(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

Good morning mommies!
I learnt dat 2 pineapple tarts a day is equivalent to the no. of calories intake we need each day. Hence, cld it be dat reason your gynae forbid you to eat in case put on too much weight? (cos if I started 1, I dun tink I can stop at 2 tarts...kekeke)

Any of you mommies believe in the Chinese red color book which tells you the auspicious time to do certain thing etc (sorrie dunno the term for dat book)...me heard from husband's colleague dat this yr, bb born in lunar month March, ie, our April tend to be sickly..I dun believe in the Chinese thingy but now dat I'm preg and it concerns BB, me abit worried, how I wish I was not told at least won' be so paranoid. wat's more how to control the birth timing rite? me EDD is 6 may but I've decided to go C-sect on 20 April onwards if possible...
Dunno why tho I'm petite in size but my 1st and this preg I'm overweight..I've put on 3kg in Dec and total weight put on till now is 9kg!!!! Gynae says my pelvic is small so C-sect is better so I happily go for dat with this "valid" reason ;p
Hi Evon, I reckon your job needs you to drive? Thank God you & BB are fine. Does your car comes with airbag at both front seats?

wow, me abit lengthy bet bcos I've not contributed much since Dec..kekeke....
363221.gif

Hi Juzmaine

Long time no see!

That chinese red book which states that the lunar March babies tend to be sickly.. does it refer to this particular lunar year only?

Hmm.. don't think that 2 pineapple tarts is equivalent to a whole day's diet lar.. we need around 2,000 to 2,200 calories a day.. and each pineapple tart is about 180 calories.. which is definately less than the amount required daily for us preggies..

Hi hunniepot
hehehe, me MIA since last Dec cos BZ at work, but read the thread at nite to relax lo..;p
i was told it's this new year..sometimes it's better not to noe than noe, makes me think more esp now pregnant..sigh..so need verification, hopefully not true...
huh, great news if the tarts are 180 calories..but me gotta refrain, cannot afford to put on more cos it's me who's gaining too much...kekeke

Juzmaine

So this is your second pregnancy? How much did you put on for the first? I'm alot worse off than you.. I have put on a total of about 15 kg so far.. maybe cos Im big sized thats why.. put on 6 kg for the month of dec and luckily only 1.8 kg in Jan (despite the cny cookies I have been gorging myself with

Morning, ladies. I'm back. Yesterday was the 1st lesson @ TMC. Unlike those /w Mrs Wong, mine was Sis Lim. She mentioned tat in class, no pineapple but pineapple tarts were fine except 4 the calories 2 watch out 4 since it contains sugar, butter n starchy ingredients.

Juzmaine, actually I was told by the geomancer sometime back. He indicated tat our 1st born is prone to sickness. Not sure how true... but hopefully it is not true. So, can't b the red book so accurate, rite?? =p

Hihi Evon!
hehehe, did she mentioned abt "ba gua"? another irresistable goodies ;p
You mean only 1st born in lunar March tis coming year? Hopefully not true yeah? We can't control mah..my colleague told me she only knows dat every year's April is actually lunar March, ie. the QingMing month...mmm...

I missed out so much. I just got recovered after a bad cough. Had too much pineapple tarts and ba gua.

Just to share... My gynae told me not to take too much starfruits, grapes, oranges as these fruits tend to create phelgm. U all may want to take note. If you choose C-section and have phelgm, wound may be painful when you need to clear your throat. And baby may have phelgm too.

Juzmaine, she did mention 2 avoid anything 2oo high calories.. n if we want 2 get back same figure b4 pregnancy.. not > than 15kg throughout the whole pregnancy period. Else, may add on some more.
So, got to count calories lor.

Regards to 1st born.. he was refering to hb n my 1st born... saying we not healthy, hardly exercise blah blah... but he didn't predict we've 1stborn bb in lunar March leh. =)

Well... we can't change the lunar months.. Anyway my MIL was saying tix year a tricky year.. as there re two lunar seventh months leh.

ooo.....
sigh, think the best is try not to tink abt it..but sometimes can't help, cos I'll be distracted if BB fall sick, esp I've experienced dat wif my first gal. when she fell sick, I can't concentrate working, wld rush back & personally take her to see gynae. Worst she hates medicine so it took longer to recover..hopefully this boy is not ike dat, if not cannot work liao ;p

dun worry too much on the prediction. It might not be true.

