(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

preciousbabe,

Classic Package, Premier Package
Senior Consultant: $530, $620
Consultant: $430, $520
Assoc Consultant: $330, $420

*Package price is for 10 consultations and 10 urine tests from 16th wk of pregnancy. Not inclusive of ultrasounds, blood tests etc.

For Premier Package, when you are admitted, you can only choose A1 or B1 ward but for Classic, you are free to choose any wards.

Premier: Your gynae + midwives will be with you throughout your delivery.
Classic: On the day you deliver, other gynaes will see you before your actual delivery. Your preferred gynae will be with you during actual delivery.

But before you choose premier, you must remember that everything will cost more under the premier package. So, discuss with your hubby first!

Good morning Ladies,

Irene, I did consider nanny but I do not have any recommendation leh. So that one still pending.

Maraquan, infant care is from Mon to Fri, 7am to 7pm only. That is another problem if hubby and I got to work OT together. Wonder who can rush down to pick up our bb for us.

Terrier, same here. My hubby also dun like maid, neither do I lah. That is why we didn't consider maid although it seems to be a better solution in long run.

Preciousbabe, have you seen your gynae already?

Cheers~

Hi Ladies, just read this article on infection in TODAY....

IF YOU are pregnant, it is likely that you will be more prone to
contracting vulvovaginal candidiasis or VVC.

According to Dr Ann Tan, a consultant obstetrician and gynaecologist of
Women and Fetal Centre at the Mount Elizabeth Medical Centre, VVC is a
group of infections caused by the fungus, candida.

Like any other infection, VVC takes root when there is a highly
susceptible host environment that cannot mount the necessary defence
against the infection.

In this instance, pregnant women are more susceptible because pregnancy is
associated with an increase in vaginal secretions.

Candida, like any other fungus, thrives in moist conditions. Hence, the
associated increase in the number of pregnant women coming down with VVC.

According to two mailing surveys conducted by Rockeby Biomed Corp Ltd in
Singapore two years ago, about 77 per cent of general practitioners see up
to five patients with VVC per week, while 33 per cent of obstetricians and
gynaecologists see up to 10 patients with the condition.

Not threatening but still a nuisance

VVC is not a life-threatening disease but it is a nuisance to those
suffering from it, as the condition can be embarrassing and
uncomfortable, said Dr Tan.

"However, in patients who are immuno compromised by illnesses or
treatments, VVC can be the start of a whole systemic illness that can be
very debilitating," she said.

Common symptoms of VVC are itching and a curd-like discharge. When the
infection is more severe, said Dr Tan, it will cause a rash in the genital
area.

This can lead to burning sensations when the sufferer urinates or pass
motions.

In pregnant women, untreated infections can lead to super infection by
other bacterial infections.

"This may lead to a weakening of the amniotic sac and possible pre-term
rupture of the membranes," she said.

Even though pregnant women are more prone to developing VVC, it has been
estimated, said Dr Tan, that 20 per cent of women who are not pregnant
harbour the yeast candida albicans in the vagina.

Most do not develop any symptoms, and the yeast is not harmful to them.

"It is only when there is an overgrowth of the fungus that irritation and
pain occurs," Dr Tan said.

The most common forms of treatment for VVC are creams, tablets or
pessaries (vaginal medications). For expectant mothers, creams and
pessaries are recommended.

steps to fight VVC

The prevention of VVC seems to be common sense enough though.

Practise better perineal hygiene by using mildly acidic washes rather than
ordinary bath soaps that are usually highly alkaline.

Drink or consume more probiotics - dietary supplements containing
beneficial bacteria and yeasts - to colonise the vagina with good healthy
bacteria.

The unfortunate reality is that VVC has and will always continue to be a
problem given Singapore's hot and humid climate that allow fungi to
thrive.

