(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Hi KK,

this is very true. My friend will not go on holiday without the bsby. End up the whole family went on the tour so that mother can also help to look after the BB.

Maybe we also like that too

Milo, thanks for your comprehensive list. Though this is my 2nd baby, but its still useful to me, at least dun hv to crack my head to think back what I've bought for my 1st bb

But would like to add a few things -
1. Pigeon nipple/veg liquid cleanser for washing bottles/teats/breastpumps
2. soft cloth/gauze for cleaning baby's tongue and gum

You may also like to add things like soft hair brush, and nose cleaner (i bought the sucking one, more effective). For my 1st one, i also bought a medicine dispenser to feed fever medicine after jabs, but usually clinic will give syringe for the same purpose.

According to my experience, receiving blankets just get one will do, coz singapore weather is so hot, previously i ended up using cloth nappy to swaddle my 1st bb instead. BBs can be easily kept warm by wearing long sleeve, n mittens + booties.

Also get more baby wipes coz newborn bbs poo a few times a day. Bibs r not very useful for newborn until the baby can sit upright and starts eating solid food from 6mths or 7mths onwards or when they starts teething n drools alot. By then u can buy nice ones to match their clothings. Would suggest new mummies to get more handkerchiefs/face towels to place under bb's chin when feeding coz they will b drinking milk in a lying down position, n if they burp n vomit milk, u may need to use up quite a few in a day.

Another thing is it is not advisable to use blanket on babies in case it suffocates them. I started using one only after my son's 1st b'day, when he knows how to pull away the blanket if it covers his face.

As for bb bath, J&J seems too harsh on my son's skin, always develop rashes easily. Doc advised us to use soap free n non rinse bath like ezemtam or lactacyd.

KK,

My MIL is taking care of my son since birth until now coming to 15mths already, and we also don't bring him home everyday though we visit him every night after work. Luckily MIL stays very near to us, about 15mins drive only. Now my son is used to it and will wave n say bye bye to us when its bedtime for him. But on fridays, he knows he is going home wif us, n will want to wear his shoes n take his bag, n then say bye to his granny!

Wow amie!! Thanks for your input. really practical & useful. Guess we first time mummies got alot to learn.

milo, I also want to add baby powder. Not sure is it necessary but my mum has been using it on me since day 1 & I still using it now so to me seems quite necessary.

HI girls..

I'm back.. Just went for NT scan and combined blood test on my 12wks 3 days(ytd) haha... saw bb opening up her legs and hands widely.. ;) 164bpm... reali excited and kept giggleing.. Blood tests will terrible.. Drew 7tubes of blood.. YUCKS!!.. end of update... EDD is on 7th May 2006.. OB said too early to tell.. but he guessed my bb is a girl due to the bb's position.. so will get confirmation on 20th wk
Reali HAPPY and excited...

hi ydnic & ivy ...

I dunno leh.. my frd in SG said one another said 2.. dunno why so many test gotta be done in London.. i'm too excited to ask too haha... 164(heart beat per min)..

wha Nana, scary leh, 7 tubes of blood! Last time gynae drew blood for me one time only, n she divide into 3 tubes only, for the triple test.

yaya.. quite scary.. dare not face my OB when he withdrew my Blood.. reali yucky.. combine test includes down syndrome test, hep b, HIV, blah blah blah... some long tubes and some short tubes.. but worth taking.. u girls are lucky..Medi in Sg is cheap... my bill is 360pounds for NT scan and blood test.. luckily can claim insurance.. if not i DIE!

No need to worry lah.. I think in SG no need so many tubes .... for the anatenal blood test ... gynae draw once and separate into 2 tubes ... and for the DS blood test ... gyane also draw once and separate into 2 tubes coz I do an extra test for thyroid.... so I guess you gals only need 3 tubes .....

Hi nana... the gynae in SG also not very cheap ley ... so far my visits to gynae plus all the blood test already coming up to 1K ... and we can only claim S$450 from our medisave for all the gynae expenses..

Like to find out something.. for subsequent ultrasound scan, do we need to go with full bladder??

The first time i went with full bladder.. tak boleh tahan!! Haha! I run for the toilet immediately after the scan.

kk, i don't usually go in with full bladder leh, coz everytime b4 go in to c gynae, i hv to take weight, urine test n blood pressure.

Hi tauras...

the OB said based on the position.. i oso din ask.. cos too happy to see bb... haha forgotten abt qns..

wow.. tarus din know tt SG gynae expenses is so high..

Hi kk,

I also din go full bladder coz need to take urine test before see gynae ... so bladder already emptied .... 8)

Hi Nana,

yah lor ... everytime before see gyane will have tons of questions to ask...but once see BB ...everything all forgot to ask...kekek

taurus ..

tt's rite... i was so happy tt i couldn't sleep.. haiz.. my next scan is 20wks.. so gotta wait for 2 mths later den will get to se bb.. TOO HAPPY lor...

Because two weeks ago i had my first ultrasound scan, so the gynae say must go with full bladder so can see clearer. For that appointment, there was no urine test.

Yah, i think subsequent scans no need full bladder since he didn't say so and he mentioned every visit there will be urine test. So perhaps the previous appointment is an exceptional one.

Last nite finally done my first shopping on maternity clothes. Bought three dresses at Kiddy Palace and gotten the membership card. Heart pain! Spent around $160 at one go. Actually the dresses are still too large for me
So i tell my hubby i still have nothing to wear on weekends when we go out

Thanks for the consolation girls..... actually i have needle phobia lar..... not just this particular blood test

Yo Taurus~ how do I claim from medisave? I didn't take the receipt for my visit last week..

I ought to be looking around for working maternity clothes too....some pants too tight already.

