(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

babe,

Once u see the ticker, right mouse click to save picture as .bmp. Then convert to .jpg using any program u have. Then "upload attachment" in the forum

maraquan,
this mummy doing a very good job! see, bb so chubby and adorable.
just take each day as it comes and you will realise that the problems / frustraions hours earlier are passed. Jia You!

so many tickers with bb photo and age. all bb so cute hor...:p

babe

re: TBF mommies going back to work
my PD advised me to start giving bb one bottle feed of EBM everyday starting from week 4. i started doing so at abt week 5. i'm a bit lazy so i tend to give it every other day only. bb is ok with it so far. i usually replace one afternoon or early evening BF with the bottle of EBM.

442062.jpg

Babe,
My girl is using the btl sometime. Not to much problem. Now I just trying out the timing to express.

Tinkle,
I have found my nanny. Took a long time to find this one. She is staying at blk 18. 40 yrs old lady with a pri 2 boy. Not too bad. My girl went yesterday. She clean her up so well. I a bit pai sei that I did not clean her up thoroughly.

As for the FM, I think I will stick to similac for awhile. At least let her finish the 2 cans that I have just bought. The nanny told me she poo 3 times after 1 day didn't poo.

looking at all the beautiful bb pictures, hv u wonder just mths ago we are talking abt giving birth and labour pain? Just see how fast they grow.

Felt a bit the upset..

My mom noe then told me tat her boss wants her 2 continue working for her.. even though she already rejected him.

I dunno what to do.

BB supposed 2b taken care by my MIL but bb too powerful tat MIL couldn't handle her if alone. So I asked my mom.. my mom dun mind helping but has to quit the job.

Somehow from the teleconversation can tell tat my mom prefers to work then 2 take care of bb.

Feel so upset.. everybody wants me to give birth, give birth n now after giving birth to bb, nobody can really help 2 take care of bb. Haiz.

Think after Xuanting better dun ve a second one.. I can't wait for Xuanting to b 18 months old then can place her in those playgroups.

442466.gif

Evon,
My family also like that. My mil actually agree to take care when I first pregnant. Same as u, she has to quit her job. She is a cleaning lady in a co that pays her abt $1500 a mth. But weeks before I give birth, my sil confronted me why I ask my mil to take care as she mum is old and weak. Over the conversation, I sense that my mil couldn't bare with the $1500. I told my sil that my mil say cannot employ maid or nanny so how? U want me to quit my job? We nearly had a arguement over this matter. In the end, my mum help me to get a nanny near my place.

As for having a companion for my girl, I would like a 2nd child. As long as financially we can afford.

Most impt thing for u now is to decide whether u want to take care yourself or send to nanny or infant care. Dun worry too much. Start looking around ur neighbourhood. I'm sure there is someone who can bbsit your bb for u.

Rachel
wish i'd b SAHM but not with my hb not earning lots n v'g to pay off the hse n car n on top of tat, the bb. + my mom & his mom's allowances?

Tracy,
placing bb in infant care was what i tot of as well; yet both grandparents objected. I oso got tot of looking for a nanny to help.. but my mom that time said she would try first n so it's like now i hanging halfway nowhere.. i'm going back 2 work on 3rd july.. dunno if bb can adapt or not.

Very chiam. My mom was telling the boss "even if outsider asks her to look after bb n willing 2 give $1000, she won't take care too." Dunno if she's hinting me anything??

Haiz.

hey hey, me working mum.. started work 1 month liao.. miss my nix everyday when i come to work.. will check him out, to kiss him goodbye every morning before i'm out... will call my mum every lunch time to check out how is he too... i really ease my mind to have my mum to help me out

evon,
same here. hb not earning much, every mth ard 2k+ nia. also have to support car, house n bb. u can always give tuition at home to supplement the income? anyway, u mentoned abt sending bb to childcare when she's 18 mths old, so mayb then u go back to work?

cheona,
moi SAHM too

i agree that mothers and MIL nowadays also not too keen to look after grandchildren. esp if they have their own job and friends at work.
my mother for one cannot give up work to look after children one, she sure find that she got "no life" cos her work q. xingnang, got kaki there and got lots of social activities after work or on her day off. she din even want to help me with my confinement for 1 week.

