(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

bblim,
the detail scan cost $90++ i think.. can't really remember the actual price.

Detail scan is to check the organs of the baby and the gender also... and the features of the baby...
Should be clearer than what our gynae is having ba... this i'm not sure... however, it's not a 3D or 4D scan.

Afternoon ladies,
Just came back frm Gleneagles. Accompanied my mum for a checkup and also consult the gynae with regards to my cramps in the lower abdomen. Apparently it's not the womb stretching that is causing the cramps for my case. The gynae told me that my womb is too tight and is straining...if the condition gets worse, I may suffer a miscarriage. So have to rest more...

*Sign* Looks like I have to stay at home and not run about liao...No more Korea trip for me too.

hi preciousbabe
I'm sorry to know your condition...U know why that happens? I thought our womb would increase it's size as pregnancy develops? Did your personal gynae oso said the same thing?

Good Afternoon.....

Hi Muahchie
Welcome to the forum

Hi Preciousbabe
Really ar dat serious ar???? Wow den u better kwai kwai rest in bed of cos no more Korea trip until bb pop out liao!

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>Loving</TD><TD>30/03/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bbtree</TD><TD>30/03/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr A.L. Lim</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kokopooh</TD><TD>30/03/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr LC Foong</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joan</TD><TD>05/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kyla</TD><TD>06/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little Fish</TD><TD>07/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Goh Shen Li</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mochie</TD><TD>09/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Jeanette Chen</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Preciousbabe</TD><TD>10/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Cordelia Han</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wishbear</TD><TD>10/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jolie</TD><TD>12/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Lai</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasminetea</TD><TD>15/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rach</TD><TD>16/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Muahchie</TD><TD>16/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jo</TD><TD>17/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Des</TD><TD>17/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Don Wong</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrs Ho</TD><TD>18/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr SW Seng</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Irene</TD><TD>19/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cutecute</TD><TD>20/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Terrier</TD><TD>20/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Leereiner</TD><TD>20/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Gordon Lim</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maraquan</TD><TD>21/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Winne</TD><TD>22/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>DR KK Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>BBLim</TD><TD>23/04/2006</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Anna</TD><TD>23/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mandy</TD><TD>25/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr T C Chang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Evonlimsy</TD><TD>25/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Telly</TD><TD>26/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Smurfy</TD><TD>26/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emon</TD><TD>27/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nana</TD><TD>27/04/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Taurus</TD><TD>03/05/2006</TD><TD></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gebbera</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lemontree</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Adelene</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </td></tr></table>

<font color="0000ff">Total No of Boys : 2</font>
<font color="ff0000">Total No of Girls : 3</font>

terrier, irene, winnie
I don't know wats the cause but gynae just asks me to be careful lor. Apparently the bb is lying very low in my womb and it kind of added stress to the womb. And if my womb gives way, then u ladies know the outcome. I also didn't get to see the gender as bb was lying in a position with legs to block that gender part. So now I have to eat the 'an tai yao' to strengthen my womb + lots of bed rest.

Personal gynae at KKH was not concerned when I raised up my cramps problem, just told me that it was the womb stretching and the pain will go away, didn't even bother to check for me. Anyway, my pain is consistent and is intensifying everyday regardless when I'm standing, sitting or even lying on the bed.

So ladies, if u have craming experience, better tell ur gynae and make sure ur gynae gives u a detailed checkup and not just tell u it's due to stretching of the womb. Miscarriages can still happen in 2nd trimester, so take care.

Preciousebabe
332823.gif

you gotta take plenty of rest and bu your womb, ok? dun worry, everything will turn out fine.. dun 4get, REST, REST, REST hor..

preciousbabe, in the case, maybe you should change your gynae... seems like the gynae in KKH dun really care about this..
Now do rest well and dun carry heavy stuffs...
and dun strain your tummy too much also

Hi Preciousbabe,

Do take care and rest well! Everything's alright, dun worry too much ok?

By the way, when did ur cramps start? Is your problem the same as that of low placenta?

