(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

My boy keep vomiting in the first day he come home and admitted hospital,now alright. I apply "Ru Yi You" for him too. He drink Enfalac A+++, now i given him 150ml for 4 hours per time.
I going start work and my mother in law will take care him ,I will bring him at night. I am thinking buy weekend car,but not sure worth it or not. because the purpose is because of baby, Once he grow up, i dont think so is neccessary,because he can walk and run.

1sttimemum,
did u try swaddling ur bb when u thinking of placing him on cot/bed?

That time as i mentioned on the buying sarong-incident? After my friend's mum suggested sarong, my hb tried swaddling her n it worked n she managed to zzz herself a while till we changed her diaper tat she started wailing again.. becoz i scared she b like tat at nite n for next few days n so bought the sarong.

've u tried transferring him over to cot/ur bed after he's asleep? My mom used 2 do as such.. n so i not too scared of her getting used to sarong.

In fact, she not getting used to sarong as she has been sleeping at her sides n so sarong kind of not allowed her to zzz at side n thus not able to fall into very deep sleep.

kk, think ur mil suggested as that period would b time of teething? Heard tat bbs be getting even more fussy then.

But so far read tat Eu Ren Sheng got sell some infant powder stuff tat can apply on their gums n so not tat itchy n thus bb not so fussy. Think b getting the powder.

Wow.. what's the difference between fugus infection n nappy rash? I won't b able to tell them if Xuanting has it.

Hello, Mee Yun.. we "met" juz then in other thread. =)

What's ur boy's name? Working mom or SAHM?

Here are my details.
Draik/Kang Jung/7 Apr/2.9kg/4.8kg/tbf

babe,
I have link your bb blog to my bb blog. Hope you dun mind. I am hoping to get a few April bb blog link together so that we can watch each other grow. I must say that you got great pictures and details on your bb.

Anyway, here is mine. http://ohmybaby.blogspot.com/

Mee Yun,
he kept vomitting?? Becoz of air in stomach?

Ur boy really can drink quite a fair bit.. so lucky you.

My girl b placed at my mom's place as we re staying one in east n the other in west n so tots of buying weekend car is to ease us visiting my family over weekends as well as preparation of bringing bb out. Anyway, Xuanting b a weekend bb. She b with my mom from Sunday nites - Friday nites but b visiting her on Tues/Wed nite after work thus the ownership of car will be easier. I can't think of a better route (without a car) to come home from Jurong to Sengkang within half hour's time.

maraquan,

how do u change the colour and size of the title in each post in ur blog huh? aiyo i tried doing it the whole morn, cannot leh

1sttimemum/kolarie,

That's what i worry of. BB too used to sarong at mil place, and come home dun wanna sleep on own mattress.

Teething starts 4th mth?

However cranky the bb is, can use many ways to pacify. I dun think sarong is the only resort. I hope she is not taking the easy way out.

hi, koalarie,
so u and me thinking of buying car too.right.Kia Picanto is the most cheaper and better quality.
i force him drink finish it all the milk when he almost fall asleep. If not he will wake up in the shorter time.Last time, i don;t know just give him 90ml,,,so he keep wake up in 2 hours time, Now i know liaw, give him more milk.as long as he didit not stop and vonit out.
yes, he got alot of air that time, we so worry after he finish the milk and vomit out,so in the end adnitted hosoital. now ok liaw,

kk & 1sttimemum

Think it is always tough at the beginning.. my baby demended to be carried almost all the time in the 1st 2 months.. sit down also cannot, was so tiring then, my c-section wound hurts, nipple hurts, lack of sleep, with an inconsolable crying baby... but she is much better now at 3 months.. dont have to carry her so often, she can entertain herself at times.. think this is a phase every baby goes through.. and maybe like what kk said, using the sarong might just be the easy way out for a temporary problem?

mee yun

We were contemplating on buying a weekend car for the longest time.. but decided not to for the time being.. not ready to commit to this financial burden at the moment..

