(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

littletot & ivy
she's asked to take singulair for 2 weeks then back for review again

st james waitlist is super long...heard that some parents put their names down at birth...i've heard that they can be pretty strict wif the kids, some parents like that, others not so.

i've put her on edudrama waitlist today (weekday)...alamak, but forgot to ask if it's indep or accompanied! hahaha blur me

annie
hahahah ur boy so cute & discerning...well, i guess if they really dun enjoy Manderville, can always drop off after a term.

fates
wow, those r not the normal devt milestones leh heheh...J is v advanced. Wat do u mean by memory etc...how do u know he's good? share share...

N only can recognise & say a few letters of the alphabet esp N for Nikki hahhah, can recite 1-10 in Eng & Ch, point & say body parts but she doesn't like to talk much esp in front of other pp...when they ask them to read the flashcards in JG, she will read so softly...think some of the kids younger than her can say the words aloud so well...she will only say if the teacher dangles the carrot (stickers!) in front of her! hahah

cheri,
same loh...mine this sat back for review.
For edudrama, is not daily basis right?
i shld be registering for daily 3hr classes for Jan 09.

Cheri,
RE: st james
I presumed diff parent have diff standard on strictness.. but if too strict scare of our little tots..any side effect after that? like don't like to go to school in future? i read articles that minor tots have such probs and parent seeking for help... hmm.. not sure abt that.. hehe.. def work for k. My brother is a gd eg. He is v strict with k and k is scare of him.. @ least k won't anyhow mess my brother stuffs, don't dare to enter his room without permission..

like to check on this item.. <font color="0000ff">Nive.. brand children's sunblock lotion</font>; advertised on yesterday st "mind yr body" section..
any idea our little tots @ 22 mths old can use? thinking to switch brand..

<font color="0000ff">An article to share ...</font>
http://thestar.com.my/lifestyle/story.asp?file=/2008/3/20/lifeparenting/20675337&amp;sec=lifeparenting

<font size="+1">Don’t rush your child</font>

Childwise
By RUTH LIEW

Allow children of preschool age to learn at their own pace.

Preschool education provides children with early learning experiences, helping them to make an easier transition to formal schooling later on.

From my observations, I have found many kindergartens conducting formal schooling classes and their preschoolers are working on academic subjects beyond their developmental capabilities.

Most five- and six-year-olds are expected to behave and learn like seven- and eight-year-olds. These children are stressed out by the demand to learn as much as they can in their preschool years in the hope that they will do well in primary school.

In preschool programmes, pre-determined learning outcomes dominate the way children work on the activities rather than allowing children to determine whether learning is inherently interesting and worthy of effort, or boring and tedious. Most preschool programmes are teacher-directed rather than child-centred. Children are not allowed to choose what to learn but to follow everything the teacher instructs them to do.

To make matters worse, parents buy extra preschool workbooks and send their children to enrichment classes in mental arithmetic, memory skills and to learn languages.

The most important teachers for children are their parents. They are their first teachers. Many parents do not realise that their influence on their children’s learning will have a lifetime effect on them. If parents approach learning as challenging and worthwhile, children will do so too.

Here are some ideas to promote preschool children’s early learning:

1. Parents can encourage more physical exercise during the early years. The preschool child is at the critical period of brain development. Take your children for outdoor activities instead of placing them in extra classes. The more they get to play freely and explore the outdoor surroundings, the more skilful they become.

Spend your pre-dinner time in a nearby park with your children instead of watching television. Children need to work on their large motor skills such as running, jumping, climbing, skipping, galloping and hopping.

Young children need to practise using their fine motor skills in using scissors, pasting, tracing with a crayon or colour pencil and drawing. Worksheets are not stimulating. Children can colour their own drawings and write their own stories. Help them put their ideas into words and write down their words for them. It is more fun and interesting when children read their own stories rather than struggling through a reader book.

