(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

Hi nana,
sorry to hear about your sad news. Do take care.

Gals my first set of exam finally over. Been busy with studying so MIA.
Recently feel numbness at the finger tips, do you gals feel the same. MS better now but occasionally feel like vomitting and usually no appetite to eat (usually i am a glutton :p)

And also heard that the following food to be avoided:
Pineapple
Tea
Coffee
Seafood (esp crabs a definitely no no)except fish
Peanuts and all other kinds of nuts
Soya bean
Stingray
Coconut and coconut juice (used for curry)
Sugarless sweets

Trying to get a part-time maid to do weekly household chores since gynae said I cannot do housework. Any good recommendations from you gals?

nana, glad to hear that the bb will not need to be surgically removed. take care yah.

smurfy, u sure seafood and soy bean cannot eat ah? I've been taking sotong occasionally leh and I drink soy bean milk almost every day. So wats the effect of drinking soy bean milk?

preciousbabe,
that's exactly what came out from me also! some foamy, bubbly thing, right?

today, i took my anti-vomiting pill again (only once in the morning). vomited once. my appetite is still not too good but i'm forcing myself to eat lah.

smurfy, soya bean cannot drink? why? i've heard that we can't take pineapples and unripe papayas.

I can't tell you how truth are the list of items. Just heard from pple here and there with life examples. Seafood cos mostly with many legs like crabs, sotong, prawns. The myth is that your child may be very naughty, like to meddle with things, cannot keep still. Chinese saying "duo shou, duo jiao" (many hands, many legs). My friend didn't believe and ate crabs during her first pregnancy, well, for second pregnancy she don't dare to touch crabs anymore. Think you can guess the consequence.

Tea is because of caffeine, like coffee. Limited intake is okie.

Someone told me that her colleague drink Soyabean everyday and suffer from miscarriage. so not sure if the link is there. Just to be safe than sorry.

But you gals know why stingray cannot? I am still wondering.

ladies here,
soyabean can drink
I drank the Nutrisoy frm supermarket
is high in calcium n gt the healtheir sign logo
there's one gt organic brown rice with soya, cant remember isit frm Nutrisoy also, this one is gd too cos gt fibre frm brwon rice and nt so sweet

so drink 2 or 3 times per week in moderation is ok...that's how i drink during my 1st tri n even nw 2nd tri still continue

dun get those soyabean frm those hawker stall, cos gt syrup added in it

hope it helps

Hi Ladies, Updated List for No of Wks.

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>No of Wks</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>Loving</TD><TD>30/03/2006</TD><TD>14</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bbtree</TD><TD>30/03/2006</TD><TD>14</TD><TD>Dr A.L. Lim</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kokopooh</TD><TD>30/03/2006</TD><TD>14</TD><TD>Dr LC Foong</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joan</TD><TD>05/04/2006</TD><TD>14</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jolie</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD>14</TD><TD>Dr Lai</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kyla</TD><TD>06/04/2006</TD><TD>13</TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little Fish</TD><TD>07/04/2006</TD><TD>13</TD><TD>Dr Goh Shen Li</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Preciousbabe</TD><TD>10/04/2006</TD><TD>13</TD><TD>Dr Cordelia Han</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wishbear</TD><TD>10/04/2006</TD><TD>13</TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasminetea</TD><TD>15/04/2006</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rach</TD><TD>16/04/2006</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jo</TD><TD>17/04/2006</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Des</TD><TD>17/04/2006</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>Dr Don Wong</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrs Ho</TD><TD>18/04/2006</TD><TD>12</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Irene</TD><TD>19/04/2006</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cutecute</TD><TD>20/04/2006</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Terrier</TD><TD>20/04/2006</TD><TD>12</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Leereiner</TD><TD>20/04/2006</TD><TD>12</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maraquan</TD><TD>21/04/2006</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>BBLim</TD><TD>23/04/2006</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mandy</TD><TD>25/04/2006</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>Dr T C Chang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Telly</TD><TD>26/04/2006</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Smurfy</TD><TD>26/04/2006</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emon</TD><TD>27/04/2006</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nana</TD><TD>27/04/2006</TD><TD>11</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gebbera</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lemontree</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Adelene</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Taurus</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD>10</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </td></tr></table>

Hi Valerie, I also drink Nutrisoy

Ladies, I had checked with my gyane today and confirm soya bean milk is no problem, in fact it is good. But if you worried about it, then perhaps you can just avoid it. Sometimes it is also depends on individual body.

