(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

<font color="0000ff">Re: Fenugreek</font>

Anybody wants Fenugreek?

I bought from Nature Farm n ve only consumed 6 n nv ate since stopped bfeeding. B letting go if sell at $20 inclusive of postage.. unless can wait till next week where I can deliver personally. =p

<font color="0000ff">Re: Menses</font>
Mine is so scary... As not bf'g anymore, my menses seem 2b coming.. but strangely it stopped a while; just 2~3 days, then came pouring lots of bright red watery blood like menses (practically changing every 2h though using the overnight pads) for at least 3~4 days then go off as dark red n little. Now still got little bit.. Called my gynae n said normal.. Dunno how le.

<font color="0000ff">Re: Gripe Water and Ridwind drops?</font>
What's Ridwind drops? Is it the same as those anti colic drops given by PD?

After several discussions with hb n my mom, think we re going 2 buy gripe water for her n gave her a bit...

<font color="0000ff">Re: Milk intake</font>
Rachel, urs same same as Xuanting. Xuanting oso like tat.. at nights can go to 120ml for 2feeds then the rest all ard 90~110ml for next 4 feeds. These 2 days even worse..

monring like dun want milk though hungry.. Dunno why.

<font color="0000ff">Re: Craddle cap</font>
Sorry.. but how does it look like?? I only see some peelings above Xuanting's eye brows.

<font color="0000ff">Re: Constipation</font>
How'd u consider bb having constipation huh?

444455.gif

caratsoup

yes, i agree with you that BF prob isn't the safest method of contraception. in fact, last night during a family dinner, my hb's aunt told me that when she had her son many years ago, she BF'd him for 14 months (of course, after he started on solids, it wasn't full BF anymore) and then at 14 mths when she went for her gynae checkup, she found she was 2 mths pregnant!! she said in those days, she truly thought she couldn't get preggie as long as she didn't have menses.

tracy

research shows that milk ss is at its lowest in the late afternoon. i'm not taking any supplements but my milk ss has really increased after abt wk 4/5. think it's cos i let my bb suckle as and when she likes, and must remember to drink lots of water (or any other liquids, soups included) otherwise yr body has nothing to make milk with!

Tracy

I also took fenugreek when I was trying to up my supply during Amanda's growth spurt period.. think it does help.. but I think I smell after that.. maple syrup.. and I perspire alot when I was on fenugreek.. 1sttimemum, do you experience the same thing? Now can pump about 125 to 130 ml per breast (only pump in the morning), I find that my supply went up cos I only latch my bb on 1 breast during every feed.. thus my milk supply on one side is equivalent to 1 feed..

My breasts also dont feel that full anymore, only when I dont nurse or pump for 6 hours straight

1sttimemum

You really can wake up and pump at night ah? Pei Fu! I get so tired looking after bb that i KO all the way...

Re: menses

My menses has not come back yet too.. been 3 months already..

hunniepot, can chk with u how u know latching on one side is enough? How long u latch each time? Heehee...coz I'm trying to get my ms up coz going back to work and need to pump. Find that pumping can't quite empty breasts. Esp the sides and bottom. Arghh...Btw, u get so much milk after how many hrs after last feed?

babe

Nowadays I only latch on for about 15 mins to at the most 30 mins.. but most of the time is 15 to 20 mins.. think my bb is better at suckling liao.. thats why.. and milk ss increased too... the time lapse.. about 6 hours or so?

hunni, so how frequent ur bb feeds? How old did this single sided short feeding begins? Muz empty the unlatch breast every feed?

Though I feed 20 min n 10 min the other, somehow when i pump immediately after feed I get only 15-20ml from each breast. Thot the one i feed for 10 min shld give more milk? How u know ur bb had enough? Mine keeps feeding with eyes closed after abt 10 min on breast but sucking

Btw, do ur bb always wake up crying? Mine seems to b so. Somehow she keeps yawning b it juz b4 sleep and after. I wonder if yawn always means wanna sleep?

hunniepot

i'm the same as you, 1 breast = 1 feed and pumping abt same amt per breast if i don't feed for abt 5-6 hrs. latch on time also reduced a lot, sometimes only 10 mins. initially was worried that bb was drinking less but now i agree that bb's suckling is prob just more efficient.

babe

in my case, i feed abt every 3-4 hrs. and i started the single side feeding before she was 1 mth old but the feeding time was much longer then, at least 30-45 mins.

what i've been doing is that when it's time to feed, i will feed the left side (for example) and she'll usually feed for abt 15 mins and then she won't want anymore. within the next 2-3 hrs, if she still is a bit hungry or wants to suckle to sleep, i'll latch her back on to that left breast. at the next feeding then i'll offer the right breast and follow the same cycle.

babe

I feed my baby till she doesnt want to drink anymore...I shld think the breast will not be completely empty even after bb has fed on it for some time? Learnt from the parentcraft class in GlenE that everytime baby suckles, there will be impulses sent to the brain to produce more milk..?

