didnt really expalin abt the range and just simply tell me the results over the phone and say that the results is ok and no need for further test .... but from the way u put it .... so many factors to consider and got differenct range for different age group ... so makes me wonder if gyane did consider my age when she look at the results ....

By the way , dun worry too much as I have a colleague whose results shows that she is in the high risk range and have to go for the amnio test ... turns out she got a healthy BB boy ...

Hihi Taurus
Yea rite, s long as BB is fully developed and dun come out prematurely, wat more can I ask for :p
After eveery scan, I'll get the b/w pix where it'll indicate the length of BB, week & day as well but no weight indicated leh...will go ask gynae

Hihi KK,
Dun worrie, your chances of BB being normal is so high, plus during thorough scan, gyna will take measurement of e'ry part of BB so u'll be assured

Congrats Annie! You're another one who has proven the predictor wrong! Hopefully I'm the next to prove it wrong...pray hard.....

KK,
Oh! sorry to hear that.. yap, gyne oso v blur sometime. i went for check up last nite, the gyne oso stated that i am at end of week 17 instead of end of week 15... My EDD is 8 May, so how?
D the triple blood test, so oso wait for result... my turn to worry. I make apptment to have a detail scan on week 20 (or 19 which i calculate). duno accurate or not.

Well, since you have made decision then everything should be fine.. no worry..

I thought the length is not accurate? cos my sis at week 12, her bb only 4.1cm n my bb was at 5.5 cm.. so any range on this?

Juzamine,
Thanks, i m quite happy but oso worry. cos my hubby n i didnt figure out to see the bird bird part, then hows the gynes noe.. hmm..
Hopefully, pray hard, its a boy after all..
kk,
forget to add on, i had done the blood test on week 17. so not accurate huh? hmm.. now duno how.. c for the result 1st then.. anyway, book to do the detail scanning on 22 dec... few days b4 xmas..
dun worry too much.. we are all in the same boat.. to compare, i have higher chance cos i ate too many medicines b4 i noe i expected..

Oh ya wanna ask you girls.....what do you do with a sick colleague huh? This colleague of mine, who is sittting beside me, KEEPS COUGHING & SNEEZING!!! Wonder why don't he just stay at home and recouperate...........
I so scared I kennna his germs!
PISSED!!!

Oh dear, does he cover his mouth when cough? Think you eat more Vit C stuffs to build up immune syst, alternatively, buy spray..there's a kind dat purify the atmosphere

Fates,

U know i have a colleague who is more grossed? Her cubicle is next to mine. And she has been coughing non stop for many months already. And u know what she do to the phlegm after she spit out? She spit into a nissin noodle cup and just placed it on the table for the rest of the day. Sometimes she even spit into the wastepaper bin behind her seat. Can u imagine that???

uurrgghhh...gross! virus may be air-borne! Dun she remember u're preg? so inconsiderate! Ask cleaner to visit her cubicle more often than the rest to clear her mess

kk & fate,
i wonder whether u gals scare of the vineager smell or not, if not, this might work.
u cook some vineager (white, cheap one) with water at home,then put in a flask that can withstand hot..
open up when u reach your cubicle, place near to yr colleague side.kill germs ...
This method was taught by one of my china friends during saar period.. its work.. esp. air con place.

Hi Juzmaine,

She is supposed to be out of the education system, but somehow due to lack of teachers, she was retained for another a year or two. She is unmarried, and u know, she has weird personality. So seldom got pple talk to her. Imagine we have sat beside each other for coming to two years and we dunno got to talk to each other for more than 5 times or not.

Then the cleaner also another one. When she mop the floor, she only mop the aisles. She never even bother to sweep inside our cubicle. End up teachers got to take our own broom and sweep and mop to mop the floor. Pathetic rite?