(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Just to confirm...
Sunday gathering is still on. I have PM you my add... (sorry at last as I am so busy)

Will provide fried noodles. What about our little ones?

I can do a little bit of kids shepard's pie if you are agreeable.

Wow wow.. seems like our thread starting for No 2 liao

This few days when i look at bb K, i suddenly very tempted to have another bb... ohoh maternal instinct is knocking again!

QooSan,

milo...
what happen to your may 09 plans? Haha..i no time to think abt 2nd one now..Finally back on track for my career, better dun risk it for the moment...

Gabby,
Shephard's pie sounds great! Yumm..then i dun have to bring porridge for him.

second bb
oh no! not for me...one is enough oredi..my hb & i actually din wan any child so having 1 is oredi a big step hahah

gabby
i'm able to come for the gathering this sun oredi...can u pm me ur add too? thanks! wow, kids' shepherd pie....first time my ger trying that..yummy hahah

taurus
i'm not sure if it's the design of the crocs too...when my ger tried the Kids Cayman in the store, she din dare to walk much n was dragging her feet...definitely din like it..but when i let her try the mary jane model, wow, she immed took off n walked ard the whole store...hahah think cos the mary jane model is smaller cut n has 2 straps so easier for them to wear...

ivy
ya, now i'm planning to buy her her next pair of crocs when she outgrows this one...dun think she'll wear this for v long as not that big...too big, she wun be able to wear now oso...but so ex! if not for her waterplay, i wun buy...but cos i realize now when she plays at those water fountains in Sentosa, she tends to run n go crazy...so going barefoot is v dangerous cos will easily slip n fall...

Day: 4 Nov, Sunday
Time: 4-8 ++
Place: The Esparis
Splash and Potluck

1) Gabby - fried noodles
2) Annie - Fishballs
3) Ivy - maybe nuggets, or something better if i got time.
4) Fates - jelly(ies) :p
5) Milo66
6) Anna- Nonya kueh kueh
7) Cheri - cream puffs

Thanks all ya

so Ivy u started work again ... so who take care of ur baby then.

Actually sometime looking at my baby, i have the feeling he is no longer baby, growing up very soon.

Milo,
Jia you Jia You, join me ya!

QooSan,

Congrats!! Remember to update us on the gender orh~

Talking abt maternal instincts.. mine always on the UP when i see newborns! hehee..

Hi Qoosan,

Congrats too! Have been feeling inspired recently when my pals gave birth...keke...but managing 1 is really tiring liao...so thinking twice. Hee

wun be able to join u all this Sunday cos N is sick..down wif fever, cough n phlegm since last nite...now napping..sigh, wat a boring weekend! hahah. Just hope she will get well soon..i hate phlegm, take ages to recover.

littletot

my ger has been in JG since she was 10+ mths old but i've gone for GUG trial b4 when my ger was abt a year old..r u thinking of sending ur child to GUG?

how was the gathering abt gabby's today? any pics to share? too bad i had to miss this round...we must arrange again k? r any of u sahms by the way?

hi cheri,
am thinking of letting her mingle with other kids.Just wanna find out more about GUG.Is JG good?How many times a week? Duration per lesson and cost? Location?What are their activities? Sorry... so many questions.My gal very suaku.Hardly go out.Just started her on shichida.

cheri

me SAHM wif 2 gals.

littletot,
my gal jst stared GUG. quite fun but tiring for the parents..hahahha
ur child attending shichida at which branch?? yr gal can sit down for the whole session of shichida?? i hesitate to sign up for my gal for shichida coz i think she cannt sit down for so long like my elder gal ..tried to do flashcards with my gal , instead of looking at my flashcards, she snatch from MEEEEE !

littletot
i like JG much more than GUG though their programme is largely the same...

JG has 2 outlets...one in Forum Shopping Mall in Orchard, the other in Evans Road (near Bot Gdns).

I signed my ger for JG Mandarin Playnest 3 times a week (for Mandarin, it's minimum 3 times per week, for EL, it's twice). Each lesson is for 1.5 hours n costs abt $30+.

