(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

<font color="0000ff">Annie,
*Too much* Vit C intake, esp. during pregnancy is not good. I've extracted the following about <font color="aa00aa">Unsupported claims about Vit C</font> from the book entitled "Feed Your Child Right":</font>

The public has been exposed to a lot of publicity about the so-called benefits which may be derived from taking large doses of Vit C. It is popularly reputed to prevent the common cold, and many people take Vit C tablets in doses up to 100 times the recommended levels in the hope of fighting off colds and influenza.

These claims, however, are not warranted. There is no conclusive evidence that extra Vit C prevents the onset of colds or shortens the duration of symptoms. In fact, <font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">taking high doses of Vit C over the long term has some deleterious effects on health. The higher the dose taken, the less Vit C is absorbed, and the unabsorbed Vit C passing through the digestive tract causes <font color="119911">diarrhoea</font>. <font color="119911">Kidney</font> and <font color="119911">urinary tract stones</font> are further risks related to high doses of Vit C. Large doses of the vitamin may also <font color="119911">inactivate and destroy Vit B12</font> and <font color="119911">interfere with the adsorption of Copper</font>. On a more serious note, some studies have shown that large doses of Vit C taken in pregnancy may have adverse effects - harmful effects on the infant, who may get used to the high levels available to him in the womb and suffer Vit C deficiency <font color="119911">(scurvy)</font> temporarily after birth.</font></font>

The conclusion from all of this is that Vit C should ideally be taken from dietary sources, and any self-medication with the vitamin is not advisable unless deemed necessary by a doctor.

However, as well as protecting against anaemia by its assistance in iron absorption, Vit C is important in pregnancy as it promotes bone and ligament formation. Two portions of fresh fruit and two of vegetables daily will take care of the increased requirements during pregnancy.

<font color="0000ff">Ivy,
Is it possible that Xavier is allergic to dust mites?

A mum mentioned that her kids have "flu" for 3 weeks and it just won't clear. She sent them to a few docs but they kept prescribing 'ventolin' to them, which she thought was mainly for 'allergic flu'. Then a doc suggested that she get the mattresses clean up in case the kids are allergic to the dust mites in the mattress. So, she got a comapny that cleans and vacuums the mattresses, sofas etc. to get rid of the dust mites, bacteria and body's dead cells that are trapped in the mattresses. She also washed all her house curtains, air con filters, etc. Her kids got well within a week after the house spring-cleaning. She guessed it could be just dust or really the dust mites that is causing them to have allergic flu. Her husband used to wake up with 'block nose' on most mornings ... but now no more!</font>

bbloh,
Yap, whatever intake must not be <font color="ff0000">over consumption</font>. I took only <font color="0000ff">1 orange per day</font> during preggie period.

RE: Dust Mites
K has sensitive nose that stir the prolong cough even till now. Listen to pd advised, I did a big cleaning and change all mattress to new one but problem didnt solve. Really have to try out 1st.

Hi Ivy,

Thanks for "volunteering" to be the organiser
have transferred the monies over....if need help regarding anything just let me know

Transaction Reference 1701532255

bbloh
not unable but being sahm, really dun wanna use weekends for classes...prefer to leave that for unstructured activities/family outings etc. So free during weekdays leh hahah

ivy
my ger oso has sensitive airway according to the pd. She was well for abt 3 weeks but this week, had eye conjunctivitis &amp; slight cough again. Giving her the ventolin inhaler now plus cough syrup. I've tried her out on tcm but she doesn't seem to suit leh...each time she takes it, the cough gets worse! I dun dare to even continue the tcm medicine.

how to clean or get rid of dustmites ah? i've tried switching to powdered goat milk...hopefully will help over time.

annie
wondering if ur msn could b sending weird messages/virus links? hv rec'd twice from u oredi...status is offline but there's a link to click in ur msn...i dun dare to click but just close your msn cos one of the mummies kena b4..her comp had virus &amp; started sending out such msn to those in her address book or sthg...

