(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

May birthday bash at RIO VISTA, 16 Upper Serangoon View.
Time: (Function room booked for 9am-3pm)
Date: 17th May (Sat)
Swim at 10am, lunch at 12pm, cake cutting at 1.30pm.

1) Little Nana
2) Fates
3) Ivy, hb, helper (drinks)
4) Taurus
5) joyce n hubby n R (curry chicken and mee goreng)
6) cheri, hb, N & helper (sushi)
7) sponge
8) Ino, hb & N (fried stuff e.g. fishball, wanton, fried otah fishcake, etc)
9) poohcutie, hb,2 kids (will be late)-desserts
10)Race,hb, E (maybe with maid)

Any suggestions for cake ordering?

<u>RE: HFMD</u>I thought of sharing my k.

Not a single systom when k had it @13mths.
Not even high fever, in fact only 37°C (when he reached MT A).[K alway had fever high up 38.9° whenever teething.]

The <u>only difference</u>behavour is he required to carry.

K's PD made a WILD Guess since e culture bacteria report indicated something going on but don't know what. She started the medicine, insisted to insert bullets even fever was only 37°C.

On 4th day, few spots found on his hip when he already on recovery stage. The next day he went for the review appointment.

Am not good in words, just trying to share k's incident. We sent k to hospital when we notice his <u>difference</u> behaviour and even started the medicine where no systoms indicated HFMD @ 1st place.

Am not good in phrasing word, just trying to share the experience no other intention. It's really <font color="ff0000">heartpain</font> to see small 1 fall sick.

Ivy,
Sorry, I try to give you answer by end of this mth. K still coughing since <u>before lunar new Yr</u> till current. K's PD stated his sensitive nose stir the problem.. all medicines all anti allegy nose, *sigh*

Annie,

SO QIAO your dental appointment also on same day? Postpone la!! Haha...

<u>Birthday bash</u>

I thought in the evening? Now changed to afternoon already??
How about toys? What to rent?

fates,
Thats the only sat am that i am free... my teeth is in pain leh.. :p i trying to get appointment @ SGH if needs to do Roots canal.

annie,
root canal can be easily done at any dentist lah, y need go SGH..not exactly much cheaper.

fates,
ya lo, our dear host din managed to book the evening slot. Anyway, better since after 2plus, all the kids can go home to nap.
yes yes...wat toys. Suggestions? Must clean the toys thoroughly also!

Ivy,
We share one hands cleanser use on that day for our little tots to clean and able to clean on the toys. I saw on tv those can use spray and clean off is it?

May i suggest cupcakes? one each for mummies.. errmm not sure anyone let bb eat cream cake (high sugar content)?

annie

are u talking abt sanitizer? can easily get from watson or pharmacy lar...u dnt carry one wif you when u bring ur boy out??

party in the morning is not a bad idea...maybe we can play by ear the time for cutting the cake? not sure if 1.30 pm is kinda late. Or we can cut cake first after the swim etc so that we can leave anytime our cranky tots dictate hahhaha

which toys site r we renting from? then mummies can go to the site &amp; vote for the toys to rent?

annie
u referring to the sanitizer for hands or the ones to clean the toys? JG uses one when they just spray..think it's milton brand or sthg..always thot it's a good idea esp when we hv playdates at home.

annie,
i tot of cupcake but no fun leh...will be quite fun if we get a plastic knife for all the kids...cake dunno become what by then. But it will be fun lah...some damage control will ensure its still edible.
cream cakes are yummy! haha...

1) Little Nana (Char siew Bao, carrot cakes, Siew Mai, etc...)
2) Fates
4) Taurus
6) cheri, hb, N &amp; helper (sushi)
7) sponge
8) Ino, hb &amp; N (fried stuff e.g. fishball, wanton, fried otah fishcake, etc)

I think we need to do a lil bit of decorations. Any creative mummies wanna help me with deco? I'll go get some balloons Probably some balloons, banners, etc????

Toys:
Toy rental club seems to have quite a bit of selections. Wat is our budget for toys and cakes?

cheri,
I forget the brand, the cheapo advertisement which is on tv recently...

cheri &amp; Ivy,
Great wonderful idea,plastic knife. hehe.. i m sure k will play instead of cutting e cake... haha

ivy

RE: BARNEY PARTY
the gift exchange on ant??

mayb the report is TRUE!!! hahha
coz i dnt have habit of eating breakfast before each pregancy..and i got 2 GALS!!

the only period i took early breakfast was during preggy time coz alwys HUNGRY....hahaha

i may hv problem buying sushi since it's in the morning now...Lil Nana, can u help buy a tub of vanilla icecream for the brownies i'm buying? if i bring over, probably melt by then.