Hi preciousbabe,
I went to see my gynae yesterday regarding the cramp. He said there are different type of pain. Some pain may cause by join problem, some may cause by worries, some may cause by constipation which i have constipation problem. He gave me some tablet for constipation to take at night. I felt slightly better today. He also mentioned that so long as the pain is not like period pain should be ok. He said if i experience period pain kind of cramp must go for injection.

preciousbabe
take care n rest well....but don't over-worry too much okie...stress oso no good....

Thank u for sharing...that raise our alarm not to take things lightly...now I am feeling bb becoming more and more precious as it grows inside....

preciousbabe, take good care. Rest well.

Talking about that, think i better call my gynae to ask on my back ... it seems to be aching since few days ago.

Hey ladies,
Thanks for all the concern and support shown. Really needed them as hubby not ard. Heehee...don't worry too much abt me coz I've experienced 2 unsuccessful pregnancies b4 so have mental preparation more or less. After a good nap just now, I have overcome the feeling of hopelessness and disappointment I had when I saw the gynae.

irene,
Will discuss with hubby when he returns to decide on whether to change gynae or not.

kk,
mine is not a case of low placenta coz gynae didnt mention anything abt that. My cramps was on and off during the first trimester. It became intense and consistent ever since I entered the 2nd trimester last mth.

caimao,
ya, the gynae says if the cramps still persist though I have taken medicine, then I have to take jabs liao.

haha...though I have raised the alarm of not taking things lightly, I also hope I have not turned u ladies into paranoid MTB

Alright ladies,
This is my last posting liao...going for my tv marathon again..heehee...gdnite all and see u all again in this thread tmr. Sweet dreams

preciousbabe,

i hope you get lots of rest. since you are a SAHMTB, you can just rest in bed the whole day long, right? don't move around too much, okay?

take care!

anyone still has that terrible aftertaste in your mouth after you eat or drink something? i simply hate that feeling but i dont know how to get rid of that horrid taste!

hi everybody,
Good Morning...

Hi preciousbabe,
I think it's a good idea to change ur gynae! For ur case i think u need extra care &amp; really really lotsa lotsa rest! Hope u're feeling better after a good nite sleep

Hi Preciousbabe,

Don't worry. I think it is good that you share your experience with us. Glad that you went to another gynae for 2nd opinion and now can take more precaution. Take care and rest well.

Hi Telly, have you tried drinking Ribena or Honey? I used to have that but in 1st trim. Feel better after I drank Ribena or Honey. U can try that too if you haven't try.

Cheers~

preciousbabe... do rest well... we are all behind you...
telly, i still do have that aftertaste... it's awful right... dunno how to get rid of it...

Preciousbabe, hope you are feeling better today. Stay positive ok! A good mood can lift spirits and can let baby know how know u love him/her, so baby will also hang on for you...:) If you feel bored, can rent dvd to watch. Thats what I do when i am too tired to go anywhere except lie in bed or couch...I just found a service tt lets us rent unlimited amt of dvd every month, with no time limit and i hv already subsribed to it. Good for confinement period too!

bblim, yesterday i went to my antenatal class and apparently, its good to go for the detailed scan becos it helps u detect the abnormalities of the baby. So if the scan shows problems, u can go for further tests like the amnio.

long time didn't login. hope everyone is doing fine. likely i m expecting a baby gal but will confirm again next week. congrats to all who already knew their bb gender.

my baby has been kicking me frequently nowaday. i get paraonoid whenever i didnt feel the movement. i think this is due to being first time mom to be

preciousbabe: remain positive okie. most important is that to hv enough rest. for preggie woman, having sufficient rest is crucial. i believe everything will be smooth for u &amp; ur baby. ~cheers~

bbtree

irene: the feeling is great right? yes agree at night when we are relaxing &amp; resting, baby seems more active. for me, last few dayz during daytime, i also feel my baby movement, really enjoy their kick

muahchie: i start to feel my baby movement @week 18 (last week). this week onward, the movement has been very active. according to my gynae it is going to be more &amp; more active
ur turn is coming soon &amp; enjoy this bonding wif ur baby. while typing now, i already feel the baby kick on &amp; off...very amazing

bbtree, so envious!! hee... I learnt in my antenatal class that its good to count the number of times baby move or kick you every day, so that you can monitor the well being of your baby. Try doing that!!