Cheers~

smurfy, actually the reason that we cannot take crabs and stingray is that they are consider 'poison' food in our chinese culture. The 'many hands, many legs' thing may or maynot be true but if u eat too much 'poison' seafood during pregnancy, it will cause skin problem in the bb. My younger brother is a live example coz my mum ate alot of crabs when she had him and my brother is born with very bad skin, similar to ezcemia. But I still believe that take seafood in moderation is the best prevention to any beliefs lor.

Hi Valerie, yup! I love it. Heee.. in fact I drink a glass every morning. :p

Preciousbabe, I had went for NT scan today. I just went for NT scan today without blood test. The result was okay. I will be doing triple blood test next month for DS. My bb is growing well and is very active, now at 5.14cm

I agreed with you on the seafood issues. Had heard about that too.

Cheers~

Hi Smurfy,

I heard it is advisable to travel only after 1st trim. Hmmm.. u might want to ask ur gyane for opinions 'cos some MTBs cannot travel long distance. So it depends on individual.

jasminetea, wah, u so fast go and do your test already. happy for u that the result is ok
anyway, did u manage to see bb? know the gender?

Jasminetea,
It will be after my 1st trim at end of oct. Its for a business trip. Manager ask me to consult gynae, but then who's going to help me carry my lugguage? Thot we cannot carry heavy stuff?

Another thing, can we do rebonding? My hair is really messy now.. I know coloring cannot..

Smurfy, u better chk. Not too good to carry heavy stuff...the flight abit long...u ok wif ur ms? Erm...think not so good to rebond coz it's also chemicals being used...

Tell u gals a bad news, I start to itch again. Dunno izzi the fungal infection came back. Was better after gynae's cream last week then today again after I stop using it. Guess gotta go back on it...Do u gals get it?

hi babe,

occasionally got ms, not as bad as 2 weeks back.
last night vomit out my Tony Roma ribs ...wasted..hahaha...

I used to itch few weeks back but after a course of antibiotics and frequent changing of pantyliners, now okie already. I also use Vagisil to wash my private area, now and even before pregnancy

Hi Smurfy,

Your gynea gave you antibiotics? Mine refused to do so. Tomorrow when I go and see him I shall pester him again. Maybe 2nd trimester he'll give. I don't itch but I keep having the discharge, so irritating. Thought once pregnant can do away with wearing sanitary napkin for 9 mths, who knows now everyday must wear panty liner!!!!

Hi Preciousbabe,

Cannot see gender leh 'cos my bb curb up most of the time. Haaa.. my gynae got a "tough" time trying to measure the neck as my bb was jumping up and down and also lie flat. Heee.. can see baby quite clear although still black and white. It is a very touching moment. I shed a drop of tear heee...

Gynae said next month will scan for gender

Hi Smurfy, Hmmm... It is not advisable to carry heavy stuff actually. Maybe you need to tell ur boss to make some arrangement for someone to help you? You are going on the trip alone? No other colleagues?

Wishbear,

My gynae said the antibiotics he gave me is safe, so can take. Anyway, i am used to wearing pantyliners and changing them. Its more hygenic than having wet panties.

Jasminetea,
Only my boss going with me, do you think he will be my porter.. hahaa... :p

Seriously think he should exchange his business class seat with my economy class seat.. hahaa...

Really don't wish to go.. its a 16 hour flight to LA plus a 3hr domestic to some ulu state..

Hi Smurfy,

Hmmm... that is a pretty trick situation. But the long flight might be too tiring for you regarding of which trim you travel. I think you consult your gynae and if he said no then possibly you can just reject your boss.

Hopefully your boss will be understanding.

All the best!

Hi, gals

Been down with flu/cold since sat till now, feeling terrible. Have anyone got experience with this? And do you all eat medicine? I did not because afriad the baby is taking drug like me. Or is best to take medicine?

Jasminetea

Must be so touching. Btw, thanks for the glenagles info. Me going to see my gynae later, really worried how the baby is doing because i'm so sick.

Smufy

I believe the doc will ask you whether do you want to go because pregnant mums is only safe &amp; feel energetic to travel esp in our 2nd trimester. And think at the 7mth onwards, pregnant mums are not allow to travel as governed by singapore rules cos afraid of earlybirth.

Y not ask your doc to give you a letter?

And for the re-bonding, my MIL is in the hair business, and she will never do coloring &amp; rebonding for pregnant mums, it is not good as the ingredients or rather chemicals may be harmful to the bb. Maybe you can do steaming treatment instead.