Their activities r more to do wif play. I prefer Evans outlet cos they have outdoor play n the kids get to do sandplay/waterplay/swimming each week. Other than outdoor play, every lesson has circle time (sing & movement), storytime (either story book reading or skit), art & craft & snack time. Plus lots of toys during free play which is a time for the kids to warm up to the teachers n the environment. A caregiver is required to attend the lesson wif the child.

I heard that for Shicida, it's v classroom based n the kids hv to sit down at desks...some of her JG classmates oso attend Shicida n some mummies hv told me they hv difficulty getting their kid to sit down for long. Do u face that difficulty wif ur child?

i think GUG is similar largely but differs in that they have additional stuff like phonics, flashcards, mandarin time (they dun hv separate EL & Mandarin programmes, i think)...i din sign up for GUG cos i feel the programme is too crammed for 1.5 hours...trying to cover too many things in my opinion, n i prefer her to learn thru play rather than stuff like flashcards, phonics etc when she's so young. No outdoor play for GUG as well. I oso find JG's teachers more passionate n experienced. But i do know of many others who like GUG so i guess it all boils down to our own preferences.

hope that helps.

pooh
wow, 2 gals? do u hv helper? even wif one gal, i feel so tired oredi...i really miss my personal space n time but of course, she has brought much joy to our lives
do u bring them out often during weekdays? how old is ur older gal?

wenyi aka gabby,
thanks for having our family at your plc yesterday. Although it was just us, i was glad we were there. Think our kids can really play with each other and your boy is such a cute Big Brother to the " twins"!
Xavier sure look forward to swimming with his "twin sister" soon!

<font color="aa00aa">Gabby</font>,
Sigh! a waste didnt go for the gathering. K turned out only sweat and behaved as usual.
Am happy that no more jabs for k liao till schooling.

<font color="0000ff">Mummies</font>,
Went to the Botanic garden Jacob Ballas Children's Garden last thursday, found that only the water play area suitable for our little one. V convenience since the carpark is just directly outside the children garden, where the cafe have all small little chairs; great for toddlers. Many others require to attend class / workshop.

<font color="0000ff">I learnt a lesson there, bring extra clothing for myself and a big towel</font>.

ivy
only u turned up at gabby's place ah? my ger was sick that's why could not go. Shall we arrange another time?

annie
K oso had reaction after jab ah? mmr? N was ok after mmr but think she caught a virus, had fever n cough wif phlegm over the weekend...ya man, can't wait for her last compulsory jab beginning dec..then no more jabs hopefully till she's 6...

i brot her to the JB Chrn's Gdn too twice...v fun for her...she loves watering the plants wif the watering can hahah...yes, if we dun bathe her there, then will just wash her bum area, wipe dry n dress up. But the last time we went, my helper said her swimsuit's chlorine smell is really strong...much stronger than in other pools or waterplay areas...we went up to the tree house too...so fun but the slide v scary...my hb put her on his lap to slide down n it's really so steep...all the way down hit the sand...

<font color="aa00aa">Cheri</font>,
K took MMR @ 15mths, he was ok with it. He just took (last jab)DPT/DT - 1st booster and Oral Sabin - 1st booster last wednesday evening. PD stated reaction starts after 48hrs.
He sweated; guess i was too over reacted. He didn't had fever.... i miss e great swim outing.
Wah! yours is so adorable. K only plays with the water & trying to pull e water pumper. hehe
Yes, i agreed the smell is a bit strong; butsomething puzzle me, don't know anyone clean or sterilise e area?
Yes i tried the slide, haha...

<u>Mummies</u>,
Anyone read about the article on strait time "Mind your body"on 31.10.07 regarding Children under <font color="0000ff">six</font> should not be given medicines which relieve coughs and colds?
i did a check with my Pd, according to her, many medicines arent selling in local.

Annie,
our kids are already 18mths, dun need to sterilise everything they touch or play. Ok for them to be expose to germs and dust liao...
I dun even sterilise the bottles when i go out these days..Just wash with tap water and re use again..later to bring out many bottles.

As for the flu and cough medications, the advice i was given was to avoid giving them any unless they have fever or they are really coughing so badly that they are not active anymore. This is regardless of brands for the medicines.
Then again, most parents will feel concern or irriated by the cough or dripping nose..hence rush to see doc and give med...Its really up to individual parenting.

