(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Can't decide between Character or Shekinah..maybe will just choose Shekinah and let him play. Yes left 11am class!

u watch Tuesday report last nite?

they were showcasing Right brain training kids... then hv a kid from shekinah CC... then also feature her time spend in CC :p

littletot, bbloh etc

this was recommended by my ger's SM teacher which i bot from Popular Bras Basah yesterday...it's like the bambino one that liltot shared earlier but only $20 plus...even cheaper if u hv popular card..but not sure abt the complexity of the exercises though i figure would be easier to enthuse her to play if the activities r not too complex. It's like puzzles, start wif simple 2-4 pcs ones...she had fun wif it but must guide her for now...

comes in 6 books of diff themes like animals & plants, weather & time, shape & colour, numbers etc.

1514102.jpg

1514103.jpg

<font color="0000ff">Cheri,
Thanks for sharing. Think it's quite similar to Bambino (mentioned by littletot) and Xiao Tian Cai (mentioned by pooh). I seem to have seen it at Kiddy Palace though my memory is failing me.

I bought XTC ($35) at the World Book Fair several weeks ago. So the Smart Book set is cheaper (which is great for us!) and I like that the tiles have cartoons imprinted on them (XTC has numerical digits instead). What's on the other side of the tile? Does it form a pattern if the answers are correct?

I've seen a demo of the Chinese Logico set. I think the activities may be similar but they move coloured buttons to a side panel to match the items instead of placing tiles on the grids. Quite a no. of parents rave about Logico but I'm not sure if it's better.

BWT, the bookshop u mentioned at Bras Basah Complx that sells cheap children's books, is it Maha Yu Yi at level 3?</font>

bbloh
KP has too? maybe cheaper than popular even hahah

the other side of the tile is just one colour per tile...so they turn the casing over to check their answers based on the colours...urs is patterns?

bookshop at BB? eng or ch? Maha Yu Yi is level 3 for chinese books. Eng books would be Children's Book Store at Level 4 or 5, can't rem...next to the cargo lift. Very good &amp; cheap EL books too.

hi cheri

the logico look like this :
comes wif two board in a set.

1514378.jpg

the abve board is for younger age group. 6 colored buttons

1514379.jpg

this one with more buttons are for older age group

bbloh, XTC at $35 is gd buy. SM is using similar set which is in numbering too. jst that the booklets are definitely different and alot more ex.

in fact, popular have quite alot of interesting game set. bght one wooden kind of 3D puzzle for my gals. fun and challenging.
popular having 20% off for members til end this mth.

<font color="0000ff">pooh,
What are the good buys at Popular? I want to get some games &amp; learning materials for DS too as I can see that he's starting to get bored with the stuff at home already.</font>

hi cheri,

I juz came across the smart book 2day at popular!
Was deciding whether to buy....hee.

yeah...it's quite affordable and looks interesting...;-)

bbloh
CBS is a must go! i'm sure u will get many good buys...so far, most mummies whom i know who went, rave abt the place &amp; its cheap &amp; good board books hahah

ino
so coincidental...i realize diff popular stock diff stuff..i recently bot this simple maze book there but could not find it at other popular anymore..wanted to help buy for a fren...can try out, the bishan SM class lets our kids do simple maze. I would nvr hv thot of letting my ger do mazes at this age hahaha...btw, any mummy caught the 10.30 pm show on Tues..superkids? the bishan SM teachers were featured in it.

pooh
thanks for the logico pics...hmm would u say it's more complex than the smart set then? maybe if my ger really likes the smart set &amp; outgrows it, i'll consider logico.

cheri

logico board buttons are quite difficult for our tods for now and can be tiring after playing one booklet/topic of it

bbloh, i suggest u go to those big popular and see. they have various kind. LEARN THRU PLAY have cheap and nice game sets too. Are u sahm?? where do u stay??

<font color="0000ff">Cheri,
I saw the Smart Book set at Popular Jurong Point yesterday. It retails at $27.90 but has only 2 sets left. Noticed that there are other series under the same brand too. I saw Logical Genius but don't know how it's played. Seems a bit more "cheem" to me.