The best thing one can do then, said Dr Tan, would be to remember what
predisposes one to contracting the condition and eradicate those factors,
or at least minimise the risks by exercising caution.

thanks so much for all your concern. finally my gynae given me medicine for my vomitting. but he said tat I am dehydrated & need to monitor my condition. i still return to work even though i was on mc for these few dayz. By tomorrow if my condition did not improve, i was told to be warded to TMC for dripping
Need to hospitalised for 3 days....sigh!!

BBtree, Yupz..take care...heehee...ask hubby to pamper u more..

Anyway, gals how do u know if the fungal infection has cleared up? Coz I can't be applying the cream infinitely ritez?

Dear Jasminetea,

Sorry, i MIA again. Sad to say, i've miscarriaged already. Please take me off the list.

The baby just didnt grow and didnt have a heartbeat so the docs decided it was time to let go. I ok now and back at work.

Dear Mummies-to-be,

Do take care of yourselves and baby! Its going to be a wonderful journey ahead. All the best and be happy.

Thanks for all the encouragement and support. Take care mummies!

Babe, maybe u can give your gynae a call?

May, I'm so sorry to hear about it. Pls take good care of yourself. Thank for your well wishes for all of us.

May, do take care yah. Glad that u r strong mentally. Thanks for your well-wishes too.

Jasminetea, I'm going to the gynae later. Tried to tahan for 2 days, now really got to go see gynae coz the cramps did not subside. Did not have brown discharge liao so think condition not that serious. Just go see gynae to let my mum and hubby stop nagging at me

Wishbear and telly, thanks for the information provided

Preciousbabe,
glad to hear that you do not have anymore brown discharge. Possibly it is the strenching of your tummy which caused the cramp. Heee.. then have to let your mum and hubby have a piece of mind. If not, they will worried until your next appt

May,

Sorry to hear that...hope u can remember me,Choo!
me now at miscarriage thread as there is alot of support there!me will be going back to work after 2weeks of hospitalisation leaves for my D&C....take good care!

rest of the ladies I know!how are u all??take good care ok! me feeling better now...as compared to 2weeks plus ago..i am not that sad anymore...though i still think of my bb....will have phobia getting preggie again...but just leave everything to GOD...

bbtree,
take good care ok!
you will get over this very soon!

Hi Choo,

Sorry to hear that too. Hope u are ok. Do take care. Take more ginger. You have 2 weeks leave. I only had 1 week. Now at work but very tired still. Still on medications due to pains in womb.

Talk abt phobia... im so afraid of the morning sickness part. oh... but i will still try for another baby soon. I just hope n pray that it will be fine. I will pray for u too.

Did the doc tell u when u can start trying again?

May,

glad u are so strong...my gynae Dr Eunice Chua told me normaly she gave patients one week hospitisation leave but i told her i needed more...so 2weeks...also good...cos I know I have low EQ...if went back earlier...some kpo colleagues will ask and i might break down...but i think tomorow when i go back work...and if they do ask...i believe i won't cry....have to let it go and get on with my life...

my gynae said i can start trying once AF comes....which i think only a month after D&C will my AF come...u did D&C?my bb was almost 10weeks and no heartbeat...7th sept was the saddest day in my life...did D&C on 13th Sept...

Hi Choo,

Oh i see. Im trying to be strong or else, my family will be sad to see me so sad. Its also easier to be open abt it and accept it as God's will. Its also easier when colleagues ask if im ok. At least it wont be too awkward.

Sorry, what's AF? Are u talking abt your next period? I was told to wait for 1 cycle and than try again. Yes, i did a D&C. Baby had no heartbeat and was too small and stopped eating from the yolk sac. Was 9 weeks than.

I did the D&C on the 16th of Sept, immediately after the 3rd doc confirmed the missed miscarriage.

Oh... where is the miscarriage support thread? I cant seem to find it.

May,

AF is aunt flow which is menses...sorry too used to TTC thread...

so u went back to work yesterday?you did yr D&C on my birthday...this is the most upset birthday i ever have...but got to accept the fact that bb is not healthy...and bb has to go...

the miscarriage thread is under'matters of the heart'Support group-Miscarriage...

