(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Cheri

my PD gave me a diff view. told me not all germs (from HFMD) can be killed by the chlorine.

anyway, u are right.if child is sick, better to keep them at home and rest well.

Wish i can join for the swimming but cant
now preg cant look after boy when he is in the pool....Will try to come earlier but see how coz got to let boy sleep for a while as he still got lessons at 2pm lor

Ivy, can i also bring my maid too else will have to leave her at home the entire sat??

btw, will also buy french loaf for the curry

also will anyone be preparing paper cups and plates?

cant wait...

lh_jyc,
Wah! Gong xi Gong xi.

Cheri & Ivy,
Err.. k got HFMD one day after e swim but my niece was alright.Maybe that time K's immune system wasnt so strong (@13th mths) or maybe he swallowed the pool water etc. I personally feel its more on own immune system.
I give a miss partly I am going alone with K. And hb doesn't allow, he still pananoid over "swimming issue". Mil also added pepper over.
K does love swimming, hopefully hb can get over sooner or later...

<font color="0000ff">Joyce,
Feeling excited on your 2nd journey to motherhood? Congratulations!

Annie,
IIRC, the incubation period for HFMD is 3-4 days. So it's not correct to blame the swim. Keane must've caught the virus earlier than that.</font>

got this from the wikipedia:

HFMD usually affects infants and children, and is quite common. It is highly contagious and is spread through direct contact with the mucus, saliva, or feces of an infected person.....

Actually if you talk abt the swimming water, its unlikely cos it will be so diluted. But taking into possibility of kids direct contact with each other in the pool or at the edge of the pool, hmfd is still spreadable while swimming just like playing in the playground. So end of the day, wat matters is really civil minded parents. If parents are not civil minded, then there is no way to prevent the virus from spreading around.

bbloh,
I know. K had HFMD systoms appeared after discharged,(ie 2days after admited). PD cant detect what exact the virus or bacteria rely on the culture report when k admitted. She predicted as HFMD and treated as it even before the systoms out. @ the 1st place, we sent k to hospital when we notice his behaviour change, @ that time, not even having fever.Moreover, K was all at my parent place all the time.I think i stated in the earlier post.

Ivy,
Indeed. But K only contact with my niece in the swimming pool, I knew he swallow the pool water. But say something frank,<font color="ff0000">not everyone like us really civil minded</font>. Like the playground downstair near my block, at times, i saw parent let their kids play even they have so many red dots on their faces or hands. And how I know these little kids are sick, because they are waiting their turn to see the doctor. *really can faint*

Annie..don't swim loh..nobody forcing you!!

Joyce ~ how many months already?? CONGRATS!!!!

pooh ~ you preparing how many sets of party packs? I try to buy something to add on

Annie

there are all kinds of ppl around.
so when i see the sick kids playing at playground, i will bring my kids away from them or play somewhere else.

JTS, i met One mum (stranger) who bring her kid to foodcourt when the child having his chicken pox, i din notice coz give benefit of doubt as i tot mayb the spots are mossie bites, then wen the mum told me her child is having chicken pox, i felt angry. she even ask her child to play wif my gal.the mum still 'hao lian' say she could save the $ for the pox vaccine.
Do understand yr point lar, but we cant force or stop them from gg out so we move away lor.

Fate ah,
Prepared 18 goodie bags

pooh
that's so inconsiderate of the mum to bring her child out when he has CC...&amp; to hv the cheek to ask her child to play wif urs somemore...really cannot understd why some ppl r lidat leh...i din hv chicken pox b4 &amp; i took my vaccine only b4 i got preg...so it's not true that everyone will get it once. Esp now vaccines r avail so it's really selfish of her.

can i bring stickers to add on? only barney stickers ah? i only hv others but not barney leh.

annie
ya, i agree wif bbloh that dun think K got it from swimming as incubation period is 3-4 days...most flu is oso 3-4 days so my pd will always ask me to count back &amp; ask where i've been...not that it's much help honestly when they r sick...u only want them to get well fast...wat happened b4 that not impt anymore hahah

lil nana
yes, one tub is enuff thanks!

joyce
congrats! hoping for a mickey or minnie this time?

ivy
we should be there 10 plus since her swim class ends at 10 am...will help out in the deco. Is there a pool where they can just do water play? keke then the adults dun need to change into swim wear mah.

r we each bringing a toy for them to play?

wat time r we officially starting ah?

update of details:

May birthday bash at RIO VISTA, 16 Upper Serangoon View. Meet at function room.
Date: 17th May (Sat)
Time: Meet at 12pm to start lunch, cake cutting at 1.30pm sharp