Cheri,
Yes, we will love to go Gabby's plc again. Warm hosts and good playmates!

<font color="0000ff">ivy</font>,
Yap, same,only used hot water to wash milk bottles if i am @ home. As for the toys, i can't bother to do so as k doesn't play with them. He just <font color="aa00aa">drag, step or throw them against e wall</font> Alamak.. my $$ gones to dustin.

As for flu, k always kena from my ang, both of them have sensitive nose.haha.. i just let him recover by himself.. usually k won't have fever.

I avoid k intake lots of cool stuffs from fridge. As chinese sinseh stated, bad n weaken their phglems since they are still young but i presume all up to individual to believe in. :p

Sure can come again... or we can meet to go somewhere. What about Christmas for the kiddos? We can arrange for things for them to do...

Hi QooSan,

For feet with 2 diff sizes, the recommendation is to get the size of the bigger feet.

How are you coping with your son while being preggie with no.2?? I cannot imagine being preggie at this moment as my son is getting quite impossible nowsaday, scream and whine at the slightest thing. Will suddenly roll on the floor and keep whining if he dun get what he wants or suddenly arch his back to do a flip if we are carrying him. He is already a little terror at 18 mths, cannot imagine when he turns 2.

maymummy,
ic, i jst get my son a new Clark shoes over the weekend and he is so happy with that pair, dun want to take out even when reach home

my son is as playful as urs, still remember chasing behind him in G2000 while my hubby in the fitting room.
Currently, my body still can take this but can feel gradually more tiring and movement slow down due to increase in weigth? or the baby size
My husband is helping a lot dealing wth my son as well.

gabby
ya let's meet again, i'm fine wif going ur place or elsewhere...dec gathering is good idea...but maybe not during the festive period cos i think many of us will hv other gatherings to go to wif family etc...let's do exchange gifts for the tots too...hahah makes me think of the exchange of gifts for her JG class party next week...looking forward to it.

annie
i think they will usually clean the place for waterplay areas...think JB Chrn's Gdn is closed on Mondays...probably for cleaning...i rem going to the waterplay area in Vivo on a Monday once..the water was kinda smelly unlike the previous time we went...my fren said coud be cos during the weekend, so many kids played there n maybe some urinated...so yucky rite? hahah

<font color="0000ff">Cheri</font>,
Oh! I brought k to play once before on one wkend. Thanks, i will take note if i go next round.

<font color="aa00aa">Mummies</font>,
Like to seek for opinion on this issue. I usually show k cane whenever he is too naughty as a 1st warning. Hubby does whip k if he is really <u>out of hand</u>, k will cry and use his head (back part) to hit against the wall to show his unhappy; most of time, he will hit till too painful, stop and cry... is it k too weird?

just to share with you about water play areas and fountains. my hubby is doing something related to maintenance of such and he absolutely will not let our boy touch the water. besides chlorine, the water is not clean. the pipes that the water pass through are washed with chemicals so may not be good for skin of young kids.

perhaps the water play areas meant for kids are maintained differently but personally, i will not take the risk because my boy has sensitive skin and eczema.

Annie

K is head banging as he canoot vocalise his fustration when being hit. If you do punish him, you have to sit him down and explain... yes explain why he was punished. I am sure he is capable of understanding.

My family approach is to talk and talk till child understand what went wrong then punish. By then, we are also not so angry and child can see the reason why he was punished.

Anyway this is just my 2 cents worth

Annie,

i agree wif gabby also..mst talk to ur boy. quite dangerous for himself to bang his head against the wall...My no2 will bite herself when she is angry or frustrated!

for me, i dnt take out my cane immediately..i give stern warning ...after the third warning, cane will appear and i really cane on my gals..if take out cane for show, then defeat the purpose. use too much cane also no gd lar..actuali discipline ur kid mst know his/hers characters to see which method(s) works. i used to use cane too much on my elder gal when she was younger..now she is not afraid of me canning her at all..she is more afraid of TIME OUT n me ignoring her.she would rather me cane her than punishing her standing facing the wall at the balcony. hehehe

Cheri

ya, me SAHM wif two gals and a helper ..even wif helper can be veri tiring also...are u a SAHM ??