Good morning mummies,

hiaz...really it seems like these days it is better not to go out...R kena flu n cough liaoz. hopefully he recovers in time for this sat bash..else

Cheri,
Huh?I didnt send any.Should be virus. My msn have all my colleagues contact.Should be those old folks click on and like you stated, go round and round automatically. Sorry, previous week i already saw the link but didnt click on, was sent by another mummies from fourm.

Ivy/Cheri,

How to know tht they have sensitive airway?
I found out tht my boy snore while sleeping (dun really confirm it's snore but quite a loud sound) especially sleep in the air-con.If during daytime/playtime, he has no problem..

I did bring him to c PD but everything is ok ler..think he may be has a sensitive nose (like his dad)

cheri,
so ur gal is on the cute aerochamber too? i asked abt switching to goat milk, pd say dun need cos unless the kid is allergy to cow milk then its worth the while, else dun have to waste $$..hee...

to clear the dust mites, cheap way is to wash all linens in super hot water if you have the temperate washing machine lah..then vaccum the mattress.

the other can try way is to call up those companies that are selling the $3000 plus kind of super vaccum machine and ask them go do demo..must be ready for the sales pitch hor...
I done it for my mattress and sofa..very very clean.. BUT still din want to splurge the 3k on the machine cos it did not help..haha.

Race C,
the pd tell us so, he will listen to the kid's lungs, then from the symp tell us that most likely to be sensitive airway. Its the upper respirtory tract that is senstive, shld be diff from senstive nose?

Kids lungs are weak, so must try to build them up to be less senstive. thats y he prescibe singulair the 1st round, its meant to boast the lung power. At least this time no phlegm build up in the lungs!

ivy
aerochamber? not sure if it's called that...hahah. my pd just calls it the spacer. nowadays many kids seem to use that...i wonder why. even my cousin's 4 year old boy is still using that off &amp; on now.

how do we know if they r allergic to cow's milk? wat i heard is goat milk causes less build up of phlegm so it will help when they r coughing.

not sure if it's the singulair that helped but this time, her cough doesn't hv much phlegm oso &amp; slight cough only.

u hv the contact for those cleaning company for dustmite? heheh i will tell him sahm no $, so cannot buy lol

Heart Attacks And Drinking Warm Water

<font color="0000ff">Mummies</font>,

This is a very good article. Not only about the warm water after your meal, but about Heart Attacks .

The Chinese and Japanese drink hot tea with their meals, not cold water, maybe it is time we adopt their drinking habit while eating.

For those who like to drink cold water, this article is applicable to you. It is nice to have a cup of cold drink after a meal. However, the cold water will solidify the oily stuff that you have just consumed. It will slow down the digestion. Once this 'sludge' reacts with the acid, it will break down and be absorbed by the intestine faster than the solid food. It will line the intestine. Very soon, this will turn into fats and lead to cancer. It is best to drink hot soup or warm water after a meal.

Common Symptoms Of Heart Attack...
A serious note about heart attacks - You should know that not every heart attack symptom is going to be the left arm hurting . Be aware of intense pain in the jaw line .
You may never have the first chest pain during the course of a heart attack. Nausea and intense sweating are also common symptoms. 60% of people who have a heart attack while they are asleep do not wake up. Pain in the jaw can wake you from a sound sleep. Let's be careful and be aware. The more we know, the better chance we could survive.
A cardiologist says if everyone who reads this message sends it to 10 people, you can be sure that we'll save at least one life. Read this &amp; Send to a friend. It could save a life.. So, please be a true friend and send this article to all your friends you care about.

extact from email.

<font color="0000ff">Cheri,
Check out this company for professional sanitisation service: <font color="119911">De Hygienique</font>
www.dh-asia.com.

