(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

Jade,

Haha, cool down.. my fil also keep harping to bb that ah-ma is wonderful, ah-ma very li hai, ah-ma change ur diapers etc etc.. i so sick of it, somehow got used to it also. Immuned liao :p

koalarie,

The old pple very funny leh.. few days ago two hubby's relatives popped by our house. Then the bb was sleeping very very soundly. MIL came and kept waking the bb up, kept saying what "yi po come and see u loh"..."gu gong come and see u loh". Ta boleh Tahan.. those relatives very very BIG meh???

Luckily my bb smart, kept refusing to wake up haha! Good thing is, when my bb is asleep, nothing can wake her up, no matter how u shake her haha..

koalarie & kk

tell me abt it....everytime we go for family dinner and the baby is sleeping nicely or abt to go to sleep, my FIL will insist on disturbing her cos he says, "sleep so much for what?". and if she's awake and in a good mood, he's always doing things like pinching her nose (quite hard)or her cheeks cos he thinks it's funny. maybe i'm just sensitive, but i really find it annoying cos i'm quite sure my bb doesn't really like it.
and another time, when FIL and hubby's grandma came over to visit, the baby was crying in her cot and I was going to walk over and pick her up, they kept saying no need to carry, should just let the baby cry otherwise will become spoilt. but it's my baby!! and i don't like to let her cry!! anyway, i could also see that she was cranky and tired so i just ignored them and carried her. even my hubby ignored them and followed me to her cot.

another thing, (sorry for the complaining) have any of you encountered very kaypoh strangers (usually middle-aged aunties) coming up to you while shopping and giving well-meaning 'advice'?? i keep kena-ing. abt 3-4 wks ago i was at kiddy palace and this woman asked me how old my bb was and when i told her, she was v shocked and asked me how come i dare to bring her out when she's so young, then she also criticized how i was carrying my baby, said she didn't look comfortable like that. i just smiled and walked away. very irritating....

miu66

Yeah lor.. same here.. my MIL kept saying my baby is spoilt.. shouldnt pick her up the minute she cries.. but read from somewhere that we shldnt let baby cry for too long, and if we let baby cry for too long, they might grow up feeling insecure..

Luckily I havent met such KPO aunties so far.. maybe cos my mum is always out with me, and aunties wont try to criticise fellow aunties right?

kk

My bb also the same, she wont wake up means she wont wake up, shake her, tickle her, she will still continue sleeping
But if she doesnt want to sleep, we also cant make her sleep...

miu66
Re: kaypoh aunties?
I've not really met them since after birth (came across a few of them when i was pregnant though). I guess it is somehow that something that attracts them n thus they ask lor.. like during my pregnancy, the centre of attration was my stomach as it was so huge tat ppl tot I'm carrying twins.

I guess it's k tat they remark.. juz let it b.. yesterday, i went 2 kiddy palace n happened to see smaller bb (seem 2b juz out of hospital as the parents and the confinement nanny were buying feeding bottles!) Me will juz ignore these ppl.. Think that auntie probably admire your spirit n courage to bring bb out ... if me, i got no that courage unless somebody who noes how to handle bb accompany me. =p

Re: Irriitated by parents / PILs?
Lately whenever my fil does such thing 2 my bb, my mil/sil n even hb would say him.. "dunno how to take care of bb, dun disturb la." he of course embarrassed n back off.. heehee..

most impt thing is hb muz b always at ur side @ tix period..

oso another thing, i've learnt... if bb's to be taken care by whichever side, juz let them do their way.. dun force our methods on them. Else for me, FTWM, I'd've to force myself to quit my job 2 take care lor.

Evon

Yeah lor.. it has been agreed when I was preggie that my mum wil look after my baby.. but seems like my ILs still wants to force their methods on me and my mum.. they are abit of a control freak.. that is what my hb said about them haha

miu66,
I meet the type of stranger you are talking about. I told her straight in the face that my bb need to see the PD and we have to wait for an hour. That shut them up.

But got one stranger very funny. She see me carrying my bb in a sling, she turn to her teenage daughter and tell her that she used to carry her like that too. I just smile.

However I realise small children like to watch my bb. I often see small children getting very excited, saying,"baby! baby!" when they saw KJ.

I remember the first time I brought KJ to my MIL house. She commented that KJ need to be wrap in a receiving bracket and put on a hat. The next time, we went, she said that KJ was very hot, and she take out his receiving bracket and hat.

Another time we go, I let KJ wear a sleeveless creeper. She commented that that was too cold for KJ. Then we go to the great ganny place, she told us next time let KJ go sleeveless because he is very hot. *sign* dunno what they want.

