(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

bbloh,
thanks for organising the trial
. Ethan not noisy la. Verlynn was making noise towards the end too!

Parking,
can try the open air carpark next to wheelock place? Old system, place coupon

Hi Qoosan,

I agree that its seems to be more fun than learning type of class or mabbe its becoz we dun understand the things she is trying to teach but the babies really seem to enjoy themselves hor..

Still contemplating....

Hi bbloh..
PP to faraway from my place. think i'll skip for this one. if you attend, do share with us whether its good.

<font color="0000ff">I'll not be attending the trial at PP coz (1) too far (2) the duration is only 15 mins!
Not worth the hassle.

Qoosan,
I have not been to Sponge's hse before. Maybe we had met outside.

ss1,
I have not receive the masks yet but my colleague tried the DD series and said they're not bad. She has very good complexion and, so should be alright ya?

littletot,
Walking distance to Delfi will be quite far. Imagine carrying a tot whose always wriggling in our embrace - it's a balancing act!</font>

bbloh,
ya... bit far unless bring stroller.

Went music trial at gymboree today.Class only 2 students + V = 3!! We played with many different instruments while singing nursery rhymes. Music cd (classica) were played twice as background music while we move ard the class "making noise" with the instruments

<font color="0000ff">Although our kids are no longer infants, it's good to know the following:</font>

NEWS from CPSC
U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission
Office of Information and Public Affairs
Washington, DC 20207

<font color="ff0000">FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE</font>
December 18, 2007
Release #08-137

CPSC Hotline: (800) 638-2772
CPSC Media Contact: (301) 504-7908

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Deadly Danger: CPSC Urges Parents To Not Place Infants on Air Mattresses</font></font>

WASHINGTON, D.C. - This is the season when homes fill up with gifts and guests. When traveling, parents may choose alternative sleeping environments for babies. The U. S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) is warning families nationwide that air mattresses are too soft for use with sleeping infants. Never place infants to sleep on air mattresses or other soft surfaces (such as water beds and adult beds), which are not specifically designed or safe for infant use.

Since 2002, CPSC has received reports of 16 tragic deaths, mostly infants younger than 8 months of age who were placed to sleep on air
mattresses: 11 suffocated in a <font color="ff0000">face down position on an air mattress</font> and 5 died due to <font color="ff0000">suffocation after falling into gaps between the mattress and bed frame and mattress and adjacent furniture or wall</font>.

Generic twin-, full-, or queen-sized inflatable mattresses are usually intended for adults and older children. Even properly inflated air mattresses are usually too soft for infants to maintain a clear airway. Air leaks and under-inflation also contribute to incidents.

Wherever your baby sleeps should be as safe as possible. CPSC recommends these safe sleeping tips:

* Always place your baby to sleep on his or her back to reduce the risk of SIDS.

* Never place baby to sleep on an adult bed. Infants can suffocate on bedding or can become entrapped between the mattress and bed frame or
mattress and wall.

* When using a crib, make sure it meets current safety standards, has a firm, tight-fitting mattress and tight-fitting bottom sheet.

* When using a portable crib or play yard, be sure to use only the mattress or pad provided by the manufacturer.

The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission is charged with protecting the public from unreasonable risks of serious injury or death from more than 15,000 types of consumer products under the agency's jurisdiction. Deaths, injuries and property damage from consumer product incidents cost the nation more than $800 billion annually. The CPSC is committed to protecting consumers and families from products that pose a fire, electrical, chemical, or mechanical hazard. The CPSC's work to ensure the safety of consumer products - such as toys, cribs, power tools, cigarette lighters, and household chemicals - contributed significantly to the decline in the rate of deaths and injuries associated with consumer products over the past 30 years.

hi bbloh,
both have strenghts of their own.

Magic Fiddler,
is good for their "long","short"concept together with the 5/4 timing.But i feel this is better for older kids as they'll understand better?

Gymboree,
i find V can related better as we're singing and "making noise" to songs like wheels on the bus, 5 little monkeys, twinkle twinkle little stars.We get to move and dance ard class

okie dokie

will see you girls there then.

Gift exchange is per kid or per family??? I have 2. then again no 1 wont like gifts that are too kiddy....

gabby,

the gift was $15 per kid...but your no#1, i am not sure if he will get gift of his age. But i think most of the stuff we got are not too kiddy?

