(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Hi Ivy,
you gonna chk on the prices for edventure books? Possible to help chk national geographic window of literacy- emergent lvl (29 titles)? Thks alot!

The sticker book is from kumon.
V interesting and my gal can do more than 10 pages at one go!! at least she is focus while doing.
was quite surprise that she could apply the gluestick and stick on pretty well by herself.

cheri,
Hw did u 'teach' yr gal on maze??? I had abit of difficulty while doing maze wif her. She refuse me to guide her and jst draw her smiling faces or scribble on the sheet!

I got the kumon colour book which is really good. But where can i get the sticker book? Anyone knows which bookshop keeps a wide range of kumon books

<font color="0000ff">Cheri,
Where did you get the maze book? Does it come with the clear holder? Is the marker erasable?</font>

annie
yes, the jap kimonos r so cute..i was very tempted to buy last nite but no occasion to wear leh...

pooh
how come the kumon sticker book must use glue stick still? r they diff from the usual sticker books we can buy in popular etc?

teach her? hmm she started off doing mazes in the bishan sm class..just simple one line kinda path then after i bot the maze books from popular, i slowly let her do more at home &amp; found that she could do slightly more difficult ones as time goes by. Yes, initial phase, i held her hand to guide her...told her that i'll guide her once, then she can erase &amp; repeat on her own. Hv to make it fun like 'hey, lil rabbit is hungry...can u help bring her home to mummy..mummy cooked yummy food for her, u know?' Maybe when ur ger starts to do funny things in the maze, it's a sign that u can stop the activity &amp; do sthg else...my ger loves mazes though, she can sit thru one hour, doing 40 mazes at one go. Most of the time, i'm the one who has to make her stop by coaxing her to go eat cos i will be bored liao hahaha

bbloh
u can find them from popular but not every popular stocks them. u can try those for 2-3 year olds first...i ordered some from taiwan actually for my hb to bring back from his biz trip tonite but cos i ordered them months ago, i suspect the 2-3 year old books would be too easy for N now..if u r keen, i can sell them to you. They r like $3 plus each only. No, i buy the clear holder files myself from bookstores, tear out the pages from the maze books to slot them in then let her do them in the folder wif a whiteboard marker. The marks can be erased off so the kids can do again...good for confidence building in the initial stage as repetition bolsters their confidence &amp; skill.

I'm keen! Can you bring them to the zoo on Mon? The clear holder is a good idea but I don't like the smell of marker pens. Are there odourless erasable whiteboard markers?</font>

bbloh
my hb will be back wif them tonite...will look thru them &amp; if i hv extra, will bring it to zoo on mon. errmm i use the pentel whiteboard markers, not much smell. I tried using the crayola washable markers but the lines r not vivid enough &amp; hard to erase.

Sure, np! U take your pick 1st. Don't worry about it. Can the marker inks be erased with tissue paper or must use water?</font>

ivy,

yr 1st link store sell more ex than what i get leh. I want to get more and trying to get a discount but new stock will be in next mth.any1 keen ?

cheri,
the first few pages are stickers activity..then the rest, cut and paste using glue lor....so at nite after my gals sleep, im busying cutting...those pics are tough for her to cut..eg they have a pic of a cow and cut-out is the mouth so i got to do the cut out for her..

1820868.jpg

this is v nice activity book on mazes, dot to dot and hidden pictures.
v cute pictures and comes wif a CD -interactive game on matching alphabets. the book even comes wif those dotted lines (dont know wat is it call)at the sides for you to tear and slot into clear pockets.

bbloh

some popular bookstore sells stickers activity books at quite affordable price. comes wif theme like jungle animals, fruits, etc

Got to miss out the outing in zoo again
just discharged from tmc for contraction and spotting.