Now my MIL know that KJ cannot sleep in the middle of the night. She want to bring KJ to the temple again. From today onwards, we will not tell our in-law another problem of KJ.

miu,

I read the motherhood magazine and it says dun let bb cry too long, else the bb feel that he/she has been neglected and would cry even louder next time. On the other hand, if we attend to his/her needs immediately, he/she will cry less often next time and feel loved

I dun understand why old pple keep saying dun spoil kid by carrying them. Those are babies leh, how much do they know?? And sometimes they really CRY DOWN THE WHOLE HOUSE.. what to do??? Sometimes my bb cry until tears flow leh. So pathetic.

And most importantly, they are our babies!!! Not theirs.. of course they say until so shiok.

Heee, i never bring my bb out to public before. The only place she go to are both side parents' homes.

maraquan,

Haha, i always let the bb wear WHAT I WANT HER TO WEAR. My mum keep saying how come my bb never wear pants :p i bought a lot of rompers for bb, of course want her to wear out gaigai lah!

Old pple sometimes very funny.. they want bb to be wrapped from head to toe, as though we staying in cold countries.

Ya, actually whatever bb thing we dun tell both side parents. We scared they long winded again. And more often than not, they are trying to 'share' a lot of their past experiences and that really bore us.

kk

yes exactly, i feel babies should be carried as much as you like cos at this time, what more can you offer them, right? all they want is some cuddling and love
my bb also cries until her tears flow sometimes, she looks so pitiful so i always hug her very close to my body when she does that.

i've been bringing my bb out since quite early on. i'm taking care of her myself so i'd go mad if i had to stay at home all day. during the early wks i was a bit concerned abt germs etc but now that she's 8 wks old, i actually think it's gd for her to develop some resistance. my cousin was telling me that in her 18-mth-old kid's playgroup, almost half the kids have asthma and coughs/colds quite often cos they come from overly 'clean' environments and never developed resistance to these common things.

re: irritating FIL
thanks for listening to me whine, ladies!
it's only him who irritates me occasionally lah, my MIL is v nice. i completely trust my MIL and my own parents with the baby cos i can see how much they adore her and after all, they have experience caring for children. but my FIL only knows how to disturb my bb!! i suppose that's his way of playing with her. ok ok, i should stop b*tching.....

miu,

I am always thinking.. if i dun carry her now, when i get back to work.. want to carry also no time liao lah rite?? This is the only time we have with them. After going back to work, will only be night time and pathetic weekends. How much can we do??

Yes, u will go mad if stay at home whole day. That's what happen to me haha.. so i went crazy shopping just now without anybody with me and i enjoyed myself!!

Hey, my colleague just told me the same thing this morning. She said she wanted her bb to get used to the outside environement and build up resistance to germs, get used to pple, etc in the process. Her bb very cute, if dun bring her out, she will be super cranky at nite haha.. her bb likes to go walk walk :p Next week, she is bring her bb to malaysia!! Her bb going to be 4 mths liao.

Haizzz.. actually cannot blame also.. i think fathers of that generation dun handle kids at all. i heard my mil say my fil never carry my hubby's sister at all because he favour son more than daughter.

hi all...long time nv post but still keep track your posting..

me too...very fed up with bb....when bb cry...i try to coax her...then MIL come and take over....and she quiet....oh god...(think i must lesson my gal liao)... seems like im not her mummy... And sometime MIL will say to my gal "u dont want mummy liao har"....arguhhhhh...when i heard it....so angry....and no matter how....must "ren"!!!!!!

Co-sleep:
if bb with us...bb will sleep between me & hubby...And one night...i heard bb make alot of noise...i thought need to feed her liao...but when i wake up and check...OH GOD...hubby roll on her arm....she still nv cry...only making noise as usual....my poor bb....

Pacifier:
sometimes my gal need pacifier to fall sleep....and she always split it out and make noise....need us to feed again... But when i get fed up...i will warn her say : if you split again...mummy wont pick up for u...u have to pick up yourself.... and i will turn to other side not facing her...at last its works...and she fall asleep....(she know mummy angry liao) hahahahaha...

me quite envy for you gals....ur hubby quite co-operative to take care of bb...can coax bb...feed bb..some can even bath & wipe bb.
mine....huh...nv at once...only stand aside to help up...not even feed bb through out...when half way already ask for help.... sometimes feel quite lonely...no hubby support

BB Burp:
for my gal, i feel that she know how to burp than before...now she burp quite fast and loud and wont vomit too....less than 5 mins she will burp liao...not like last time....half an hour oso wont burp..and will vomit...

