(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

miu and evon,
i feed yy some warm water when she kek sai but cannot come out. warm water aids the passing of motion. got effect leh!

hunni and maraquan,
My aunt says that many babies like gripe water cos sweet but think yy doesn't like the concentrated gripe water. she don't swallow much when i feed her direct, but if dilute with water, she consumes better. I dilute 2 units of water to 1 unit gripe water.

443328.jpg

hunni,
your photos tobalek liao....no wonder i keep looking and thought how come 1 month so chubby and 3 months become so thin and couldn't be still wearing mittens bah?

I tfb & don't feed water except when she hiccup, I will feed her a few spoonful. diluted gripe water not a daily routine, only give when she show sign of stomach discomfort.

RE:Gripe Water

I copy this from the Mar Thread to share.

BEWARE: IMMITATION WOODWARDS GRIPE WATER

Beware of "pirated" woodwards gripe water!!!
The original one should be colourless, clear with a tint of mint refreshing taste and strong frangrance.

I bought one bottle of "pirated" gripe water. Though clear but the liquid has a tint of yellow. Initally tot manufacturer maybe use different sugar ba, then my mother say its imitation becos colour, taste and frangrance different. Also Chloe got more flam after taking the pirated one!

So next time before you all buy, must open up the box to take a look ya! :>

Also, Check expiry date of the gripe water!

hunniepot

so far, my girl has had nothing but breastmilk to drink.
hhahahaha, yours is like mine, so chubby but so cute
the photo of her i used for my ticker is already one of her 'slim' ones

it's funny, today me and hubby were doing a comparison too! our baby looks so diff now. we coudln't believe it, we have 300+ MB of pics of her in our comp!!

cheona

Heheh... yeah hor.. sorry I mixed up both pics
I only fed her water once or twice only.. prefer her to drink BM only leh.. but my hb kept insisting must let her have 1 or 2 mouthful of water a day, to cleanse her system?

Thanks for the info on the gripe water.. hmm.. is there a diff in the price between the authentic one and the pirated one?

miu66

Same here.. I only fed my bb FM on a few occasions, and have been tbf for past 2 months as my supply has increased and my girl is not so cranky at night liao...

I just checked the size of pictures we have on my computer.. hehe 1.2 GB!! That includes some of the video clips I took of her... I noticed that her crying sounded different from last time.. her crying sounded very mild, and helpless when she was a NB, but now it sounds very loud, and fierce.. my hb said I spoilt her too much liao

Wow, you all took so much pictures. I thought I took a lot already, but when I checked, only 490mb together with those pregnant scan and some video.

Anybody got any more baby blog? PM me the URL leh, I am interested to read. Maybe we can link each other in our baby blog.

Gripe Water,
I brought mine from fu wah, should be original one right? I brought mine for $3.80.

I make KJ drink water because I want him to get use to the taste of water and the bottle. Actually they dun need water now, but my PD advise me to let him get used to it.

Hunniepot,

Your ger very cute ley, looks like who ah? u or hubby?

long time didn't post liao but did read the msgs everyday. Time really flies, I will be going back to work on 4 jul.. haiz.. go back also sian, but stay at home also bored ley..

Re: Gripe Water
I give everyday to my boy ley.. 5 ml mixed with 1.5 ounces of water. Not sweet at all, just abit of fragrance and my boy like ley..

Re: Plain water
I give 2 spoonfuls of water to my boy after each feed. My mum said this is to "wash" the milk down from his mouth so that his tongue won't be white white cos its no good. I also try to give about 2 ounces of plain water or plain barley water him. Feeding him water is like drinking poison to him.. hahah.. cos sometimes he just spit it out.

Another reason to give him water is to prevent constipation. He is prone to constipation and couldn't take similac. He is on partial breastmilk (daytime) and FM (2 feeds at night).

Re: Spitting out milk
I dunno why my bb is very prone to spitting out milk no matter how well we burp him. How long do you gals burp your bb? We burp him for 1/2 hr each time.

kk,
What milk did you give your bb?

443538.jpg

Ah yo, y u all bbs all so chubby one?? Xuanting is rather on the thin side leh.. my mommy said she has not enuf zzz n so didn't drink much milk n so thin.. Dunno how la..

Haiz.

Re: Gripe water
Some mommies told me gripe water to give concentrated one.. but so far not tried yet as hb is against giving infant. He kept saying Xuanting too young to take.

If concentrated, how much huh?

Anyway, Xuanting was having bit of colic n so was on anticolic medication yesterday.. seems like not bad. At least it worked to calm her down n kept her to fart more.