Estimated charges (excluding GST):
$48 - or queen size mattress,
$25 - bb mattress at $25
$38 - single mattress

Min order: $38

For $$$ vacuum cleaners, can try <font color="119911">Rainbow</font>. It can be used as an air purifier as well. The sales rep will do a demo at your house. Just ask them to demonstrate by "cleaning" the big items such as mattresses, curtains, kitchen cabinets. Whether to buy the set is another matter. hehe

Note that I'm not affiliated to these companies in any way.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Got this from a mailing list</font>

<font size="+1">6th SGParents Get-together on 15 June 2008, 2pm</font>

Hi Parents,

It has been a year since the last get-together session. We will be holding the 6th SGParents get-together session on 15 June 2008. Details are as follows:

Date : 15 June 2007, Sunday
Time : 2:00pm to 5:00pm
Fee : S$10 per person
Venue : MRT Sport &amp; Recreation Club, 3 Bishan, Street 14, #02-01, S579780
(Next to Bishan Swimming Complex, Bishan Stadium, Bishan Sports Hall)

Walking distance from Bishan MRT - 500metres

OBJECTIVES
- To create a get-together session for all SGParents to inspire and motivate one another on the Shichida Method and Glenn Doman programs.
- To allow all SGParents to share ideas and experiences.

AGENDA
1. Parents introduction
2. Sharing of experiences by parents
3. Sharing of flashcards and educational resources and how to use them
4. Q&amp;A

For more details on the get-together and how to sign-up, go to:
http://www.sgparenting.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=2410&amp;start=0

Eileen
www.sgparenting.com

<font color="0000ff"><u>This may help to relieve stuffy nose</u>

Put a few drops of (pure, essential type) <font color="119911">Eucalyptus Oil</font> near the end of the bath to inhale and clear the nose/throat. Can also put a few drops on the clothes or pillow when we sleep at night to help us breathe better.

Put some rice grains into a clean sock, tie it and heat it in the microwave. Then put a few drops of eucalyptus oil on the rice sock and place on chest/tummy when we sleep. The warmth and the oil helps in the relief.

Another alternative is <font color="119911">'oilbas'</font> from Guardian Pharmacy. Just as effective and suitable for young ones too. Same application as eucalyptus- drops on clothes and pillows.</font>

bbloh

i love the smell of Eucalyptus oil !! any idea where to get the pure type???

i add few drops into pail of water to clean my floor every week...hehe

bbloh
i've olbas too but prefer Karvol capsules instead...smell is nicer &amp; can really last thru the nite. will break one capsule onto a tissue &amp; leave it near her pillow whenever she has blocked nose.

heard of the rainbow brand...do u hv the contact number? yaya, buying is a diff thing hor lol...i oso say :p

cheri,
yes yes, the demo company done at my place is call rainbow. You can google for their company contacts. act interested then ask them demo mattress, sofa etc..hee...

Erm essential oil suitable for young tods? i tot i read somewhere better dun let them smell essential oils till after 7yos?

Cheri,
The quality of e r brand already drop, easy to spoilt, althrough come with warranty but you have send down for repair / replacement.. assemble also v troublesome, seems easy through...most important lay on how the user use it.. just sharing 2 cents worth. (My colleagues put such comments on, when that time I consider to buy...]

annie,
i think dun have to care the quality or warranty at this moment cos we are just asking for free demo..hee...

Mummies:
Bash on Sat, i confirmed a photographer for 1 hr at $100. He will shoot as many picts as he can for all the kids and a cd will be given back to us. Prints can be arranged or i can dup a copy for everyone at cost plus postage when i get it.
He will come at 12.45, our cake cutting at 1.30, so we should be able to get quite a few nice shots.
For those not coming to swim, try to be at the function room by 12 hor, else we might die of hunger!

by the way,
he is a professional photographer who does wedding, studio, kids portfolio shoots with his own studio hor..if any one want to know his company, pm me lo..
the special rate of $100 per hr for me is cos he happened to be my uni mate.
Cheers.

ivy
hahah i like that..act interested keke! i think i'm quite good at that but definitely cannot get my hb to call or be at home or else sure kena cut carrot!

will let u know once i tt...

who r swimming this sat? my ger has her makeup swim class at 9.30 so wondering if i should let her swim again...

so, r we exchanging gifts? wat's the budget ah? must rem to go &amp; buy

cheri,
my son shld be swimming...