<font color="aa00aa">Gabby & Pooh</font>,
Any advise if K doesn't <u>listen & did on purpose</u> after you explain to him?<font color="0000ff">Eg. dig out all the discs from one drawer to another.</font>
I will tell him to put back one by one and even show him. Really get real<font color="ff0000">mad</font> when he digs out and even smile to you after i have tried to explain in v calm tone many times. K seems trying my / hubby temper.
Initially, k will try to fall backward when he is angry. Each time we sure hold him till he lays on the floor slowly (<font color="0000ff">to avoid the great hit</font>). Somehow i feel that k is using all e weird ways to threaten us.
Guess, i really don't have gd patient with k.

pooh
i'm on no pay childcare leave this year n hv applied to extend my leave for next year...figured that when she goes to sch in 2009, would be good time for me to go back to work. So i'm really enjoying these precious years wif her...hahah

re use of cane
so far, hv not really found it necess to use the cane wif her...wat kind of offences do u use cane for? both my hb & i think that it's necessary to cane lest we raise a spoilt brat...but we've come to realize that our ger is chi luan bu chi ying...not sure if caning would work on her oso...maybe i should try pooh's mtd..ignore her cos my ger is quite clingy to us now..if we ignore her n pretend to be angry, maybe it might work better haha

anastasia
thanks for sharing..ya i've heard of that from my fren's hb too..says lots of chemicals in it..but i can't resist letting her hv fun there though. I will definitely bathe or at least wash her bum area after the waterplay...so far she's ok. agree that cos ur child has sensitive skin, has to be more careful.

cheri,
i'm a sahm with 18mth gal and 4mth boy
Heard lots of positive feedback on Shichida's right brain training method. So tot just join 1 term to try out 1st.She has not attend any other class b4 so i cant say whether she like it a not.

pooh,
My gal is at toa payoh brand. Toddles at this age cannot sit still thru out the whole lesson.Sometimes when she gets bore or cranky i'll just let her walk behind the class for a short while then resume with whatever activity that they are doing.However i can see some slight improvement, as to able to concentrate longer
.Me too, she'll snatch away my flashcards too!

cheri,
you are a teacher huh? can take so long leave!

annie,
i think kids these days will purposely do things to attract your attention. i can see that if we leave him alone and watch TV or read papers, he will create some nonsense to attract our attention. The more you dun wan him to do it, the more he will do it.
i totally gave up doing my own things at home.When we are at home, i will have to entertain him 100%. Else i have to bring him out..
As for the caning part, i agree with Gabby. Kids cannot vocalise their feelings so they can only vent it out in other ways. Try not to use the cane too often and explain to him more?

According to shichida's principle.They'r doing a joined programme with TCS.Will air sometime next yr and it's sure gonna take singapore by storm.Heard many success stories of their students and it's really amazing!Eg. gal within 1 yr go from grade 1 to grade 5 in music!Calculation genuis dun need calculater on complicated sums and all.One of the reason for me to join so as to see what is really so good about them.

Shichida parents has to do alot of home practise with them.Flashcards, games and create materials.Very busy busy!

Annie,

I find that our kids have already started to understand us. When Kaeden try to take a CD from the table, I will tell him a stern "NO" and put back the CD tell him cannot take. He will attempt to do it again and i will be like a broken record, repeat my action again and again till he pekchek and walk away... Not too sure if this work but i guess alot of time, they understand but trying to test the limit.

milo,
haha..i like your "pekchek" word. Sometimes i am so tired of being a broken record, i just leave him to do what he wants. But i noticed that he will just walk away after he is sick of doing it and no one giving him attention ( aka no one screaming NO NO).