Sien miss out the fun again

Hi Cheri,

Where did you got the books and how much? looks interesting... hee..looking for interesting stuff to play w R since it looks like i may not be able to go back to work for a while again...hiaz..dunno what my boss will think of me

cheri,
where or wat place to order from TW? my sis is there for 3mths liao, coming back soon...quick quick tell me the link so that i can ask her lug back! haha....

joyce,
take care, dun need to care abt boss lah...At most change job after maternity leave lo.

ivy
ask ur sis to go 五分铺 to buy some cheap clothes...my hb always gets for N; not branded but cheap &amp; nice clothes. Most pieces r for abt S$5 only. The whole place is a wholesaler area but only some shops will sell single pieces. The stores selling kids' clothes r along the row at the end of the whole area. Esp good if u wanna stock up on some winter wear for kids.

pooh
went to check after u posted the brand of marker..realized my hb bot her that b4. But is urs a v thick marker; thicker than the usual ones? I seldom let N use that cos i thot more difficult to hold. But the ink is really smooth!

ya, my ger can only snip wif her scissors but not cut out shapes etc yet...wonder when she'll be able to do do that...then it'll be more fun doing cutting &amp; pasting activities wif her too.

joyce
i get mine from popular mostly, just got the maze book for bbloh this morning &amp; oso a few sticker books. Quite interesting, they give the diff scenarios &amp; the kids will paste the relevant stickers for each scene. Can get them to explain &amp; justify where &amp; why they paste the stickers rather than just plain stickers.

bbloh
i let her clean them off with either a duster or a dry hand towel...wet tissues a tad messier as there will be dampness caught in between ur pages.

cheri and bbloh,
how was the zoo trip today? Sorry cant make it cos my male maid is not well...Definitely cannot tahan carrying lil x thru out the outing..

Joyce's little girls were born yesterday. All 3 are doing well but the twins will spend some time in special care as they are only 32 weeks.

<font color="0000ff">Ivy,
Met Cheri at the zoo entrance yesterday morning but OTOT thereafter. It was a good trip and E likes the water playground. But, no place to rinse or shower leh.

I find it very funny why these places (e.g. zoo, S'pore Botanic Gdn) have the water play features, but no proper place for kids to at least have a good rinse. So far, I think only IMM did a good job in this aspect.

Cheri,
Thanks for getting the book for me. E slept from 4+ pm yesterday till this morning (with some wakes in between)! He must be super tired.

lh_jyc,
That's an early surprise! Congrats!</font>

bbloh &amp; anna
ya, so tough to meet up wif u or anna at the zoo as the place is huge &amp; like u said, really otot...N loves the waterplay &amp; the flying fox a lot..did E try that? but must really guide them as they move along.

no shower area? we bathed her at those shower points outside the toilets leh...but when she's older, then may not be so nice to do that in public hahaha...

u stayed till v late...we left ard 12 plus. wow, E must be really exhausted haha

re Children's Zoo
i did feel a tad disappointed that the main attraction of the place was more the water play for the kids than the animals...the water play was done up so attractively &amp; occupied such a big area...hhmm aren't animals supposed to be the main star in a zoo? u can hv playgrounds anywhere...

she loves the flying fox but she was v terrified of the big torrents of water that came splashing once in a while hahah. We oso like the 'museum' where they showed exhibits of the olden days sewing machine, charcoal stoves, how ppl wash clothes etc. It was so funny when i saw a helper (not sure wat nationality)..she was looking on incredulously at the parents pointing out &amp; explaining to the kids wat these things were; then it suddenly occurred to me that while these r 'antiques' to us, in their villages, these could be wat they r using still...really felt bad then.

ivy
hahah ur male maid indeed...it's ok, we can always arrange again.

joyce
congrats! take care &amp; rest well.

We stayed till 3pm. I was quite disappointed with the Children's zoo too. Felt the pre-reno one is better.

E is still quite timid so we didn't try the Flying Fox. I rinsed him inside the handicapped toilet next to KFC. Where are the shower points? Are they located near the same toilet?