Dunno wat's wrong...today saw on my discharge a streak of brown red blood. Dunno izzit friday do swap and the area still abit raw or I wiped too hard. No staining on the undies though and this occurs like once 2 days from fri. Normal?

Tks Choo.

Chin up k. Be positive! U have to try to let go. I just came back to work today. Extended my MC for monday. just too tired. Funny thing is, my womb is still quite painful. Im on antibiotics and buscopan.

Ok.. i will go join in the support group too. See u there. Chin up k.

<font size="+2">April 2006 MTBs</font>

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>No of Wks</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>Loving</TD><TD>30/03/2006</TD><TD>13</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bbtree</TD><TD>30/03/2006</TD><TD>13</TD><TD>Dr A.L. Lim</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kokopooh</TD><TD>30/03/2006</TD><TD>13</TD><TD>Dr LC Foong</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joan</TD><TD>05/04/2006</TD><TD>13</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jolie</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD>13</TD><TD>Dr Lai</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kyla</TD><TD>06/04/2006</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little Fish</TD><TD>07/04/2006</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>Dr Goh Shen Li</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Preciousbabe</TD><TD>10/04/2006</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>Dr Cordelia Han</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wishbear</TD><TD>10/04/2006</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasminetea</TD><TD>15/04/2006</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rach</TD><TD>16/04/2006</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jo</TD><TD>17/04/2006</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Des</TD><TD>17/04/2006</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>Dr Don Wong</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrs Ho</TD><TD>18/04/2006</TD><TD>11</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Irene</TD><TD>19/04/2006</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cutecute</TD><TD>20/04/2006</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Terrier</TD><TD>20/04/2006</TD><TD>11</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Leereiner</TD><TD>20/04/2006</TD><TD>11</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maraquan</TD><TD>21/04/2006</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>BBLim</TD><TD>23/04/2006</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mandy</TD><TD>25/04/2006</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>Dr T C Chang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Telly</TD><TD>26/04/2006</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Smurfy</TD><TD>26/04/2006</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emon</TD><TD>27/04/2006</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nana</TD><TD>27/04/2006</TD><TD>10</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gebbera</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lemontree</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Adelene</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Taurus</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD>9</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </td></tr></table>

I also MIA as I must bed rest so have been lying ard, MC for dun noe how long liao...

Now still doing injection twice a week. So far the bleeding has stopped. Hope I can cross my hurdle soon.

Dear May,
I'm so sorry, pls take good care of yourself. Last time I did my D&amp;C, I ordered confinement food for 2 weeks. I ordered 1 meal a day as the portion very big. U may order lunch, and spilt them into lunch and dinner. No need to go thru the hassle of cooking, they will deliver food to you. At the same time, we can "bu" our body. They will give u a bottle of red dates water. Hope this helps.

Dear Choo,

Glad you are coping well. Mean time do take care of yourself

Hi babe,

There are a lot of companies are offering confinement food to replace the cost of confinement nanny. For instance, your mum is helping u but u dun want her to be so tired, just order the food, but lunch and dinner for 28 days can be costly, is abt $1388. But these companies say still cheaper than Confinement lady. Or if you have maid who has experience in baby but dun know abt chinese culture, you may order the food too.

There is no msg. Sometimes the food is good, sometimes is soso. But most importantly, it fulfilled all the confinement rules and regulations, e.g. ginger, sesame oil, all the things that r good for us. I suggest lunch as we can eat the food on the same day, guess we r not suppose to eat overnite food. So if u order dinner, too much and u can't keep, it would be a waste. So 1 meal a day is sufficient. The portion can feed family of 3 females. I'm not a big eater, so I even shared the food with my hubby and mum.