Morn all!

fates: i bought some maternity clothes from motherhood.com, the sizes came all too big so now sending them for altheration.

i feel that my mil will be a better person to look after my bb for me but my mum is staying next blk to me so is more convenient. wonder how i am going to tell my mil this as she has always hope to look after her grand child.

Hi Fates,

You just need to keep the receipt for your future visits or if u decide to sign up antenatal pakg with you gyane during ur wk 12 ...the amount already exceed the S$450 we can claim from Medisave. If I not wrong, we have to submit the receipts to the hospital when we go for delivery to make the claim for medisave.. not really sure the actual process, will find out more n let u know ok??

Morning all

milo is it expensive to buy from motherhood.com? I saw a cute romper which is on sales........

Thanks Taurus! I am so ignorant on all these :p

hi fates: on the contrary, its very cheap. i spend 100 on 2 tops and 2 dresses including shipping but material wise, common and the sizing is giving me a headache lor.

Just read today's straits time and Motherhood is having sales ... have not made any survey on the pricing yet but the prices after discount still looks abit steep ... and if we cut the coupon from the newpaper, there will be a S$10 discont for min S$50 spend on maternity clothes or BB products

Taurus,

my friends told me to shop at the neighbourhood shops in TP or Bedok or Marine Parade for BB products and furniture. Its at least 30% cheaper than stores like motherhood or kiddy palace..

have u all started surveying on pram? went to look at some on wed. seems like combi not bad. any suggestion?

milo, receiving blankets are for swaddling babies if i'm not wrong. n i think ppl swaddle baby coz they still cannot control their hands, may jerk their arms n get a fright. Not sure i'm right or not...hee. Anyway, I used receiving blanket only when leaving the hospital going home. But it was just too warm for my boy n he got rashes when reach home. So I find that its actually not necessary to get one, or just get one to standby in case air con too cold. I find swaddling in cloth nappy is more comfortable n not so warm.

fates, u delivering in East Shore hospital also? Me too

Hi Taurus
U referring to Mothercare is it? I oso saw the ad. Maybe pop by this weekend to take a look.

Hi milo
I oso tot Combi was quite good but was told by a sales person that it's not as sturdy as Maclaren which is made of titanium. Not sure true or not.

Hi Race

U can find Mothercare at Suntec City, Centrepoint & Plaza Singapura. As for Kiddy Palace, I have only been to the outlets at Compasspoint & Century Square.

Hi paradox,

Hahah...Oops ...sorry ...yah yah Mothercare ...not motherhood...kekek

I dun think I have much shopping to do at the moment as most of the BB items will be getting from my friends ...BB cot, pram , car seat, clothes , so only need to buy those daily products n diapers ...so my poor BB wont have much new stuff ...kekek ...mostly hands me down ...

paradox: yup that wat the sales person and some of my friends comment too. the maclaren one is indeed better but cost $369. the combi one cant go completely flat thus may not be so good for infant. it cost $169. was thinking whether to invest in a better breast pump or stroller?

Ooohhh i love the quinny strollers at mothercare..$340+.....should I splurge? hehe..

Yo amie! Ahh so you'll be delivering at East Shore too! Who is your gynae?

milo.....can every month buy one expensive item....

fates: i like the quinny too! very nice right! but adds up to quite ex too cause the one i like the frame can detach and fit to the basket for bb and then a canvas for slightly older bb

Taurus, ur baby not poor thing lah, but very lucky to have hang me downs, ppl say old clothes r more comfortable for babies

fates, my gynae is Dr Heng. She delivered my 1st one at East Shore too. Nurses there very nice, but they don't provide hospital wear, so u got to bring ur own clothes to wear thru out the stay.

for those shopping for maternity clothes, you may want to dropby Maternity House. They are having 10-40% discounts on some items.

Hi Race,

I only know there is one in Plaza Singapura when i happen to dropby there for a lunch appt yday.
If i remember correctly , it is next to 9mois. I did not hv time to browse thru all but i managed to get a working skirt for $17 after discount
If there are items that are the last few pieces , the price is much cheaper.

Hi Race,

Address for Maternity house as follows :-

#04-15 Plaza Singapura
Tel: 6238 6362
Business Hours: 11.00pm to 9.00pm

#02-152 Marina Square
Tel: 6334 1069
Business Hours: 12.00pm to 9.00pm

#02-51 Parkway Parade
Tel: 6440 5332
Business Hours: 11.00pm to 9.00pm

Hi milo! Yes me and hubby like the quinny and we deciding between the Zapp or Speedi :p
There's another which costs a whopping $700!! ~~ hmm will skip that!

Hi amie! My gynae is Dr Heng too! Yay got companion liao...hehe...for the hospital wear, you mean us or the baby??

Me just went to United Square to buy maternity clothes...hehe...yay no need to wear tight pants to work already :p

dear all

i'm a SAHM wif a 2 yr old gal. currently expecting also, abt 10 weeks. my edd is 1 june but as i will be opting for c-sec, therefore my edd will be mid may...i will be delivering in TMC.

for the past few weeks since i preggy, have rather bad MS and kept vomitting. thou hungry easily but appetite was bad. nw, i feel much better.
hope i can share my experience wif other first time mummies also.

i woke up early. one of the days that i feel better in the morning. When the days go on, i feel just so tired and restless. I used to have lots of energy now i feel like so tired everyday. Urgg..

talking abt pram, my colleague advice is to use maclaren brand.

morn gals!

was feeling so sleepy today. hate the idea of work and to make it worse, heavy downpour. now i am soaking wet...but at least i am no longer sleepy liao..

went to mothercare in the weekend to look at the maclarren pram since they on sale now but mostly is stroller.