BBB, U're welcome!

Afternoon ladies,
heehee...I just woke up! Amazing right? But don't misunderstand, I woke up late coz I slept at 3 last night...heehee...so 12 hours sleep, just nice

telly &amp; irene,
don't drink ribena too much to get rid of the taste coz it's very sweet and may cause diabetes...try honey better coz it's healthier

bbtree,
wow, u can feel bb kicking already ah? must be a wonderful feeling...heehee...don't know when's my turn...

anyway, check with u ladies ah...my bb is now ard 12cm long only, is it too small for a 18wk?
Actually abit confused by my gynaes, coz KKH says I'm 18 wks, then gleneagles says Im only 17wk...think difference by 1wk is ok but I just want to know if my bb is of the right size coz I only gained 2kg so far and didnt eat much..so I'm kind of worried too that my bb is undersize coz it only weighs ard 201g now

muahchie,
have u tried out the DVD rental already? Are they efficient and did they deliver as promised? Hmm...most importantly, the movie titles really got alot is it?

Hi preciousbabe, good 'morning'! Yes i have tried out, its pretty good! They deliver via singpost and it gets into ur mailbox direct. And they provide u a pre-paid envelope so once u finish, u mail back via post and they will send u the next one! Every 1 time u can hold up to 3 dvds, so u will always hv something to watch while u post back and wait for the new one to come..(I sound like machiam their advertising agent..keke) Just that I love to watch movie but too tired to keep going cinema nowadays. Quite a lot of movie titles. U can check out the website, I posted just now for BBB.

muachie,
heehee...looks like u really enjoy the rental service, ok will try it out...

I'm ok, just had lunch. Homemade chicken curry with rice, now enjoying my dessert, choc eclair. Hmm...the bakery at my place sells really delicious choc eclair...yummy

preciousbabe... your gynae even told you the baby weight?
My gynae did not measure the length for me this time round.. just check on the circumference of the baby head and stomach and the length of the thigh bone... to determine the size of the baby..
i din gain much also... only ard 3kg from before pregnant till now...
gynae say as long as baby is growing well... slow weight gain shouldn't pose a problem

irene,
gleneagles gynae generate a report after the scan and it has all the statistics of the bb lor..
just abit worried that my bb is too small size..heehee...

Preciousbabe, guess u shld be alright. Coz at 16wks mine is abt 10.1cm. So interesting hearing u gals describe bb kick. Me still not sure if mine did. Usually dun last...

Hmm..when u gals starting antenatal class? I shld be signing up TMC soon but since I going hols in dec think will start Jan. Too late?

babe,
Im starting my antenatal class on the 25th this month. As KKH antenatal class is 12 lessons, mine will end at the end of Feb. So if ur class also stretches that long then it will end late March..which is abit late...think u better check with TMC how long is the course.

Just to share something.. for my past 3 visits, my gynae has been using one formula to calculate the number of weeks bb is in. He always take a 6.5 + the length of the bb = number of weeks. So for example, preciousbabe is in wk 18, the length of bb will be somewhere around 11.5 cm.

I dunno whether the above formula works subsequently or not.. heeee..

Hi babe

I have already started my antenatal class at KKH. They advised that we start around 16 weeks, because the whole course takes abt 10 sessions. But I think as long as u finish before ur due date, it shd be fine.

For my class, it starts in early Nov and ends in Jan next year.

muahchie,
u started ur class liao is it? ask u hor, is it very cold in there? boring or not? 1st lesson important? I may have to miss my 1st lesson as got to fetch hubby from the airport on 25th leh.

i'm not attending any antenatal classes...
feeling so sleeply now... waiting for time to knock off.
gals, are your tummy showing already?
mine is so obvious now...