Smurfy,
I burped Xuanting for at least 5~10 minutes for every 60ml of milk. So total time spent including drinking varies from 30minutes~45minutes.

If I dun get Xuanting to burp then she will "vomit" or "spit" milk after a while. Sometimes if her stomach got air n i made her drink too much, she oso would spit the milk out. Think mayb bcoz of dun want her to spit milk n so i ve been feeding her only 110ml of water+1.8 scoop of powder n so she not so chubby lor.

443618.gif

smurfy,

Ur bb very sweet.. how old is she now??

Mine on wyeth gold S26 now for FM
Full time on FM, with expressed BM at least 30 ml only per day.

koalarie,

You mean you feed halfway and burp her then continue feed again? My boy don't allow me to take out the teat before he finish ley.. then he ended up with alot of wind in his stomach and keep spitting out milk.

My bb very prone to colic. We spent many sleepless nights already. Now I add Ridwind into his milk for evenings feeds between 6pm to midnight cos colic usually happen between this timing. It helps.

kk,
thanks for your compliments... but my bb a boy boy ley.. hahhaa.. he look like ger ah?
S26 also heaty, your bb so good can poo everyday.

Hi Evon, Smurfy,
My boy 2 mths liao still regurgitating milk

How often does ur BB spit? abit or mouthful (like almost half the feed)?
Mine almost every feed, mouthful, very worried. brought him to PD before & was given Ridwind & change milk powder but din really help, so I switch to Mamil,yesterday change to Enfa A+ but prob still persist..juz wanna noe is it normal tho mil keep telling me it's okie..it pains me to see bb like dat...

juzmaine,

my bb poor thing.. spit milk until whole face and we dunno because we were sleeping soundly. My hubby woke up looked at her then wiped for her haha! Dun worry lah, guess it is normal for some babies. I have read up on umbilical hermia too this morning.

Heard from my mum that my biggest nephew loved to spit milk too when he was small.

443675.jpg

Juzmaine,

My bb 2.5mths liao, still spitting milk. Sometimes mouthful, sometimes like almost half the feed. Mostly when he refused to let us burp him and keep straightening his body, then his milk will be regurgitated. Its quite often that this happens. I think there isn't a day that pass without him spitting out the milk. And I have to keep changing his clothes.

443689.jpg

443690.jpg

smurfy,

Try to use bibs. These few days i used bibs on my bb and no need change her clothes so often heee.. else got to wash so many handkerchiefs and clothes leh.

Wow, all the bb here is so cute and chubby.....

Smurfy,
Me too have this problem...everytime after he finish his milk, he tends to vomit out quite alot. I mean after finish than i burp him than sometime when he burp, milk will be split out and sometime even before he burp he will split out the milk liao. Bring to hospital, bb doc all say its okay but i really worry. He only drink 85ml now but think after vomit, only 75ml inside him.
Another thing hor, how many pampers do you have to change one day??? How to justify if my bb is input and output is healthy?? Thanks....

443763.jpg

hi to all,
can i check those mummies who bfing their bb, does ur menses come back already? isit bfing bb menses wont come back .. or opposite way will resume menses faster?

1sttimemum,

My hubby asked what surprised ur son so much? He looked so cute in the photo heee...

For changing of pampers, my girl use up around 5-6 pieces per day. She pee pretty often. Poo only once per day in the morning, after her first feed of the day.

kk
Thanks.... me too dunno but just lucky that shoot his expression!!! Mine i think only 5pcs but not very wet leh..... normal anot!! Mine on bm so sometime only poo 2-3days once. But that poo sure alot and needs at least 8 wet wipes to clean up the mess... heehee!!

Hazel,

If you are TBF, think menes won't come back so early coz my sister who tbf her menes came back only half a year later and mine, haven't come yet also....

Yeah 1sttimemum, me too thot my BB not normal cos looking at the frequency of his spit, me siao liao, but every now & then, trying to tell myself it's okie, it'll go off soon...

hazel

if you are TBF, your menses should not resume so quickly. mine hasn't come back yet after 10 weeks. think 1sttimemum is right, it should come back after 6 months cos that's when you'd prob cut down on bf'ing when you introduce solids. in fact, i read this interesting article abt breastfeeding and fertiltity: http://www.askdrsears.com/html/2/T023700.asp

Juzmaine,
Me bought my son to see a few doc and all told me is normal but i just dun believe coz my sister's kids never had such problem.... but after reading your link, i think i am the one who siao liao... hahaha!!! Hope all this will pass... everytime after he spit, he will cry and i got to tell him, its okay...never mind but my heart feel so pain!!

miu66,

The article really very interesting esp the tips... i would rather my bb sleep thru the nites and i find other contraceptive way....hahaha!!!

