(2006/04) April 2006 MTB

jasminetea,
I will try to get the scan from my gynae the next time I go for my checkup. Heehee...If your hubby don't mind paying for the scan then just go ahead with it

Preciousbabe, haaaa.... actually why I hesitate is that I worried I might incur huge sum of expenses in later stage. That is why now I dare not spend.

Preciousbabe, I got friends who told me that they faced a lot of problems during their later stage. So they visited gynae more often, need mediciation. Like one of my friends, she very prone to flu and get sick quite often at later stage so visited gynae/doctors very often, spent a lot. Of course, not all are like that. I just "preparing" for it heeee...

In addition, got to spend a lot on buying bb's stuff etc as I do not have anyone who can gave me hands-me-down so far.

Preciousbabe, I heard for public hospitals u dun get print out of the scans. Only the private ones give them.

Little fish, me also in the same stage as u. Think will have to wait awhile more before MS will go away...boo hoo....so sianz ...

jasminetea, hope your friend is ok. don't worry lah, if u have a strong body before pregnant, should be ok in the later stage

babe, public hospitals reali don't give the scans ah? wah, like dat i must complain liao coz the fees r comparable to private hospitals but yet they don't give the scans. and don't worry abt the ms, will get better

preciousbabe, i didn't get the scan pics. but after i always carry my digi camera with me. so i just snap the scan pics lor. heh. at least both me and hubby get to look at the pics everyday. :p

jasminetea: like you, i'm also worried about future expenses. we always pray for the best, but then we'll never know when it rains. nowadays, when i want to shop, i think many many times!!!

babe: ya lor..can't so anything else but wait. we should try to smile more (although it is extremely hard at times with the constant bile in your throat).heh hehe!

littlefish,
oh, that's a good idea hor. use digital camera to take the pic...ok, next time i shall use the same method if my gynae don't give me the scan

Preciousbabe, I hope so too

Little Fish, I agreed! Eversince the day I learnt that I'm pregnant, I cannot bring myself to buy anything except some maternity clothes. Gave up a lot of my favourite pastime which costs money. Somehow I feel that I got another impt person to take care of, cannot think of myself only.

Hi, Jasminetea

Thanks for updating. Ya, agreed with little fish too. Must tink twice now what the needs & wants.
And don't worry, i am sure you know how to take care of urself, but indeed save for rainy days.

As for the Down Syndrome, i am doing a nuhcal scan, my doc says its really subjective to individual and explained that this DS will drop according to your age and after the scan, if nothing happens, it will further drop the likelihood of having DS.

And it is best to do at the 11weeks to 13weeks to do the scan.

Oh ya, if anyone going to your next visit, maybe can use your hp to record the sound of your baby heartbeat, because it is really amazing.

By the way, mums,

Are you proactive on breastfeeding? Have a thought before?

nana,
wat's the diff between A and C class? I thought it's only the ward that we stay in that's different? Do u go to A or C clinic to see your gynae? Is it the same gynae for every visit?

Hi Jolie, thanks for the info! That means possibly I have to do either the blood test or NT scan for down sydronme at my next visit (12 weeks). No wonder my gynae said go home and think about it.

I have decided that I will breastfeed my bb at least until 6 mths unless I cannot. I intend to fully breastfeed without any formula milk for my bb. But I heard so many stories of unsuccessful cases of breastfeeding, so I'm mentally prepared for it. So that won't be too despressed if I end up cannot. How about you?

Nana, you have to decided your ward class so fast? You really got a big saving from there. Unfortunately for me, I prefer female gynae and I take time to adjust to a doctor. So I have to opt for more personalised service and I like Dr Chin too much to switch in spite of higher fees. Possibly I have to save from other things instead.

jasminetea,
wow, u intend to breastfeed till 6 mths? Then u will have to get the breast pump to pump the milk and store it when u go to work. who r u getting to look after your bb?

Hi Preciousbabe, I had read up so many pros on breastfeeding. So for the health benefits of my bb, decided I will go ahead with breastfeeding although it will be tough on working mums like me. Yup intend to pump and store it before going to work. Might have to pump in office initially too. I'm the only lady in my office so possibly can pump in the ladies'. Got a fridge which the guys hardly use haaaa.. So should be okay to keep it there. Still got to wait and see the situation.

