(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

<u>Seimpi Music trial</u>

Actually the trial is not bad, as music notes were introduced to the toddlers in a fun way! Back home, J can point out where is 'C' on the keyboard

They have flashcards session too, but I find it abit slow (compared to SM). Overall experience : 6\10

The teacher seems abit soft and disorganised, but if not Seimpi Playtime is good.

annie,
there's 3 more episode to go.Every mon 7.30-8pm channel 5.Am not sure what topic they'll be covering..

milo,
do bring extras med with you (eg for block nose, lau sia *touchwood*) just incase la.

Wont know whether still at studio 4 a not.Do they move us around or stick to the same classmates?What i know is Sue will still be our teacher next term.Actually i quite like the 2 stand in teachers the other day.Feel that they lead better during the singing session.Sue is still new.Just got promoted in Jan.

littletot,

yup. all med in!

icic, i think shld be stick in the same class? we share the same sentiment, i prefer the 2 male teachers as well. they are ultra dramatic and can catch the attention of our little ones very well. sue and chuiting still very new in tat aspect. i heard the 2 teachers are from forum

littletot
my ger's JG class is at 9 am...just nice, end at 11 am, come home, bathe, play a while, lunch then nap! wake up in the aftn still can go out for playdates etc hhaha. U sahm too? then how come do sat class? hope to meet u one day...maybe we can go picnic or sthg at bot garden...can ask the rest like ss1 &amp; pooh to join us too

no offence but i would think it's no big deal for them to be able to count in 9 langs...always feel it's more for the parents to show off but wat does it really mean? that the child will be a linguist in future? that the child understands the concept of 1-10 really well? i'm really doubtful. If they can show the child is really creative in many ways, take complicated things apart, puts them back, uses them for other purposes etc, i'll be impressed! hahaha

fates
thanks for sharing on the mim trial...the music trial at Kindyroo is bad today...dun bother wasting ur time hahaa...dun think i'll go for the art trial on thurs.

let me go fix up a kindermusik trial for us on a sat, heard Teacher Doreen at Tanglin Mall is good...we try her out k?

littletot,
wat time and slot is your JG class? They call me to enroll but i dilly daliy...

Fates,
birthday bash, dunno who in charge now..haha..Cos the prefered date was 1st May but i am out of town! How? Changed to 17th May or Cheri can take over the coordination if for 1st May?

bbloh
oh no, so fast they increase the price..ya dun think worth the trouble then...thanks anyway!

ivy
huh me coordinate the bash? i dunno wat to do leh...i dun mind 17 may actually. maybe we can check with the list of mummies who signed up again if they r ok wif 17th?

cheri,
bilingual class only on wkend.There is a fri class at 4.30pm. By the time finish will be 6.30pm.Peak Hr, somemore i dun drive. Evans quite wu-lu, cab seldom come in.Very lay chey.

Kindyroo trial lousy arg? Ok Ok so wont call them back for another date.Are you going jitterbugs retrial this sat?

Ivy,
i'm doing the 9am slot.Come join milo and me leh
. Hopefully they place you same class as us.Hmm... wonder whether can request a not?

milo,
enjoy your trip ya!

Hi littletot,

Can let me have the details of the class pls? i also dilly dally finding classes for R. If possible want to sign him up for courses think he noting to do at home..

anyone need a good part time maid, $10 per hour please let me know. She work on Sundays only, either 8.30am or 1.30pm start.
Fast and good in her cleaning and ironing!
i hate to let her go but my live in maid is starting this weekend....

<font color="0000ff">Is anyone interested in this trial?

Music Kid's Way
"The Great Explorer" for 2 - 3yrs old.
http://www.familyintune.com/
They were featured in mypaper few days ago.

Need 3 or more kids to start a trial group.
Amount: $24 per kid

If there's interest, I'll organise a trial class on a Sat (timing to be confirmed later but I think it's at 10am or 2.45pm). Shall we choose 22 or 29 Mar?

They organise birthday parties as well!

1) bbloh</font>

<font color="0000ff">I've found another website that sells the WOTB set at a cheaper price than Tower.com which ships internationally as well. Do you want to proceed in case the price increase again?

(a) Wheels on the Bus Box Set (USD 18.22 per set, excluding shipping which is dependant on order amount)
http://www.deepdiscount.com/viewproduct.htm?productId=29438059
1) bbloh
2) Cheri (Y/N)
3) Annie (Y/N)
4) lh_jyc (Y/N)
5) sponge (Y/N)

Fairy.snowberry,
The Smurfs set is more expensive (USD 20.91) at this URL, so I won't be placing order. Sorry.</font>

lh_jyc,
we're at JG evans road. Sat, 9-11am.Per term is 10 weeks. 1hr english ,1hr mandarin.There is a theme for each term. Lesson includes 15mins freeplay, art n craft,speech n drama, stories n songs, snack time, outdoor play(playground, sandplay, waterplay n swimming)-alternate eachwk.