2. Many parents focus on their children’s intellectual skills, particularly in their reading, writing and arithmetic. Very little time is spent on dealing with children’s emerging emotional self. Preschool children need to work through their feelings in creative, non-destructive ways. To begin helping your child, talk about what you and your child do every day in household chores and errands. Talk about your feelings in various situations.

For example, after completing your grocery shopping, you can say, “I feel happy that I have managed to complete what I set out to do. It is always satisfying when we succeed in doing things we have planned.” When your preschool child is upset or angry, refrain from saying, “You don’t have to be angry.” Try acknowledging his feelings and let him know that he can put his feelings in words. Say, “You are angry with me. It is hard to find the right words to say. Tell me about it. I will listen patiently to you.”

3. Promote family literacy at home. Young children’s “reading” usually means looking at pictures and following their mums or dads’ reading-aloud sessions. There are parents who complain that their preschoolers refuse to sit patiently for a read-aloud session. Don’t worry. Children may not have the patience to listen to a book read aloud but they can still develop language skills when parents read signs and notices to them in their environment.

Build a family library at home. Arrange your books next to your children’s books. When you pick a book to read, your child can choose to do the same. Share your favourite book with your child. Let him know what you are reading. He will probably follow suit with his own book.

Learning to read is important. It is a skill that children should acquire early if they are fascinated by books. However, early literacy experiences should not be confined to reading and writing. The drill and practice exercises in worksheets are definitely not going to entice children to want to read and write.

Storytelling or reading aloud helps children to think about the meaning in words and learn to pay attention to stories. The best part is that children get to talk about and act out the story and this makes them active learners.

4. Children need to make connections between words and ideas. In shared reading, children get to hear new words, talk about meanings of words and connect the words with the pictures.

Rather than getting children to read a set of readers, choose beautifully illustrated and written storybooks. Encourage your child to do problem solving. Based on the stories, allow him to take on character roles. He may change the characters according to his understanding and interpretation.

Children between three and six years old ask many questions. Instead of providing them with all the answers when they ask “why”, you can try by asking back, “What do you think?” “How does that make you feel?”

Children who are allowed to think for themselves and make their own decisions tend to be self-efficient and self-reliant. When you encourage children to give their point of view, you also get to know what they are thinking.
--------------
<font color="0000ff">What's your view?</font>

Hi Ivy,

X is tired and thus cranky, that's why he kicked up a big fuss....J's the same too. Btw how do you threaten him? J's sleeping time is getting later too....SIGH.....so tiring for us FTWM leh. YAWN!

Hi cheri,

His memory is good! He always know where I hid his sweets! lol! joking...
His LM in class.......now they're at 6 cards....he got it right most of the time

Same goes for photographic memory activities.

I won't stress him too much la....so sourcing for fun music classes for him.

fates,
oh.. k sleeping time @ my place is 11.30-1am.He wakes up 7 times after his sleep <u>but</u> he sleeps through @ my parent's place. The most amazing part is he still wakes up @ 7.30am.
Now you understand why i can't bring home to take care myself during weekday... else how to work.. <font color="0000ff">kena sick when i took care of him five days cont during co cny break</font>.. how i envy other tots can straight through :~(

Hi Fates,
I just want to chk with u regarding ur son's memory..in fact i never use flash card and even dunno how to use it...if let say tht whatever we teach our kid once surely he can remember and show/say back to u later(though can't pronounce correctly)is this consider having good memory?

ivy
no, edudrama is a once weekly lesson.

annie
being firm is definitely good but i rem reading that it's oso normal for our tots to try to push their boundaries &amp; test limits as they grow up, if they dun, we should be worried! hahaha so it's their job to push the limits &amp; our role as parents to preserve these limits.

fates
yes, having fun in the class is so impt..that's definitely one of my top criteria when deciding on classes for her..there's a whole gamut of classes out there so really gotta be discerning.

bbloh
thanks! v interesting article u shared...i like the part where they encourage parents to share &amp; articulate our feelings too wif them (Pt2)...v often we focus on them but not us, will remind myself to do that more often!

