(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

ivy
good that u hv kinda decided on urs...i realized kindergartens r usually much cheaper than the typical childcares; possibly due to shorter hours & they dun hv the overheads of ccs. I looked at the church kindy near my place too but it din meet my expectations in terms of hygiene standards & the teachers din seem happy teaching or working there. I'm sending her to a childcare in SIM in Clementi area. Expensive but i like the curriculum, teaching approaches, low teacher-child ratio & teachers' enthusiasm. Hope my ger will adapt well there in time to come.

bbloh
i missed my ger so much in Sydney! dun think i will wanna go on trips without her anymore, definitely not long trips (though Syd was just 6 days!) hahahah...shopping was bleah in Syd, but we did enjoy our couple time. Good old days again, sipping coffee, just lazing ard, eat icecream, enjoying few movies at a row on the airplane keke

re may gathering
any loose ends to talk abt now? mid april liao leh hahaha

bbloh,
too far for you lah, time to move house!
its at potong pasir.

pooh,
sorry, missed your sms..Yes leh, the lady told me abt this price. I calculated to be $100++ each mth. Maybe i rem wrong? Friday then tell you again loh.

Cheri,
i know abt the SIM one..but very cramp rite?

May gathering..
shld be all tied up? haha...actually nope! Haven book the cake yet!
let me go and find the last posting and see who have not indicate the food list!

<font color="0000ff">Cheri,
Are you referring to The Experiential Learning Centre (TELC)? Its curriculum seems interesting. So N will be there for 1/2 day daily? How much is the fee?

Ivy,
hahaha - cannot move house leh. No budget and the property market is slowing down now.
When you say "cramp" do you mean the place is small?</font>

Cheri...told you you'd missed N on your trip

Btw you ever considered Gracefield?

Ivy...oh ya registration starts on Fri eh!! Good luck to you

ivy
TELC cramped? depends on how u see it, i guess. It's open concept &amp; the kids move around to different parts of the room for the diff lessons eg. math, english, chinese, music etc. Their teacher-student ratio for even kindy kids r supposedly one of the best.

It's quite amazing that on all my visits there, we, as adults, find the place noisy cos different lessons going on but the kids dun seem to feel it at all. I scanned the kids &amp; every single one of them is not distracted but fully concentrating on wat their own teacher is doing. Maybe adults r indeed more easily distracted &amp; it might be good training for them as they will be able to block out background noise when they grow older hahha

bbloh
the founder of TELC is quite an established person in the field. I attended the Parent Teacher Conference recently &amp; was quite impressed wif her hands-on involvement in the sch still though she can easily take a more hands-off approach.

of course, every sch has its pros &amp; cons...its outdoor playground needs an overhaul badly but the teachers do bring them to the fields etc in SIM so i dun mind her kicking ball, playing catching etc too. Lots of learning opportunities &amp; healthy fun there hhaahah....I oso fervently wish TELC's fees were cheaper hahah...too bad we r not SIM staff who will be heavily subsidised. Half day for N is $775 per mth! Gulp!!! I'm putting her for half day only since i'm still sahm now.

fates
yes, i know i will miss her but i din expect that much hahha...hv u travelled without ur son b4? for work trips? wonder how mummies who need to travel frequently for work cope wif that...

HI cheri,
thanks for the invite.V seems to be falling sick again.PM my hp no. to you sometime back.Did you recieve? May i have you hp no too? Will monitor her.If she gets better i'll bring her on fri.Otherwise will have to pass.Let you know tmr can?

bbloh,
went to visit st james yesterday.I should say, i fell in love with that place.It's hugh.With all the greenery.They even have a heated swimming pool!

For nusery, they have a few rooms decorated in theme.Each day the kids will go into a different room to learn things related to it.They also have Orchard, Vegetable plantation.3 playgrounds.

One might think that the child ratio is a bit high 14 kids, 2 teachers(nursery) or 30 kids to 3 teachers(K1,K2).But, they are often breaked up into 2-3 groups, each doing different things at a time. Am so suprised by the high no. of students there and yet it's not noisy at all.

All classrooms are airconed with air purifier that kills bacteria and viruses with 99.999% proven efficacy!

There's cookery for older kids too.I was truly "WOW" over by the place.The best part...School fee $300/mth.

Have put both my kids in their super long waitlist.Hopefully can get a place along the way..

ss1
yes, paid the registration etc this morning oredi. Finally i end my search hopefully hahaha

little tot
yes, i got ur hp number...ok will sms u mine too. Let me know. Hope she gets better in time. If not, future Fris should be fine too.

wow st james sounds fab! but once i heard of the long waitlist, sian oredi hahah...maybe higher chance for older kids.

wow...all mummies wondering where to put your babies.