and although I stay with inlaws, my MIL made it very clear that she cannot look after baby. carry and play for a while is diff. from look after full time duh. anyway, my employment contract was over during my preg, so being unemployed, I just be SAHM lor....even though my grandmother and mother asks me to work and get a maid.

but they also dun know my difficulty lor, so diff. to get a job. my experience got no resale value one.

also, my MIL likes to do housework. so employ maid just to look after baby...the maid like q. free lor....besides my FIL dun like strangers living together. He was very uneasy when my maternal aunt was staying here for 2 days when my baby was born and after she left, he keep saying he feel very uncomfortable....so how can have a maid?

Gals, i think my boy is very timid. Put him in the baby gym with toys hanging , he seem very scared when the wind blow and the animals rattles start moving. Not sure is the animals he is afraid or shld i buy accessories to change those to other animals. In the gym it is given lion, girrafe and duck. I m using Tiny love .

Tracy,

Glad that u found nanny. I hv not look around yet since i hv not decided what to do , quit or wat. Need a break fm my job as too stressful on the other hand cannot afford. Anyway i put a deposit to an infant care centre . Will see how when i need to go back to work in Aug.

Hmmm.. Rachel,
wish I'd don't work leh.. contract juz renewal.. else I can't get 3 months maternity leave too.. guess what the contract renewal is like only $50 more per month that's all.

Thinking of quitting after work for 3 months.. but dun think can afford as still ve to "Grow" the CPF $ such tat can got enuf 2 pay for hse.

I long time nv teach already ... so a bit rusty.. plus nowadays educational circulcum changes so fast. I love to teach Maths, Science and Chinese.

Any of you know how to apply for relief teacher? I tot of asking my sis how to as she did tat b4 at her friend's school helping out.. but later my mom noe then she'd ask long n short (worry tat she worries no $ to give her la).

Guess nowadays ppl too good life n so prefer not 2b tied down by "burdens". At any time, they want to go where then they can go.. my ex colleague oso face same prob as me.. except her own mom is not working but likes 2 go out everytime n that makes her fared up as she doesn't like her mother to bring the grandchild out.

Cheona, my mil same as ur mil. My FIL is a police siren. My girl clicks well with my father though, mayb becoz both of them re born on same day.

twinkle,

My girl loves the musical mobile especially with music on. But i dun want her to see that often because they say mobiles no good for bb focusing of eyes.

My girl likes to listen to musical tunes a lot! So she loves the chime from the musical mobile and also another toy given by friend during her first mth celebration. Dunno what else with musical tune i can buy for her.

precious, I got say I was teacher meh? kekeke

evon, to apply for relief teaching, go down with your certs to MOE. They will put your application into their central system and you wait for the school(s) to contact you. tell you hor....this way most of the time you wait till neck long long still no response. Faster way is, after you register on the system, go to the school directly and ask if they need relief teacher.

evon,
Can go to MOE website to apply to be a relief tr. Alternatively, think can also go to the school nearby to register.
If u want to know abt the curriculum, just buy a few assessment bks to look through. Then can agarn agar know what the pupils r learning nowadays. For me it's easier, as I still have frens working in the service so can always update the curriculum by asking them

Seems like a lot of ex-teachers here ya? When i go back to school after maternity leave, dunno how am i going to juggle with work and bb.. sigh!

Wow, so many teacher here!

chenoa,
thanks for the encouragement. Everyday different things will happen. I guess this is the time I learn how to handle surprises everyday.

KJ usually love to bathe. but today hor, he bathe happily in the water, I teach him how to kick the water, then once I pick him up and wrapped him in a towel, he cried non-stop until he is fully dressed.

evon,

After applying via MOE, go to the school and ask them and u can tell them u already submit to MOE lor... i did that b4 and i do get jobs often fm that school i approached. When they need teachers, it is easier for them to locate u rather than go to the MOE system. Once u started w them , they will always call u back when they need teachers.

Evon

How come both your parents n IL object u putting bb into infantcare?

I oso facing same problem, nobody to take care of bb. Initially tot of becoming a SAHM. But 2 months of staying at home make me really xianz with the routine work of taking care of bb. However, my current job is not fanatasic either, have been thinking of quiting long ago...

