(2006/05) May 2006 MTB

Ariel says Good afternoon to all the mummies here

467637.jpg
467638.png

our babies definitely can recognise faces and their surroundings now. my son will look around him when we bring him to my mother's place or fetch him back home.

i have been at work for 3 days but will go to my mother's place to play with him for about 2 hours every night. he recognises my hubby and my voice. also smile at us when we talk to him. however, i did notice he is more responsive to my mother. he will turn his head and watch my mother even if she is not talking to him.

hi, i am jun mom happen to read the may thread too.

annie: saw ur post and noe tat u go to kids clinic @ SK. could you tell me the charges for the jabs?

u r jabing 5-1? not 6-1?
do they hv any packages for infant jabs?

hi annie,

my boy oso cries when he pass out gas, maybe he is startled by the explosive feeling. but he is not like tat when he poo leh??? act he just started this behaviour last week, funny leh.

i used to tell myself that my ds recognise me and will be soothed by me. but at my mil's place, whenever he cries, my mil will immediately grab him from me to cradle him and everyone will say she do a better job than me cos i'm inexperienced. feel bad cos i'm not given a chance to prove otherwise.

Singapore Fireworks Festival 2006 at Marina Bay

Date/Day Time
Team
5 August 2006, Saturday 2100 hours
Team Italy

8 August 2006, Tuesday 2100 hours
Team Singapore

11 August 2006, Friday 2100 hours
Team New Caledonia

12 August 2006, Saturday 2100 hours
Team France

*Popular viewing areas include the Padang, Esplanade Park,
Marina Promenade, Marina Centre,
Marina South and Kallang
Statistics |

Raccoon,
yah lor, same for my keane.. started to cry oni this week. Duno y.. shdnt be painful mah..

milo66,
i m keen but i m not free on 29 july( keane is going for e 5-in 1 jab),12 August (not in spore)and 26 August (keane is going for e 5 in 1 jab). Think we arrange in e afternoon or evening time so those whose are working in e morning oso can join. Need to go some1 place that has at least one mattress (cheap) so can put bb down to rest.

MTDT,
You can check with them. I am not sure abt any difference charges btw e 2 pds there. I am with Dr A Tan.
They have e package but if bb have 2nd dose hep b jab at polyclinic. You cannot use the package like me.
i m taking 5 in 1 jabs cos my son had his Hep B jab (2nd dose) at Sengkang Polyclinic. He will has his 3rd jab there oso since i have pre paid for this jab. ($28 for 2 doses), each is $18.

i hope this will help the doubts.

Why does my baby need the pneumococcal vaccine?

This vaccine, also called Prevnar, protects against pneumococcal (pronounced new-m'COCKL) disease, which is caused by pneumococcus bacteria, also known as Streptococcus pneumoniae. These critters live in the mucous lining of the nose and in the back of the throat, and when plentiful enough can cause an infection in the respiratory tract, middle ear, or sinus cavities.

Pneumococcal bacteria can be transmitted by coughing and sneezing, and diseases such as meningitis and pneumonia can crop up within days of infection. Symptoms of pneumococcal pneumonia usually include fever and chills with shaking or trembling, as well as chest pain, coughing, shortness of breath, rapid breathing, rapid heart rate, fatigue, and weakness. Nausea, vomiting, and headaches are also associated with pneumococcal pneumonia, but are less common.

Pneumococcal disease mostly strikes children under age 5 and can lead to some of the worst childhood diseases. Each year in the United States it causes 200 deaths, 700 cases of meningitis, 17,000 cases of bloodstream infection, and 4.9 million cases of otitis media (ear infection) in children under 5, according to the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

Though antibiotics such as penicillin can kill the offending bacteria, up to 40 percent of its strains may be resistant to antibiotics. So experts highly recommend the vaccine, which is effective in up to 90 percent of people who get it. The vaccine can even prevent some of the most serious ear infections among children.

When should my child get the pneumococcal vaccine?
The American Academy of Pediatrics and the CDC recommend that your baby receive four doses of the pneumococcal vaccine. He'll receive this shot, along with other vaccines, at his 2-, 4-, 6-, and 12- or 15-month checkups.

What precautions should I take?
If your child has a high fever or a severe illness, such as pneumonia, wait until his health improves before taking him in for the vaccine. He'll be better able to handle the immunization when he's healthy.