My baby blog is www.leongzai2006.blogspot.com

Hi Hunniepot,
Correct.Buying a car is a burden. My friend told me save the money for raining day and baby education is better. When baby can walk and run, u need not to have a car. Maybe oneday really have alot of extra money than buy a car. In singapore, u have alot of way to get a transport.Not only buy car.

Hi KK,
Sleeping in the sarong is easy to take care. Rock and swing the bbay, than baby will fall asleep. Last time, old people use this method to take care baby, is easy and relaz..so now become a good method to take care baby now.

hello....i'm from nov05 mommies....
mee yun is my fren fren - ex colleague now both mommies hehe....
mee yun, saw ur blog liaow! ur boi boi so cute
i oso wan 2create blog but til today stil no result keke....

kk,
i agree with u. When Xuanting was at my mil's place, my mil kept suggesting tat too. But I insisted no as I dun want later she doesn't zzz in bed.

But I guess it's how u teach ur bb to recognize the places to zzz at the scheduled timing. Sarong, afterall, is the way how most of us were brought up. N the eldery ve their reasons of wanting bb 2b placed in sarong.

My cousin's 2 bbs were born were taught not to zzz in sarong. But then when the confinement nanny went away, the elder bb always kept crying n wanting 2b carried till my cousin gave up n got a sarong. But for the second bb, she was k n so she continued to zzz in cot.

Would ur MIL b taking care of the bb? How's ur bb during daytime so far?

I managed to figure out tat my mil wanted to place bb in sarong becoz bb would zzz longer (their thinking la.. anyway I ve proven to her 2day as she was here tat Xuanting doesn't zzz long in sarong). The longer bb zzz, then she can continue do hsework. Haiz.

Thank goodness, the final person taking care of Xuanting b my mom... =p

I wonder if bb zzz long long in sarong, then how'd the adults take bb out of sarong to check the diaper/nappy or to bring bb out to drink water frequently.

re: cradle cap
my baby had a bit of cradle cap near her forehead at first but it went away quite quickly after i put California Baby Calendula Cream. also, i went to taka today and saw that Gerber has a cradle cap kit, dunno if that might be useful for some of you.

koalarie,

My mil will be taking care of bb when i go back to work lor. that's what make me worry :p I dunno what she will "implement" on bb such that when i bring the bb back at nite, i will be trouble :p

BB very sweet angel in the day
Sometimes need to be carried, but won't get super cranky. She satisfied easily and will sleep on her own

Wah sai.. what u have shared really scare me.. i think my mil really like ur mil, seeking easy way out, so that she can do more housework wor. She keep telling us to fang xin fang xin. But i tell my hubby i very de bu fang xin.

U know, she even objected to using nappy rash cream saying it is very oily and dun use oily thingy on bb. Oh gosh.

Yah, and u know my mil use cloth diaper at times.. so if wet and bb in sarong, she dun even know. Then somemore dun use rash cream. Hope nothing goes wrong.

Now my bb can sleep on bed for 3-4 hrs in one stretch in the day. I dun see the need for sarong lor.

koalarie,

And something sounds strange.. my mil say dun let bb sleep in sarong now because newborn babies cannot sleep in sarong.. 4 mths then can put in sarong.. what logic is this?

Thanks for the advise from all mummies... i will be going to buy a playpen soon and try to transfer him after he sleep.. He seem to be so used to sarong now and once w/o it cry until no voice and i so hard pain. I know i shouldn't opt for the easy way in the 1st place but really so tired and sharing the room with my sister and she got to work so... I did my confinement in my dad's place and stay there for 2mth.. Now i try swaddling him but the moment i put him down, everything start all over again. Put him on his stomach, side, back but all never seem to work leh.

kk,
Your bb so good, can sleep for so long. My bb even in sarong can only sleep the most one hour coz another hour is use to swing the sarong.... he wakes up very easily as once the sarong stop moving, he wakes up. Haiz, my advise dun use sarong if your bb is okay, or else will regret like me now. Cannot go out coz cannot find sarong for him.