I can only recall ginger fried rice was very yummy
319371.gif

But if I can find a good CL, I will engage one. Confinement is important. We must lie down as much so that our womb can contract back. Try to express your milk and let the CL does the nite feeding. We just rest as much to recuperate our body. We should behave like a queen when we have a CL, heehee. Let her handle all the worries to avoid any post-natal blues. At the same time, learn from her.

I found new companies for confinement food, I think I ordered fr red dates, but couldn't remember.
When I look at the menu, I was drooling at certain food la, heehee.

I dun know how to create link, just copy and paste, u should be able to see the menu.
319372.gif

http://www.confinement.com.sg/package.html
http://www.newbaby.com.sg/Menu%20in%20use.htm

Hi babe,

After looking at the menu, I could be ordered from New baby, as I remembered 1 week I order lunch, 2nd week I ordered dinner, got fried rice. I alternate it becoz I wanted to try different food ; )

Hi, Rach

Ya, same like you, i am still using it, maybe will check with the SKII counter for the details ingredients of the products first, shouldn't be a problem.

Hi, Jasminetea

Like you, will breastfeed for six months at least as i am not in a desk bound job scope. And, my experienced mums told me not to stress up when we met hiccups during breastfeeding e.g if our baby refuse to direct feed, there is always breast pump to help us and feed thru bottle. An good alternative for our baby to get the breast milk.

Oh, by the way, how much are the charges for Gleneagles, is their service good? Now, guess the time to do some financial planning.

Hi, babe

If i/m not wrong, only the urine test i.e the indicator on the test strip will tell you if you have cleared the infection.

Good Morning Ladies

Mandy, glad to hear tt ur bleeding has stopped. When does your MC ends? We are crossing our 1st trim soon, praying hard for all of us to cross the hundle soon!

Yup, I'm using MSN. Perhaps u can PM me your ID and I add u in? Definitely a faster way to communicate online.

I'm getting a CL as well as I wanted to build back my health for the 1st month like what you mentioned. I have friends who does everything themselves during their 1st mth and a lot of them ended up depressed. I do not wish myself to go thru' that and being a 1st time mum, I hope the CL can guide me on how to take care of my bb.
Will be calling them up after next week. How abt u?

Jolie, yup tt's what my experienced friends encouraged me to. Don't give up when met hiccups during breastfeeding. I hope I rem that when my time comes!

So far, I never been to Gleneagles Hospital yet. Just visited my gynae at her clinic. But my friend's wife who just given birth in August said that their services is good. The nurses are very helpful and encouraging. As for charges, I refer to their website http://www.gleneagles.com.sg/packages.jsp#maternity

My gynae's antenatal package is $735 and normal delivery is about $800. I heard that most gynae at Gleneagles charges about this rate. Not sure how true.

Are you considering Gleneagles? I intend to go to the hospital's tour and antenatal classes. Will go to the hosptial to check after I pass the 1st trim.

Cheers~

Hi Jolie,

For my first delivery, it was in Gleneagles. Their service was good. I chose the single room so tt hubby could stay with me for 2 nites. Luckily he was there with me, my epidural didn't go off that soon. I delivered at 6ish pm, at 2am when i went to toilet, the moment I left the bed I fell onto the floor, the leg still numb. So hubby carried me. And also the side effect of epidural, I was shivering, he was there to warm me. It really made a difference ; )

Total bill plus his lodging is $3k plus. The reason for me to change hospital is becoz I've moved near to Novena, TMC is just a stone throw away. I like Gleneagles.

Hi JAsminetea,

I've Pm you liao ; )

Mandy, I think there are some confinement ladies around who just do cooking for confinement and they don't charge so expensive. My friend who stays in Bt Batok manage to find one lady who charge her $500 for cooking 2 meals per day and bringing the food to her house. The lady also goes to the market to buy the ingredients for cooking. So I;m sure of u ask around now, u should be able to find cheaper sources than from the website.