Live on our Boards

Nothing much to debate but you can all say "told ya so"
wilmncmom replies "Tam, the first step is finding a ped that will see you (for me, a nonvax supporting ped is just not..." (3:23 AM, Jul 20, 2006)
Join the discussion on our Immunizations board
What if Everyone Stopped Vaxing? Full Stop??
wilmncmom replies "I used to vax without question, then started to question, and as of yet have not vaxed my twins. The..." (9:57 PM, Jul 19, 2006)
What if Everyone Stopped Vaxing? Full Stop??
wilmncmom replies "I've posted here before, but it's been awhile. This is an honest question and I've been quite..." (11:41 PM, Jul 7, 2006)

What are the possible side effects or risks of an adverse reaction?
About half of vaccinated children have redness, discomfort, and swelling at the site of the injection (the thigh). These symptoms can last for up to two days. Fewer than one percent of children develop a fever after the shot.

Serious allergic reactions are rare, but are possible with any vaccination. Symptoms include difficulty breathing, hoarseness or wheezing, hives, paleness, weakness, and a faster heartbeat, and dizziness, and would occur within a few minutes to a few hours after receiving the shot. If your child shows any of these symptoms, call or visit your doctor immediately.

anastasia,
i hope so too. anyway, my mum will take care of him when i'm back to work. she ask me not to 'spoilt' him by cradling him often, else she cannot cope when he need to be soothed.

annie,
when i visit my gynae tis sat, will ask him if it's normal cos i dun think let out gas isn't painful too...

milo,
i can take over the similac infant formula from u. u stay at bp too rite?

hi raccoon,
believe me you will not feel as bad when your mum 'snatches' your baby from you. i am totally comfortable if my mum volunteers to cradle and calm my son when he fusses.

my son was spoilt by my hubby during confinement. he kept carrying him and talking to him. before i brought him over to my mother's, she said must be firm in not carrying him all the time and let him cry a bit. end up she cannot bear leaving him to cry.

you can talk to your baby now and explain that it is very warm to be carrying him all the time and you need time to do other things. he will slowly understand. just to share how we train my son. we put him in his bouncer and position it at a spot where we will pass by while doing our daily chores. he can see us and we can also stop and talk to him. he fell asleep on his own a few times, without crying to be carried.

anastasia,
i tried to put him in bouncer and mini play gym. they r good to keep him distracted for a while ~ 15min b4 he whine to be cradled. think i definitely 'she bu de' go back to work.

race_c,
ya, ur boy really v handsome.

MTDT,
The package for 6-in-1 is $400 includes medicine for fever. If not, one jab is $150, which means total $450. Dr Lim @ Kids Clinic said 5-in-1 will be more EX compared to 6-in-1 because of the 2 extra visits

i went back to wrk since last fri. nw dun hv time to come in to chat as whenever i rch hm, itz ard 8plus den still gota do my stuff...

daily routine is morn send bb to bbsitter, send hubby to wrk den i go wrk. after wrk pick hubby den hv dinner den pick bb n go hm. still muz wake up for feeding. everydae during wrk mi express twice. reali tiring. duno when i can tahan man...

hw r u mummies coping when gg bk wrk??

Raccon,
Thanks a lot. Ps help me check with PD, my keane keep crying these few days.

Race C,
Such a handsome boy boy.

Gina seow,
One word "Tired!" My keane wakes up twice these days instead of once nightly before i come back to work. I think he d it purposely to his mum

Hi Annie, Race C,

Ur babies so cute n handsome ..... 8) ...

Hey ladies,

My boy dunnoe why suddenly super sleepy yestersday .... after waking up in the morning .... my mum says that he only wakes up for his feed 3.1/2 hrly but after feed will fall back to sleep and not keen to play ... and after the 5pm feed .... he actaully sleep all the way till 9.30pm and me, hubby & mummy actually took turns to wake him up for milk and only after many attempts ... he open his eyes slightly and even when feeding him ... he closes his eyes and fall asleep right after the feed till this mornign 7am .... we were so worried dunnoe wat happen ley .... does it happens to any of ur babies har??

But this morning ... he wakes up looking fresh ley .... hmmm

Taurus,

my boy at times is like tat. Some days dun know why he so tired keep on sleeping and only wake up for milk. After feed, he will not even want to burp and fall into sleep instantly. I just take it as tat day is a sleeping day lor.

my boy still sleeping since last night. dun know today is de day or wat.

Taurus,
Mind to ask? is it yr boy has any jabs recently? My keane reacted 1s after he took e rotavirus n pneuo jab last mth.
I don't think its abnormal. Maybe he has too many dreams e earlier nights.. maybe you call yr pd to check.. shdnt be a big prob..dun worry

Actually my boy's look quite different from new born. When born tht time,he was thin n really looked like "Astro boy" (tht's my hubby always call him)

Now more chubby look, dun know when the look be change again..waiting...