Re: Sarong
I don't think letting bb sleep in sarong is the easy way out. I feel that every bb is different and has different needs. For my case, my bb wants to be carried every minute of the day. During the 1st mth, I'll rock him to sleep but the moment he's placed on the mattress, he'll wake up. He slept less than 12 hours a day and it's not healthy for a growing bb. When he turned 1 mth old, we decided to get the sarong and he could sleep abit longer during the day now. I guess it's the wrapping effect the sarong has on the bb. Of coz, I also trained him to sleep in his own cot at night and he has no problem sleeping on bed. So those of u who are going to send your darlings to your IL, no need to worry abt the sarong implementation during the day-time

preciousbabe,

Not forgetting we are going to look after the bb ourselves over weekends and also during june and december holidays. Well, anyway we have all slept in sarong before i supposed. I just dunno why the word "sarong" really piss me off now hee..

1sttimemum,

Hmmm, i think my bb turning angel at nite too *cross fingers*

2 nites ago, she sleep at 1240 am all the way till 830 am. Last nite, she sleep at 1230 am all the way till now haven't wake up

Actually she wanna play last nite at midnite after her feed because she was smiling away and her eyes super wide opened haha.. but we put her on her mattress and switched off all lights. When i looked at her several times, she was still smiling and eyes wide opened in the dark. We ignored and i also dun know what time she slept because her parents so tired and slept first!! Haha!!

446028.jpg

1sttimemum,

Hopefully ur bb can accept the playpen. My girl dun sleep in playpen at all! The moment we put her down on playpen, she make noise. We carry her up and put on our master bed, she stop making noise and sleep after that haha.. and we both dun like the idea of co-sleeping with bb so we have dismantled the playpen (since taking up all the space in the master bedroom) and lay the whole mattress on the floor instead. She has been sleeping on the mattress on her own for a few days already

kk,
I really hope bb can sleep in the playpen and best is able to stay inside.... coz i got dog so its much safer for him to be there than my master bed thou my dog dare not go near but still the danger is there lah....

<font color="0000ff">Re: Sarong??</font>
kk,
ya la.. but my mom once told me whoever takes care juz let the person to implement her methods lor.. else nobody dares to take care.. n so i shut up.

Then tat time after my mil given up taking care of Xuanting n my mom helps.. i commented lots of things.. n my mom remarked me saying she took care of us n plus some other bbs n i should not comment anything else she b stressed.

Guess.. unless we take care of bb ourselves, we can't say much lor.
kao_sad2.gif

<font color="0000ff">Re: Length of bb zzz</font>
Anyway, wow... ur bb really good.. dun let to wake up to eat?? Wish Xuanting is like tat.. I will be happier..

So far.. so long I put her to bed by 8.30pm/9pm, she can zzz herself. But in daytime, would nd 2 carry a bit.

The book I mentioned previously.. so far reading halfway through.. seems rather logical.. I was telling my mom whatever she implements on her sleeping pattern.. she juz let me noe.. e.g. morning nap, how long.. afternoon nap, how long n after bath n wipe, got nap etc.. so tat i may follow since Xuanting b at my mom's place for 4.5 days.

<font color="0000ff">Re: Playpen</font>
1sttimemum,
dun worry. Xuanting initially dun like zzz in her cot in daytimes becoz weather's hot n mattress's hot.. but she got no prob during rainy days.. who noes ur bb b zzz'g really well since playpen seems 2b more cooling than cot.

<font color="0000ff">Re: Gripe Water</font>
Me tried gripe water on Xuanting today.

Gave her concentrated a teaspoon but she spit a bit out n cried.. haiz.. is tix normal??