Just want to check how much weight did each of you put on since pregnancy?

Juzmaine,

so u put on about 8kg. are you very big? I was abt 58kg and now abt 65kg. Put on abt 7kg. But pple around me keep telling me I'm small. so i got a bit worried.

Does anyone of you know where i can get those nightgown buttons in front? i was looking around but couldn't find any.

Hi Tracy,
PPle ard me, even chicken rice hawker tot I'm gonna deliver soon but me still hv 3 mths or so to go leh..big for my size..me shld worry cos it's weighing me down...get breathless more regularly...

Anyone taking the Neurogain PB fish oil? I am doing a bulk purchase from a friend and she is able to offer $26.50 for a minimum of 5 bottles. I am from the June 06 thread. :

Anyone keen, pls do hurry email me at [email protected]

Happy Chinese New Year!

Hi Tracy

I got my button down nightgowns from those neighhbourhood clothing stores.. mine is from Toa Payoh central.. pretty cheap.. each piece at $13.. but looks abit aunty though.. but its pretty comfortable

Any one of you experiencing any first trimester symptoms now that we are in the 3rd trimester? Seems like the nausea is back for me (but not as serious as 1st trimester).. getting tired very easily nowadays.. seems to be going to the toilet more frequently too

hi hunniepot

Me too. I've been nauseous recently, puke almost every morning.

Re: Weight Gain
I've put on about 10kg. I feel like an elephant. My husband called me humpty dumpty.

Hunniepot, same 4 me too. Me got little bit of nausea.. but what irritates me is burping of the acidic juice. So looks like need to take honey again.

For toilet wise, ya.. noticed it since over weekend though didn't drink much water.. n having slight pain during passing urine.

Then constant wakeup at nights. Not to go toilet.. just wake up with eyes open.

Then over emotional again. Hb raised his voice on me yesterday evening n i broke down in tears though he wasn't at fault..

Then over sensitive.. started wondering a lot of -ve stuff these few days too.. like "would hb b raising his voice again on me?", "why ppl just like 2 use me as punch bag?" or even towards whatever my colleagues are saying, thinking that they re trying to backstab or to make me lose my contract etc...

Sunshine & Evon

Yeah.. was quite surprised that the nausea came back again.. sian.. thought it is gone for good after 1st trimester! Seems like my heart palpitation is getting more frequent too.. like almost every day for 10 to 20 mins each time

My hubby calls me "fei po' (cantonese for fat woman) now.. he seems to enjoy calling me that..

I have been feeling very emotional also.. can feel upset for no reason at all.. must learn to control.. otherwise might end up getting post-natal blues next time??

Me also getting very emotional, don't know why, sometimes cry or get angry over small matters, haiz......

Also going to toilet more frequently.

As for weight gain, used to weigh 47kg, so far put on 5kg, now 52kg liao, hope won't have a hard time slimming down after giving birh.

Just like to ask your opinions, do you all think it's advisable to travel to Malaysia for 10 days during the Chinese New Year Period? That means will only be back in Singapore on 6th Feb. I will be going there by car & it takes abt 7 hours to reach there. Actually don't really feel like going cos now always need to go toilet, very troublesome. Haven't check with my gynae yet whether it's advisable to go as my appt is on this Wed. What do you gals think?

Hi Kim

I don't think it's really appropriate for you to travel for so long now leh... Even for me, I'm supposed to accompany my in-laws to Johor on 1st day of CNY visit, I'm exempted from going there...luckily...

The toilet thingy would be very cumbersome for us already, not to mention abt other discomfort that we are suffering at this 3rd trimester liao leh...

That day my hubby also raise his voice at me. Wow! I cried from Sengkang all the way to Kovan. Somemore got to change from MRT to take bus. My mom got a shock from me.

Now my hubby is very careful what he said to me.

When do you think we all should pack our bags for the hospital stay? What shall we pack inside?

Hi Kim

I also dont think you shld go all the way to Msia.. esp a 7 hrs car journey! Think the discomforts of 3rd trimester will worsen then...