Hi, gals

For papaya, due to the beta-carotene, eating too much, may cause jaudice also for carrot. However, pineapple, as the old saying...excessive eating will cause miscarrige, hoever, my colleagues ate alot of pineapple throughout her pregnancy. Her bb &amp; her is well n fine

As what precioubabe says, everything in moderation

Hi Jolie, you can take medicine when you are sick but have to inform GP that you are pregnant so that they will give you medicine that is safe for pregnancy.

Anyway since you are seeing your gynae later, you can tell your gynae and he will give you medication. Mediciation from gynae should be very safe to take.

Jasminetea/Jolie,

I also don't wish to go cos just pass first trimester. But this is more like a learning trip, beneficial to my job. Maybe ask gynae to write a letter that says "safe to travel accompanied by hubby"... hahhaaa... then ask company to pay for my hubby's air ticket...heheee..

ok, I'll try to endure my hair as much as I can.. maybe just snapped off a few inches..

Cold drinks should be taken in limitation during prenancy becos myth said next time baby will prone to coughs.

Irene,

Carrot got Vit A which we cannot take too much also. Maybe you have to reduce your intake from now on. For more assurance, you might want to let your gynae know about it.

Irene, erm....i take carrots at least 3 times a week and sometimes papaya but in small portions. My gynae told me before that eating papaya and carrots will not cause jaundice as jaundice is caused by the poor development of the bb liver. But to be on the safe side, mayb u want to switch to other juice?

Smurfy, my hair is also in a mess so wat I do everyday is bun them up. That case, nobody will know that your hair is seriously in need of rebonding and colouring

babe, mayb u want to try drinking cranberry juice or eat yogurt? My fren told me that these two food will decrease the chance of getting infection in our private area.

jasminetea, haha...looks like your bb is the super active kid! anyway, my fren told me to talk to my bb on thur, pyscho bb to behave on fri so that I can see the gender. Coz for her case, her bb didn't cooperate and she spent 2 hours in the clinic talking to her bb to open the legs so that gynae can see the gender!

Preciousbabe,

Don't like to bun my hair up cos looks like ah soh :p and I got eczema on my neck, looks really ugly.

Was talking to my colleagues just now.. and they were talking about a ring game which can let you know your child gender and how many kids you will have...
Just use your hair or a red string and use it to hold your ring... Palm face up.. holding the hair with the the ring on it, rub at the side of your hand, your last finger side... for 3 times, then the 3rd time, hold the ring up to your palm and see how it sway... if sway in circle, mean girl sway in straight line, mean boy... then keep holding and it will slow down and start swaying again.. this time will know the 2nd baby gender... then keep holding and see whether it sway somemore.. if no more tat mean you will have 2 kids.. if it slow down and start swaying then continue to see how many kids you have and when it stop...

dunno how accurate is this.. but heard them say quite true for them...
I tried... 1st kid true... it sway in circle which mean gal... after tat.. if true then I'll post in here... ;)

Wow...so surprising....got such ring expt one ah...ke ke ke

Gals, do u find u eat less each time coz get full easily? Dunno y i feeling so lehz...

Preciousbabe, yup very active!
Good luck to you. Hope you can see your bb's gender during ur NT scan. Heeee....

Irene, tt sounds interesting
Heee.. Will try it out for fun when I got time.

jasminetea, heehee...thanks for your wishes. really hope to see bb this fri. anyway, i just downloaded msn. any idea how to use?

Btw all mummies, remember to keep your receipts for all your consultations coz can claim from medisave for pre-delivery.

halo, gals,
me have been MIA for almost 2 weeks. coz me went ahead of my US trip!!! It's wonderful one. lucky for me, no problem for the long hr flight. phew!!! but me gotta eat almost every 2hr, small qty. so wanna know is this normal? if me dun take anything or eat @ later time, me wld wanna puke. any solution? me scare to be fatty fatty bomb bomb leh...

gonna see gynae tml, to make sure baby is okie.

me oso bun up my hair. cant be help, coz me need to walk to workshop now n then one. (lack of staff, as taking over a ex-colleague's job). sometimes need to reach for high things too, gotta stand on stool one. my boss knew me preggie liao but he's yet to get some1 to take over this job. how to talk to him eh? he keeps on telling me to take care only leh. wat shall me do leh? sometime, me thought just dun care lah. possible?