Most of my encounters with aunties are quite ok so far.. they will just look at my bb, talk to her, play with her thats all...

Maraquan

I intend to get a hospitalisation policy for my bb.. and a whole life plan (those pay for limited term).. you leh?

My insurance agent prosposed
1) whole life medical plan (pay until you die)
2) hospitalisation plan (can claim only if bill is above $2000), use cpf to pay
3) Pink of health (Can claim for bill that is below $2000
4) accidential plan

total will be $150+. Am I spending too much?

Maraquan

Think $150 is ok, but you must see your budget also.. do you feel comfortable setting aside an additional $150 per mth every mth for now?

Hehe I used to be in this line also.. I will also think that hospitalisation plan ranks no 1, follows by whole life critical ilness plan. But I prefer to get those whole life limited pay plan (no need to pay till I die, very shiong leh.. can choose those pay for only 12, 15 or 21 years... then confirm no need to pay after that.. but the premiums are more expensive for these plans of course.. there are various plans in the market which you can go shop shop around.. and I wil also suggest, try not to get all from 1 company.. spread your risk)

I intend to get:

1. hospitalisation plan from Aviva (use CPF)
2. limited pay whole life plan (will check out prudential, aviva, cant remember if AIA has such a plan)
3. endowment plan for education (we intend to do our own investment rather than let other people invest the money for us)

IMHO, think there is no need for accidental plan at the moment (but most of the time accidental plans are very cheap) FYI, many banks, like maybank (cant remember which other banks) offers free accidental coverage for both mother and baby if you open a child's savings acct with them (provide coverage up to 7 times the amount you have inside the acct)

RE: co sleep.

Yesterday my gal slept in cot again. But make a lot of noise. So after the 3.30am feed, I placed her between us to sleep. And she can sleep so much better, noise reduce. After 6.30am feed, I placed her back in cot, she make all those sounds again. So, put her betn us again.....and she can sleep without making a sound.

Conclusion: YY likes to sleep with us. It makes her more secure.

In fact, this morning around 8am I wake up and look at her, she half sleep half awake and smile at me when I say to her,"sleep with mummy nice nice hor".

And so funny, for the 6.30am feed she din make a lot of noise....just snuggle up to me and her head was down at my breast level (she was sleeping with her head at the same level as our heads wor). kekeke...she trying to make her point with action leh!

Mrs Ho,
If I not feeling very good after the day with baby or feeling lazy, I will say to my hubby,"no emotional support" and he will take over from me.

Goodness

I have been so engrossed with baby that I have forgotten that tomorrow is our traditional wedding anniversary liao.. until my SIL reminded me! My hb has also forgotten about it.. worst still.. this is our 1st anniversary somemore.. how can forget?!

I heard from my friend who is a finanical planner that aviva got the hospitalisation plan which if both daddy and mommy purchase the plan A, the children will get to cover for free (for plan B). quite worth to get it i feel.
we might get tat.
for the whole life, which is better? how much protection is enuff?

Help!!! My girl didn't poo yesterday and was crying in the evening. When she finally fall asleep, she can suddenly wake up and cry very loudly. I think she is in pain. Apply Ru Yi Yu already then she only fart never poo. This morning also never poo. See she gek until cry I also heart pain. Anyone knows what can I do to help her poo? BTW, she is on BM and FM.

Irene,
The coverage only till the children is 8 years old. Both parents muz sign up for the same plan.. the pro is there is no limits to the withdrawl of hospitalization stay unlike the others.. but the con is the premium is higher than those other insurance coys plans.

For whole life, depends on what u looking for.. I wouldn't recommend that we overcover our children but ourselves more important. Depending on how much u need to cover, e.g. if still got house mortgage and car mortgage and some loans tat total up to 100k, then u need to make sure that if anything happens to you, there is at least enuf $ 2 pay for the hse and the loans tat the insurance coy can pay to ur family... this way, our children will ve hse to stay in n no worries on debts/loans tat we make.

Just my tots.

I m too looking at Aviva n may consider getting a term protection for 2 years for myself since I am still working as a contract staff. Term protection is cheaper than the whole life protection.. dun need any savings now.. juz to make sure these 2 years, Xuan Ting n hb can go on with the $ if anything happens to me.

