(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Aiyo..bo jio..

Hi bbloh, thanks for your email. Can count me in for the 2 CDs? Thanks!

I'm thinking of getting the Leapfrog leappad.

http://www.leapfrog.com/en/families/leappad/leappad_learning_system/leappad_readwrite.html

Read from the forum that better to order 9 boxes so as to optimise the shipping cost.

Any mummies interested to join? btw, i still new in ordering from USA so pls bear w me if i slow.
Collection is at Cityhall lunchtime(weekdays) and weekends (CCK).

<font color="0000ff">Taurus &amp; milo,
Which Pat's schoolhouse branch did you go? The way you described does make the program sounds "messy".

fates,
Are you referring to the fees for their daily program? Their weekend D'story club program (1.5 hr) is not very $$ le. The fees are:

1 term is 10 weeks. Fees are $321 (including GST)
Trial's fee is $32.10 (pro-rated)

Think the fee is compatible with other weekend programs. However, I've no idea about the fees for daily program.

lh_jyc,
You can consider getting the complete LeapPad set for additional USD 15.00, coz now the promo price is USD 39.99.

I've heard that some parents prefer to get the i-pen (think it's available from Popular Bookshop). It looks like a pen that will pronounce the word when you trace over it. There's no need to bring the whole reading system (in this case, the LeapPad) out. Not sure if it works on all books though.

<u>Just an update on WOTB order</u>
I've only received 2 sets of the disc (we ordered 5 sets) and the other 3 sets were just shipped out on 30 March. Expected to receive them in 2 weeks' time.

<u>Mommy &amp; Me DVD spree at USD 9.99 each, Buy 4 Get 1 FOC</u>
* Mommy &amp; Me - Playgroup Favorites (2003)
http://www.amazon.com/Mommy-Me-Playgroup-Favorites/dp/B0000V4762/ref=pd_bxgy_d_img_b
1) Taurus
2) lh_jyc

* Mommy &amp; Me - More Playgroup Favorites (2003)
http://www.amazon.com/Mommy-Me-More-Playgroup-Favorites/dp/B0000V476C/ref=pd_bxgy_d_img_b
1) Taurus
2) lh_jyc

Qty = 4

Still considering whether to get them. Hmmm ...</font>

Ah E and Ih_jyc ,

Paisey lah, it was a last min thingy but I dont think yous missed out anything .. D dun really enjoyed

Ah I,
So far D can go without diapers the whole day even going to the market. He also didnt wet his diaper at night and once awake he will say "she she" and we tell him that its ok as he is wearing diaper but he will insist to pee in the potty.

Hi littletot,

I did try to demo to D when I am brushing before and try to pass him a toothbrush but he will push the toothbrush back to me n say "mummy brush" ... I think I will combine yours and Cheri's method let him stand infront of the basin to brush and together with him ...

Hi Cheri,
I dun mind trying the oral B toothpaste if you have enough to spare. Let me know how much but I can only collect from you the week after next as I be traveling thanks!

ah H,
how you let D go diaperless? Just take it off and let him run about? I am intending to start training! So inspired.

lh_jyc,
hmm so cheap? heard about $68-75 to ship in.. can exchange if receive the spoilt set?

RE: I-pen available @ popular
only work on the whole series of story books that link with I-pen. Much more cheaper than system..

<font color="0000ff">lh_jyc,
Which part do you need explanation? The LeapPad or the I-Pen?

What I mean is that,

For reading systems like LeapPad, if you're bringing it out, you need to bring the LeapPad and the books, which can be a bit heavy and inconvenient.
If you're using something like I-Pen, you only need to bring the I-Pen and the compatible books out.

Of course, if you're not using the LeapPad on-the-go, then it's alright.

You can refer here for the Robin Readers I-Pen.

happypumpy,
I've found that the I-Pen only works on Robin Readers. That means the I-Pen cannot be used on other readers such Ladybird? Are there other types of I-Pen?