<font color="aa00aa">Ivy & Milo</font>,
Hmm...k loves to use e smash e cds, use it to rub on tv rack / floor;band on e tv screen.
I show <font color="ff0000">cane</font> only he repeat to climb up on dining table to dance or sofa arm rest to open e window...
Frankly speaking, mummy feel e heart pain whenever real canning involve... sigh*

dancing on the dining table:
haha...Xavier love to do this...sigh..i tried many ways to coax him not to do that but unsuccessful. So i will just sit on the dining table to talk to him, doing my broken recorder show...usually he will come down once he is bored. But he have not been climbing up recently. Think he is sian of this "toy" liao.
Kids like to explore and test limits. If you do not want him to destory the CDs, then keep them properly. Or buy a few blank ones and leave in laying around for him to play. No matter how much toys you get, nothing beats real life toys!
Currently, fave toy for X is motar pounder...he will use it to pound garlics and onions..until my mum complain that she got no more to use for her cooking! ( of cos, she is the one who gave him in the 1st place..keke..)

littletot, ur kid is attending which day shichida class?? me staying at toa payoh..we can meet up for kopi..kekeke. may wan to sign up for my younger gal mid next yr..will see how..coz my sister teaching in shichida.

i think most enrichment are good but mst important is reinforcement at home and parents mst believe in that enrichment. if not, even attend the best enrichment and dnt believe and reinforce also no use..waste $ and our precious time.

Annie, i think this age hor, they wan attention and also they are exploring lor. spend more time wif yr prince lar..sometimes, their 'exploratory' can make us angry or frustrated ..SAHM is worst...whole day have to face their 'experiment' !! imagine my gal tried to put 5 VCDs into the player !!! i think if u are my next door pal, u can hear my screaming everyday..hahahaha

Yo Mummies,

Talking about discipline, I also have my two cents worth to share.

I totally agree with the method that milo used as I have tried that before with my DS. We have to be stern n firm in our instructions and all caregivers have to set the same standard. If I say NO but when I am not around and my hubby or mum lets him touch it or do certain things, the tot will be confuse and will not be able to tell that this is not a right behaviour.

Like in my house, he never touches the CD but once he reaches my mum house he will ransack the CD rack. It took us a while to correct him and he no longer mess with the CDs at my mum's place now. And for certain things, when all of us firmly says a NO , whenever he approch that items/things, he will point to it , look at us n make a NO hand gesture to say that that thing NO NO.

I also nebber practise caning with my D. I use the same TIME out method as Pooh. I will warn my son 3 times and I will ask if he wans to go into his BB cot, he will shake his head and I will tell him if you do that again, mummy will put u in there but if he repeats it, I will tell him again and explain to him n if he do it the 3rd time, i will grab him , put him inside his bb cot, pull up the latch to make sure that he will not fall out from the cot close the door and walk out of the room. I will let him scream n cry for awhile before I go into the room. I will stand by the cot and explain to him one more time why I punish, pick him up and give him a kiss to say that I love him. This is to reassure him that mummy still loves him even though I punish him.

Sometimes he makes me really angry and I did not kiss n cuddle him after punishing him...he will run behind me , grab my legs and wans to be cuddled to get the reassurance.

pooh,
she's attending thu 1030-1145hrs class.Most of the time after class will have to rush home for her lunch.But b4 can reach home she fall asleep in the cab.

Your sister teaching in shichida..which branch? Scar-ly is my gal's teacher!Haha... lucky u, can ask your sister teach you.Dont need to pay to attend.Heard their welfare not very good.How old is your gal now?

GUG, how many lesson a week? Do they have to do homework? Tiring, in what way?I'm interested to find out more.

Talking bout discipline
My gal has been testing my patient lately.Will scream n scream when dont get her way.Have bought a cane to standby.Hmm... cant imagine the terribe 2!

Food,
can mummies here share some ideas for bfast, lunch n dinner? My gal still like her food puree with just a little lumpy.Anything more then that will puke out everything
.Bfast is usually yogurt or cereal. Lunch n dinner either pork, fish, beef or chicken cook with 2 kinds of veg. So boring lor.

ivy
bingo! yes, i'm a teacher..but think all civil servants can apply for this leave lah..max of 3 years but think i will only apply for 2.

hi cheri,
JG do they go by term or per lesson (meaning can join n quit anytime)? Do we have to sign up min 2 lessons/week? Or can we opt for just 1 lesson? Would like my gal to mingle with other children as shichida is too classrm base. No time to mingle and given my time slot 1030-1145hrs, most bbs by then are either tired, hungry or cranky.

Do they have fixed children per class or every lesson difference classmates?How many bbs per class? Sorry so many questions..