(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Hi bbloh,

Sorry i left my hp at my place yestd. Have asked my sis to sms tat cant meet u today liaoz...

ivy
intending to put my ger in either drop off prog (either playgroup/kindi or half day cc). Not sure yet cos hv not finalised which sch to send her to.

Hi Ivy,

Do you know the no. which i can call VPOST USA? I cant seem to find the number from the web, just the email address. They veri slow in replying to emails..

Re Toilet training, this mummy tried over the weekend but hor...failed terribly
coz she forgot R is a boy keep asking him to sit on the potty to shhhh sshhhh....R of coz refused and ended up have to keep mopping the floor...sotong me;0

Bbloh & Ivy,
Thanks.. yap, handy to have the book but heavy for me to carry around...:p

<font color="0000ff">Mummies</font>,
RE: "Ban Yen" - eye stare rudely.
Anyone can help to advise how to amend k not to do so? Don't know he learnt from where? He alway does that we comment bad or scold him. Worst, he does that to others also.

race, your E need a seat huh?
most of us here going in without a tic for the toddler...will let them sit on our lap or stand along the aisle to dance..hee..

Hi Ivy,

Thanks..managed to contact VPOST, lucky got the contacts else if wait for email dunno how long it will take....thanks!

keke

<font color="0000ff">Ivy &amp; Cheri,
Can bring tot in w/o tix meh? Thot they will check and babies in arms are not allow?

lh_jyc,
Yes, vPOSTUSA tends to phone queries rather fast. They usually don't reply to e-mails.

OT a bit ar! What brand and type of skincare products do you use? My face is getting from bad to worse and am going to be 未老先衰 liao!</font>

Race C,
i also bot 2tickets.

bbloh,
go <font color="0000ff">facial</font>... :p Currently i am using SK 2..but switching brand.. now testing bio_essence n lancome..haha

RE: <font color="0000ff">Church Wedding</font>
Anyone can teach me how to keep tot like K to guai guai during the whole 1.30hr of church wedding?
*fainz* this yr so many weddings...some yet to come. We attended those chinese wedding dinners, k roamed around, played the hotel phones outside the hall whole nite...
How?? Church wedding..

in fact i wanna thks Barney,he makes my life easier some time. eg, E sudden woke up and cried in the midnite,tried many method oso couldn't calm him down til i sang the song "i luv u, u luv me...". and sometime he guai guai listen to my advice when i tell him "Barney must do this.."

Annie,
sit near the entrance or exit at the church wedding place lar.at least, easier to bring K out to roamed abt..if not, bring along his fav snack?

<font color="0000ff">An article to share</font>
<font size="+1"><font color="aa00aa">Carcinogens Found in "Organic" Personal Care Products</font></font>
http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2008/04/05/carcinogens-found-in-quot-organic-quot-personal-care-products.aspx

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">Ingredients to AVOID in Your Personal Care Products</font></font>
<ul>[*]Paraben, a chemical found in underarm deodorants and other cosmetics that has been shown to mimic the action of the female hormone estrogen, which can drive the growth of human breast tumors. <LI>Phthalates, plasticizing ingredients (present in nearly three-quarters of 72 products tested by the Environmental Working Group), which have been linked to birth defects in the reproductive system of boys and lower sperm-motility in adult men, among other problems. <LI>Musks, used as fragrances, can accumulate in your body, and have been linked to skin irritation, hormone disruption, and cancer in laboratory studies. <LI>Artificial fragrances, which are among the top five known allergens, and can cause asthma and trigger asthma attacks. <LI>Methylisothiazolinone (MIT), a chemical used in shampoo to prevent bacteria from developing, which may have detrimental effects on your nervous system. <LI>Toluene, made from petroleum or coal tar, and found in most synthetic fragrances. Chronic exposure linked to anemia, lowered blood cell count, liver or kidney damage, and may affect a developing fetus. <LI>Mineral Oil, Paraffin, and Petrolatum, these products coat your skin like plastic, clogging pores and creating a build-up of toxins. They also slow cellular development, which can cause you to show earlier signs of aging, and are a suspected cause of cancer and disruption to hormonal activity. <LI>Phenol carbolic acid– Found in many lotions and skin creams. Can cause circulatory collapse, paralysis, convulsions, coma and even death from respiratory failure. <LI>Propylene glycol – Used as a moisturizer in cosmetics and as a carrier in fragrance oils. Shown to cause dermatitis, kidney or liver abnormalities, and may inhibit skin cell growth or cause skin irritation. <LI>Acrylamide– Found in many hand and face creams. Linked to mammary tumors in lab research. <LI>Sodium laurel or lauryl sulfate (SLS), also known as sodium laureth sulfate (SLES)– Found in car washes, engine degreasers, garage floor cleaners… and in over 90% of personal care products! SLS breaks down the skin’s moisture barrier, easily penetrates the skin, and allows other chemicals to easily penetrate. Combined with other chemicals, SLS becomes a "nitrosamine", a potent class of carcinogen. It can also cause hair loss. SLES is sometimes disguised with the labeling "comes from coconut" or :coconut-derived". <LI>Dioxane– Found in compounds known as PEG, Polysorbates, Laureth, ethoxylated alcohols. Common in a wide range of personal care products. The compounds are usually contaminated with high concentrations of highly volatile 1,4-dioxane, easily absorbed through the skin.[/list]