Irene

Yup.. agree with Evon. BTW you and hb will have to be under Aviva myshield plan 1 or 2 (both must be same plan) then baby can be covered till 8 years old.. both me and hb under plan 1 liao.. but I intend to get a separate plan for Amanda, im being ks here.. cos if anything were to happen to her *touch wood* within these 8 years, and if I try to apply for a separate plan for her when shes 8 years old, Aviva might reject the application.. thus better to cover oneself when you are well and healthy...im paying via CPF $142 per annum.. for now till im 31 years old.. then the premium will increase accordingly to age band

Most importantly is that you've got to cover yourself and hb adequately.. for eg.. if your mortgage is under bank loan and you did not buy mortgage insurance.. pls pls.. go get a mortgage insurance 1st.. this is to ensure that your children will have a roof above their head shld anything happen to the 2 of you.. there is a very cheap term plan by Aviva (SAF insurance plan) think the coverage is $200,000 and premium is only about $32 per month? Cant really remember the premiums liao.. and as spouse.. can sign up as well and the premium is discounted.. remember the good thing about this plan is that the premium does not increase with age.. you can play with the calculator below

Can check out the website here:

http://www.aviva-singapore.com.sg/group-life/saf-premium-calculator.htm

I am so happy that there are so many insurance expert here. When it come to insurance, I tend to agreed with whatever my agent said because I got totally no idea and my husband dun really care. *sign*

My house is under HDB loan. If either of us die, I think the other party will not have to pay the remaining amount. But if both of us die, the house will automatic go to the baby. Am I correct?

All my insurance are from AIA, the same agent is now trying to sell me for my bb. She give me 3 choices, one pay and cover until 21 year old (sum assured is very low), one pay until 8 years, cover until die (sum assured is reasonable) and the last one pay and cover until you die (sum assured is very high) but if I take up on this one, I can tell my son to pay when he comes out working. She sugguested the last one.

hunniepot,
for the accidental plan, is there any other bank that offer this? I have not even open any bank account for my bb yet, have not go and study each bank yet. Is there a min amount you got to keep in your bb bank account?

Another question, why is accidental plan not needed at this moment? My agent told me this is needed.

maraquan

I cant really remember which of the banks offer the accidental coverage for savings a/c.. maybank is one of them.. if im not wrong, it is either UOB or DBS.. good thing about maybank's savings a/c is that you only need min $200 to open a children's a/c, whereas for the rest of the banks, the next lowest: DBS / POSB is $500 if not, $2 charge per month will be levied...

OCBC: min $1000
DBS / POSB: MIN $500
UOB: min $3000
Maybank: min $200
Not too sure about the rest of the foreign banks

In my opinion, accidental coverage is not needed for baby at this stage, most accidental plans are for death / total and permanent disabilities arising from accidents . it is more suitable for people who travel alot.. for eg: sales pple.. who are always on the road... exclusive accidental plans mainly pays double the amt of Sum Assured... think not necessary lor.. as other plans almost also covers death by accident.. just that only the sum assured is payable

Yup.. for the Aviva plan, there is a min amt to reach b4 you can claim.. for eg: Plan 1: (deductible) ranges from $1000 to $3000 depending on the ward you are staying in.. on top of that.. there is also a 10% coinsurance.. for eg: hospital bill is $10,000; say if deductible is $3000 and coinsurance is 10%. You pay: $3000 + ($7000 * 10%) = $3,700 while Aviva will pay the balance (hey.. my calculations might be wrong here.. Evon, nana, pls correct me if it is wrong... as abit rusty liao).. something similar to pink of health from aviva is ideal medical. The plan helps you to pay for the deductible and coinsurance portion but I find it a little costly leh.. still considering whether i should get it or not

nana,

wow, enjoy ur trip! Me also hope that i can make it for the HK trip before i go back teaching. Hope i dun have to deal with so much school work at home in july, so that i will have time for the trip
My hubby asked me to start planning now.. air tics, hotel acc and all that. But i lazy :p

My girl not yet shave hair. Will shave bald in her 4th mth
Dunno how she look then

nana,

i heard hubby's colleague say she also trimmed her kids' eyelashes that time. Now her kids' eyelashes all longgg and niceeee

for those engaged CL, how much do u give her angbao ar ? tomolo she is leaving liao.. roughly how much shld give ar?

nana

I just transferred my plan from income to Aviva... find that income has alot of hidden costs, and sub limits leh...