So decided I'll first put bb into infantcare and access the situation. Quite anxious how he can adapt the new place.

evon, i did this by copy and save both the photo and ticker as separate files then upload as attachment. u doing same way or got easier method?

Cheona,
me use the a picture copying and "snap" the picture from lilypie.com n save it. Thus upload as only a file.

twinkle-starry,
wow.. good idea... let me go see how is the curriculum like what Rachel suggests.

Terrier,
Becoz got relatives of theirs that saw the bbs were not well taken care at the infant centres, even though it is compulsory that two bbs to 1 teacher.

Think in the meanwhile, i will also ask ard on nanny, juz in case.

Tracy,
how much ur nanny charging u? Only daytime to take care?

Any moms do direct latch all the time? I got a problem now, my husband tried to feed my son from a bottle and he refuse it. I got to go out some days without him and I really dunno what he will do to whoever that take care of him and try to make him drink milk from a bottle.

Maraquan,
I always direct latch but my gal got no problem with drinking from bottle, regardless who carry her or even lie down on the bed to drink.
For your problem, you may need to help him adapt to bottle. Perhaps feed him EBM once a day to get him used to the teat.

maraquan

i also always latch directly and have been giving her EBM once a day since wk 5. you may have to try different bottles/teats since he is now only used to yr nipple. i'm using a pigeon bottle and teat, which also came with a milk flow regulator so that milk won't flow so fast.

hi ladies, this may sound like a silly question but i'm suaku
, exactly what is ru yi oil and how does it work? my girl has been getting quite a lot of gas bubbles lately (despite burping her) and in the early morning, she's always trying to 'kek' which prevents her from sleeping well. heard that ru yi oil is supposed to help?

miu,

U can buy ruyi oil from any medicine hall. I am not sure whether supermarkets got sell or not.

We rub the oil using both palms and then place on bb tummy. Supposed to expel wind from tummy, making them comfortable

It works well for my girl if there is really wind in her

maraquan,

i would suggest using pigeon wide necked bottles. My bb sucks from the bottles in the same way she sucks from nipples. So there is no nipple confusion no matter latch on or bottle feeding

443102.jpg

maraquan

I also direct latch on my baby, and she had difficulties drinking from the bottle sometimes, depending on her mood actually.. like what miu suggested, you will have to try different teats, and my baby seems to like pigeon premium bottles too, I also try to let her drink from nuk premium bottles as well

I will let her drink from the bottle esp when she is very hungry..

terrier,
ya.. that's what the relative told me n our parents. Hopefully not all infant care centres re like tat.

Maraquan,
what teats u re using? Some bbs re really smart if along u've been latching on especially.

Try the latex ones yet?? Heard from a mommy tat becoz it is soft n thus bb may adapt fast to it.

miu66,
For ru yi oil, dun overapply. Just four small drops would do. Ru Yi oil is rather "hot" when apply on bb's skin.. my confinement auntie said if nutmeg oil would b soother.. but a pity only sold in Malaysia now.. dun c in SGP.

I've the same prob on the keke sounds she made in the morning.. sometimes giving her warm water to drink helps n wrapping her warm would help too.. (As sometimes ru yi oil doesn't seem to work on my gal). PS. I still trying n error.. if any of u ve other methods, do let me noe. =p

Hi evon,
My nanny is charging me $500 per mth. 7am - 7pm. But I think most of the time we will fetch the bb back earlier, like 5 plus to 6. I also have to give her all the milk powder, diapers, clothes and tolietries. When she starts to take solid food, I have to pay extra $50. I think this is the market price.

thanks,
Today, I tried again with a bit of success after 3 days of failure. He did not drink a lot, but at least he tried and did not cry. I feed him gripe water mix a bit of plain water using a NUK teat.

I got problem feeding him with gripe water and kept telling him that he is the only baby in April that do not like gripe water. Maybe I will try again at night.

Maraquan

Yeah.. in the process of letting my baby drink ebm from bottle, I wasted about 250 ml of ebm! She simply refuses to drink from the bottle, spit it out and cried her lungs out... so heart pain can..

I feed my bb concentrated form of gripe water. she likes it as it is kinda sweet