Mummies:
Cake (1.5kg Mango zest choc from PG, $79 with delivery)
Photographer ($100)
Our piggy bank left: $81 ( i am assumming 13 family cos our milo is still MIA!)
This $81 will be used for some balloons deco, and if any misc stuff.
Whatever is left can be credited back or use it to develop photos for all. We can decide after the event. OK?

Cheri,

Is there a gift exchange? Confirm? I need to go to buy.

If you see any link that appear on yr msn under my name (especially indicate I am offline) Pls don't click on. My co old folks click on again, so the virus is going on. Damn.. they never listen. Sorry about the inconvenice.

bbloh,
thats a useful article. The KS in me noted this:
Do not use synthetic oils on babies, children or any other person.
I supposed we have to be real careful cos we dunno how pure is pure that shops are selling.

gift exchange:
i was thinking to do away with it cos Pooh is preparing the favor so everyone have something to take away, plus i got no time to shop for it..haha..
okie for everyone?

bbloh,
Was about to tell you, my ex colleague rely on such oil to sleep, she wakes up after e oil 'burned'... from there, i learnt such oil isnt good for me definitely.

Ivy,
<font color="0000ff">RE: Gift exchange</font>
Great, i also no time to do shopping.

<font color="0000ff">RE: Swimming</font>
I give a miss since HFMD still so 'hot'

ehhh, the party pack quite miserable...hahaha
coz cant find BARNEY stuff (limited)...got 2 toys and one packet of cracker in the goodie...any mummies wan to add in??

annie,

i dun understand your logic for skipping swimming becos of hfmd. If you are worried abt it, then better keep K at home....

Anna,
pinatas are fun!!!

<font color="0000ff">Taurus, Milo and Fates,
What are your bringing for food?! Must tell us leh...</font>

May birthday bash at RIO VISTA, 16 Upper Serangoon View. Meet at function room.
Date: 17th May (Sat)
<font color="ff0000">Time: Meet at 12pm to start lunch, cake cutting at 1.30pm sharp</font>

1)Little Nana (Char siew Bao, carrot cakes, Siew Mai, etc...) ... Ride-on
2)Fates
3)Ivy, hb, X (drinks)
4)Taurus
5)joyce n hubby n R (curry chicken and mee goreng) ... Bubble Blower
6)cheri, hb, N &amp; helper (brownies, cream puffs, choc eclairs)
7)sponge, hb (otah)
8)Ino, hb &amp; N (fried stuff e.g. fishball, wanton, fried otah fishcake, etc)
9)poohcutie, hb,2 kids (will be late)-desserts ... Skate scooter
10)Race,hb, E (maybe with maid)-tidbits,vitagen
11)SS1, hb, Zach, Isabel &amp; Ah Ma (Nuggets)... Parachute + Spoon &amp; Egg game.
12)Annie &amp; Keane. - satay,ie chicken, beef, mutton
13)Yvonne (egg tarts/dim sum)
14)Milo, hb, kaeden

read my above post on the time to start lunch hor..
anna and i will be at the function room for simple deco from 11am..so please come by to help if can...haha..

RE: Swimming
Please arrange amongst ourselves if you wanna swim cos the response here seems poor...

Should be bringing spicy wings or chocolates!!! kekeke

<u>SWIM</u>

1) Ivy
2) Anna
3) J

Anna ~ Is there a toilet downstairs? Got hot water or not? :p:p

ivy
i transferred u the $20 via atm yest (tues, slightly b4 5 pm)...pls check. Thanks!

wat time will u guys be swimming? shouldn't be too late rite or it'll be so hot!

annie
N's swim sch, Marsden sent an email to us to inform that they consulted a few pds abt how safe swimming is for tots during this HFMD period.

According to the pds, the chlorine would hv killed or diluted any of these germs...wat's more worrying r the table tops, human contact etc...not so much the swimming.

Guess we just hv to be civic minded; not to go if child is not well or has any slight rash even. Of course, since $ has been spent on cake etc, cannot expect refund.