Phew..

Thks ladies ... now more assured after seeing all ur postings .... kekek ..

Hi Annie,

Yah ... my boi also sleep alot the day after the jabs ... but recentyl he didnt take any jabs ...tts why I so worry ....

Missk...

hahah... my mum got the same concern as u ...say dunnoe our maid drugged him not ..coz she left him with the maid for 1 hr to go marketing ...kekek.... but I tell her no lah .... I think our maid dotes on our boy alot .... dun think will do sure things....

sign ... really feel tt becoming more n more paroniod after having bb .... now everyday after work ... immediately bath ...scrub myself clean with dettol before dare to touch or carry BB ... 8(

Hi Race C,

Everybody also commet my bb look so different from birth ... we dun find it until we look back all the photos taken n realize tt he does look very different now .... 8)

Anastasia,
My gynea was Dr Heng, at Bedok Central

Annie,
Still hav one more week b4 back to work,really unwilling..
I'm in procurement field,heavy workload,freq travelling, normally work til late...
errrr...dun know whether can coop,surely will miss my boy every second...

hi my_dodo77,

where was wendy injected on? the doc injected my son on the side of his upper thigh. the blood stopped after a while and he did not cry from pain after we left the clinic. we just took care not to press his thigh to our body when we carried him on that day.

hi my_dodo77
When d you shave Wendy's hair? I m thinking to shave Keane...

Hmm.. Maybe you try to play with wendy and distract her to see e jab. Call her name, make her exercise something, like hold handerchief.. maybe she wont cry..

all mummies,
hope this info solve yr doubts on pacifier.

Pacifiers (soothers): A users guide for parents
Is it okay to use a pacifier?
What are the advantages?
What are the disadvantages?
The Dos and Donts of pacifiers
Tips on getting your child to stop using a pacifier

Is it okay to use a pacifier?

Babies are born wanting to suck. Some even suck their thumb or fingers before they are born. This is a natural behaviour that allows them to feed and grow. It is also comforting and helps them settle.

A pacifier (or soother) can be used to satisfy a babys need to suck. However, it should never be used instead of feeding, and it should never be used without the extra comfort and cuddling a parent can provide.

If your baby seems to want to suck in between feedings, a pacifier can help.

What are the advantages?

Sucking on a pacifier is better than a thumb or finger because it causes fewer problems with future tooth development.

A parent can control the use of a pacifier but its harder to control thumb sucking. When its time to stop using a pacifier, you can throw it away. You cant throw away a thumb!

Also, the latest medical research finds that using a pacifier may decrease the risk of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) or crib death.

What are the disadvantages?

Not using a pacifier properly can lead to problems with breastfeeding, teeth (cavities and overbite), and possibly, ear infections.

Homemade pacifiers, sweetened pacifiers or pacifiers tied around a babys neck are not safe and could lead to injury or death. If you choose to use a pacifier for your baby, use it wisely and safely.

The Dos and Donts of pacifiers

Never start using a pacifier until breastfeeding is fully established. Talk to your doctor or lactation specialist if you feel your baby needs to use one at this early stage. An exception is for premature or sick babies in the hospital. They may use one for comfort.

Never give your baby a pacifier instead of feeding.

Always see if your baby is hungry, tired or bored before giving him the pacifier. Try solving these things first.

Always sterilize the pacifier by putting it in boiling water for 5 min before the first use. Make sure its completely cooled down before giving it to your baby. Then, keep it clean by washing it with hot, soapy water after each use. Do not attempt to "clean" the pacifier by sucking on it yourself; this may spread germs from you to your child.

Always check for cracks or tears before giving a pacifier to your baby. Sometimes, parents give their baby a pacifier right after giving a medicine (like a pain reliever, antibiotics or vitamins); some of these medicines can cause the material in the pacifier to break down. If there are cracks or tears, throw it out. Replace the pacifier every two months, before damage occurs.

Never dip the pacifier in sugar or honey. This will damage the teeth. Honey can lead to botulism, which is a type of food poisoning.

Never tie a pacifier around a babys neck. This can cause strangulation and death. Instead, you can use clips with short ribbons attached to them. These are available where you buy pacifiers and are safe to use.

Never make your own pacifier out of bottle nipples, caps or other materials. These can cause choking and death.

Never let your older child crawl or walk around with a pacifier all day long. This may interfere with speech development and may cause problems with their teeth.

Never let your baby or child chew on a pacifier. It could break down and cause choking and death.