446103.gif

koalarie,

I dun care liao.. this morning sms my hubby and tell him to bring back the sarong stand haha.. his mistake mah.. that evening never tell me and just take the stand over. And take stand over, never take the net over WAHAHAHA! So i tell him to bring back the stand tomorrow and tell his mum i dun want bb to sleep in sarong. I be the bad guy, its ok.

I know if i leave the sarong there, my mind won't be at ease. If i dun bring the net over, it will not help matters over because she can anytime ask SIL go and buy. So without stand, she cannot do anything WAHAHA!

i dun think i am being very mean already. At least i dun complain right in front of her. And whatever she do, i already keep quiet liao. Until i cannot tahan, then tell hubby to tell her. So there is never upfront confrontation.

Well, i also tell myself baby is ours, so we make the ultimate decision and should think with a clear mind, what's good and not good for baby.

Hey, sometimes parents have very old mindset which may not work in modern times. So should correct them before things go haywire. Even my mum sometimes makes me sooo angry! But of course, she is always my dear mummy so i always talk to her nicely

Maraquan, can teach me how to link blogs?

kk, how u teach bb to sleep on her own. Mine always feed till drowsy then put in cot to pat. How much she takes for her last feed b4 bed?

1sttimemum,

Oh u have dog? Hee.. ya so better put bb in a place where it is safe from the fur, i supposed that's what u mean?

I used to have dogs at my mum's place too. And now my mum's dog is at my brother's place. When bb gets bigger, will definitely bring her over to see and to touch. i dun wanna my girl to be scared of dogs when she grow up.

babe,

Errr, it depends actually.. there is no fixed length of time. Sometimes she just get grumpy, wanting that 30 ml before she sleep IMMEDIATELY after that! Else it is like last nite, after her feed i suspect she play for an hour or so before she sleep on her own. i was surprised myself she didn't make a single sound!! Obviously she knew we were on the bed because her eyes big big opened looked at us when we looked at her from the bed hahaha..

Koalarie,

RE: Gripe Water
I think its better than you mix with a bit of water to let her drink in a bottle if she is using that else use tea spoon to feed. 5ml to 20ml water. Gripe Water itself is very sweet so i dun think its good to feed concentrated leh...

RE: Caring for your BB
I agreed with what you say, whoever takes care of bb, juz let the person to implement her methods else will sure be unhappiness one and that's the reason why i might engage a maid if my mum really cannot take care. At least a maid can do what you expect them to but not your own family member... but i will be placing my maid at my mum's house in the day. Just dun feel good to place maid and bb together without supervision.

kk,
You really very good leh, if for me, i dun think i dare to say too much but what you say i fully agreed, bb is ours so we make the ultimate decision and also should know what's good and not good for baby. That's why if mu hubby okay with my idea of having a maid than i would go for it liao.... hahaha!!!! Me okay with stranger in my house coz hubby's friend always come over...

<font color="0000ff">Re:Gripe water</font>
Hmm.. but'd it still b effective since mixed with water?

<font color="0000ff">Re:Caring for bb</font>
Ya lo. I dun dare to comment when Xuanting was with my mil. I let hb do the talking... whenever she told me anything, I juz say "ur son don't like le", or "muz ask ur son lo...he may not agree."

Guess,kk, u more daring. I dun ve any much choices left; if to comment too much, then my mom may oso give up looking after Xuanting as well. Better to ve bb look after by ppl we love than ppl we dun even noe.

any bb going for the 3rd mth jab soon? I'm giving her the vaccine for rotuvirus on top of the normal one. Not sure will get fever or not.

tracy

my girl is due for her 3rd month checkup in the 1st wk of july. the PD will be giving her the 6-in-1 jab. i'm gonna be asking the PD abt the rotavirus jab as well, don't know when she should take it though. during the last checkup (at 6 wks), the PD advised me to keep work or other commitments light after the 3rd month checkup cos baby might get fever or just need extra comforting for a few days after the jab.

re: ru yi oil

i managed to get ru yi oil at Guardian yesterday and applied a little bit on my baby before bedtime yesterday. but for the 1st time, she wouldn't sleep after latching on!! she did fart a bit during the next hour but kept smiling and wanting to play. eventually i gave up and just left her to entertain herself in her cot and she fell asleep by herself. so i dunno whether it is the ru yi oil that she's not used to, or whether this is just a new sleeping habit.
kao_confused.gif

miu,

does fever come with the 6-in-1 jab? If 5-in-1, any possibility of fever?

tracy,

i read from another thread bb may develop fever and feel discomfort after rotavirus vaccine.