I once saw a boy "reading" with an I-Pen at a clinic and I found it very handy. But I've no idea what purpose the USB cable serves. [edited to add: I think I know know, is it to download the words and their pronunciation into the pen?]</font>

bbloh,
wah..the pen sounds chiam hor..

leapfrog system:
the little system can be used till 3yrs, while the normal one is for 4yrs and up. So its good to get the little or the normal.
Mummies with the system, share your experience?

<font color="0000ff">These are some comments on Little Touch LeapPad, My First LeapPad, Read &amp; Write LeapPad when I asked for comments from some US parents in Jan 2008:</font>

<font color="aa00aa">We've used the "Little Touch" (for babies and toddlers), which was ... well, a waste of money. We then used the "My First LeapPad" (shaped like a school bus), which was much better . DD could use it by herself, and was 3 when we got it, so she was more ready to manipulate and absorb the information. We have now graduated to the LeapPad Read and Write system. We got it for Christmas, and to be honest haven't had much time to play wih it yet, so the jury is still out. I know some people love the Leap Pad computer thingy that looks more like a GameBoy, and can hook up to the TV. BUT, IMHO, I doubt it's worth the money. I've read reviews that said the TV hook up connection is loose and easily damaged, and the TV picture quality in general is lame.

---------

I didn't think much of Little Touch or the First Leap. The LeapPad was good. I'm not sure if we did much with the write part. My kids are now 4 and 6 and are using Leapster and L-Max. They love it.

---------

There is only one other brand that I have tried, which I think was 'Active Minds'. My dd liked it, but the book fell apart and was not fixable.
We had the 'Littletouch Leap Pad', which was pretty worthless ... you had to push really hard on the pages to make them work and dd was just not interested. We didn't even try it with ds. Both kids have had and enjoyed the 'My First Leap Pad' and now dd has a regular Leap Pad. Ds really loves his 'My First Leap Pad'... in fact, he broke the first one by constantly dragging it around by the pen cord. I got him a used one through Amazon.com for $10. Frankly, though, it doesn't teach them to read. For my kids, it has been a fun toy, but has not spurred their interest in words at all. In fact, neither of them is really even interested in listening to the story being read. Mostly they just like to point at the pictures. Or in ds's case, point at the same thing over and over in rapid succession until I am about to go out of my mind LOL. Anyway, dd is now 5, and is interested in the words in books when I read them to her, but not the books that go with her Leap Pad.

-------

We've enjoyed the Leap Pads, though. We're old timers... Back when you could only get the "My First Leap Pad" &amp; then the regular one. We got TONS of mileage from the First Leap Pad, esp since DS2 came along 2-3 yrs after DS1.

As much as I've wanted my boys to use these things for the reading assistance/encouragement, well... They want even let the things read through the stories that follow through many of the books. Instead, they like to explore, seeing what they can touch on each page, playing any games available on the page, etc. Oh well
. We've definitely gotten our money's worth from them.

BTW, if anyone wants a My First Leap Pad, complete with quite a few books/cartridges &amp; a backpack-style carrying case (made by Leap, just for this system)... Then that's the one I would recommend - LOL!

--------</font>

<font color="0000ff">Seems that the Little Touch version is not worth investing. My First LeapPad can be considered though.

Well, just sharing. The onus is yours. Maybe parents in SG have different experience. Is there a thread regarding "Comments on Little Touch LeapPad" since many parents have bought it?</font>

bbloh

wow, the price is pretty cheap if buying online.

i have the MY FIRST LEAPFROG Learning system which i got for my elder gal some yrs back. bght at robinson during the sale.abt 1 week plus, realise the system cant work wif some of the books. Hence ,brght back and they change me a new one.

Mayb gd to check if the system is faulty , can send back to change and wats the cost incurred plus the shipping??

Hi bbloh...

sorrie...initially dun understand this but see your links understand liaoz
======================================
You can consider getting the complete LeapPad set for additional USD 15.00, coz now the promo price is USD 39.99.
================================
Hi pooh,
yup does ur kid like the system?