Actually I had been a "silent watcher" for quite sometimes already,just dont know how to start the conversation.

My princess D.O.B is 21-5-2006

Just want to say Thanks to bbloh, if not wrong she got post Dr.Koh contact here.

Actually my son had a very bad cough even had visited child specialist.

Suddenly just remember bbloh got recommend Dr.Koh b4, so yesterday called to make appoinment and wait for 2 hour++

But I must say,Dr.Koh is good...
My son had feel better

Thanks ya

May babies birthday party
Place: Rio Vista function room ( in the event function room is booked then we do BBQ at same plc)
Format: Cater/Potluck ( depend on # of pax )
Activities: Swimming, playground, mummies yaking!
Time: 5pm onwards
Date: 17th May (Sat)
Optional:
1) Photographers to take picts? ( about $150 for 2hrs or so...and get high res CD back )
2) Rental of indoor big toys to the function room?

Attendees:

1) Little Nana
2) Fates
3) Ivy
4) Taurus
5) joyce
6) cheri, hb &amp; N (maybe maid oso)
7) sponge
8) Ino, hb &amp; N
9) poohcutie, hb,2 kids (will be late thou)
10)

hi bling,
you can start by joining our May BD bash...

Fates,
ha, my threats huh...its a sure work if you know you are impt to your son...
i told him in a very angry tone inside the room while he is crying/screaming..." Go go, go to nai nai room if you like her so much and her TV. Go liao dun come back, i dun wan to slp with you anymore.." Very auntie hor..but it works!

littletot
ya, i know it's at Forum...think Edudrama wun hv outdoor play so no diff if not Evans. I put her on waitlist for EL only...hhmm maybe should oso put for Mandarin hor then decide later? hahah ks mummy :p

ivy
really v drama leh, ur threats...so usually how does ur boy react after that? my ger recently perfected her art of 'bian zhui' whenever she's unhappy wif sthg...keke my parents will laugh whenever they see her do that.

bling
Dr Koh is from Nam Seng? yaya do join us for the bash...the more the merrier!

Hi Ivy,

Ur threats work ah?

mine useless..The moment i say "dun wan u liao", he screams non stop..headache ah...now even caning him dun work liaoz...

he really stubborn so now have to reason w him

Hi bling,

Welcome to the thread

Hi ino,
peisei...missed out a lot of threads..thanks for ur advice. did ask around n they did say that the shipping is ex coz of the big boxes
but relatively still cheaper than buying from Singapore. So going to take a risk this time keeping my fingers crossed..

Hi bbloh,
Thanks for the codes. Will try them out when i order ;p

Hi Cheri
Tried out the JG today. Althu they are not those right brain stimulation type. my boy enjoyed the class veri much. thanks for the recommendations

Wah Fates, yr J is really smart leh. How can you say this is normal devt milestone?

My son can only recite 1-10 but definitely not A-Z!

SM is really effective for J

Yesterday we went for the SGFlyeer at 6pm. The view was fanstastic and J was so thrilled at seeing things from a different point of view but i think yr 7pm ride is better as you mentioned can see sunset and the scenery after dark

Hi fairysnowberry,

No lah....didn't say J can recite A-Z but know from A-Z

When i sing the ABC song, he can fill in the missing alphabets for me. Hmmm SM...works or not.....yet to see?! Glad that you enjoyed the Flyer

Welcome bling!