I still headache who will take care of my bb leh. I had tot of all options from MIL to SIL to maid to nanny to infant care. All got its pros and cons, so dunno what to do. At this moment, infant care seems to be my better choice.

How abt u? Have you tot about it?

jasminetea,
ya..thinking of breastfeeding my bb but havn't think of how long coz it's like months away from giving birth. For me, i'm staying with my mum so she has agreed to take care of my bb. Currently I'm jobless so think it'll take some time for me to get a job after giving birth so meantime breastfeeding shouldn't pose any problem as I'll be at home 24h. I have a colleague here who puts her child in infant care. Heard from her that it's not bad as the ratio of teacher to child is 4:1. However, I think the best is to get either your mum or MIL to help out.

Preciousbabe, I had read that 6 mths is the best 'cos that is about the time bb starts on solid food. That is how I set my own timeline. But of course, can't tell now as it is very far away. But I feel easier if I set a target now. Haaaa.. I think too much lah.

Good that you got your mum to help and she is staying with u somemore. My mum is out 'cos she is still working. My MIL lives quite far from us and we don't drive. I do not want my bb to stay overnight at my MIL's place as it will make bb not close to us. If I bring bb back and fro everyday, bb will be tired so do me and my hubby. That is why I'm hesitiating about this option although it is definitely more secure to leave bb in hand of grandma.

Infant care is better for me in the sense that it is near my home. So bb needs not travel so far and we can go home straight after picking up bb in the evening time. But then again, infant care got it cons like bb will get sick easily and we must be on the dot to pick bb up in the evening (will hv a problem if my hubby and I need to work late)

Really very fan! Hope got a better option for me soon!

Jasminetea and preciousbabe,
U guys really think far. Me have not sit down and talk about this yet. Will wait till all things are more firm and my pregnancy gets more prominent then ask. Anyway I know my mum is dying to take care of the baby. Not sure abt MIL.

I hope to breastfeed bb as long as I can. Would be better for their immune system. Now have to simply pray for a healthy bb.

Nana, u really know how to save. I somehow still prefers privacy esp the initial stage. Heard at KKH if u opt for class A or choose gynae will end up paying abt the same rate as private. Is that true? Heehee...

hi ladies...
me oso intend to do breastfeed for longer period of time...

N I always have this concern abt who's going to take care of bb, still can't come out with a good solution yet...

Jasminetea, my mum is also working st the moment. However, she told me that she will take care of my bb and give up her job. But then of coz, I will have to give her an allowance equivalent to her current pay. Mayb u can negotiate with your mum and get her to stay with u to take care of bb?

Babe, I'm a private patient at KKH and I'm paying abt $80 per visit. Not sure abt private hospital's rates

318006.gif
long time didn't log in liao..but been following the threads..

Jolie,
i read from somewhere in this forum that SKII got dun noe wat acid lar..so they say no good for the bb lor.. but i'm not bothered by it lor..me still using the cleanser,toner, treatment essence and also the moisturiser till now and am using it twice a day..
318007.gif

jasminetea,
i'll b doing the OSCAR test next wed,is an Assesment of Risk for Fetal Anomalies. this is the only test my doc ask me to decide whether to do or not..as it's optional.other then this test which i'll be doing next week( though no high risk of having DS but i dun wanna take chance), i have not done any other test till now..you really think until very far leh..me also thought of breastfeeding bb but have yet to decide how long i'm going to do that and never even thought of who to look after bb yet as me n hb feels that better wait till later stage then decide lor..
318008.gif

i got the scan pic back everytime i did a scan,so far i have 3 pics liao..

preciousbabe,
i think as a private patient @ KKH, your medical bill is only slightly cheaper then private hospital's rates leh..heard from my freind the other time when i was choosing my gynea..

Rach,
I got no choice leh but to go KKH coz my husband is a civil servant so at gov hospitals got subsidise even though I'm a private patient. Thus I opt to go KKH lor.