Hi taurus...
just joking ;p

died tired today, keep checking pples' salary coz system got prob..

its gonna rain heavily soon! definately jam later when i go home

bbloh
mummy &amp; me, the difference between the 2 titles is just diff nursery songs...

taurus
let me go check how much is the toothpaste from the web first...can't rem. let u know again.

re leappads
r these really helpful in making them like reading or learn to read? fren wanna buy one for N's bd but i'm still wondering whether to buy leap pad or just books as in real books hahaha

Just to share something w you

attempted to buy first time from ON directly. After ordering they got bigger sale. Dropped an email to ask whther can extend the discount to me and they did
think their policy is so long its within 14 days of order, they will refund back the difference

Hi Ivy,
From the ON records, its shows that the goods have already reached VPOST USA on monday. Have dropped VPOST many emails but no response. tot they are supposed to send me a bill or something?
Can advice? so diff to order thru VPOST. Last time order from GYMBOREE is so fuss free...

ITS FRIDAY today.....

Hi Cheri,

hee...coz the pronounication from the leapfrog one is more accurate ma...my english powderful so tot its better for boy to listen to such books.

also i usually not at home to read for him so thinking of buying a set and ask my maid to let him "read" instead of watching TV all day.

Btw, any FTWM w/o maid? my maid going back soon in aug and i dunno whether should employ another maid or just do w/o one...
can share ur experience???

joyce,
VPost will email you when they receive the parcel. Have you send them the invoice? If yes, they will try to match before sending you the shipping payment parcel.

maid:
your mil/m can cope without a maid? If you have 2 parents(ie your mil and fil) at home then i think can do without maid, food can tingkat, cleaning can call part time....In my experience, my X need two caregivers cos he is real demanding.

lh_jyc,
For me,i put k @ my parent's place fr Mon am till friday evening, so after work i visit k, play or teach him for 1 or 2hrs before i go home(if no appointment).. then i do hsework bit by bit every weekday night <u>before</u> friday...As for weekend, I can only do cooking and washing plates while k is watching tv. :p Tiring but @ least i still have few hours straight sleep without waking up 7 times @ nites (if k around). Hmm... k sayany mummy but NOT MY MA. According to her, she can only do hsework and cooking when k is sleeping. (Luckily k still nap twice daytime &amp; sleep @8.30pm @ my parent's place).

Hi Ivy,

Yup sent them the invoice liaoz but they no reply lei..re the invoice, its the confirmation from ON that they have shipped out the goods rite?

As for maid, they say can but i not sure coz R is also getting veri naughty
also my sils have kids around the same age as R n if they ask my PIL to look after the kids, their maids also come. As my PIL looks after my boy daily, dunno whether i should continue to engage a maid lor. Coz my boy is taking most of their time n i should help them more ma...u know what i mean?

lh_jyc,
heheh.. think twice .. still got time.. :p

IT'S FRIDAY!!So wonderful and i just got treated <font color="ff0000">breakfast</font>(Kena hammer again from the back)... sigh!! no wonder i put on so much weight with extra breakfast served... haha!!

EnJOY E Comming Weekend

joyce,
yup, wait for vpost email, if this week still dun have, you can call them. Yes, the ON shipping note suffice.
why dun you try out without maid first, since your sil will bring their maid over at times to help out. Try it out for 2 weeks and see how. Cos from Aug to Dec only 4mths, after that in Jan, i suppose R will be gog school and hence more time for your PIL to rest.

barney siao parents,
today sistic online sales of the June concert. Act fast hor..haha..
KS me already purchased for my son and his gf who is travelling...hee..

re:leappad system
My no1 enjoys the set but my no2 (mayb abit young for the system) only wan to meddle wif it. kept switching the on/off button and anyhw use the stylus and tap here and there..hahhaa
so in the end, got to take the system away from her , if not, the system sure go crazy..

BARNEY SHOW
any1 going on 1st show (thurs, 3.30)??

<font color="0000ff">leejen,
Long time no see!
Mommy &amp; DVD spree? Still have. You want to order? Add your nick and update the Qty, alright?