Any of you ladies using a changing table cum bath tub on a stand? I have been using a changing mat, but I place it on the bed to change my bb's diapers.. and realised that it is very bad for my posture.. and my back hurts as a result

hunniepot

yes, i have the changing table cum tub. it's a good size and nicely padded. me and hubby find the changing table very very useful, esp hubby cos he's tall. when i'm lazy to carry baby to the table, sometimes i change her on my bed or sofa and my back does ache. having the tub there isn't so useful for me cos i don't wan't to have to carry a bucket of water into the baby's room to bathe her, so we took the tub out (it is removable) and we put it in our bathroom. occasionally, hubby will roll the whole stand (it's on wheels) into our bathroom and put the tub back onto the stand to bathe her, much easier for him that way cos as i mentioned, he's quite tall and it's hard for him to bend down to bathe her.

miu66

Yeah... Im considering getting that cos my back really hurts after almost 3 months of bending over to shower and change my bb... As Im pretty tall as well, so it is very straining on my back... regretted not buying earlier! You shower your bb in the room?

no, i bathe her in our bathroom. i took out the baby tub that comes with the stand and put it into our long bath and bathe her there. i'm short so i'm ok with bending over our big bathtub. only hubby prefers to use the baby tub in the stand. the design of the whole set is actually quite good IMHO, cos the tub has a stopper and comes with a detachable draining tube. so if you want to bathe yr bb in his/her room, you could bring the bath water to the room in a pail to fill the tub, then release the stopper to drain the water back into the pail when you are done.

i'd definitely recommend this if you are tall. now is prob a gd time to buy cos of GSS. i saw 2 diff types of this at kiddy palace marine sq (20% off storewide) the other day.

just wondering how much 'tummy time' you mommies give yr babies? i've been putting my bb on her tummy for a while everyday so that she can strengthen her neck and arms, but she gets fed up after a while and starts fussing.

anybody tried Q-Zin catering b4?any comments?coz looking for a halal caterer for my bb full month next sat..

miu66

Thanks for the info on the changing table hehe.. think I will go get it soon... the kiddy palace tubs.. is it on offer price already? Still have 20% discount?

Baby Poo:
my gal oso not pooing everyday....she only poo once in 2 days.... or once a day..
but i saw March thread got 1 baby nv poo for 6 solid days...and its ok le...

How to get baby to sleep without carrying? Mine been refusing to put down n get worse. Then like she got alot of wind..cry n burp. Sometimes sleep get woken up by it.

babe,

Try putting ruyi oil on bb after every feed. It works for my girl! At least when she cries, u can rule out the possibility of wind in the tummy.

There was one time when mine loves to be carried and rocked too. Recently i find that no need liao. I can just put her on the bed, play music for her and somehow play with her for some time, pat her and she will fall asleep after tat. If she dun sleep, at least i enjoy quality time with her and she won't make noise. She will even smile!

And i also realise she love to be in the infant car seat. So i will just put her in the car seat if she get sick of the rocker. With so many options, i am relieved no need to carry her around in the day liao :p

At nite, she wants to be carried at times because she know her daddy around!! Her daddy really spoils her.. sigh!

hey can i check do u guys experienced ur bb one of eyelash dropped into their eyeball like we adult ar??
den how to take out?

babe,

does yr bb want to be carry to sleep all day or only certain time of the day. I notice my son has this preference to carry to sleep only in the afternoon, at times in the morning. This is one of the stage and now he is ok unless he is super cranky.

what kind of activities u gals play w yr bb to make them laugh and smile? My son likes to smile in his dozing mood leh. other than that he is looking around and seem happy but not smile. He is 7 wks only.

twinkle-starry

For my baby, no need for activities to make her laugh or smile.. she loves people to talk to her all the time.. she will laugh and smile non stop whenever we talk to her

hunnipot.
so envy leh. tis boy also love to hv ple talk but he just open his eyes big big and stare at u lor. At times he give that kind of expression like want to smile and not type of expression. so funni.

kk, can put ru yi oil so many times a day? How old is ur gal when that happens? I try play n pat her to sleep but no use. keep have to carry n worse now she wakes when put to bed. I sure hope this phase gets over. Wanna train her but scare she colic n worse if cry more wind.

twinkle star, I think mine is all day.. coz after feed n play she will cry n i think tired, try to carry n pat to sleep. Doze off I try put bed she cry big time. Funny is if I respond auick to cry, she stop once I step out of bedrm n doze off.

hunniepot,

Hey, same same hee.. my girl smile a lot today and really happy about it
That's what satisfaction is all about - to see them smile ya?

I talked to her a lot today and also pat her, play music to her, then massage her with lotion etc. She is happy about it

Twinkle,

Ur boy acting cool! Heee...

Babe,

Hmmm, i think not a problem to put ruyi oil after every feed. It was around week 6 and i find that this method works on her.

Of course after some time, if u notice u dun put ruyi oil on her and she is ok, then u can stop this method liao
U dun have to adopt this method alll the time