HI preciousbabe, yes started yesterday..hmm..not very cold but because i am afraid of the cold, I always hv my cardigan with me. Just bring ur cardi along...Well, for the first class, nothing much. It basically talks abt the changes to your body blah blah that kind of stuff. Things you already know. Oh, but if there are freebies, I think they will give on the first lesson cos I got mine yesterday.

Irene, my tummy is very obvious too!! but I still don't get seats on the mrt leh.

hi Muahchie

Can share what the antenatal class at KKH consists? Mount Alvenia one not called antenatal class and only consists of 6 sessions leh and we only start at week 24 leh...

ya.. me too... so what i do is if i'm in the interchange, i will wait for the queue to be shorter to make sure i have a seat before i board the bus

Good morning all MTBs!!!!

Ohayo!!!

Muachie,
Wow, u tink u'll have time during confinement to watch DVD? Tink either your mum or CL would ask you to get as much rest as possible, including rest your eyes lei, hehe
333514.gif

My first child, I also didn't go for antenatal class, not sure will be going for this second one, shall consider
333515.gif

Hi Maraquan,
I'm waiting for my baby to kick me also. The feeling is like using your own finger nail tapping on your own palm, when u have tt, BINGO
333516.gif

Preciousbabe,

it's ok to put on 2 kgs. Like my friend, she used to be 50kgs, over the years she put on to 60 kgs. So she was a bit overweight. During her pregnancy, she even lost some weight. Think she was 66kgs before she due. After childbirth, she was slimmer, now is abt 54kgs. See, if your body have enough fats, you won't put on so much, whereas for those underweight mummies, they may put on between 15-18 kgs as the body needs more fats to sustain the baby growth. It's a natural process.
For me, if I put on little I'm not worried, I will only worry if I put on too much, heehee
333517.gif

Good morning mommies!!
Mandy, heehee, looks like I paint a too-pretty picture of confinement period.

Irene, for me, I try to look 'poor-thing' and keep rubbing my tummy, hoping that they can see that i am pregnant and give up their precious seat for me. But so far, no use. hee.

Terrier, the one at KKH consists of 3 parts. The 1st 2 parts are a total of 9 sessions, each 1 and half hrs. And the third part is a 3 -hr session. The 1st part is abt nutrition, medications in pregnancy, looking after ourselves. The 2nd part is on labour and delivery, pain relief, relaxion, how to cope with labour, labour rehearsal and postnatal exercise. As well as breastfeeding and taking care of our newborn. The 3rd part is on nurturing the child. You can log on to their website for more info.

preciousbabe, the freebies ok only lah, just samples of products that we will need later on. Things like pigeon breast pads, diapers, sesame oil (quite a big bottle), satchets of anti-stretchmark cream etcetc. Plus a KKH library card that allows us to borrow books from there. U can call to chk if they can keep for you? SO you can collect at your next lesson.

Morning ladies, this morning very sian. Two ladies boarded NEL from SK who were in front of me, rushed into the two empty seats without giving me. =(

So, got to stand all the way to DBG.

Yesterday, was down with diahorrea due to Tues's lunch food poisoning.. so didn't go back office.

Nowadays, ppl even youngsters do not know how to give seats up to ppl. Of course, there were a few occasions that there were some nice gentlemen that willing stand up to offer their seats to me; there was even an occasion where I was standing quite a distance where this young guy waved at me and his gf (the only sitting down) pointed at her seat to give it up.

What really made me upset, were ppl who put on cross on their neck and were happily talking with their friends and sitting down and could see a pregnant lady or old man, not giving up seats to them. What is this way coming about? Are we not thought to give more and receive less?

Not sure about you ladies.. but it helps to reflect on my actions as well.. wonder if I was ever like that... =p

So, must remind myself and my baby (when she grows up) to always be considerate and don't think of the returns too much. =p