1sttimemum,

Oh ur hubby not comfortable with a maid around? Actually it is not a bad idea to have somebody around to help. Especially when we have to look after bb after we come back from work. Can be very tiring. And no more time to do housework
But then maids also can be problematic. Have to train them first. And not all are good and committed lor.

me looong time didn't contribute liaoz but have been reading the thread though.. am also going to bring Ryan for jab 1st week of july.. am considering between 5 in 1 and 6 in 1..anyone can tell me the diff?? also wat's rotavirus jab for??

Rach,

I copy and paste what another mummy has posted on vaccination. here goes...

Re: Vacinnation

I hope this helps... :

5-in-1 : 3m, 4m and 5m and first booster at 18 mth
Hep B jab to be taken separately at 1m and 6m.
(Total of 5 injections, not including jab taken at birth)

Hep B booster may still need to be taken later on in life. U have to take a blood test to determine that. For me, I took my Hep B in 2003 and by 2006, i redid a blood test amd found that i have no immunity against it.

6-in-1 : 1.5M, 3M and 5M if hep B jab has been given at birth (total of 3 jabs, not including jab taken at birth)

Booster to be taken in 18mth but using 5in1 (cos u dont need to combine with Hep B booster)

Other vaccination:
Rotarix - recommended to prevent severe diarrhoea in children caused by rota virus.
Chicken pox- 14 mth onwards recommended
Hep A - optional but good to have. Can take the Twinrix (ie Hep A combined with Hep B) when bb goes for booster jab later in life. Not really crucial to have.

rach

there is another thread on the 5-in-1 vs 6-in-1 debate http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/367461.html?1150771291

rotavirus is a viral infection that can be very serious for young children, found some info here http://kidshealth.org/parent/infections/bacterial_viral/rotavirus.html

kk

i think fever is a possibility with any kind of vaccination for baby cos it is a reaction to a foreign vaccine. it's normal and the doc/PD may even give you some fever medication for baby after the shot.

Just came back from the PD.. Amanda is exactly 3 months old today.. had her 5-in-1 jab, rotavirus medication and pneumonococal jab.. very ex! $430+ for all these 3 plus consultation fee..

Going back in 1 month time, and all same 3 jobs.. same price also

Tracy,

Will let you know if theres any side effects of the rotavirus medication.. but different babies will have different reactions though

With regards to fenugreek, it is the perspiration that smells like maple syrup.. but you can stop the supplement once your ss comes back.. I used to take 9 capsules in a day.. maybe thats why I ended up smelling like maple syrup

kk

Maybe you are not really pissed off with the sarong issue? Perhaps you might be pissed off with whatever comments your ILs make? That is the case for me

YY had her 6-in-1 jab today. PD says 1% will have fever. fed her the fever syrup after jab and hopefully no fever. she appear normal....will see if fever will set in later.

The rotavirus vaccine is oral application, need two doses. Will probably get her the vacc. when she goes for her jab again 2 mths later.

According to the brochure: Rotavirus is the most common cause of severe diarrhea and vomiting among babies. Almost all children are infected with rotavirus by 5 yrs of age. It is most common among babies aed from 6 months to 2 yrswith the youngest most at risk of serious disease, hospitalisation and even death.

As for the pneumococcal, can wait till she turns 1yr old. The older the child, the less no. of vacc is needed.