Girls,
See you all at noon at the resturant tmrw. Booked under Karen Chua.( aka pooh)

cheers.

<font color="0000ff">Any idea where I can buy matching collared-tees (aka polo T-shirt) for adults and very young children locally?</font>

went for montessori playgroup (trial) at Railway Mall today.Total waste of $$!.

Class starts from 1000-1100hrs. They started off with free play. You get to chose the things you wanna play with.Eg, sorting out difference colors of plastic bears, use spoon to scoop marcoroni into another bowl, stacking containers cap back those hotel mini shampoo bottles and others. These lasted 25 MINS!!!

After which is phonics, alphabet 'N'. There were only 3 students + my gal 4.Each get to trace the alphabet and touch 3 items that begin with the letter 'N'.Eg, nuts, napkin and necklace.Then we were given some colored macoronis and strings to make into a necklace.This takes another 20 MINS.

Off to wash hands and it's songs time.We sing along to CD (If you happy and you know is clap your hands,stomp your feet and nod your head) + 1 Goodbye Song and class ended at 1055hrs!!

Teachers there like robot.Sian sian kind.Wont prompt the kids to get involve.Just sit there like Toa Pek Kong!!

Hello mUmmies,

Really apologised for last min not attending. I tried my best to make it but still can't.. hb last min bring forward e feast celebration.

ivy,
Pls dont lar. The previous one, i explained, my friend came late and if by the time i reach to SS1 hse, will be around 4pm.. i presumed no one stayed so late.

As for gabby's place, i afraid k kena fever thats why didnt attend after he had the last jab.
Sigh..

Annie....you sabo-ed us so many times huh? So insincere leh! Hehe!

How's the celebration ladies? Any photos to share?

1162281.gif

i'm back from taipei! how was the gathering on sat?

littletot
i was so amused when i read abt ur trial at montessori hahah...esp ur tua pek kong part keke...so my guess is they r definitely not gonna earn ur money yeah...good thing it's a trial.

Huh? How to go gabby's place when i suspected k is sick.. wait other bb kena how?

Fates,
I didnt put my name on SS1's gathering cos that one really not v sure.. sigh!! i nvb expected crazy hb move forward e feast celebration.. and thought i rushed everything ...i still can make it but till the end, i still cant.. k also want to play with other toddlers.. pitiful him, p. daddy nvb let him out...

Hello

Sorry
Missed the outing as it was so unexpected that son's orientation took longer than expected. By the time got his bus and uniform, i had to del with 2 starvng and brawling kids at 12.30.. sigh. Pressie still at home!!!

hi mummies..

Would like to invite mummies to my 'Dog Hse' for gathering on 12th Jan. Shall we have potluck? Or any mummies would like to plan some activites, (eg. storyreading, song and dance, blah blah blah) for our kids?

Anna,
Thanks for inviting.. or can my k &amp; i come? will let you know on that day, cos already have 2 appointments... hopefully i can make it ... really hope to see every little princess &amp; princes... long time nvb see liao.

fates...

Np.. Long time no see liao plus Old man NOt in town!!! hahaha.. Party TIME!

Annie ya
Come la. we'll have some fun!! Remember huh.. dun fly me airplane hor:p

Ivy

Gabby starting new year in a new kindie so there was an orientation... sigh.

Little girl will be at a 1/2 day daycare while her gorgor is in school.... hope that she will learn some new skills

gabby's mum,
little girl is already very good...i am sure she will learn much more when she starts sch..
I m now so paranoid abt X starting sch. Let's exchange more tips after the 1st week...

milo &amp; ivy
the taipei trip was great...not that cold at all..average temp was abt 20 degrees...most of the time, my ger is just clad in a long sleeve top n pants, just bring along an extra thin jacket, that's all. Thank God that it wasn't so cold so my ger din hv any nose bleed episodes at all..i was applying vaseline in her nostril few times a day to keep it moisturised, not sure if that helps but most imptly, it turned out fine.

ivy
u can take a bus to this theme park called Leofu Village...there's a mini zoo inside, w all those theme amusement rides etc...quite fun though many of the rides r for older kids/teenagers but still lots to enjoy for our tots...my ger enjoyed it a lot compared to the city in Taipei cos at least in the park, she can walk &amp; run around...we took a bus from a stop near our hotel...abt 1 hour plus bus ride...can spend a day there.