Anybody read the book 'Healthy sleep habits, happy child'? lt has some good techniques on putting bb to zzz but require patience.

Mummies that are tbf,
just want to check, ur breasts dun feel full n leak anymore is it? it doesn't mean that supply is low is it?

1sttimemum,

I am always holding on to camera to catch every expression of bb haha.. U never know what face expression they will show the next instinct :p Especially that BIG SMILE they have

Mine poo once everyday...so that counted as 1 pamper used liao. The rest all pee pee.. mainly very wet and heavy heee.. she pee a lot. Soon after changing pampers, she sure pee some.

Wow, urs every 2-3 days poo once despite on BM? My colleague's sister's bb also like tat. My girl's poo very smelly!!! Cannot imagine she poo much more than what she poo now haha..

Long time since I post here. Glad to see all our babies growing

My gal's cranky period is over, hopefully will continue this way. Now she enjoys playing with us and will smile to us very often.

Evon, my CL started giving my gal gripe water since she is around 1 week plus. And she gave her directly without concentrated with water! Then my SIL came over to take care of my gal, she said cannot, too sweet. So I put into 10ml of water with half tsp of gripe water and gave to my gal in the morning after bathing.

1sttimemum, I understand your worries 'cos my baby also spit out milk/vomit sometimes and she drinks only 80ml to 100ml per feed! There are times when she vomit out almost her whole feed! But as she is gaining weight and PD said she is fine, I just leave it although can't help to worry each time she vomits.

Hazel, my gynae told me that for those who BF, the menses will not come back so fast. She said possibly in 3 to 4 mths time, can be as long as 6 mths also.

Times really files. Think for most of us who are on ML will be going back to work soon. I think I will miss my gal very much when going back to work.

Besides, those working mummies who intend to continue to BF their babies, have you all got a place in office to express your milk?? I still don't have one. Hai~ Wonder how to continue BF when going back to work in 2 weeks time.

443933.jpg

Re: No. of diaper used
My girl used abt 5 to 6 pcs of diaper a day. As for poo, sometime 2 times, sometime 3 times and sometime dun poo.

Re: Cradle Cap
Just want to ask, bb with cradle cap must apply olive oil? Wat will happen if we dun?

Hi Tracy,

I don't have leaking problem for a long time already unless I don't pump for more than 7 hours, then will have a little leakage. But my milk supply seems to be increasing even up to now. So don't think it means a low supply?

Hi Jasminetea,
Me too. No more leaking but I can only express abt 50-60ml each breast when previously I can have abt 100ml each breast. Does it mean that my supply drop. Plus now pump makes my breast a bit sore.

tracy,

The peeling skin will drop by itself some time later. Actually no need to apply anything and no need to worry.. just tat i feel that my bb looks ugly with peeling skin at the eyebrows, so i apply hazeline. Sometimes ok, sometimes the peeling skin condition comes back, especially sleeping in air con room.

Ya, i heard about olive oil from SIL. Apply before bathe. Then remove the peeling skin during bathe

Like to check with u all.. there is this education savings in which the government gives our children a sum of money equivalent to the sum of money we put in for children in bank, is it? How to go about doing it? And have u all open up bank accounts for bb already?

koalarie,
Me just bought the book and is still reading and find it kind of simple to understand but now still at the beginning.... hope can help my bb to sleep better.....

Jasminetea,
Thanks, me too kind of accept it liao as long as bb is growing healthy can liao.... as for going back work, me too will continue bf but also dunno where to pump milk, when reach office, talk to my HR than see how everything goes about liao.

Tracy,
My son also have a little cradle cap and was advise by my pd that put a little bb oil to the water for bb bathing and apply olive oil on the head the nite before or an hour before bathing.... I dun know what will happen if dun put but my sister say after using california lavender & tea tree shampoo, it cure by itself.... me waiting for my order to arrive to try if it really works.

Me too dun have leaking problem liao unless didn't pump for about 8hrs...... hahaha. sometime at nite too tired never wake up to pump than will have leaking problem. Now i pump about 90ml each breast but sometime go down abit also so keep eating my supplement to increase my supply, maybe Tracy you want to try supplement 1st and see if makes any different???

kk,
That's for the 2nd child onwards. Just go to the bank and tells them that you would like to open the account will do. That's what i know lah but if i say wrongly than sorry...coz mine only 1st child.