I brought E to the Kampong House too but he's a bit scared of its ambience and ushered me to leave.</font>

bbloh
yes, pre-reno times, the animals &amp; playground plus water play were in 2 separate areas &amp; i rem there were more animals than now (only rabbits, ponies &amp; some billy goats now!) i think there were even showtimes for the animals then but dun think they r a feature anymore in the new CZ...

the shower points r at the toilets that r a distance away from kfc, i think. near the flying fox area...but i just wonder if they should hv made the shower points more hidden from public view...cannot imagine the 5-6 year olds bathing in public leh.

hehe it's called Kampung House ah...i knew it will b weird for them so i din preempt N as to wat is inside, just bring her nonchalantly inside...was E scared off by the old lady sitting on the sofa set? should go in next time, they hv snakes, mice, chicks, mealworms etc inside the fridge etc...but all caged or contained lah...see no touch!

wooo...u all went to the zoo too? I went on Sunday...wonderful weather....yeah...i tink my gal enjoyed playing at the rainforest playground more than seeing the animals. We went to the animal shows but din find it veri interesting....
She went absolutely ga-ga when she saw the waterplay features (and yeah...she kanna the big bucket of water...no thanks to sotong daddy!) Think she really enjoyed herself veri much.

But i too wished that there is a proper enclosed shower area....it's a bit weird to see nude toddlers (esp the bigger ones) bathing in the open....

ino
which animal shows did u all go to? i found the rainforest one disappointing but like the elephant show cos it's interactive at least.

it's v funny, N can swim but she's very scared of big water fountains features at waterplay...think it's the sound that really frightens her. She used to be even afraid of the waves at the beach &amp; din even want us to carry her near the water but at least now she will dare to walk wif us &amp; even bend down to collect water.

Cheri,

Sorry can check with you wat is the dosage u feeding N for the fish oil? Half teaspoon correct?

By the way for your US trip, u been to San Diego right? Can share which hotel u booked? Me heandache trying to source for one.

milo
yes, half teaspoon.

we stayed in Holiday Inn Express in the old town of SD. It has free shuttle bus daily to &amp; fro Sea World as well as the SD Zoo which r both not too far away. It's a 10 min walk to the nearest trolley station where we took a trolley/train to the factory outlet mall near the Mexican border. It's a small, cosy hotel (though not too new) if u r not intending to stay in the main city of SD. We opted to stay out of city as we din hv too many days in SD &amp; we kinda made up our minds the places we wanna visit (SW, Zoo). We enjoyed our stay &amp; love the garden in the hotel...every morning after our hotel breakfast, we'll cut some apples &amp; then sit at the benches to enjoy...N loves playing in the garden.

a pic speaks a thousand words...

our room came wif a balcony as well as patio. We were a lil disappointed wif this suite at first as most of the space had been taken up by the patio &amp; the room is not as big as usual suites but glad to say, we made use of the patio eventually (we had a few of our meals there under the moonlight &amp; stars
) &amp; it was like a playground for her hahah

1831103.jpg
1831104.jpg

the garden...
1831105.jpg

Cheri,

Wow that looks like a nice place. We intend to visit Seaworld &amp; Legoland in SD and also my factory outlet! Haha.. will google the hotel

Me also feeding K the fish oil + childlife multi v, really hope this will boost up his immunity and better prepare him for sch next year

Pooh,

Is it cheaper to get locally?

milo
think u can give the zoo a miss...we thot the SG zoo was much better hahaha. But legoland is quite a distance away from the hotel so u may wanna check out the transport...will u be driving? there's a Children's Museum in the city. We din hv the time to go but maybe u can check that out.

think cheaper to get the fish oil from lv spree.

milo,
do a lv spree when you are there lah. then get it delivered to your hotel. Haha...
I can help you to think of the sprees to do..but you gotta bring extra suitcase!
1) lv
2) Gap/ON
3) allboardtoys
4) amazon (books and dvd)

got the hint? hahah...

ivym

yup i will shop like siao! too much regrets the other time, this time round will make sure i come back a happy woman :p

cheri,

the SD zoo so lousy? ok will give it a miss. shld be driving this round time, hopefully wont be too diff to navigate around

milo
hehe amazon spree is a fab idea as they dun do retail in states...gap, on, children's place, gymboree etc u can find their stores in the factory outlet mall...better to b able to see, feel &amp; choose urself hahha but if u r helping other mummies here then that's another matter altogether keke

the locals r darn proud of the SD zoo, they will name it as a must-go place everytime u ask but they hv probably not been to the SG one lah...SW is must go! really fun!

its going to be the last 2 mths of the year!
How about a potluck gathering again soon?
Dec sure have lots of gatherings and parties to go to. Maybe we do one of the Nov weekend?