Hunniepot,

Ya lor, i agree!! haha.. that is because sometimes what she say dun make sense! Even my hubby say so :p And my hubby ask me to ignore heeee... he say his mum getting blurrer when older heee..

kk

Same lar! Hehe... cos I got so fed up with the nonsense that they suggested in the past, that whatever they say or commented to me now, just doesnt get into my head, and I just take it that they are sprouting rubbish all the time.. so I also like you, get irritated lor..

My hb also told me to ignore my ILs and ask me not to go to their house for the time being hehe..

My girl is now 6.47 kg and 63.5 cm long.. in the 75th percentile in terms and head circumfernce, weight and height.. so she will be a big sized girl next time.. like her mummy haha

<font color="0000ff">rotavirus vaccine</font>
My PD did inform me tat it would only work for bb less than 6mths old. 2 dosage.

BTW my PD is charging each dosage ard $95. Xuanting b taking at 3rd mth and 5th mth jab as recommended by PD.

She told me rotavirus vaccine should not b the cause of the fever if taken with 3rd jab as tix is done so orally n no indications or information she had tat would cause side effects such as diahorrea or fever.

<font color="0000ff">pneumococcal Vaccine</font>
For bbs less than 6mths, b 4 doses. Between 6mths - 1year, 3 doses n 1 to 2 yrs old, 2 doses n more than 2 years old, 1 dose.

<font color="0000ff">5-in-1 or 6-in-1</font>
Xuanting is taking the modified 5-in-1 jab. Hers b 1st,3rd,4mth,5mth and 18th mth.

Heard tat the jab during the 3rd mth may result in fever but i guess different bbs differ as the other threads ve shown.

I'm crossing my fingers tat Xuanting won't 've fever as I'll b reporting work on 3rd July n her jab is on 1st July.

Hunniepot,

Aiyah old folks all like tat. Sometimes my mum also come and irritate me haha.. well, dunno what we'll be like when we grow old :p Our daughter-in-laws will also one ear in one ear out :p So we better talk less next time
Lesson learnt.

Not to go to in laws house for the time being??? So serious?? I cannot leh.. my bb still need shelter when i go back work haha..

WOW! I am curious to know how much my girl weigh now.. got to wait till end july leh

Hmmm, just to check, if bb really kena fever, should we still bathe her as per normal? Scared she may kena flu. And what special precautions to take note of?

kk and hunniepot,
guess so too tat we can b irritated by our ils.. juz like i dislike my fil making noises to wake my girl up n the comments my mil make when I couldn't supply bm.

<font color="0000ff">Any good GP to recommend in West side</font>
BTW, anybody has any GP tat is good in diagnosing nasal problem? I've not been able to sleep at nights for 3~4 days becoz of nose congestion prob. Strangely it only starts at nights. Seen two GPs but first said was not recovering well from flu n the other one said nose sensitive.

I will b staying over my mom's place over weekends n so may drive over to see doc.. so if clinic is opened on Sundays, I'll b merrier. Else, probably see the GP on Monday.

Strange. Then in tat case, hunniepot, won't Armanda b taking only 1 dose?

So far, read in the Young PArents Baby Magazine previously tat it was 2 doses leh. As to less than 6mths or 3.5 mths, hmmm.. i guess probably ur PD more up-to-date?? I've not seen my PD on tix matter since Xuanting got her first jab (since out of hospital) in early May.

kk

Yeah lor.. actually this is what I was thinking as well.. I told myself, if I have a son next time and he gets married.. I confirm wont want to be as irritating as my ILs hehe.. but who can tell what will happen in the future.. skeli i become even more irritating than them!

Had a dream last night, dreamt that Amanda can talk back to me! I was saying something.. then suddenly she opened her mouth and scolded me: "NO LAR! NOT LIKE THIS" Got the shock of my life.. of course that was in my dreams..

Evon

I dont know leh.. I go there blur blur.. I accepted whatever she said without asking much.. but she did mention that Amanda will have the next rotavirus jab next month..