Tips on getting your child to stop using a pacifier

Limit the time you allow your child to use a pacifier. Use it only for sleep time and comfort until about 12 months old and then plan to give it up.

Never use punishment or humiliation to force your child to give up using a pacifier.

Involve your child in the decision to stop using it by giving him the choice of throwing it away, putting it away or leaving it under the pillow for the tooth fairy.

Start a reward chart to mark your childs progress.

Praise your child when your child has given up the pacifier and tell her you are proud that she is growing up.

Allow your child to express his feelings and if your child is upset or angry, give him special cuddles to help him cope.

If your child asks for the pacifier again (and she probably will), dont give in. Remind her that the pacifier is gone and that she is grown up now.

For more information: Recommendations for the use of pacifiers

Source: Developed by the CPS Community Paediatrics Committee. Published in Paediatrics & Child Health, October 2003.

i think 1 of the mummies here told me that she sent her boy to do the following. I personally disapprove my keane to do so. Luckily, both sides of the families don't have such practice.
Circumcision: Information for parents
Circumcision of baby boys is a surgical procedure to remove the layer of skin (called the foreskin or the prepuce) that covers the head (glans) of the penis and part of the shaft. It is most often done during the first few days after birth.

Circumcision is a non-therapeutic procedure, which means it is not medically necessary. Parents who decide to circumcise their newborns often do so for religious, social or cultural reasons. To help make the decision about circumcision, parents should have information about risks and benefits. It is helpful to speak with your babys doctor.

After reviewing the scientific evidence for and against circumcision, the CPS does not recommend routine circumcision for newborn boys. Many paediatricians no longer perform circumcisions.

Risks and benefits of circumcision
Caring for an uncircumcised penis
If you decide to have your baby boy circumcised
Caring for the circumcised penis

Risks and benefits of circumcision

Problems from the surgery are usually minor. Although serious complications are rare, they do occur. Newborn circumcision has been associated with surgical mistakes, such as having too much skin removed.

Of every 1,000 boys who are circumcised:

20 to 30 will have a surgical complication, such as too much bleeding or infection in the area.

2 to 3 will have a more serious complication that needs more treatment. Examples include having too much skin removed or more serious bleeding.

2 will be admitted to hospital for a urinary tract infection (UTI) before they are one year old.

About 10 babies may need to have the circumcision done again because of a poor result.
In rare cases, pain relief methods and medicines can cause side effects and complications. You should talk to your babys doctor about the possible risks.

Of every 1,000 boys who are not circumcised:

7 will be admitted to hospital for a UTI before they are one year old.

10 will have a circumcision later in life for medical reasons, such as a condition called phimosis. Phimosis is when the opening of the foreskin is scarred and narrow because of infections in the area that keep coming back. Older children who are circumcised may need a general anesthetic, and may have more complications than newborns.

Circumcision slightly lowers the risk of developing cancer of the penis in later life. However, this form of cancer is very rare. One of every one million men who are circumcised will develop cancer of the penis each year. By comparison, 3 of every one million men who are not circumcised will develop penile cancer each year.

Caring for an uncircumcised penis

The foreskin covers the shaft and head (glans) of a boys penis. During the early years of a boys life, the foreskin separates from the glans. This is a natural process that occurs over time. You do not need to do anything to make it happen.

When the foreskin separates, it is said to be retractable, meaning it can be pulled back.

An uncircumcised penis is easy to keep clean and requires no special care:

Keep your babys penis clean by gently washing the area during his bath. Do not try to pull back the foreskin. Usually, it is not fully retractable until a boy is 3 to 5 years old, or even until after puberty. Never force it.

When your son is old enough, teach him to keep his penis clean as youre teaching him how to keep the rest of his body clean.

When the foreskin separates, skin cells will be shed and new ones will develop to replace them. These dead skin cells will work their way down the penis through the tip of the foreskin and may look like white, cheesy lumps. These are called smegma. If you see them under the skin, you dont need to force them out. Just wipe them away once they come out.

When the foreskin is fully retractable, teach your son to wash underneath it each day.
If you decide to have your baby boy circumcised

It is helpful to talk to your babys doctor about the issues involved in circumcision:

Cost: Circumcisions for non-medical reasons are not covered by all provincial and territorial health plans.

Possible complications, such as the ones described above.

Pain relief:

Newborn babies do feel pain. Without pain relief, circumcision is painful. Acetaminophen (such as Tempra or Tylenol) or EMLA cream, which numbs the skin, wont be enough.