Will be trying to put my girl in zoophonics school first. keeping my fingers crossed that she does not develop crying fits again.

Complain

at first chubby hubby said no need to celebrate Sien's 2nd BD. Now he changed his mind. mow frantically looking for things to do and etc!!! Sigh

gabby,
sien is on the same day as xavier rite? still have time to plan lah...n your hubby not chubby lah!

littletots,
wah, st james so cheap? no wonder long waiting q.

littletot,

wow st james sounded so nice.i have placed kaeden on the waiting list as well but guess chances for pre-N is very slim.

milo,
st james is at near holland rite? so far for kaeden leh!

gabby,
decided on ascesion for now...to start in Jan 09. So from now till then, he will be a home spoilt kid.
i am using all my energy on him everyday...sigh..really the T2 stage. His fave activity these days is throw things out from window or spit food and throw out of door...Sometimes he will spit out all over the floor too! He is much better after i scold him and ask him "face the wall aka mian bi si guo". But when i am not at home seeing him do these things, he is back to it again. Somehow he know that he can bully maid and the old folks at home...sigh.

littletot,

signed up few weeks back only so guess chances are super slim. we registered kaeden for st joseph for jan 09 while waiting for both nanyang and st james.

ivy,

quite ok la. got school bus mah but dun think can ever get in. where is ascension?

milo,
where is st joseph? For st james, my fren got a plc in for Jan 2010 ( N2 level, so if you wan the school, either 09 dun study or change sch when 2010 got the seat.) She register in Jan 07 and they confirm her Jan 2010 class this month...

ascension is at potong pasir , too far for you lah.

Race C

Heard that Holy Grace is good. Its got a good balance of work and play. In addition, they give instructions in Mandarin, so if your baby does not speak the language it is of great help. 4 friends recommended this to me... but too far for me...

lh_jyc,
i went for the talk yesterday.I should say it's disappointing. Supposed to start at 1330hrs Only started ard 1400hrs.

Due to this,
1. Positive parenting – Managing the child who won't listen
Learn to manage fussy eating, temper tantrums, bedtime difficulties and disobedience in a constructive and loving way to help a child learn what is acceptable behaviour and what is not.
Presented by : Dr Jennifer Kiing, Paediatrician, NUH

<font color="0000ff">*Speaker has to rush through presentation, skipping some parts and only managed to ans 2 questions.*</font>

2. Foods that bring out the best in your child
Get useful tips on what constitutes a child’s healthy diet, and dealing with challenges during feeding at different stages of his life.
Presented by : Anna Jacob, Nutritionist / Dietician

<font color="0000ff">*For this, she has to rush through, and only managed 1 question cos she has to go for another meeting.*</font>

3. Getting the self-motivated child every parent wants
Discover the latest research to understand the inner workings of your child’s brain and help enhance your child’s learning experience to achieve success.
Presented by : Cheryl Chia, Paediatric Physiotherapist, Brain Revolution

<font color="0000ff">*Sales talk.Waste my time*</font>

<font color="0000ff">fates,
I feel extremely tired today. Really feel like zzz now. *Yawn*

Ivy,
X's behaviour sounds very much like E's. It's really taking a toll on me and his caregiver. At least, X can still "mian bi si guo". E? Nah! Not even in my presence. Really don't know how to discipline him.</font>

fates
the rain outside doesn't help either..how's ur weekend?

bbloh
yes, sometimes really wanna scream at them. like when my ger refused to eat her lunch just now. I gave up eventually &amp; asked my maid to throw her lunch away. She knew i was mad &amp; came to manja me after that. Ignored her &amp; she started climbing all over me on the bed..her way of making up hahha

Hello

My princess was acting prima donna!!! She woke up at one and refused to sleep till 3.30 last night. worse of, the problem was that she threw up 2 times!!

I am so tired I am seeing stars now!!! hahaha

Raining meh? It's so hot &amp; sunny at Macpherson!!

I am very sleepy too.....lack of sleep...

gabby,

Does your girl attend Shichida?

Looks like T2 is hitting upon some of us.

My gal's favourite word is NO NO.

Everything also No.Eat also so hard.This afternoon threw away her porridge and told my helper not to give her milk till 3pm.

Was hoping dinner she'll be hungry enough.We uses 2 bowls for meal feed.1 to hold the porridge while the other to cool a small portion and feed from there.