I think there is still a waiting list going on.DO call them to find out. JG evans-67375348 .

<font color="0000ff"><u>Feedback on Seimpi trial</u>,
I totally agree with fates' comments. It will be good if you intend to let your kid has more "formal" music background.

But for more fun, Magic Fiddler (as preferred by Joyce) and Kampung Playhouse is not too bad.

Cheri,
KindyRoo's trial sound quite bad uh?

I've heard about Mandeville Music School too. Just checked its website that they offer Baby Music Class.
http://www.mandevillemusic.com/index_files/MusicAppreciationDept.htm

Hmm ... can consider going for a trial.</font>

bbloh,
I am interested in this trial but I can only make it on 29/03/08, 22 is fully engaged with appointments.

<font color="0000ff">Music Kid's Way
"The Great Explorer" for 2 - 3yrs old.
http://www.familyintune.com/

Need 3 or more kids to start a trial group.
Amount: $24 per kid

1)bbloh
2)Annie</font>

bbloh,
wkend class is $520 per term.Book resource fee is $9.50.One time registration fee $35.There is another branch at Forum.But they dont have waterplay and swimming.Not sure about sandplay. If you keen must register to be put on waitlist.

Ivy,
i find it not bad la.All in one. Each class max 10 kids.During songs time they'll open up and combine with another class. Which time slot they offering you?

littletot
so desu ne...that's why u chose sat class at JG hahah...i preferred the Mandarin to Bilingual class cos wanted my ger to hv the full 2 hours exposure to Mandarin since we speak more EL at home. Yes, i'm going for this sat's retrial..u too? hope to c u then!

bbloh
i can't seem to open the familyintune website...how's the class like? sthg like kindermusik style or playgroup like? i'm only keen on the formal cos JG which she attends is oredi PG-like.

any idea how is the shipping cost like for the deepdiscount site? if ok, i dun mind getting the set. cos seldom heard of pp ordering from this site so better check first...sekali shipping exorbitant! hahaha

ivy
i really feel evans is so much better than forum...some mummies i know who went for trials in Forum end up not signing but those who went for Evans r usually bowled over by the outdoor play &amp; less formal environment there. maybe u can do a trial first if they allow trials for bilingual class?

Hi bbloh,

I've enquired about Mandaville before. Their trial quite ex and if u wanna get on to their trial...got to wait quite some months. By the way, i might be dropping by the school...to see whether it's worth the money and the wait.

Feedback of Seimpi Trial:
I find the curriculum quite good as it teaches muscial stuff (unlike those music appreciation classes with song and dance). It's more formal music training as what bbloh and fates said. So i guess, it ultimately boils down to what u like the child to learn.

The letdown was the teacher...who is too young...and doesn't seem to have the "passion" and is not engaging. Cannot get the kids interested. Hai...

<font color="0000ff">Cheri,
For international shipping, the charges are:

<table border=1><tr><td>Order Total 10 - 20 Business Days </TD><TD>USD </TD></TR><TR><TD>$0 - $25</TD><TD>5.95 </TD></TR><TR><TD>$25.01 - $50.00</TD><TD>8.95 </TD></TR><TR><TD>$50.01 - $100.00</TD><TD>12.95 </TD></TR><TR><TD>$100.01 - $249</TD><TD>16.95 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Over $249</TD><TD>39.95</td></tr></table>
Looks quite reasonable to me.

I can open the http://www.familyintune.com URL. U try again?

ino,
I also quite like Seimi's curriculum except for the teacher part. Can you feedback after you've dropped by Mandeville coz it's bit far for me le? TIA.</font>

re manderville
i quite like their prog description. Fees r by term (abt 3 mths)...comes out to $30+ per 45 min lesson.

just called them, they r pretty sticky &amp; do not encourage trials...min age is 2 years, short of 1-2 mths when term starts hv to check wif them again.

if anyone wan sat trials, they can only take in in july when their new term starts. But if we can get a minimum of 8 kids, they can do a weekday trial on Fri, 4 pm for us anytime now...but that means the lessons will oso be on Fri, 4 pm in future.

Trial fee is not cheap, $53.50 for a 45 min lesson but if we sign on, then it will be offset (treated as first lesson). So i think this trial will really be for mummies who r serious abt letting their kid sign on at this slot if they like it. If u dun mind spending so much on one trial even if u dun like Fri, can join us oso hahah! Anyone keen? i am!