Leereiner, so r u back in singapore? your eating habits is normal lah. no worries of becoming a fatty coz u only take small portions rite? u have to eat whenever u r hungry otherwise will trigger MS

u also have to be extra careful. from your description, seems like your boss won't be employing extra help in the meantime. if you can't reach anything, get someone else to get it for you. no point risking your bb for your job.

ya... back to singapore, last nite... still in jet lag. wanna sleep now. yap small portion only. bal pass to hubby lor. so he's complaining he's getting fat n fat coz of ME!!! but me start to have this eating habit when me was in US, so tot is abnormal lor... phew!!! glad to hear that, man.

if there's some1 to help at that time, of coz me will ask. but when nobody is aro, me gotta do it myself. or else things gonna pile up lor... fingers will be pointing at me, me gonna b the cause for the delay... me even cried in front of my boss, told him me cldnt cope. he said he gonna look for ppl liao. till now, yet to see anyone comes for interview. sigh!!!
kao_angry.gif

during my absence, the projs are in low season so no problem.... really hope there's sthg

good morning. after admitted @TMC for 3 days, my ms improved liao. As from this week onward, i think my ms has gone! So happy. Able to eat as normal day now. Hopefully I can start to gain weight soon

Ya, would like to check whether is it ok if we will to change our home cushion cover ie. sofa cover. i think this is ok right???

Hi BBtree, so glad to hear tt your MS is gone
Now you can enjoy eating again.
Once you start eating, you will gain weight

It is alright to change your sofa cover. Your hubbby or your family will do the changing right? Better you don't change it yourself 'cos it is very dusty.

Cheers~

hi jasmine, thanks for the advice. ya, most likely will get hb to change it.

yes, i start to eat now. so far gain 1kg back. i also very worried to see my weight reducing coz i m already 14 weeks but no tummy at all....unlike u gals, some even start to wear maternity dress right??

Leereiner, Glad tt u had a good trip to USA.
Ur eating habit is normal
So long as u ate in small portion, you will be fine. In fact, this is more encouraged.

Cheers~

Hi Bbtree, for me, I got a few maternity dresses and larger size clothes but basically I don't look very pregnant yet. But I do have a bit of tummy now.

I think it is individual. I got a friend who don't have MS at all and appetite normal. But she only got tummy showing at 6th mth and people tot she only 3 mth plus. In the end, her baby weight 3.5kg at birth.

So I think, so long as ur gynae said your bb is growing well, everything would be okay.
U already gained 1 kg back so I believe gradually you will put on some weight soon. Don't worry okay

Cheers~

Bbtree, good that u've gained weight back. Heehee..sometimes we juz not so lucky to have no MS. I also suffering from it though I now 14 weeks. Hope over n done wif soon. Yupz heard some ppl 6th mth then can see big tummy. Mine also small for now. But they say it's normal for first bb.

Hi mummies, I just came back from KKH. Did my NT scan today. Was very happy to know that my BB is ok and is 67mm long

Think my bb is asleep when we did the scan coz didn't move much. Only rubbed the nose. Gynae said still can't determine the gender so got to wait till 16 weeks to see which is 3 weeks away. Can't wait....

jasminetea, i told u yesterday that my MS was gone. Guess wat, it came back today and I vomitted 3 times this morning. Can't even keep my 3 mouthfuls of wanton mee in my stomach...feeling bloated now...

preciousbabe, i notice that everytime i tell someone that my MS is gone, it'll come back full swing the very next day.

so, for now, i'll just say that my MS is reduced slightly. but, i pray night and day that it'll go away soon. can't take the vomiting. it's just those foamy saliva thing. but, i often get it when i'm in a cab or a bus. and i always need a plastic bag to be around. i have about three plastic bags at any one time.

bbtree, i think second trim and third trim is when we gain weight? so, slowly, you'll get your weight back. i also cant wait to get my weight back. in fact, i need to put on about 5 kg more. have always been underweight. so, i hope to retain the weight that i'll gain from this pregnancy. so, that i can have enough 'reserves' to feed the baby in the first trim should i be blessed with baby #2.

went for my checkup yesterday and baby is fine also.. was ard 65mm long..
only gain ard 2kg for the 1st trimester

thanks gals for all your concern &amp; advice. for those still having ms....hang on there, i fully understand how &amp; what you been thru'. i believe ur ms also coming to an end soon!

telly: u r right. heard from some experience mommy that usually 2nd trim, we will start to gain weight as that is the time our bb start to feed on the food that we consume. unlike 1st trim, whereby our bb relying just on the fluid from our body &amp; not the food