Hi Babe and Rach,

Heeee.. I guess it is my job that shapes my character. I do a lot of planning. Too used to think far ahead. Haaaa.. Thus, that is possibly why I think far ahead for this bb also.

Preciousbabe, My mum can't move in with me as I still got a young brother who stays with my parents. She possibly won't leave him alone lah. Plus my dad loves the location they staying so he won't shift to my side -a "foreign" area. So no choice lah.

Jasminetea,
Hmm...I have a few friends who leave their child with the grandma till fri. But they go to spend their evening with the child everyday lor. But seems like you and your husband are busy people so probably can't work out for u lor

Long time no see, was suffering from very bad ms until recently. My ms seem to be improving each day now and I am praying hard that it will be gone soon.

My mom refuse to babysit my baby for me as she is looking after my sister baby now. I dun feel like letting my MIL do the babysitting as 3 out of 4 members in her family smoke heavily. I might have to look after my baby myself until I dun know when. However, we might run into finance problem and I might have to look for a job after birth.

Have you girls start to use any moisture on your stomach? I feel like using them now but my gynae said that it is not neccessary until 4 or 5 months. Sometime, my stomach itch. Is coco butter from bodyshop good?

Hi everyone...
just went to see my gynae today...
can see my baby growing well.. now at 4.55cm
the baby is very active, he/she keep moving when we're doing the scan..

gals....i kena fungal infection....so uncomfortable...itch n pain..now gotta apply cream...arghhh....any solutions? I wash my undies every day and put them out to sun too...

preciousbabe,

u took up the premier package at kkh too? so did i.

i took it up because i can't bear walking here and there for scans and urine tests. also because my work doesn't allow me to take much time off to see a gynae so i have to find a package that allows me to see the doctor fast.

i decided on it after the first visit because i don't want my husband to be deprived of the scans. i actually went to kk a week earlier to the 24-hr women's clinic because i was severely dehydrated. the gynae (Dr Yee or Wee, i think) was very good and wanted my husband to look at the scan. he even tilted the screen so that i can look at the baby. he also gave my hubby a picture of the scan.

but when i went for my scan a week later at the scanning room, the scanner wasn't gentle at all, didn't allow me to look at the screen and didn't tell me anything about the baby.

so, that was one of the many factors that made me go for the premier package.

Hi Maraquan

My mother is working and staying very far away from me, so she can't babysit for me. Although my MIL stay just 2 blocks away, but don't think I want her to do it. She got a part-time job, and somemore, I afraid we might conflict on how to care abt baby. Employing a maid is out...so now is left with either I quit job or find a nanny...

Right now, I only decided that I must get a confirement lady, upon what my friend advised me....

Telly,
I wasn't offered any package by my gynae yet as I was only registered under antenatal case during the last visit. Think the next visit, my gynae will tell me abt the package. Can u tell me wat the package includes and cost? Heehee...know in advance then can discuss with my husband

Hi terrier,
My sister also told me that I got to look for a confinement lady NOW, but I am still unsure. She kept saying that the good ones will be taken if I dun take action.

Yup Maraquan, that's precisely what my friend told me too! Initially I never think of that, but she said better book first once can find someone good.

What are u unsure about? to get a confinement lady? This is what my friend who has experience told me...being first time parents, no matter how much we learn in ante-natal class, but when come to real baby, we still be at loss...and somemore, if we just given birth, all we want is to have good rest, and maybe focus on breastfeeding. But there sure be alot of chores to do, change diapers, bath bb, we may need to take some time to learn from someone experience at hand. Heehee, somemore she can also take care of mummy too in terms of food and laundry