I dont empty the other breast after feed, keep the milk for her next feed... lazy to pump so often.. once a day is enough

I didnt keep track of how often my baby feeds.. think it can be mentally draining if I count how long she feeds each time and how often.. I just feed her when she demands for it.. think it is less tedious this way?

Stated this one-sided feeding, same as miu, when she was about 1 mth old..

Sometimes do you feed that baby is just sucking for comfort? I realised this whenever I try to take the nipple away and she will let go of it readily... if she is not satsfied from feeding, she will be very kan cheong and suck the nipple very hard whenever I try to pull her away

Long time didn't post here..but hv been following this thread ^_^ definitely learnt a few handy tips

RE: Licking of hands
Hey..my boy also started to lick his hands..was reading March mommies' postings &amp; learnt tt we can already take off bb's mittens oredi..so that they will use their hands to touch &amp; develop their motor skills. Tried doing tt yest but my poor boy ended up w a few scratches on his face :p

RRE: Increasing of BM ss
Gee..think i'll go &amp; purchase fenugreek frm GNC..used to purchase so many supplements from them when I'm not pregnant..dunno whether my points still valid a not

RE: Menses
Mine returned a mth ago &amp; i was shocked how come so fast despite me still nursing. However, might b becos i express at an interval of 6hrs instead of the recommended 3hrs..getting lazier..couldn't imagine how I'm gg to cope when i'm back at work.

shylyn,
you have to cut the nails short. My gal has been without mittens in the day for a month liao. still put mittens for her when she sleep at night in aircon.

Re: Menses
I not BF anymore, and messes just come. So about 2.5 months since delivered.

Big tummy,
me now still having a big tummy, any idea how to get rid it fast???...exercise??? sit up??? cos when taking bus or mrt, still got ppl give up seat to me. although i dont really need it. Haiz....so ugly with such a tummy

444783.jpg

cheona
cut his nails short short oredi..also kenna scratches..*faintz* he alwayslike to rub his face w his hands..&amp; his mittens smell of milk..hee..stinky

RE: Big Tummy
Can try binding..i always wear e binder when I'm at home..though it;s really warm..but i applied pricky heat powder

Hey gals, have gotten a blog for some time so thot juz to share. Do feel free to share too..heeheee....
babyship.blogspot.com

Hunniepot and mui, thks for sharing. Coz my gal usually dun unlatch herself and I juz feed abt 25min 10min then I unlatch her. Recently seems quite ok. Coz I think my gal wakeful so sometimes dunno she cranky is coz hungry or tired. haha...1st time mother..

shall we have the Apr table show babies' DOB, age and weight?

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Weight (kg)</font></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="0000ff">Mummy</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">DOB</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Age</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">birth</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">1mth</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">2mth</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">3mth</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">4mth</font></TD><TD><font color="0000ff">milk brand</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chenoa</TD><TD>YannYen</TD><TD>21-Apr-06</TD><TD>1m 29d</TD><TD>2.80</TD><TD>~ 4kg</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>TBF </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Jasminetea, maybe can transfer the original data over?
attachment_icon.gif

APR BABY.xls (20.5 k)</td></tr></table></center>

hunniepot

yep, sometimes i think my bb sucks for comfort, esp when she's cranky/tired. can tell cos she doesnt suck so hard and no swallowing sound.

my menses is not back yet also. Still latching bb on, but reducing already as I'm going back to work in another 2 weeks.
Trying to pump twice a day now, morning and night, so tat after I go back work, at least can pump twice a day. i was thinking letting her drink a little BM is better than none, cos I 'she bu de' wean her off BM.
How many times did your baby wake up at night for feeds already?
Sherlene's last feed for the day is at 9pm, then she will only wake up at 3am and 6am to drink milk and she is taking around 4oz to 4oz+ each feed, daytime feeding interval is still at 3hrs (feeding on demand)

Re: Milk intake
My girl drinks abt 140-150ml per feed at an interval of 3-4hrs. I suspect she is having her growth spurt today. Nanny said she start asking for milk with 2 1/2hrs. Like that my supply where got enough.

Evon,
Cradle cap is like having dandruff on the head lor. I went out and bought Mustela shampoo for her today. So exp! 150ml - $16.80!

Hunniepot,
U said u smell after taking fenugreek. It is because u perspire or body odour? I think I will try out fenugreek since it works for so many pple.

1sttimemum,
I can't wake up in the middle of the night to pump. Too tired!
kao_sleep.gif
Sometime when my girl make noise I also dun know. My hb wake up and entertain her.

Re: Menses
My menses is not back too. It stop after 1st mth but occasionally will feel a bit discomfort. My mum said it is becos of my c-sect wound.

Re: Licking/sucking hand
My girl found her new love. She will spit out her tu tu and suck her hand instead. Suck until so loud that I can hear her in the kitchen.

Chenoa

here is my details.