More product info available here: www.learnage.com.tw

pooh,
Nope. I'm a FTWM residing in Jurong. I've bought some blocks (积木) from Learn Thru Play at IMM and DS loves them! I went to Popular at Jurong Point yesterday after work to "rackie", but I realised I don't know how to choose appropriate ones suitable for DS' age!

BTW, does Popular carry Sanzijing (audio &amp; book) suitable for our tots? I can't seem to find any.</font>

bbloh
ya, the logical genius one does look more cheem...i think shapes r always more abstract but it may appeal to some kids. I'm quite sure my ger will be turned off if too complex...so it's impt to intro &amp; enthuse her slowly to things that r within her capability.

yes popular does sell szj...there's this other shop on 3rd floor, Bras Basah that sells too...think it's called You Yi or You Lian...can't really rem...audio cd oso has diff versions...some r in songs style, some r just recitations...some even explain the szj in normal CL for u...

I would like to get some advice from all of you. Have anyone of you send your kids to the following childcare centre for playgroup:

1) Agape Student Care @ Yew Tee Blk 632A
2) Tulip Montessori @ Yew Tee Blk 624
3) Wharton Junior Academy @ CCK Complex

Is their centre good in teaching, service, patience to kid, food...etc

Really need advice from all of you co's I want to send my 25 mths son to playgroup. Co's I have a bad experience before so now would like to get more info.

Thanks for all of your advice.

Love,
Carol

Hope everyone is well. Busy with work. Our little ones are really cute. by the way, i am quite keen on the educational stuff that are posted here.

Anyone know where i can get LOGICO RONDO? Any one bought the logico or bambino? is it good?

hee...so many educational stuff...my house still got a lot of books collecting dust...me super lazy these days

btw, wanna check with you...any mummies suffering from nose bleed when preg? had it for 2 weeks liaoz..my doc say its nothing lei...hiaz but whenever blow nose the tissue red veri uneasy

also any recommendation for post natal massage lady? me think have to book this time. stomach veri big

Hi, mummies,
i am new to this group, i have 3 kids, who born on April 2004, May 2006 and February 2008. Hope can get new friends here...cos i may need lots of sharing from you guys..

Athena

<font color="0000ff">Athena,
Welcome to this thread!

Ivy,
Which type of Noddy game are you looking at? The LA110 Fun Book seems to work on a similar concept as Xiao Tian Cai / Bambino / Smart Book.

littletot,
Did you bring your tots along?</font>

<font color="0000ff">Firefly,
<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

Anyone know where i can get LOGICO RONDO?<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>

I think the English set is only available from Grolier but this website used to sell it as well. Not sure if it's still available as the website is under revamp now. Perhaps you can check with Grolier (Tel: 6746-6695)?</font>

<font color="0000ff">I've yet to jab DS and have received a reminder letter from HPB. Any other tots not receiving their MMR/Measles jab yet?

Where can we wash up the kids after they play at Jacob Ballas Children's Garden? The toilets do not have any washing point right?</font>

bbloh
my ger oso took her MMR jab oredi as we wanted to bring her overseas then. Pd advised better to take.

can't bathe in Children's Garden...they used to hv washing point but not anymore. I will usually just wet a cloth wif water in the toilet &amp; wipe her down then go back home to bathe. When u thinking of going?

<font color="0000ff">fates,
Maybe Monday blues?

Cheri,
What about her head/hair? Leave it till reach home? I'm thinking of going on a Sunday.</font>

bbloh
ya, i dun do much to her hair...if u wan, mustela sells this no-rinse cleanser thingy for babies &amp; tots..i saw it in taka &amp; robinsons b4.

ivy
good idea too!

nana
when's our swimming outing? u very busy usually..seldom log on this thread leh...wat u busy wif ah? u sahm hehehe

bbloh,

Like what Ivy suggested, we brought a bottle of water to rinse J down after his water play at Jacob Ballas. Reached home then enjoy hot bath