Updated List with updated no of weeks

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>No of Wks</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>Loving</TD><TD>30/03/2006</TD><TD>13</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bbtree</TD><TD>30/03/2006</TD><TD>13</TD><TD>Dr A.L. Lim</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kokopooh</TD><TD>30/03/2006</TD><TD>13</TD><TD>Dr LC Foong</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joan</TD><TD>05/04/2006</TD><TD>13</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jolie</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD>13</TD><TD>Dr Lai</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kyla</TD><TD>06/04/2006</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Little Fish</TD><TD>07/04/2006</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>Dr Goh Shen Li</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Preciousbabe</TD><TD>10/04/2006</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>Dr Cordelia Han</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wishbear</TD><TD>10/04/2006</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasminetea</TD><TD>15/04/2006</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rach</TD><TD>16/04/2006</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jo</TD><TD>17/04/2006</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>Dr H K Ho</TD><TD>Mt Alvernia </TD></TR><TR><TD>Des</TD><TD>17/04/2006</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>Dr Don Wong</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrs Ho</TD><TD>18/04/2006</TD><TD>11</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>May</TD><TD>18/04/2006</TD><TD>11</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Irene</TD><TD>19/04/2006</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cutecute</TD><TD>20/04/2006</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Terrier</TD><TD>20/04/2006</TD><TD>11</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Leereiner</TD><TD>20/04/2006</TD><TD>11</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maraquan</TD><TD>21/04/2006</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>BBLim</TD><TD>23/04/2006</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mandy</TD><TD>25/04/2006</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>Dr T C Chang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Telly</TD><TD>26/04/2006</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Smurfy</TD><TD>26/04/2006</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emon</TD><TD>27/04/2006</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nana</TD><TD>27/04/2006</TD><TD>10</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gebbera</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lemontree</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Adelene</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Taurus</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD>9</TD><TD><tbc></TD><TD><tbc> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </td></tr></table>

Good morning Ladies

Irene, happy to hear tt ur bb is growing well and very active

Babe, did your gynae gave u advice on how to control fungal infection? Maybe u need a solution to wash that area?

Maraquan and Terrier, I'm also looking for confinment lady. I will be calling them up after my week 12 appointment with my gynae to find out if they are available for the period I need them. My experienced friend said you have to book early esp if the one you intend to book is very popular.

Preciousbabe, my mum also stay quite far from me. I will take a long time to reach home. Possibly will be very late when I reach home. Think will be too tiring for me and hubby since our workload is quite heavy also esp during my peak period in Apr, Jul, Nov and Dec when I definitely have to work OT.

Anyway, I will not hesitate to quit/change my job if I can't find a good solution.
When you got a bb, think that is our priority already.

i m really very sick since last week. Was having fever + my morning sickness going from bad to worse. now i cant even drink water, everything go into my stomach will throw out shortly

i m very miserable since my pregnancy, never enjoy at all &amp; now become worst!!! i miss my pre-pregnancy day where i really lead a normal life.

my current situation very chia luck.... i can throw out more than 8 times a day by juz sitting next to the toilet bowl!!!! i vomitted till almost my whole stomach wanted to burst

Hi bbtree
Really sympathize with you...Must get ur gynae for help?

Hi jasminetea
I remember u mentioned abt infantcare, and to my delight, my estate also got a infant cum childcare centre which have been operating since this year. However, I am unsure how good is their service...moreover, I feel sad to leave newborn bb with the centre people... hmmm....

Hi Terrier,

Yup, at this moment, infantcare is my best and will be my last option. I feel exactly like how u feel also. But I dun hv much choice. Before I decide on infantcare, I will go down and take a look and have a talk with the people in charge there. I will only put my bb there if I am comfortable with the place and the people in charge.

Do you have other options besides infantcare?

jasmine &amp; terrier: thanks for the concern. i really cant take it anymore, hv juz called my gynae &amp; request him to give me some medicine to control my vomitting. will b seeing him later.

Gynae gave me some cream to apply and put some medicine into my vagina when I visited her. Now okiez but I abit uncomfortable...

bbtree, better see the gynae asap. heard that it's unhealthy to vomit more than 8 times a day. so mayb u need more than medication. hope everything is ok for u

as for me, i've been experiencing very bad cramps for 2 days liao and have brown discharge. anyone of u had that recently? didn't want to worry unduly but if u all have the experience then i'm pretty safe

BBtree, do take care and keep us informed okay?

Babe, think your discomfort will slowly go away.