22 Nov 2008?
Venue: TBC (Someone volunteer her house pls?)
Lunch time.

ivy
good idea for the gathering but can we hv it late aftn till dinner or sthg? or in the morning? lunch like middle of nowhere as abt their nap hours.

<font color="0000ff">I'm planning to visit Genting sometime in Nov. I've not been there for more than a decade. What are the things to do there in addition to the theme parks? Which hotel is more comfy and accessible? We do not intend to drive there. Which coach is good? How's the weather over there? Please share your tips or comments? Arigato!</font>

cheri,
ha, by lunch i meant meet like 10am or so then last till their nap time..
Evening also can aka dinner time.

bbloh,
ask milo lah. she just went last weekend..haha..

Sorry to miss the zoo outing the last round. Ariel &amp; me fell sick together.. it was a terrible experience!

joyce,

Congrats on the birth of your princesses!!

Read this story on preggie mtb kena fired and no compensation.. so sad n jialat... acc 2 e report, e law hasnt fully strongly legislate. I personally get mad becos 1 of my gf suffered same fate when she preggies 2yrs back.

Hopefully govt change the rule on "pay above $1.6k is not under protection"...

With recent fall in economy, I doubt anyone dare to take risk...

Else, the fastest way to allow more immigrants to singapore.

http://www.xin.sg/article.php?article=25273&amp;st=dtl

I got this from one of my friends.

Restrictly for ladies to read for leisure

<font color="ff0000">Are Men Really Hard To Please</font>

<font color="0000ff">The problems with GUYS:

If u TREAT him nicely, he says u are IN LOVE with him;
If u IGNORE him, he says u are PROUD.
If u DRESS Nicely, he says u are trying to LURE him;
If u don't dress PROPERLY, he says u are from KAMPUNG.
If u ARGUE with him, he says u are STUBBORN;
If u keep QUIET, he says u have no BRAINS.
If u are SMARTER than him, he'll lose FACE;
If he's Smarter than u, he is GREAT.
If u don't Love him, he tries to POSSESS u;
If u Love him, he will try to LEAVE u.
If u don't make love with him., he says u don't Love him;
If u do!! he says u are CHEAP.
If u tell him your PROBLEM, he says u are TROUBLESOME;
If u don't believe him, he says that u don't TRUST him.
If u SCOLD him, u are like a NANNY to him;
If he SCOLDS u, it is because he CARES for u.
If u BREAK your PROMISE, u Cannot be TRUSTED;
If he BREAKS his, he is FORCED to do so.
If u SMOKE, u are BAD girl;
If he SMOKES, he is GENTLEMENT!
If u do WELL in your exams, he says it's LUCK;
If he does WELL, it's BRAINS.
If u HURT him, u are CRUEL;
If he HURTS u, u are too SENSITIVE!!

&amp; sooo hard to please!!!!!

If u send this to guys, they will swear that it's not true &amp; say that gals are no better off..
but if u don't, they say u are selfish.....
What to do..thats why the "battle" between both sexes never ends.. haha</font>

Dear all munmmies,

Next year I would like to enrol him to full day childcare but wondering the Kinderland at beside Lot1 shopping centre is it good or not.

Could anyone share your experience with this centre. Thanks.

Hilo mummies,

Thanks for the wishes

Actually i'm discharged for 1 wk but was not allowed to walk much...bbies are still in the hospital..

Just to share my exp. dun go to kk if can help it.
As my bbies are pre-mature by 2 months, i went to kk instead of thomson coz my doc advice that it will be much cheaper. admitted to kk and informed them that i want CS. 2 docs saw me N advice normal delivery but i repeated the request coz my doc has informed prev that it is safer.

They told me have to wait coz no operation theatre is avail at that time. I then requested for eupidural coz can sense the contractions is happening more and more often, told me no doc available to administer...
in the end i have to endure natural birth for one twin w/o eupidural n they tried to deliver the 2nd twin (breech position) but cant n ended emergency cs
...really was an unforgetable experience.

Btw, urgently need to think of names for the bbies.

share ur views lei
Celeste
Chloe
Selina or Celina
Stella

cant think of anything else that can do w nature liaoz...