She refused even 1 spoon when i fed her.Told helper to take over otw gonna loose my temper.Ended up, she ate from the other bowl and left my cool off bowl untouch!

eating:
i think they dun like the same food anymore?
over the weekends, dun wan the usual kind of porridge at all..thrw away 2 bowls...end up i cook quaker oats with strawberries for his lunch then fishball kwayteow for his dinner and he happily finish both bowls of it...

fates

no not attending... no time to follow thr so thougt that it is not worth my money!!! She is learning flashcards when I teach my son. HAHA

Putting her in jg and GUG on waiting list.

ivy
how do u cook the oats wif strawberries? u blend the fruit in? my ger will probably pick out all the strawberries to eat &amp; leave out the oats. She's still picking out her cheese etc from bread...dunno how to appreciate eating a sandwich despite us showing her so often...sigh!

ivy

found this but not sure if it's the most updated

May babies bd gathering
1) Joyce
2) Milo
3) Ivy (May 17th)
4) Fates (May 1st)
5) SS1 (Either one is fine)
7) Cheri (either date)
8) Taurus ( May 1st)
9) Annie ( May 1st)
10) sponge (May 1st)
11) Race (May 1st)

cheri,
there is one with the food list..haha...let's try to search again...

i cut the strawberries and throw inside lo...told me strawberry must sit on the spoonful of oat else not nice to eat...so 1 spoon of oat, 1 little pc of strawberry. Hence 1 bowl of oat is prob use up 3-4pc of strawberries.

{Good Morning Mummies},

<font color="ff0000">Wonderful feeling that our little tots are going to turn 2 soon</font>In fact, <font color="0000ff">little Ariel just reached 2 yesterday</font> Happy Happy

Extract from xin.sg Goash... avoid swimming &amp; playground...

手足口症增 7所幼儿与托儿中心被令关闭
22 April 2008 1944hrs

新传媒新闻报道,我国手足口症上星期(4月19日)的新病例共有1245起,同前个星期的1000起相比,激增了25%。其中,16个孩童因进食困难,需要入院。

我国手足口症病例再次激增,卫生部下令、强制性关闭七家托儿所和幼稚园10天,以遏制病毒蔓延。卫生部也劝请另外13家有持续病例的托儿所和幼稚园,考虑关闭10天。

卫生部下令关闭十天的托儿所有五所:位于裕廊西的St Andrew's大教堂托儿所、裕廊东的Just Kids、康埔桦径的职总托儿所、赫利法斯路的Pats Schoolhouse,还有设在竹脚妇幼医院里面的Learning Vision。而两家被令关闭十天的幼稚园是Ramakrishna Mission Sarada幼稚园和Al-Istiqamah回教堂幼稚园。卫生部说,这七家托儿所和幼稚园有一天的时间通知家长,过后就要关闭。

职总托儿所说,位于康埔桦径的托儿所将从这个星期四关闭到下个月3号。托儿所从上个月开始就出现病例,一共18起,目前仍有1人患病,其余已经康复。

卫生部劝请主动关闭的七家幼稚园当中,四家是行动党社区基金幼稚园,位于盛港西、榜鹅东、淡滨尼东和摩绵。当局也劝另外六家托儿所,考虑关闭十天,遏制病毒蔓延。

卫生部数据显示,从本月13号到19号,我国共有1245起手足口症病例,比前一个星期增加25%。其中16人入院,主要因为口疮导致饮食问题。

下令强制性关闭的七家托儿所和幼稚园
裕廊东的Just Kids
康埔桦径的职总托儿所
赫利法斯路的Pats Schoolhouse
裕廊西的St Andrew's大教堂托儿所
竹脚妇幼医院里面的Learning Vision
Ramakrishna Mission Sarada幼稚园
Al-Istiqamah回教堂幼稚园
劝请主动关闭的七家幼稚园以及六家托儿所
PCF Sengkang West Blk 303A
PCF Tampines East Blk 261
PCF Punggol East Blk 103
PCF MOULMEN- TAI PEI CHILDCARE &amp; DEVELOPMENT CENTRA
PCS Jurong West Centre
Cherrybrook Kindergarten
Church of The Holy Trinity Kindergarten
NTUC Childcare Co-operative Ltd. Toa Payoh
NTUC Childcare Co-operative Ltd. Anchorvale
Brighton Montessori
ST. James Church Kindergarten
Kinderland Preschool (Yio Chu Kang)
Learning Vision@Work Pte. Ltd.(TTSH)

Ivy,
Are you referring to the following:

1) Little Nana
2) Fates
3) Ivy
4) Taurus
5) joyce n hubby n R (curry chicken and mee goreng)
6) cheri, hb, N &amp; helper (sushi)
7) sponge
8) Ino, hb &amp; N (fried stuff e.g. fishball, wanton, fried otah fishcake, etc)
9) poohcutie, hb,2 kids (will be late)-desserts
10)Race,hb, E (maybe with maid)