Manderville Trial, United Square
Babies class
Fri, 4-4.45 pm (date not confirmed)
Cost: $53.50
(can take in more than 8 cos i'm sure some will not enrol after the trial)

Mummies keen:
1) cheri

bbloh
r u sahm? where do u stay? united square far for u ah?

still can't open the url...maybe website under some construction.

littletot,
mine is the 9am at forum...

cheri,
really huh? forum not as good as evans? Evans only have 2pm...yawn...napping time for X.
At $56 per lesson, i also dunno if its good...or maybe i shld just continue with my games and own home 'class' with him before sending to nursery class when he is 30mths.

ivy
dunno, some mummies who attended the forum one say no good, nothing special...usually those who go forum is more cos of the location.

only the trial is so ex...think they mark up the trial to discourage trials but if sign on, then they will treat that as first lesson &amp; offset the $56 from the term fees.

<font color="0000ff">Cheri,
I just clicked on the URL. It works!
I'm a FTWM, so will give the Friday trial a miss! I stay in Jurong West.</font>

cheri,
no, the term fees as stated is $556.40+$10.17= $566.57 for 10 weeks.

just thinking whether need to go or not since its more of playgroup format.

ivy
hahah i thot u were referring to the manderville class lol..yes JG more of a playgroup class but from now till 30 mths is still quite a while leh...it's oso bonding btw Mother &amp; child during such accompanied classes...i enjoy every of her JG class...no way i can be there for her when she starts sch so it's a very precious time for us now...to be able to observe her learning styles, social skills etc...

re manderville
sorry, they just called me again...trial is off! their teacher is not in favour of a whole class of 8 trial students cos they feel not everyone will sign up so defeats the purpose..they only allow max 2 trial students in one class &amp; they hv 3-4 interested ones waiting for fri class to start now...so once they can gather min 8 ppl, they will call me for the trial. if any mummy (only one more place) keen on fri, 4 pm too, can give them a call urself.

<font color="0000ff">Joyce &amp; sponge,

Can you pls confirm whether you still want the WOTB set by 5pm today as I want to place order ya?

a) Wheels on the Bus Box Set (USD 18.22 per set, excluding shipping which is dependant on order amount)
http://www.deepdiscount.com/viewproduct.htm?productId=29438059
1) bbloh
2) Cheri
3) Annie
4) lh_jyc (Y/N)
5) sponge (Y/N)

Shipping charges are:
<table border=1><tr><td>Order Total 10 - 20 Business Days </TD><TD>USD </TD></TR><TR><TD>$0 - $25</TD><TD>5.95 </TD></TR><TR><TD>$25.01 - $50.00</TD><TD>8.95 </TD></TR><TR><TD>$50.01 - $100.00</TD><TD>12.95 </TD></TR><TR><TD>$100.01 - $249</TD><TD>16.95 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Over $249</TD><TD>39.95</td></tr></table>

So much talk on JG ar? That good? hehe

Cheri,

Yes i still waiting for the KM trial at tanglin mall! :p

<u>Singapore Flyer</u>

We went for a ride yesterday and J is so fascinated by it! Will post up some pics for you ladies once I got it loaded to the comp

fates,
Wah! U book e ticket online or can buy on the spot? J doesnt need to pay right? I am v interested to bring k there.. do let me noe. thanks thanks

Hi blohh,

Yes, pls. Have transferred the money to u previously together w the LeapFrog purchase. thanks for helping

me so sad today...my trip is gone w the wind...hub find it too expensive, tell me not to go...kesian

lh_jyc,
You mean Japan? Yap, expensive to go there. Korea is much cheaper...maybe you wait for milo to email you after her trip...

fates,
flyer fun rite? Kaelyn went and saw her picts...We booked the tickets for X birthday, more fun for him that day...maybe got free balloon? haha...

joyce,
maybe tell hb go Disney in US instead? Cos USD is cheaper than Yen now! Think of the shopping you can do there and the huge Disney! Should be more fun..hee...

Hi Annie,

Can booked both online and over the counter. Toddlers under 3 no need to pay, I think.

Hi Ivy,

Yes v fun! And the ideal time is 7pm! Timing just right to see the city landscape and slowly see the sky turning dark! WONDERFUL! No free balloon la.....anyway I always hate it when J is given a ballon because I'm always the one carrying it after he got sick of it.

Joyce...for japan, package tour is cheaper. Maybe you can scout around for a suitable package.

Hee...
i want to go..but hub changing job end this month so we have to go end mar if want. but too last min cant get tour packages..
also he suddenly in the must save up for the future mood..keeps saying i spend all my earnings never save, old lei hor.. blah blah blah blah..lor...