There is more than one way to do a circumcision. Studies show that the amount of pain depends on what method is used. The Mogen clamp seems to cause less pain than the Plastibell or Gomco technique.

Your baby will need a local anesthetic (dorsal penile nerve block or subpubic block technique), given by a needle in the area where the circumcision is done. EMLA cream should also be used to reduce the pain of giving the needle for the anesthetic.

Anesthetics do carry risks, and the needle can cause bruising or swelling.

Sucking on a pacifier or gauze soaked with a sugar solution may help relieve the pain.

Your baby should receive acetaminophen when the local anesthetic wears off. It should be given for 48 hours, or longer if he is still uncomfortable.

Caring for the circumcised penis

After the circumcision, you can help comfort your baby by holding him and nursing him often.

The penis will take 7 to 10 days to heal. The area may be red for a few days and you may see some yellow discharge, which should decrease as it heals. Talk to your babys doctor about what to expect.

Keep the area as clean as possible. Wash gently with mild soap and water, and be sure to clean away any bits of stool. If there is a bandage, change it each time you change your babys diaper. Use petroleum jelly (Vaseline) to keep the bandage from sticking.

Call your doctor if:

You see more than a few drops of blood at any time during the healing process.

The redness and swelling around the circumcision do not start to go down in 48 hours.

Your baby develops a fever (rectal temperature of 38.0 C or higher).

Your baby seems to be sick.

For more information

"Neonatal circumcision revisited" (Canadian Paediatric Society) at www.cps.ca/english/statements/FN/fn96-01.htm

Source: Developed with the Fetus and Newborn Committee of the CPS. Reviewed by the Public Education Subcommittee and the Community Paediatrics Committee

Hi Annie,
My boy Ethan was circumcised on his 3rd day by my obstetrician. Initially I was quite against it. But my hubby was all for it cos he remembered that during school time, some of his classmates had to go for circumcision as their foreskin could not retract well. They had to skip school and was in a lot of pain. He didn't want the possibility of Ethan going thru' it whe he's older and be traumatised. Besides, it is the social norm in the States here for baby boys to be circumcised. Else, they will be teased by other boys when they start schooling.
I was kinda worried abt his circumcision, but he came back looking only dazed, not crying, nothing. For the next few days, even when we were cleaning his penis, he didn't seem bothered by it at all. Anyway, it healed in abt a weeks' time. So i think it's not as bad as described.

cp,
e info ta i post, think state e worst scienio ta could happen. Both our families dun have such pratice.
So far, i noe my hb's side, few of his cousins have such prob that their foreskin cover e head and "opening" is at side.But up till now, they already fom their own families and live normally.

Annie,

Since my mum give a go ahead, then i dun really bother liao heehee.. anyway if really wait till 4th mth, i would feel more heartpain because by then the bb so cute and yet go around bald. Somemore ger ger leh heehee..

need advise

kaeden's last feed is ard 8 pm afterwhich will slp till abt 3 am and wakes up for feed.

notice that he has been waking up at almost the same time for awhile so last night i fed him with 200ml water and he kong off till 5am

my qns:

1. is this the right way to train him to wake up at a later time?

2. if he can slp drinking water, he is not really hungry?

3. how long must my experiment be then can conclude whether successful or not?

this is because normally after 3 am feed, he will slp till 7am, if i feed water and he keep waking up at 5 am then like become double job leh.

if ur baby do not poo, can give them gripewater. wayne has constipation for 3 days and it works for him. his poo keep coming out until the whole room stinks!

milo,
u mean kaeden's last feed is solely 200ml of water and no milk? wat time and amount is his previous feed b4 8pm?

annie,
checked with my gynae, not pd leh. he say it's a passing phase to cry or seem disturbed when baby 'fart'. may be slight colic. so long as he is drinking and sleeping well, there shld not be any concern.

raccoon,

his last feed at 8pm is 150ml of milk, he wakes up at 3am and i fed him with 200ml water afterwhich he wakes up at 5am again

milo,

oops, i misunderstood...hehee. i dun know that drinking water can stretch the wakeup time. if wayne is hungry, i will just give him milk. since kaeden can sleep 7hr straight, can u make 10pm or 11pm as his last feed? i mean wake him up at 10/11pm and put him for a straight 7hr sleep thereafter.

Raccoon,
Thanks for your help.
Keane has colic and have been taking colic drop 1s a day at the feeding 5 or 6pm. Else will cry non stop for hours.. really can go crazy cos no matter how you try to calm or soothe him oso no use..

kk,
nvm abt e bald, she is a gal leh. has to have more thick hair else next time blame on you..