<font size="+1"><font color="aa00aa">Mommy &amp; Me DVD spree at USD 9.99 each, Buy 4 Get 1 Free</font></font>
<font color="0000ff">* Mommy &amp; Me - Playgroup Favorites (2003)
http://www.amazon.com/Mommy-Me-Playgroup-Favorites/dp/B0000V4762/ref=pd_bxgy_d_img_b
1) Taurus
2) lh_jyc
3) leejen

* Mommy &amp; Me - More Playgroup Favorites (2003)
http://www.amazon.com/Mommy-Me-More-Playgroup-Favorites/dp/B0000V476C/ref=pd_bxgy_d_img_b
1) Taurus
2) lh_jyc
3) leejen

Total Qty = 6

Anymore orders? Let me know by tomorrow before 2pm alright?</font>

<font color="0000ff">Ivy,
That means we can save on shipping charges? Hurray! I want to get another 2 books. Boleh?</font>

woh ivy,

Can i also tobang your friend for leapfrog items too? if she is agreeable to help lug the things back, can pay her $20 or more for shipping coz its bulky...heee..from bu peisei mummie.

Okie okie. Arigato!

Taurus, lh_jyc &amp; leejen,
I will foward your order of the Mommy &amp; Me DVDs to Ivy hor.</font>

joyce,
i think leapfrog hard arh...must be the next trip which is prob 3mths later...
cos i am getting him to bring back a skater scooter! very bulky liao.
Next round i sure will buy the leapfrog for myself, if you can wait...

Hi Ivy,

No problem ;p
I still thinking of whether to start a spree for the leapfrog coz dunno what to expect. If really no, will inform u 3 mths later. k? Thanks!

bbloh
for barney show, it's above 2 needs to get tix...our tots just passed 2 in June so dun think they will really notice..anyway they wun be checking birth cert.

wat kinda books is E interested in? Hv u been to the bookstore on 4th level, Bras Basah b4? The books there r really value for $...some books that sell for $4-5 there can be found in Kino, borders or popular stores at more than $10...no kidding, exact same book! most mummies i know will come back wif many books each time...heheh...i'm one of them.

my ger's current favs r Usborne books (those wif flaps &amp; the more farmyard tales type), Charlie &amp; Lola, Ladybird stories like Goldilocks, 3 lil pigs etc. She's into stories now, doesn't like those labelling sorta books anymore. Pestered my hb to read Goldilocks 3 times that nite in a row..his versions got shorter wif each reading hahahah. I'm oso exposing her to some simple non fiction books...Rigby's v good wif real pics of insects, birds, bones, patterns etc...i din buy the whole set, just single titles that i think would appeal to her...mainly from auction sites or 2nd hand book stores/church thrift stores.

Good morning,

Any mummies interested to attend this

Complete Ways to Raise a Well-balanced Child" Parenting Masterclass
Date: 19 April 2008, Saturday
Time: 1.30 to 4.30pm
Venue: Meritus Mandarin Singapore, Mandarin Court
Topics:
1. Positive parenting – Managing the child who won't listen
Learn to manage fussy eating, temper tantrums, bedtime difficulties and disobedience in a constructive and loving way to help a child learn what is acceptable behaviour and what is not.
Presented by : Dr Jennifer Kiing, Paediatrician, NUH
2. Foods that bring out the best in your child
Get useful tips on what constitutes a child’s healthy diet, and dealing with challenges during feeding at different stages of his life.
Presented by : Anna Jacob, Nutritionist / Dietician
3. Getting the self-motivated child every parent wants
Discover the latest research to understand the inner workings of your child’s brain and help enhance your child’s learning experience to achieve success.
Presented by : Cheryl Chia, Paediatric Physiotherapist, Brain Revolution

http://www.abbott.com.sg/family/for_famties/ft_marapr08_well_balanced_child.asp

<font color="0000ff">lh_jyc,
How much is the trial, and its duration?