2) Fates
4) Taurus
6) cheri, hb, N &amp; helper (brownies, cream puffs, choc eclairs)
7) sponge
8) Ino, hb &amp; N (fried stuff e.g. fishball, wanton, fried otah fishcake, etc)

just browsed the toyrental website but found the stuff quite ex for party loan...so i've taken the liberty to send an email to another site; rent a toy to c wat they can provide for us instead. They go by packages but not sure wat they will include in the diff packages...will update again once i've received their reply.

Hi bbloh,

Can check with you? If Vpost has matched the items, its safe to assume that the items which i ordered are all in? reason for asking is that the shipping cost for 9 leappad is only $160.72 (ie $17.85 each) only.....heard from other mummies that it is around $20-$30. Emailed VPost to ask whether there are 9 items but they never bother to reply. Can i just proceed to pay the shipping ?

peisei loads of questions...

Just watch the taiwan's new this morning, stated the same similiar report as "Skipping breakfast may mean your baby is a girl". Main reason is low sugar level and making changes in the x &amp; y..

For baby boy...intake of high carbon food.. not sure how true but its apply on me, french fries n steak, pizza etc..

<font color="0000ff"><u>Re: Skipping breakfast may mean your baby is a girl</u>

Interesting article but it's definitely not advisable to skip breakfast just for the sake of having a girl.
A mummy must eat well and live healthily in order to have a healthy baby!
Else, in future, both mum's and baby's health may suffer.
If the mummy's got no appetite while TTC, perhaps just take a light breakfast instead.
My DH's colleague used to skip breakfast before she's preggy, but yet she gave birth to a boy.
There're other methods to TTC the gender of your choice but not sure if it's 100% effective.</font>

<font color="0000ff">lh_jyc,
You may be lucky as Leapfrog may pack the items more compactly this time? Have you checked whether Leapfrog is sending only one package, and that package is matched with vPOST's record? You can check by the following method as mentioned by a mummy in a Leapfrog thread:</font>

For UPS tracking:
http://www.ups.com/WebTracking/reference?loc=en_US&amp;WT.svl=SubNav
Key in your Leapfrog Order No. at the "shipment ref", enter US and zip code 97220.
E.g. if it shows 3 packages associated with your order no, it means that your items are sent out in 3 boxes (1 box = 1 tracking no.). It is very common for Leapfrog to send in multiple packages. Call vPOST (Tel: 1605) and tell the CSO to match all the 3 tracking nos to your invoice (to save on base charge).

<font color="0000ff">If you're sure that Leapfrog only send one package, then it should be "quite safe" to pay for the shipping charges.

HTHs.

BTW, how did you place your order? Via vPOSTUSA Concierge?</font>

Hi bbloh,

thanks. they got five packages and when i called VPOST only 2 matched my name....goodness....need to check w leapfrog on how many packages exactly as VPOST say the other 3 packages do not match my name at all.....

placed the order under normal VPOST...one box already so expensive liaz shucks. think the mummies may slaughter me for the shipping

hiaz...

<font color="0000ff">\lh_jyc,
How did you know that Leapfrog sent you 5 packages? You have to check using Leapfrog's <u>order no.</u> NOT tracking no.

Does Leapfrog accept SG's Credit Card? </font>

Hi bbloh,

Confused lor.. Order No states only 2 packages but tracking no states 5 packages.

Yup they accept. Initially one mummy told me they dun but another said they do...so i tried lor and was successful

joyce,
the tracking no may be include other orders to the same address. Thats what happened for Gap and ON too.
What you do is to match the order number to the tracking number.
The most important part is to know how many pcs did leapfrog sent out. Then you know what to expect and when to clear the shipping cost.

<font color="0000ff">lh_jyc,
<font color="ff0000">Go with the Order No.</font> as the no. of packages under one tracking no. may indicate different orders (i.e. from different people). So, not all 5 packages belong to you.