Mummy Baby DOB Age birth 1mth 2mth 3mth 4mth milk brand
Twinkle/Kevan/26Apr/1mth 24d/3.55kg/1mth weight 4.6kg/milk Enfalac A+

currently 5.76kg.

twinkle star..
No lah... heehee!! Mine is using Ginvera Olive Oil. You can get from those that sell shampoo and bodywash shop...

Chenoa
here's my details

1sttimemum|Jing Jie|12-Apr-06|2m|2.900kg|TBF|1 mth weight - 4.2 kg

Tracy,
Me also very tired but sometime see too low than no choice but to pump lor. I usually pump after feeding my boy coz after feeding him, will be more awake than quicky on computer than start to pump and see what to buy for bb than will become very alert liao.... i can pump an hour and still dun feel anything coz busy looking in the computer.....

tracy,
thx. that's cradle cap huh?? my mom told me to watch for sth like tat during tix period...she told me juz use fingers gently scratch her scalp when washing.

Cheona,
here's mine.

Koalarie/Xuanting/11 Apr/3.7kg/5.1kg/4.7kg/-/-/Similac

Evon,
My girl got lots of hair so a bit tough to scratch her scalp. Plus she will struggle if I take too long to put her into the water. Only 1 hand, cannot handle lah. Maybe after I shave her then can scratch her.

See your details, why your bb lose weight?

Tracy,

My girl also learn to put her hands into her mouth liao haha.. very cute. Well, at least she dun make so much noise now when i am a bit slow to prepare her milk :p

Tracy,
I carry my gal first when washing her hair. Place her body on my legs while 1 hand support her and the other hand wash her hair with cloth n gentle rubbing of her hair.

Why she lose her weight.. good question.. i too wanting to figure out too.. mayb becoz she noes she too heavy n so cut down on her weight lor..

* Kidding *

Ah ya.. she since after auntie left, has been rather inconsistent with her milk milk. Then plus the stomach pain prob, she kind of drinks a bit less lor. But PD said it is k so long she pees n poos n her poo is soft n massy type.

The other possibility is beocz during her 1st mth, while bringing her to see PD, waited too long, n we gave her a bottle of milk milk first and so she weighed a bit heavier.. but in any case, a bit the too much difference.= p

My gal oso places her hands almost into her mouth. But now, she prefers to carry her pillow or bolster near the mouth in order to zzz.

445482.gif

445483.gif

koalarie,

Ur girl sleep in sarong everyday???

My mil want my girl to sleep in sarong in her 4th mth.. i dunno why she want that when my girl is not at all sleeping in sarong all this while. I myself dun like the idea in fact. I tell my hubby i dun like and silly he still bring the sarang over to his mum. Really feel like scolding him.

kk,
me trying to do so in the daytime as she doesnt zzz in daytime n wants to b carried.. oso another reason is sarong at least makes her not scared.. i noticed that she tends to frown n cry during her sleep during daytime n so i guess tix is the reason why she doesn't zzz at daytime.

Tat was once when she "got such a scare" in her zzz tat she refused 2b put down on cot/mattress n kept wanting me carry her 2 walk ard the hse. Tat was when i was really desperate n my parents not ard then.. n my friend's mom suggested sarong as it wrapped her n so better... n so we went to buy.

My mom told me if bb dun zzz enuf, they won't eat enuf n so b more of thinner side n more prone to getting sick too..

So even though I don't want her to zzz in sarong oso no choice.

koalarie,

Somehow that's also the reason why my mil want to place her in sarong. Got the "huggy" feeling. But if bb is ok and in 4th mth liao, dunno why need to intro sarong somemore.

I worried wait she get too used to it then come home dun wanna sleep on normal bed.

445592.jpg

kk,

yday i bring him to PD bcos he got rashes at the bottom but not nappy rashes. Luckily bring him to PD, then diagnose as fugus infection lor.

kk,

given creme to apply. she did not say exact cause but it is common on bb boys bcos the groin and penis is closer and easily get skin irrations and also u know lah , boys shoot everywhere hahaha. tat why he even pee sideways and kena my pants.

twinkle,

really?? But my colleague's bb already known to have sensitive skin in her 1st mth or so. SHe alternated between pureen and pampers, end up nappy rash due to sensitive skin. Took at least 2 mths to solve the problem.

koalarie,
My son is sleeping in the sarong too.... and is in day and nite. We tried to let him sleep in cot but he will cry and cry non stop. During the 1st month, i always got to carry him around till 4 or 5am be4 he sleep and awhile will start to cry again. Me too was so desperate that almost give up and my dad sugguest sarong. Ever since he is in sarong, i have much peaceful nite liao. In fact i bought and auto one at home, now i scare coz he is addicted to sarong liao. Bring him to my sister house w/o sarong, he will cry and cry!!!

twinle-starry,
Did you apply cream everytime you change your bb nappy??? My son is allergy to some of the pampers... EQ and drypers cannot used so now using Mamy Poko and Nepia.