1)Little Nana (Char siew Bao, carrot cakes, Siew Mai, etc...) ... Ride-on
2)Fates - spicy wings and choco
3)Ivy, hb, X (drinks)
4)Taurus
5)joyce n hubby n R (curry chicken and mee goreng) ... Bubble Blower
6)cheri, hb, N &amp; helper (brownies, cream puffs, choc eclairs)
7)sponge, hb (otah)
8)Ino, hb &amp; N (fried stuff e.g. fishball, wanton, fried otah fishcake, etc)
9)poohcutie, hb,2 kids (will be late)-desserts ... Skate scooter
10)Race,hb, E (maybe with maid)-tidbits,vitagen
11)SS1, hb, Zach, Isabel &amp; Ah Ma (Nuggets)... Parachute + Spoon &amp; Egg game.
12)Annie &amp; Keane. - satay,ie chicken, beef, mutton
13)Yvonne (egg tarts/dim sum)
14)Milo, hb, kaeden

our Little Swimmers (at abt 10am) :
1) Ivy
2) Anna
3) J

PAYMENT REC'D
Payment so far:
1) Annie
2) Joyce
3) Ss1
4)Ino
5)Cheri

Latest to TT is Thursday.
pls tt to ivy : POSB Savings 152-10134-1

Chicken pox!!! That mum ought to be shot dead.

Sorry Ivy...my IB at home le.....yesterday forgot to bring out.....today too

cheri,
Yap, indeed.

RE: chickenpox.
k took e jab but pd stated might get chickenpox after the duration. I had it 1 day before PSLE.. I had to admit to CCDAC to take the exam. I still remembered the kind teacher poured orange juice for me when I took the English paper. Time passed so fast.

<font color="0000ff">The mummy with the chicken pox child is really too much as a sick person, esp. those with contagious illness, should quarantine themselves and recuperate privately. But, there ARE some anti-vax parents who like to get their kid(s) to be near such people for a chance to let their kid(s) contract chicken pox early, and need not go for vaccinations. One of the reasons is that chicken pox vaccines are not fool-proof and will only last a few years (about 5 years IIRC). People who are vaxed against chicken pox will still contract it, but maybe the condition is not so severe. If the illness is not full blown, there may be a chance of developing shingles (same virus family as chicken pox) later on, which is more serious (skin rashes &amp; nerve pain) than chicken pox.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chicken_pox
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shingles</font>

Thanks! Its either girls or boys...coz......
2nd mth but need to go for weekly injections..painful xia

Btw, R is still coughing lei...scully i cant attend the party
hope tomolo he will be better.....

lh_jyc,
Why do you need to take weekly injection.. sayang. must be tough for you. Hopefully no morning sickness for you.
Sayang R.. no worry he sure be better for tomorrow party.

bbloh,
RE: Chickenpox
Hmm.. That time I had, were all over my body, even my head, toes,throat,face etc. Hopefully, i wont get it anymore, few marks are permanent left over. I heard old wives stated that its best to get it younger, as the recovery period drag longer as you grow older.

Hi littletot,

Yup twins...tat's why i look like a hippo now

still not veri stable so tat why need to go for injections n stuff

Hi Ivy,

Peisei..think i may not be able to attend the party tomolo liaoz...R still coughing lei...sianz

Any mummies staying near cck? i will cook the stuff if someone volunteers to do delivery...

joyce,
congrats manz..i will love twins too but no time to try yet lah.haha...
Erm, dunno got ppl staying your area or not leh. I think dun tired yourself out lah, take care of R and we settle the food somehow else...

Pooh,
you are the best manz for doing up the summarise post.

i wun be logging in much today cos at home. Anything pls sms at 97465297 hor.

Fates,
no prob lo. i will hang pig head at punggol.

Cheri,
got swallow pool for play, just come in hot shorts so you wun get wet!

<font color="0000ff">Annie,
Joyce may want to have > 3 kids, so whether or not she wants to "close shop after this" is for her family to decide lah. Some families prefer to "let nature takes its course" and some examples of people with 5 kids include Rita (Boss of Bumwear) &amp; Pat Chong (Childbirth Educator of BirthRight). Sam (Manager of Moms in Mind) is expecting her 4th child (I think after a 9 year-break). I really salute these mothers!

Joyce,
Please do not strain yourself too much. I heard that carrying twins is more tedious than singleton. Do you feel very tired &amp;/or have severe morning sickness now?</font>

Thanks for the concern.
yup having terrible whole day sickness n tiredness..doc say its normal becoz of 2x homones
but still ok la... just dun like the injection coz its into my tigh and its becoming blue n black..

actually wanted to stop at r coz tot one is enuff...this is unexpected but since it's god's will, then have 2 manage ...
just cant imagine 3 little rascals shouting and pulling my hair
later i become more n more ah seow

Hi Ivy,
No prob for me la coz already bought the ingrediants.

hope tonite he will be better if not...will sms you..

Milo...calling milo, you going? if going can tobang u to deliver the food...

bbloh,
Oh! I thought I remembered joyce mentioned abt not to have many kids. Yes, its just a suggestion. These days many go for 2. Indeed, really saluate to those whose want big family. Few friends also planned to go for 4 but they ended up stop @ 2.
I guess if 3 little one @ different timing are much easier to cope with than twin. (Personal opinion). However, twin give double happiness, very unique and able to teach each other homework problems.