I am thinking of packing the hospital bag at 35th week... not too sure what to pack inside.. perhaps the following:

1. Some bb clothes (on day of discharge)
2. Our PJs
3. Nursing bras
4. Breast pump
5. Handphone charger
6. Maternity Pads
7. Disposable panties
8. Mittens & booties
9. Receiving blanket
10. 1 packet of wet wipes
11. Your own set of clothings on day of discharge
12. Facial cotton (to wash wound)
13. Admission Letter
14. I/C / Marriage cert
15. Digital camera
16. Sweater (as it might be cold in the ward)
17. Lip balm
18. Slippers
19. Breast pads
20. Toiletries

Hi terrier & hunniepot,

Thanks for all your advice, hmmm, don't know how leh.... think maybe have to cancel my trip liao cos actually my mum also quite worried abt me travelling there.

Think we can pack our hospital bags 1 mth in advance???

hunniepot,
think you can add 1 more thing to the list: The receipt for the package we signed with our gynae so that we can claim $450 from Medisave.

Hi... a question to ask... do any of u sleep with ur bra on???

I juz found it a bit hard since pregnancy and prefers not to put on bra.

Hi Kim, agreed... saw tix.. draik..
http://app.ica.gov.sg/serv_citizen/birth_death_reg/birth_registration.asp

Documents Required
Notification of Live Birth issued by the hospitals;
Both parents' identity cards;
Original marriage certificate;
Both parents' passports, entry permit and Disembarkation/Embarkation card issued by ICA (for foreigners);
A letter of authorisation from the parents of the child, if someone else registers the birth on behalf of the parents.

Two more things to the list:

1. Some bb clothes (on day of discharge)
2. Our PJs
3. Nursing bras
4. Breast pump
5. Handphone charger
6. Maternity Pads
7. Disposable panties
8. Mittens & booties
9. Receiving blanket
10. 1 packet of wet wipes
11. Your own set of clothings on day of discharge
12. Facial cotton (to wash wound)
13. Admission Letter
14. I/C (both parents)/ Marriage cert
15. Digital camera
16. Sweater (as it might be cold in the ward)
17. Lip balm
18. Slippers
19. Breast pads
20. Toiletries
<font color="0000ff">21. Disposable diapers</font>
<font color="0000ff">22. Gynae receipts (for medisave claim)</font> Thanks Kim!

Evon

I haven't been sleeping with bra since pregnancy.. as I find it very uncomfortable.. very restrictive..

.. 2day went look for bra.. n seem like becoz of tummy getting bigger.. my breast cup still only A... so sad... =(

Dunno got milk 2 give bb or not..

My brother in-law reminded me that I have to print my baby name in a proper Chinese font and bring it to the hospital if I want to register the Chinese name there. Or else, the chinese name will be your husband handwriting and my hubby &amp; I got horrible handwriting.

If my husband wants to seek "you long zhi" on the Chinese name, that means I dun have to bring those documents to the hospital? We might wait for a few days before deciding on the name.

Hihi Evon,
Dun worrie, size doesn't determine the amt of milk we can provide BB with ;p Me size A but after delivered my 1st gal, breast got to B and produced much milk, think gotta do with the milk glands &amp; things we eat to help stimulate ;p Was told by gynae dun drink essence with "dong Chong cao" cos it'll stop milk production.

Hihi Maraquan, You mean they will paste our printout on the birth cert? Me wrote my gal's name in her cert &amp; my handwriting spoil the whole look of the cert..shld've printed out leh....

any of you gals experience body aching? Mine seems to get worse, any way I toss/turn needs slow motion, too aching dat it makes me feel sick...
363878.gif

Thanks, Juzmaine.

ME hope so too.. So scared tat can't feed enuf 2 bb...

Morning, ladies.. last nite really can't sleep.. was like on-off awake mode.. sigh.. hopefully won't b dozing off in the afternoon.

Juzmaine, where particularly's ur pain? Mine's when standing up from sitting position.. the sharp pain at the bottom of spinal area.. n pelvic area..

Yes Evon, same! Now even when I lie down, I can't sleep face up, get breathless, so I tried to turn sideway but the pain is stopping me from turning fast, gotta turn very slowly...
And i juz puke and hv diarrhoea again....feel sick....