Hi ivy,

Wow so that's your method ar? I'll try but don't think it'll work on J :p:p

littletot
u keen on Mandarin Edudrama oso ah? hmm maybe can put on waitlist first if really keen cos who knows they may change their class slots anytime...

lhjyc
u brot ur boy for the JG Bilingual Playclub? trial or u've signed on? glad he enjoyed himself...i'm sure u did too keke. We mummies r happy so long as we see them enjoying

ivy,
hehehe... wah!!but don't apply to keane leh.. sob sob.. he will numbling, making a lot of noise..

i used this trick but hor.. not good eg lar. i told k there is one monster out in the living room when we off the lights.. if he (baby) walks out of the bedroom (he sleeps on e mattress laid on the floor).. he will be bited by the monster.This monster only loves to eat baby. he def scare and only plays in the room for awhile before sleep.

Hi Cheri,

JG does not allow trial..somemore veri ya ya...coz i have to sign up last weekend, if not they will give away my slot.
so no choice signed up lor but R may have to skip this sat class coz my pil bringing him to malaysia..

Actually the teachers are really dramatic n their actions abit exag...R was scared at first but then the music started, he ok ok lor..esp when food is given..

as for mummy? both happy n heartpain...coz..rather expensive but for my boy, everything also can la

Just to share something...i have been showing R this picture book daily for the past 2 weeks..he now can recognise and say pig, dog, cat, rabbit, bear, horse, elephant (he say phant)...
hee..also bought 2 pcs animal puzzle, he likes and is able to piece the pics together. hopefully these will make up for not sending him to CC..
am i super kiasu??? goodness

Hi joyce,

This is not super kiasu la....it's good to introduce them lots of books (provided they're in the mood to read) and puzzles of all sorts, as their brain can absorb lots of info now.

I also need to buy more jigsaw puzzles for J because he loves it. Any good lobang to share?

Hi fates,

I bought the ones at the united sq. kindof of exp but the pics are bright and my boy likes it. am thinking of purchasing more soon coz he may get sick of it veri fast

;p

lh_jyc,
can share where is the shop location? i bot those china type.. colour not that bright..hehe..

Cheri,
i got one "The wheels on e bus" vcd from the popular bookshop... really can faint leh.. k kept wanting to see it over and over again.. 6 times per day...really nightmare..hahah

ha, yes, my threats works but i used it very very rarely..Only once or twice so far. Will only use it as my last last resort when i am damn tired and he damn dun want to slp. Else the majority of the other times, i will slp and roll on bed with him till he shack out( usually take 45mins). I do cherish this time cos busy mummy no time to play with him. So this precious time in the dark bedroom is our bonding time.

joyce and others,
seems that your tot are enjoying the JG classes.
I am still holding back cos pd say no rush for classes. better build up his lung power first. Guess this KS mummy have to refrain from jumping into classes.

Hi Ivy,

^5, this is also what happens to me ;p sometimes takes more than 1 hr to make R sleep but its worth it like u say..

Hi Annie, peisei..cant recall. will check next time i go

Hi firefly,
dunno safe or not but have been giving R half boiled egg since he 6mths old. so far so good n its one of his fav

posting for milo:

May babies birthday party
Place: Rio Vista function room ( in the event function room is booked then we do BBQ at same plc)
Format: Cater/Potluck ( depend on # of pax )
Activities: Swimming, playground, mummies yaking!
Time: 5pm onwards
Date: 17th May (Sat)
Optional:
1) Photographers to take picts? ( about $150 for 2hrs or so...and get high res CD back )
2) Rental of indoor big toys to the function room?

Attendees:

1) Little Nana
2) Fates
3) Ivy
4) Taurus
5) joyce
6) cheri, hb &amp; N (maybe maid oso)
7) sponge
8) Ino, hb &amp; N
9) poohcutie, hb,2 kids (will be late thou)
10)Milo, hb, kid.

we have 10 families liao...
bling, gabby, join us?!

Let's think what should we do and set a budget for each family. We need a planner, a treasurer! haha...ideas?

okie, 1 suggestion is to cater and rent toys then we split the cost. Prob $40 per family, slighly more if we get in a photographer too.