Joyce,
Take care and eat well.
sorry if i remembered wrongly.

ivy,

i still haven paid u...try to transfer soonest..
Hope to c u mummies soon...still remember last gathering with some of u was when our BBs at 7mth..

<font color="0000ff">Harlow....

I am BACK! Haha Ivy, have tt-ed $20 to your acc liao. Pls check.

Will bring along Donuts tomorrow and whatever i can find cos me and K going for lesson tomolo so may not have time to prepare.

Hey wait for me for lunch leh. I shld reach abt 12... heehee very long no see liao. So excited!</font>

<font size="+2"><font color="0000ff">Ah Joyce,

CONGRATS!!!!</font></font>

Hi milo,

Thanks for offering...me bringing the whole team over coz i cant carry the heavy stuff. lucky R's cough seems to be better...

See ya later

Hi littletot,
did he say why need the injections? mine funny...initially say waterbag irregular, wanna consider abort? i refused then now the injections n tablets...dunno what wrong either. haiz just listen to him lor

Anna &amp; Ivy,
Thanks a lot, saw your helper and mummy helped a lot. Really paiseh, I didnt manage to reach earlier. Great party.

Race C,
Yo, great to see you and really sorry i was a bit blur. Woke up 6 x last 9.. Dur 1 x, K cried loud for milk but in his dream...sian*

Joyce,
Is that you with white top? Your boy really guai.

glad that you all make it! The food are really nice! Erm , who bought the mee goreng huh? Its really very good, crowd fave manz!

Special thanks to dear anna for opening up her condo for us and the nice nice deco, pinata etc!

Nice meeting everyone!!! It has been a long while since we last met. It is my pleasure to hold this party for our babies.ops... is lil todd... Mummies, Daddies and kids are having lots of fun! We shld hve a swimming gathering next round!
It is a great DAY!!!

Ivy

Thanks for helping me with the deco

Cheri,

Ur helper reali good man... I think she blew up almost 20 balloons!!!!
Reali sak!

pict very small cos of the restrictions.
now waiting for the photographer to send me the CD, hope all our kids will turn out nice nice in the pict! haha...

Hey mummies

nice to see u today!! Cant wait to see the pics

nana, thks for the venue and the deco! REmember to email me the pics of our princess 'buddy hug'..kekeke

ivy, u so 'fast hand fast leg' upload the pics and post here liao!! thks for organising

Hi Ivy n nana,

Thanks for making the arrangements for the party
its was great!!! Both kids n parents enjoyed themselves immensely....we should continue w such gatherings ;p

You all look Great...and really peisei i dun recognise most of u until u introduce...i only remember the nicks..
kekeke..

Annie,
yup, I'm the one wearing the white top..re R being guai...he only ge ge there la..u haven't seen him fighting and pulling pple's hair..

Ivy,
I brought the mee goreng..wanted to show off but actually not really cooked by me...hee..the chilli was done by my mil and after tat its pretty easy like those instant ones..

How come no praise for my curry? GGRrrGGrr...just joking

Juz want to say its a great party and thanks to all that made it possible

you all looked so chio in the pic
! Sorry couldnt attend cos V's JG ends at 11, and shortly after will be cranky cos near nap time. Am sure you all had fun

Joyce,
if im not wrong, the jab is for 'An Tai'. I got preg with V, 4 mths after i lost my 1st.Doc scare my womb not strong enof.Thats y the jab

joyce,
curry nice lah but the chilli of the mee goreng over took the fame.
Take good care of yourself and the twins, if you think your gynae too lax, then find another one lah. Ha, i like my gynae for being ks and super concern kind.

Great party today!! Tks Anna for the wonderful venue and those who made it possible!

Yes yes swim gathering next!!!

Ivy....should pay my hubby to take pics hor...kekeke...resolution v big ar! How to post? So many pics of Xav, Kaeden and Keane!

yes, wat a GREAT party indeed! hahahah &amp; was telling ivy that we did it at such a low cost somemore lol!

nana &amp; ivy
thanks thanks thanks so much for arranging everything, it was a real good bash...even my hb says hey so fun! dunno all the mummies present either but hope to meet up soon again &amp; get to know u better.

The kids had fun wif the
waterplay (love the water slides, see saw etc, so unique, not many condos hv these)
bubbles (bless the strong wind hahha..think a few mummies may b buying the bubble machine heheh)
parachute (thanks to sheri who brot that...how much does it cost ah? i know gymboree sells that for abt $90...if much cheaper, i oso wan to buy one hheheh)
pinata (a bit scary for some kids though...N refuses to accept that's her fav Barney lol)

keke nana, my helper says her throat a bit sore last nite from blowing the balloons...i asked her why nvr use pump? she says spoilt hahhha

yaya i oso forgot to bring along my cam...shall we set up a picasa account or sthg &amp; we can all upload our pics there for us to download the nice ones we wan to save?