Hi mommies, think the day before 1 mommy mentioned abt imitation woodward's gripe water, I bought mine at Econ & it has color of Chrysanthemum, doesn't seem to hv effect on my colicky BB, then juz now I went to NTUC & took a peep at the woodward's & realise it's colorless! I bought it & will give my BB later. Think it's true abt the imitation one, my mil oso recalled it shld be colorless, but I read the contents, everythg the same, price oso @ $3.80, juz that no effect on my BB, hope this colorless one helps. as for packaging, woodward's hv changed frm the previous all-blue box to this (image from UK site)
443993.jpg

Aiyo, all the bb look so adorable! Really glad that everyone is coping well

I didn't know there's imitation! I bought it frm NTUC, hopefully it's real stuff.

Evon,
I started giving Jayden the gripe water since he was 2mths old coz he get colic very easily. Now his condition has improved but every feed, I'm still adding 2 drops of the Ridwind colic drop in his milk.

Re: Cradle cap
Jayden has cradle cap as mentioned in my earlier post. Applied JJ bb oil liao, the dried skin dropped but came back again. Worse part is, it's preventing Jayden's hair from growing out. He's still abit botak after his shave 2mths ago!

1sttimemum,
Can feedback on the product that u mentioned after u use them on your bb?

Re: BB poo
Jayden is suffering frm constipation. Poo every 2-3 days. He's on Enfalac A+, think it's heaty. I gave him water but he doesn't want to drink leh. So no choice, bring him to see dr and gives him constipation medicine to drink every night.

Re: Menses
I have stopped bf since Jayden turned 1mth. My menses still hasn't return leh.

Re: Milk intake
Jayden is coming to 3mths liao and he only drinks abt 110ml of milk every 4h, sometimes even cannot finish all. How much are your bb drinking??

Aiyo, have bb really very worrying hor. Eat too little we worry, eat alot but didn't grow fatter also worry. Everything also has to worry. Really ma fan leh!
444145.jpg

1sttimemum,
Wat supplement are u taking? Does it work for u? I dun mind trying supplement as long as I can pump enough for my nanny to feed my girl.

Re: Cradle cap
If apply oil on bb's head, isn't it very oily when she goes to sleep? 1sttimemum, where did u order the shampoo from?

The btl i bought also got a slight yellow colour. U mean that's imitation? My girl finish half a btl already!

preciousbabe,
After using, bb head seem to be better liao and also pls do not shampoo bb head everyday coz is very drying.... now coz the shampoo i order has not arrive, i went to buy mustela cradle cap shampoo and it did help abit too... i think its better to apply olive oil coz its really moisturize their head and believe will not prevent hair from growing. Remember not too much hor and its not very oily lah....

Tracy,
I am now taking Fenugreek from GNC. I bought it from a BP in the marketplace for $27 or $28 for 200 cap but if you buy from Singapore, 100 cap after discount will be $22.60. If you want, i can tell you which lady to buy from coz she bought extra and sell to those who need it... I am taking 3 cap, 3 times per day and my milk supple is quite good. Last time used to have 60ml the most.
As for the olive oil, its not as oily as we think lah.... i just apply abit on the head and rub it in and massage than put bb to sleep liao. As for the California BB product, i also order from BP in the market place... My bb is using their bodywash and shampoo now but not lavender one, smell nice and good. Read up more from littledreamers.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?270192/435706

Tracy,
Oh i also think by pumping in the middle of the nite helps to increase your milk supply. Pump lesser in the afternoon time but pump more in the morning coz when i pump during morning and midnight, i got more milk than in the afternoon. Hope all these in fo helps.... I already start to store my milk in the freeze to prepare myself going back to work. You sure can make it one.

preciousbabe,

My YJ 2 mths and seem to consume less milk now. Every morning first feed she can drink 150 ml. After that it can be every 2 hrs interval 90 ml. 3 hrs interval would be 90 ml or 120 ml.

This is as compared as the time when she can take 180 ml at one go. Or even 210 ml. Yesterday morning even weirder. She drink 150 ml. One and a half hour later she drink another 120 ml. WOW, suddenly become such a big big drinker. Then she sleep almost the whole day after tat.

1sttimemum,
Thanks for all the info. Can you let me know of the lady's name or email that you bought the fenugreek? I do agree that when I pump in the morning and late in the night, I will get more. In the afternoon, sometime dun even have enough for my bb.

I also start to store. But the supply that I got for 2 days, my girl finish in 2 feed. Definitely not enough.

Im a march mummy. I was referring to the article that miu66 posted. Just want to add that when I went to see my gyane for my pap smear last month, during the scan. we could see that one of my ovaries is starting to ovulate. So I asked him if my menses would be resuming soon but he said no cos my lining is still very thin, so even if I were to stop BF, it would probably resume 2 months later and even longer if I continue to BF. he told me to used contraception if we were to BD in case of unplanned pregnancy. So it isn't true that BF can help in family planning.