if u wanna get cheap clothing for tots &amp; adults, can take a cab to Wu5 Fen1 Pu4...it's a wholesale kinda place so the stuff can get quite cheap...i bot quite a few pcs of winter wear for her at S$5 per pc...so cheap rite?

how will the temp b in March? shouldn't be too cold rite? we're going Bangkok in Feb during the CNY break...heheh more shopping...anyone knows wat's nice to do in BKK for tots? i rem there's a kinda zoo thingy there too yeah?

pls count me in, Anna! Where do u stay ah? i may be slightly late cos my ger has her swim class on Sat at 4 pm..hope that's ok.

Anna "Dog House" Gathering 12th Jan 2008:
Dinner potluck 5pm.

1) Anna
2) Ivy
3) Fates
4) Cheri
5)
6)
7)

Anna "Dog House @ Rio Vista (Hougang)" Gathering 12th Jan 2008:
Dinner potluck 5pm.

1) Anna
2) Ivy
3) Fates
4) Cheri
5)
6)
7)

Cheri,

thanks for the tips. I am meeting a fren there and she will drive us around. Will definitely visit the park that you mentioned. Share some photos?
Whether shld be about the same in Mar, cool but not cold.

Ivy

Sure... now prepping her.
Tell her that she is going to school soon.
'Me me' (Sien) will sing songs with teachers, can play with friends, can wear uniform, wear shoes. Eat with friends etc...

She seems quite happy and when we ask her, are you ready? she always says, I want school. After 2 weeks will share if she is doing fine...

What are you doing to prep X???

gab,
me talking to him, bring him to the sch to look ard even if we dun go in. He seems fine with it but we dunno how he will be after 2nd week! 1st week, i will have to take leave to be in sch with him, so i think shld not have any prob...The real challenge come when i am not ard!
paranoid now...how how..haha...

Ivy.....you so fast gonna experience 'seperation anxiety for mum'!!! Hehee..

J nowadays very shy.....always hide his face on my shoulders when he sees strangers in the lift. Is this normal?

fates,
J pretend one or really shy?
X will pretend to hide when he see strangers then start to peep and stare!
Anyway, its normal bah...cos they are learning to differentiate ppl now rite?

fates,
dun laff at me hor..
but really have a lot of 'what ifs'...Seems like sending to jail leh...so young have to stay in a sch for whole day..aiyoyo...
Its prob good for him to learn new things in sch but i suppose its hard to let go. Plus he is such a small but frequent eater, i worry that he will be hungry in sch but not time to eat or drink milk...

Fates,

Last time E oso felt shy when c strangers..
I encouraged him to raise his hand say "Hi" to them, then he always say "hi" to ppl who r in d lift now

any exp w bbies developing loads of rashes? R suddenly got fever and whole body got rashes.. brought him to doc but doc also dunno what happened to him. said it may be due to virus or food allergic...

me scared coz his condition is similar to mine when I down with SLE prev.

lhyjc
could it be viral rash after hi fever? my ger had it when she was 10+ mths old &amp; she had false measles. Usually the rash will come on after the fever but once u get rash, means the fever is subsiding...rash will take 2-3 days to go away. U brot him to PD? i'm surprised that even the doc is surprised by the rash.

ivy
it's always great to hv a local to bring u ard...will b able to bring u to good places that tourists seldom hear abt haha...there's this mall called Miramar in Neihu area that has 1 floor entirely devoted to kids' stuff...they even have playground areas to keep the kids occupied while the adults can shop in peace lol...but not cheap lah...stuff r branded n std kinda price. They have a london-wheel thingy there though that u can bring ur kid for a ride...we went b4 last time so din bring my ger cos we thot she'll probably not appreciate it that much hahah

re shy tots
my ger will wave, say bye bye only after pp have left &amp; walked away...fan ying chi dun hahah...or issit cos they dun dare to do it when the other party is looking at them...any of ur tots r like that too?

cheri,
my boy have a fren that will come to gate to play with him. He will only say kor kor bye bye 1min after the fren left! Then after that non stop kor kor kor kor liao.
haha...fan ying chi dun also! Maybe they are shy to say out loud in front of other ppl?