In this case, you should expect just another package from Leapfrog. If you're sure that the package has already reached vPOSTUSA, note its tracking no. and call vPOST to ask them to match it for you. You can choose not to pay the shipping charges now till vPOSTUSA match the 2nd package, but do take note that vPOST will charge you a daily holding fee if the package remains at vPOST for more than 14 days.</font>

bbloh,

RE: skipping breakfast
I once read from newspaper that a study show skipping breakfast = Six times higher <font color="ff0000">risk of getting heart attack</font>than those whose eat. From there on, I eat my breakfast daily without fail. However, I am not so sure whether such study still valid as today date. I did share this info when my colleague skip her daily breakfast to get fit.

Hi Ivy and Bbloh,

Many thanks! Have dropped leapfrog an email to confirm the number of packages. keeping my fingers crossed that they will reply...din know so much trouble just to get the leappad...maybe should have waited for robinson 20% sale n get it then, less trouble...hee!

anyway learnt from this incident
n thanks for your patience in explaining the things to me...i super blurx

hiyee all~

Wow really MIA from here for weeks!

Ivy,
Little Ariel just had a simple birthday celebration with Daddy &amp; Mummy at home.. with a slice of strawberry shortcake as her bday cake.. LOL~

Re: Not eating breakfast=having baby girl?
What rubbish! I had very hearty breakfasts when I was preggy..and I still got a girl! haha!

Anyway things ain't well for Ariel.. She has been coughing and having runny nose for the past 2 weeks. Condition didnt improve after bringing her to GP.. Brought her to Mount A for a detailed check ystd.. and PD diagnosed her with having bronchitis.. As Ariel had accumulated too much phlegm, PD had to insert tubings into her nose and sucked out the excess phlegm..must be very painful for my girl cos she was screaming and struggling away.. very HEART PAIN!!

2) Fates
4) Taurus
7) sponge, hb (otah)

sponge
oh dear..poor A! i heard this sucking phlegm thing is really painful for them. Hope it will really help make her better.

lil nana
thanks so much...paiseh to ask u actually but i tried bringing icecream once to fren's place...melted &amp; so ugly leh.

Hey Hey! Count me in!!

2) Fates
4) Taurus
7) sponge, hb (otah)
11) SS1, hb, Zach, Isabel &amp; Ah Ma (Spaghetti)

Err... a bit concern about renting toy for May birthday bash since HFMD on the rise...

Sorry, anti-climax here. JMHO hoh!

Maybe I can bring parachute and bubbles then we can have some fun with the kids together? Make good kodak moment too.

sponge,

Sayang for Ariel, hope she recovers soon.. yes indeed heartpain to see little Ariel been through e whole process..

Re: Not eating breakfast=having baby girl?
I just heard DJ Flying DM stated high carbo intake must before preggie? Doesn't matter how true, as long as bb is healthy.

sheri,
haha..yes yes..HFMD. Another tot we have is to bring our own toys like ride on or tricyle..esp those who drive. Anna will bring down her 2 ride ons, i can bring mine too...and you can bring the bubbles and parachute.
Anyone else bring something?

Hey,
Cake,how? Pine garden okie?

2) Fates
4) Taurus
7) sponge, hb (otah)
10)Race,hb, E (maybe with maid)-tidbits,vitagen
11) SS1, hb, Zach, Isabel &amp; Ah Ma (Spaghetti)

Ivy,
V good idea!!Bringing our own ride.. i just afraid K keen to try on others..

Cheri,
I learnt from the news,best to advise to use sanitizer/ soap to wash hands not spray type. Think buy 1 sanitizer and bring small towel for the party.. what do you think

annie,
dun be so paranoid...bring towel? For wiping hands and toys? Want bring thermometer or not?!
(joking lah..)
For outdoors, spray sanitizer is good enuff. All the mummies here are considerate ppl lah...if the kid is not well, we will definitely not bring him/her along.

As for bringing the toys, its meant for sharing..if keane wans to play then let him play loh...just making sure they learn to share toys.

Ivy,
hehe..i meant bring towel for wiping hands and clean away k's saliva, he still d... maybe due to his short tongue.

As for toys, hehe.. I didnt indicate clearly, I meant I scare k snatch instead of asking... he is a rascal stubborn 'cow'.

By the way, I let you know attending the party by 1st week of May, K still coughing since <u>before Lunar New Yr till current</u> due to his in-born sensitive nose as what Pd stated. I have been constantly asked Pd whether k's coughing will spread to others whenever I bring him out.