Any other suggestions?

annie
so far, i dun dare to tell her anything abt monsters etc cos my ger quite scaredy cat type (loud noise, thunder etc). Even though i'm afraid of cockroaches, dogs, cats etc., when we see one, i try to act cool cos i dun wan to pass any irrational fears to her. Cos i've seen some kids being scared of every little thing &amp; it's so hard to convince them otherwise when they r older.

I rem someone telling me not to tell them stuff like if u notti, police come &amp; catch u too..cos they should be respecting the police &amp; even look to them for help if necessary eg. being lost etc.

lhjyc
where in united square did u get the 2 piece puzzles from? can take pic &amp; show us? how expensive? i'm trying to get some 2-4 pc type for her too for a start but so hard to find nice ones...someone told me elc has 4-6 pc type but hv not checked them out yet. ivy oso rec better toy store...

annie
which WOTB did u buy? Sing Song City ones or the Mango Adventure ones? my ger loves the SSC ones till i hv to hide them so that i can play others for her...

Hi Ivy,

If we cater, I assume we'll be catering the min as we won't have much time to eat right? Is potlucking one of your options?

RE:toys ~ Rio Vista's playground fun or not? *wink* If not I guess we'll need to rent more toys :p

Cheri,

Cant remember where i got it liaoz. will try to see next time i go..unable to load the pic here. can pm me ur email? I send it to u ;)

Firefly,
eee...quite often, sometimes 2 to 3 times per week coz its his fav.

Cheri,
Yes, SSC, k can watch up to 6times a day, i really can faint..

I did used the "police come &amp; catch u" method but he will show me "where is e police?" look.. sigh**

The monster i created... haha.. only eat young toddler, wont eat mummy or daddy..haha.. (lousy eg)..
Wonderful, you really do a great model by reacting positive way even through you are scare of e small animal..4 me i am kampong gal so only scare of "xiao Ming" :p

ivy
yes, potluck sounds like good idea too..will cut our cost further &amp; leave more $ for goody bag (?), rental of toys etc...shall we do a gift exchange for the tots? maybe budget of $10 or $15, buy unisex gift? if at condo, let's throw them into the pool wif water toys too..will be so fun!

lhjyc
thanks! email add same as my msn add. [email protected]

annie
waaa 6 times a lot leh...i'll only let her watch once a day...if she pesters me too much or tries to open the cupboard to play the dvd herself, i'll tell her fiercely, i'll throw away all the vcds if she dares to do it...no more barney, no more elmo, no more wheels, no more ted (leapfrog) keke...then she'll guai guai close the cupboard door &amp; go play wif her toys...so far it works...if one day she decides to test me again, will really need to throw one dvd away just to let her know that i'm serious ahhahah...maybe throw those i copied from my fren then can copy from them again lol

Hi Cheri,

Sent u liaoz

Re TV, my boy also loves to watch Hi 5 and can do so everyday n nonstop somemore. after a while found him addicted to it so now limit to at most 1 hr each time...sometimes still throw tantrums but better liaoz

Cheri,
She so sweet and so guai...heheh..k does the same, takes the remote control, trys to on it.. then drag me.If i don't play for him, he will follow me all the while, pulling my clothes, naggy / complaining noises non stop leh...throw my stuffs.. :p He even forgo the disney chanel.

annie &amp; joyce
keke i always remind myself when she pesters me that it's her duty to push her limits but i'm not a pushover mummy either...there r some things i wun compromise...1 hour max tv per day, sitting in high chair to eat her meals, sleeping in her cot etc.

joyce
will go united square later to check out...hope i can find the shop hahah

Hi Cheri,

thanks...dunno why cant resize in the office..i took the pic using my mobile n sms to my opic email...maybe that's why lor..

Yup...hopefully u can find it coz the shops has loads of nice toys..like i mention...burnt a whole in my pocket ;p

Stories to scare kids...

When I read the stories of ur little tales I laughed... well we tend to intimidate, make up tales to get cooperation. Sigh.

JG class
Have put Sien on wait list for classes next term. Hope that I make get her in