Preciousbabe, not to alarm you but just shared with you my experience on brown discharge. I had brown discharge at my week 5, with no cramp. I called my clinic and they asked me to go down to see my gynae immediately 'cos brown discharge is a form of bleeding. Was given a jab and 3 days MC after that. So I think you should give your gynae a call asap and seek his/her advice. Not to worry though, a lot of time, it is fine but it is better to check with your gynae to be safe.

Cheers~

hi preciousbabe,

Me too. Experience some bad cramps in the mid of last night. Thought maybe I need to go toilet to pass urine. Then saw some fresh spotting (not brown) on the toilet paper. Quite freak out and couldn't sleep after that.

This morning told my hubby and then quickly go and see gynae. He did a scan and said nothing to worry. Maybe its the leftover lining to be discharged or maybe I walk too much. Ask me to rest more. Now I only have some brown discharge.

previousbabe, u r rite. i aso find it unacceptable to vomit so frequent within a day. worst of all, this vomitting has been following me since last wed till now....... imagine how torturing &amp; miserable i m

i even hv this tot tat this is going to be my first &amp; last pregnancy as i CANNOT TAHAN anymore!!

jasminetea, smurfy,
I had similar symptoms before but it only lasted for a day. Think i better go see gynae later coz cramps still there after 2 days liao.

bbtree, I also had the same thought as u the other time. This is going to be my one and only pregnancy. But as my ms improved, the thought slowly goes away. Not to worry so much, think your hormone levels are super high that's y your ms is so bad. Try to drink more water as u might be dehydrated if u keep on vomiting.

u gals know if this vaginal infection thing will harm bb? Coz I din dare to put the cream to near the entrance of the vagina and juz on the surroundings....scare medicine will harm bb....

jasminetea, how about engaging a nanny near your house??

bbtree, i guess you better go see your gynae asap.. might get dehydration with all these vomitting...

preciousbabe, guess you better go see your gynae also.. having bad cramps is not good.. and brown discharge is a form of bleeding.. got it a few weeks ago..

Hi bbtree,
I understand how you feel. I have already told my mom, my sister and my hubby that this is going to be my last pregnancy but nobody believe me.

Hi Terrier,
That time I am unsure about getting a confinement lady because I was only 6 weeks pregnant. I think I will start to look for one now.

I am thinking of infant care too but I think my in-law side will scream at me. I am wondering do you have to bring back your baby everyday from the infant care, or do you leave your baby there from Mon to Fri?

By the way, my nose is bleeding recently. Anybody got this problem?

Maraquan, is your nose bleeding severe? Mayb your body is too heaty that's y u r experiencing nose bleeding. Do drink more water coz now we r not suppose to drink herbal tea.

Haha bbtree
Me oso had that sort of thoughts as you...N I really y some women can have so many kids with the discomfort of pregnancy...

Hi Maraquan
Infant care centre got standard operating hours from Mon till Sat, so no overnite stay...

Hi Jasminetea
one thing is my hubby dun like to employ maid, so this is out. If nanny, then really have to see got people to recommend or not...

bbtree,

you're not alone in those thoughts! i once thought i wanted 4 children. but now, i'm happy with this one only! i couldn't take the morning sickness. but, my sister told me that you'd soon forget all this and get pregnant again in a few years.

anyway, your MS sounds like mine. i was vomiting EVERYTHING out. for 4 days i spent my time looking into the toilet bowl. i felt so weak. the last straw was when i was so thirsty, i took 2 gulps of water, and everything came out. the 2 gulps of water plus some greenish stomach acid.

i couldn't take it anymore. i was too weak to go to work. i went to see my GP to get the day off. my GP immediately referred me to KK hospital because i was too dehydrated. and there'd be no point for the GP to give me anti-vomitting pills because i threw up EVERY SINGLE THING that entered my mouth. at KK, i was admitted. they put me on a drip to rehydrate me and gave me a couple of anti-vomiting jabs.

bbtree, if ur urine is very dark and very little, u ought to see a doctor real quick. the gynae at KK told me that it could be dangerous for the baby.

the next day, my condition has stabilised and i was discharged and had a 9-day MC.

i hope all will be well with you, bbtree.