<font size="+1"><font color="aa00aa">Mommy &amp; Me DVD spree at USD 9.99 each, Buy 4 Get 1 Free</font></font>
* Mommy &amp; Me - Playgroup Favorites (2003)
http://www.amazon.com/Mommy-Me-Playgroup-Favorites/dp/B0000V4762/ref=pd_bxgy_d_img_b
1) Taurus
2) lh_jyc

http://www.amazon.com/Mommy-Me-More-Playgroup-Favorites/dp/B0000V476C/ref=pd_bxgy_d_img_b
1) Taurus
2) lh_jyc

Total Qty = 4</font>

<font size="+1"><font color="aa00aa">Mommy &amp; Me DVD spree at USD 9.99 each, Buy 4 Get 1 Free</font></font>
<font color="0000ff">* Mommy &amp; Me - Playgroup Favorites (2003)
1) Taurus
2) lh_jyc
3) leejen

1) Taurus
2) lh_jyc
3) leejen

Total Qty = 6

leejen,
Any plan for Jeneil's 2nd birthday celebration?</font>

re barney show
who's mediacorp staff? hahah my ex is but no way i'm askign him disc for it lol

i've booked for sat, 11.30 am show too...

haha...bbloh....probably small gathering for my immediate family, last yr chalet really shag me out. wad abt u? u got msn?

littletot
u r sahm rite? where do u stay?

free to join a few mummies &amp; i on fri mornings, 9 to 12 pm? we went there today. It's a fabulous toyrental place that has loads &amp; loads of toys for the kids to play wif...$10 for 3 hours of play, if min. 5 persons, then it's $7...they will even organise storytelling or other activities for us if we hv min. 5...

in pasir panjang...

cheri,
they were featured in this month motherhood magazine. $10 for 3hrs is so cheap. The next time i am on leave for Fridays will jio you!

ivy
they were featured? hahah, oh no! that means will expect more crowd next time...this morning, only myself &amp; 2 other sahm mummies. Whole place to the 3 of us kekek...&amp; really loads of toys for them to play wif. Think our tots only played wif the bigger stuff like slides, kitchen sets, cars, ride ons etc today...all the smaller toys on the shelves din really touch even. sure sure, take leave &amp; join us! love to meet u &amp; ur prince!

<font color="0000ff">Cheri,
I know which place you're referring to. Sorry to reveal it but the place is the <font color="aa00aa">Toy Rental Club</font> ya? They also offer toy rental.

Ivy,
It's featured? Where?

leejen,
No plan yet but thinking of bringing him to a short trip somewhere near SG.</font>

bbloh,
its in the Mother and Baby magazine.

Annie,
a printed street directory is quite handy too. Just buy 1 copy from the shop, very small and handy. Easy to search too!

<font color="0000ff">Ivy,
ICIC.

Annie,
You can also try these on-line maps:

http://www.can.com.sg
[some maps are not very updated though but I like it that they display bus service numbers at the bus-stop though I always confirm whether the service still runs that route via SMRT or SBS-Transit webby.]

http://sg.shownearby.com

http://www.map.gov.sg

Of course, if you're driving, a street directory will be very handy unless you've got a GPS installed in a car lor.

leejen,
I've added you in my msn contact list.</font>

hi milo,
called JG today to find out their HFMD status.Latest case was Tue's Playnest, studio 8. There was a case 3 wks ago too.Wont be going tmr to be on the safe side as V just recovered.

Cheri,
no make up class effective next term. Management decision.

Yes i'm a SAHM.I'm near Holland V. Let me know your next outing

littletot
hmmm this will be our last term in JG so lucky for me!

we should be heading for Toysrental the Friday after next...let u know again...u pm me ur mobile number?

HV is quite near my place, we should meet up more often!

bbloh
hahaha no need sorry lah...iyo, got good rec must tell mah...i was just kidding :p

Oh my goodness, did not read the threads. JG got HMFD ah..i just brought R to class today din know that there was a case if knew wouldnt have brought him there...keeping my fingers crossed now

actually, if there r cases of reported HFMD in the sch, i'm sure the staff would hv cleaned the place up well...the worried ones r probably those who were in the same class as the affected child.