Parents,
What type (brand / model) of bottles are your tot(s) using when you're outside? I intend to get a new spill-proof water bottle for DS and will appreciate any feedback.</font>

Barney

Will bring my two to watch Barney... anyone else going??

Sien has been pestering me about Barney! now big hole in pocket!!!

Hi bbloh,

Think its about $23-5 bah..after discount its about $10+ per kid

Re bottle : I bought the normal ones from kiddy palace ;p

gabby,

which day and time u gg for the barney show?

re:bottles
cant remember the brand but its spill-proof one and so far only see bugis BHG selling that...previously using those that are not spill-proof and make me busy all day long !!

Gabby,
Yappee.. I am also. many barney fans here...hehe

bbloh,
Errm.. i brought no brand type for outdoor.Indoor using combi brand. The other brand "G..." non spill type, K doesn't want to use.

i hv a few water bottles for her cos once the novelty of one wears off, then rotate to make her drink a lil bit more...she hates water! just like her mummy actually, my hb always says keke

Nuby's really spill-proof? That's great! Is the spout the straw type or sippy type? Is it one of these types?
http://www.nuby.platformtwo.com/index.php?option=com_content&amp;task=blogcategory&amp;id=26&amp;Itemid=43&amp;lang=en

pooh,
Your description is quite vague le. Any picture to show?

Annie,
Are you referring to the brand "Gerber'?

Cheri,
DS also dislike water. He'll take only a sip of water (just to entertain me, under my close scrutiny, haha), afterwhich he'll quickly try to pour the water out by shaking the bottle upside down vigourously and it'll make a mess. That's why I'm looking for a really spill-proof type.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Does anyone has good recommendation for "easy-to-wipe" table for kids doing craft work such as painting?</font>

bbloh,
yes yes.. Gerber. but he nvb wants to use. i presume becos the cover is hard to open.hehe.. k likes the combi brand.. as he can open the cover and pour the water. i also have nuby brand but still on the shelf, k doesn't want maybe becos i brought a purple colour.. *sigh!*

bbloh

realised mine is also nuby.hehee
comes wif 2 sizes but i bght the tall one which can fill 420ml of water. usuali i fill it up full and she self help herself.

1346316.jpg

mine is similar to the abve.

This one is gd...like wat ivy says, can roll and shake and throw it around...mess-FREE!

annie,

purple color one nice mah..tell K Barney is purple too and mst drink more water to compete wif barney..hahah

bbloh
wat do u mean by easy to wipe table?? my gals using ikea rectangle table..mst of the time my younger one will use color pencils scribble on it and i will bring the whole table to balcony to clean the table wif CIF. If wan mess free, mayb lay a sheet of those transparent plastic sheet ??

<font color="0000ff">Mummies</font>,
i just read this following article (extracted from xin.sg. Not sure whether how truth.

If really so, definitely my k will be the gd eg since he doesn't sleep through @ my place.

睡不足12小时 婴儿三岁后易肥胖
8 April 2008 2233hrs

新传媒新闻报道,为人父母者可要注意宝宝的睡眠时间。美国一项最新研究发现,平均每天睡少过12个小时的婴儿,过了三岁后,变肥胖的几率,比睡上12小时的同龄小孩、高出一倍。

研究人员对915名婴儿进行研究。他们分别在婴儿六个月大、一岁和两岁时,向婴儿的母亲,询问婴儿的睡眠时间。其中有9%的婴儿到三岁时,体重超出一般的标准。

研究人员把其他可能影响体重的因素,例如出生时的体重,和喂奶的时间等、列入考量之后,发现每天睡平均少过12小时的婴儿,比起睡眠充足的同龄孩子,发胖的风险高出了一倍。

如果睡眠少过12小时,再加上每天观看超过两个小时的电视节目,孩童变胖的风险更高出将近五倍。

pooh,
thanks.. i nvb think of that. gd trick.. but k depends on his mood..so far he dances when he watch barney show <u>but</u> he dumped his barney. Sometime, he will hug and kiss e barney.. errm.. i oso dont know.

i just realised i have to bring k for 'The king's new clothes' next sat, now wondering whether suitable for him or not.