It's me, evon.. but changed my nick 2 koalarie..

<font color="blue">Juzmaine</font>, you okay? At home? Or at work?

For me, lying down's getting > smoother .. not as pain as last time.. but only when move from sitting to standing.

Found another interesting website... http://www.netkidswear.com/bedding.html.... got many nice bedding sets leh.. tot of using VPOSTUSA to get another set 4 bb Elsy. =p

Seems like the April MTB thread is pretty slow moving nowadays.. even the May and June MTB threads have more no of posts than ours...

Evon

The netskidswear website looks pretty good.. esp the preciousmoments and winnie the pooh bed set
You are going to order through them?

My hubby's korean friend gave us the winnie-the-pooh bumper playmat as a gift
so happy! She also gave us a set of bb clothes.. and kept reminding us that it has to be the first set of clothes that she wears when she pops out.. and it is their korean culture.. whereby they will bring that very set of clothes along with them for good luck in future such as examinations.. interviews etc..

So lucky, hunniepot. Me n hb bought a set from Kids Mall @ IMM, n got one free set from BB Kingdom but dun like BB Kingdom's one.. n yet cannot refund 2 get lower pricing of the bb Cot.

My bb cot has arrived on Monday n so busy looking what to decorate in the room n for bb.

I pretty like both winnethepot and preciousbabe sets but need pink colour... (geomancer said as close as possible 2 my hb's colour which is red!)

Sigh.

yaya... i wonder how come thread so slow nowadays too... where's preciousbabe? Jasminetea? Cheona? BBLim? Mrs Ho? And all the rest??

BTW.. juz went to AMK's NTUC on Friday.. I can't believe tat I can't find "S" size for Petpet at such a big NTUC department there.. then I check out Cold storage at CompassPt.. oso dun ve.. So ended up buying a small pack of "S" size of Pampers first. Any ladies noe where to get "S" size ones??? seem 2b very limited...

Evon

Think 2 bedding sets enough liao lar.. dont need to spend too much.. think I have busted my budget.. and I dont even dare to update my spreadsheet to see how much I have spent in total!

If you are looking for nice pink bedding sets.. Aussino just came up with those baby bumper sets.. retailing at $69.90.. quite nice..

Are you gals going to decorate the nursery? I have yet to do so and don't intend to do so first.. as I guess bb will be sleeping in my room at least for the 1st few yrs or so?

I am going to NTUC later.. help you see if they have.. but I guess no need to buy so many for now right? I have altogether 4 to 5 packets liao.. scared it might be too much...

Yeah.. where are the rest of them? Quite sian to log in and dont see new posts...

Juzmaine, still going gai gai?? =p

Well.. I oso want to...

Hunnipot, do we need to air the mattress b4 we deliver??? Scared got smell n bb not used to it.

By the way, ur list of what to bring to hospital very detailed leh.. my hb oso told me muz start packing already..

Evon

Think should air it under the sun lor.. better this way.. but got abit of headache.. as my place gets no sun from anywhere.. blocked by the neighbouring blocks of flats..

I compiled the list from another thread... what other MTBs suggested.. I just put together thats all... my hb also getting very kan cheong.. asking me which bag I am going to use liao.. hey.. seems like there are quite good comments abt mothercare maternity pads.. and it is on offer now..

I feel so happy
CNY is coming!! Although I need to give red packets but I still like CNY leh...abit stupid hor, give $ also so happy...

Evon,
U bought S-size for your diapers ah? I juz heard frm my fren that we shld get diapers for Newborns coz S-size might be too big for bb. For me, I intend to use mammypoko but mammypoko doesn't have Newborn size so mayb will use pampers for Newborn then when bb Jayden outgrows then switch to mammypoko.
U going to seek 'you long zhi' to name bb Elsy? Heard it's not good right and expensive right?

hunniepot,
U going to bring so many things to hospital? I think PJ no need to bring as u will be wearing the hospital's gowns. Pads think hospital will also provide unless u don't want to use the loop kind lor. Heehee...I look at yopur list, reminds me of going to 3 days 2 nights chalet coz I dont intend to bring so much stuff