Hi preciousbabe,

If I deliver, I will want a full time CL that stay in my house. I order those food was for the D&amp;C period, not for delivery ; )

Mandy, Oh, thought u wanted to order those food again for confinement. Miscommunication somewhere along the line. anyway, what will the CL do besides cooking? She takes care if bb too? like bathe them, feed them? Does she also do the laundry for us and go to the market to buy the ingredients? haha...think i'm asking too much for confinement services.

319592.gif

I'm back..Just reached home from TMC, went for OSCAR and blood test also gynea visit..saw bb very active and playful...the OSCAR result will only know 2morow. Hope everything will be fine. Woke up super early 2day,will be going for nap soon..then i'ol come back after my nap! Take care and have a good day ahead everyone!!
BTW, I msn too..

319707.gif
I'm back!!

Mandy, PM u liao!

preciousbabe, not sure whether the scan is 3D, but can see the bb very clearly. i can't see the gender though cos of it's position..but can see bb playing with it's nose, waving to us and his leg kicking..very touching lor..i didn't cry but very happy to see that it's growing...OSCAR is a Assessment of Risk for Fetal Anomalies,though me not in the high risk age but i still take the test loe,for assurance n a peace of mind.

Hi preciousbabe
You are right. Confinement lady will take care of both mummy n baby. In terms of laundry, she would wash mummy's clothes, b'coz mummy not suppose to touch water according to the old custom. And she will do marketing and cooking especially for mummy only. Then in terms of bb, she will do everything lor, including night feeds if not thru breastfeeding...

Hi Rach, so happy for you! Me also very anxious to c my bb again, still 2 more weeks to go before next appt...

do we need to get CL so soon? i was thinking of looking around only after my 2nd trims..in fact, i'm deciding of either get a maid or CL? if i get maid then i'll tingkat confinement food. CL then i may have to get my part time domestic helper to come more often..which is more advisable?

Hi Rach
But if you are getting a maid, u must be really sure she got experience and knows how to take care of new born baby well...just after labour where we are most tired plus post-natal blues maybe, we won't want to get stressed over worrying a single thing abt bb n rest of stuff...
that's wat I feel...

I know of friends who have maids, but then they still trust confinement lady to take care of their new born baby lor...

Rach,
Wow, I'm really looking forward to my checkup next week coz can see bb clearly

I think for your case you should engage CL for the first month instead of maid. If your maid is inexperienced in handling newborn and your confinement, then u still have to waste $ to engage additional help.
Mayb the 2nd mth then u engage maid lor coz the attention is not on u anymore then the maid can do housework and u can focus on bb

Hi nana,

u take gud care of yourself and bb ok..dun be sad..

i've done my test, mine is OSCAR test done @ TMC, is a test for down syndrome n other fetal amomalities..yup, $300+ also..

nana, think the date is ok coz by then u will ard 13 weeks? the test is best done between 11-13 weeks. anyway, i have a question, hope u r not offended by it. wat's going to happen to the other bb? is it going to b in your tummy until u give birth? sorry to ask but i'm curious abt wat's happened. if u don't feel like answering, i understand

hi ladies, i'm reaching my week 11 now. i wonder how u ladies are feeling. is the MS still very bad?

i was given ant-vomiting pills and i've been taking it every morning. (dosage is 3x/day, but i dont want to be too dependent on it). when i take it, i only vomit in the evening, even then, it's pretty light lah. nothing much comes out.

today, since i dont have to go to work, i decided not to take the pills. i wanted to wean myself off it. but, i'm just vomiting too much now. looks like i have to continue taking it.
:-(

telly, jia you!! my MS is gone but something weird is happening to me. keep having gastric pain and my tummy even make funny noises that are so loud! just now wanted to vomit but nothing came out except bubbles.

My MS is better now although I still vomit stuffs out. Yesterday was good, no vomiting. Today is a bit uncomfortable but no vomiting yet.

I am developing a slight headache recently. By the way, I am also in my 11 weeks. I am praying hard that it will soon be over.